Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular

We shaped the tapered legs of our favorite chinos so they look equally chic rolled up or down. We're thinking they'll be your go-to pants (with silk shirts or sporty cardigans) this season and the next — especially in our slew of new neutrals. Front slash pockets Back welt pockets Belt loops Inseam: 31" Cotton twill, washed for softness Imported Rise: Favorite (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
51 of 5986%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Review 1 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
itakepix
perfect cropped chinos
Date:April 22, 2015
these pants fit well (i'm 5'6", 127lb, bought size 8) are soft and comfortable. just wha i wanted.
Review 2 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ColoC
Location:Boulder, CO
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
great chinos
Date:April 19, 2015
These are the perfect chino's - great fit, style, fabric, construction and colors.
Review 3 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
earthmom
Location:St. Paul, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love them
Date:April 16, 2015
I really like these, bought one in every color (but 2 in the white)! I wear them rolled up... easy to iron and go with everything. I wear a size 2 in everything and these were true to size and didn't shrink in the wash. These aren't too skinny and work for muscular legs that can't do skinny jeans! If you offered them in the mint green color of the season, I'd be even more thrilled.
Review 4 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
El13207
Location:Lake Oswego, Or
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not the pants for me...
Date:April 13, 2015
I so wanted to love these pants! The style and the olive color were just what I was looking for- but the cut of these pants is not good for my 5'4" 142 lb body (size 10P). The rise seems very short and causes unattractive bunching on top. Back they go to GH!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 18, 2015
We're so sad to hear that these pants did not work for you! We hope you remembered to take advantage of our freight free exchanges, when you returned them.
Review 5 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boomy
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Very nice
Date:April 13, 2015
I usually wear a size 8 in pants. This size 8 fit perfectly. Very comfortable! Good value. I'm 5'3" 128 pounds.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happypurchase
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:April 13, 2015
I love the quality of the fabric! Glad to see that 100% cotton is available! This cut is nice. The fit is good. I would definitely recommend these chinos!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sandiw4
Location:excelsior, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice pants
Date:April 11, 2015
I would have given this a 5 star rating
but they are a little short on me, compared
to other pants the same size that I have gotten here. They are very well made.
Review 8 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Barbjean
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Did not fit according to measurements
Date:April 8, 2015
I liked these pants but I measured myself the way it said to and they did not fit right - did not want to bother exchanging them as I don't want to have to go to UPS again if they don't fit the second time. Plus I was disappointed in the material - thought it would be lighter as I live in hot and HUMID Houston - need paper thin pants.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 10, 2015
We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. It is a great tool to use along with the body chart measurements.
Review 9 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AnnieAustin
Location:Austin,Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great pants!
Date:March 26, 2015
These are well-made (nice stitching & finishing) and fit me perfectly. I am 5-6, weigh 125, am fairly straight-shaped (29 in waist/35 inch hips) with thin-ish legs. I have other GH pants size 8 that fit perfectly, so I ordered 8 regular...perfect again! The fabric seems nice & tough, like they'll be able to take some active wearing. The taupe is a soft tan/gray, that looks great with the red family & teal blue tops.
Review 10 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Srchn4Sun
Location:Upstate, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Super fun print, great fit!
Date:March 25, 2015
I bought the size 4 in the pink flower print. Love these, and can't wait for spring to finally arrive so I can wear them without getting sideways glances (we are locked in a frozen waste of a winter). These are my third pair of GH chinos #have them in the basic khaki colors), and they are so reliable for casual day wear.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThisAndThat
Location:Canada
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Superb!
Date:March 20, 2015
These chinos pants are perfect! I followed the true fit recommendation and the size 10 fits me like a glove. They feel "right", no pulling, no tugging, no tightness anywhere... and they are 100% cotton! I ordered a second pair in another colour and I will probably return for a third pair. For reference, I am 5'8" and 152 lbs.
Review 12 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
boomermommy5
Location:Northern Ny
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
chic and comfy
Date:March 19, 2015
The fit was perfect - no gapping in the waist, legs were just the right taper. I have muscular thighs and skinny pants are too tight. Very flattering look. Go with everything
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LJFaith
Location:Snohomish, WA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great pants but not for me.
Date:March 18, 2015
I really like the overall fit and quality of these pants, however they do not come in a long/tall and being 5'8" I really need a couple more inches to feel comfortable in these pants especially since they will likely shrink upon washing.
They fit beautifully when standing, but could use just a little bit of stretch when sitting to be comfortable.
Otherwise they are great pants and if they make them in a long someday, I will buy more in multiple colors.
Review 14 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catdav
Location:Chicago IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good pants, bad print
Date:March 12, 2015
Fit was great (5'7", 140 lbs, size 8), fabric was great, a little higher rise than I expected (these pants come up to the natural waist - I missed that part of the description). These chinos get high marks - except the pink flowered print, though adorable, looks like I'm wearing pajamas. Sadly, back they go.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your honest feedback! If we can assist in any way, please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 15 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimplyElegant52
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect
Date:February 22, 2015
Perfect fit, and comfort and they look like Chinoes should look when I wear them(I bought 3 pairs).
Review 16 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaineMermaid
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pretty good fit on a hard-to-fit body.
Date:February 8, 2015
I am 5'4" with a pot belly,slim hips, and a long torso with short legs. I bought these in petite for the shorter leg length and smaller hip size, knowing that there might be problems with the rise and waist fit. These pants close tightly about 3" below my navel (though not to the point of discomfort) and they are less fitted across my hips and upper thighs than on the model. But the overall look is slimming, and the fabric is soft and beautiful. Not sure I would purchase them at full price, but they were a good buy on sale. Come spring, I will wear these everywhere.
Review 17 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tradewinds
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Chino pants of great quality!
Date:January 28, 2015
Okay... first off these pants hit it out of the ball park. They are soft, quality material and fit beautifully!!! Did I say how much I love these pants:) Second...as for the length I have succumb to realizing I just have short legs and pretty much any pants I get I will most likely have to hem. But I do like how they roll them up at the ankles - so cute! I went up a size from true fit and was glad I did. Great Purchase!!!
Review 18 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JoEl
Location:madison, wi
Age:45-54
Nice pants, very disappointed in sizing
Date:October 30, 2014
I bought these pants in a size 6 based on the number of reviews that stated they ran big. The size 6 was way too big so I reordered in a size 4 and I couldn't even get them on. I'm at a loss. I usually like Garnet Hill but when I can't count on there sizing it's time to find a new vendor. :(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 5, 2014
Oh my, that is strange! We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges, when you returned the pants, to try one of our other great clothing items.
Review 19 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Caliugirl
Location:San Francisco
better for summer than Fall
Date:October 21, 2014
I bought these in aqua and khaki at the beginning of the summer. Love the weighty fabric and learned to love the ankle length. Like others say, these run snug and the waist is a high compared to last year's fit. The true test is that I got pen ink on the stone-colored pair and am hesitant to replace them. The ankle length has shrunk (making me wish they came in tall/long) and i'm not seeing how ankle pants will work with winter shoes. I really like the 2013 version of these pants, which had more of a classic fit and transitioned seasons. Hoping you'll bring those back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LCDH
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Mom pants
Date:October 17, 2014
Just not all that flattering on....Looks a bit matronly
1 2 3 next>>