Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular

We shaped the tapered legs of our favorite chinos so they look equally chic rolled up or down. We're thinking they'll be your go-to pants (with silk shirts or sporty cardigans) this season and the next — especially in our slew of new neutrals. Front slash pockets. Back welt pockets. Belt loops. 100% cotton twill, washed for softness. Imported. Inseam: 31" Rise: Favorite (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
44 of 5186%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Review 1 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AnnieAustin
Location:Austin,Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great pants!
Date:March 26, 2015
These are well-made (nice stitching & finishing) and fit me perfectly. I am 5-6, weigh 125, am fairly straight-shaped (29 in waist/35 inch hips) with thin-ish legs. I have other GH pants size 8 that fit perfectly, so I ordered 8 regular...perfect again! The fabric seems nice & tough, like they'll be able to take some active wearing. The taupe is a soft tan/gray, that looks great with the red family & teal blue tops.
Review 2 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Srchn4Sun
Location:Upstate, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Super fun print, great fit!
Date:March 25, 2015
I bought the size 4 in the pink flower print. Love these, and can't wait for spring to finally arrive so I can wear them without getting sideways glances (we are locked in a frozen waste of a winter). These are my third pair of GH chinos #have them in the basic khaki colors), and they are so reliable for casual day wear.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThisAndThat
Location:Canada
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Superb!
Date:March 20, 2015
These chinos pants are perfect! I followed the true fit recommendation and the size 10 fits me like a glove. They feel "right", no pulling, no tugging, no tightness anywhere... and they are 100% cotton! I ordered a second pair in another colour and I will probably return for a third pair. For reference, I am 5'8" and 152 lbs.
Review 4 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
boomermommy5
Location:Northern Ny
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
chic and comfy
Date:March 19, 2015
The fit was perfect - no gapping in the waist, legs were just the right taper. I have muscular thighs and skinny pants are too tight. Very flattering look. Go with everything
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LJFaith
Location:Snohomish, WA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great pants but not for me.
Date:March 18, 2015
I really like the overall fit and quality of these pants, however they do not come in a long/tall and being 5'8" I really need a couple more inches to feel comfortable in these pants especially since they will likely shrink upon washing.
They fit beautifully when standing, but could use just a little bit of stretch when sitting to be comfortable.
Otherwise they are great pants and if they make them in a long someday, I will buy more in multiple colors.
Review 6 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catdav
Location:Chicago IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good pants, bad print
Date:March 12, 2015
Fit was great (5'7", 140 lbs, size 8), fabric was great, a little higher rise than I expected (these pants come up to the natural waist - I missed that part of the description). These chinos get high marks - except the pink flowered print, though adorable, looks like I'm wearing pajamas. Sadly, back they go.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your honest feedback! If we can assist in any way, please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 7 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimplyElegant52
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect
Date:February 22, 2015
Perfect fit, and comfort and they look like Chinoes should look when I wear them(I bought 3 pairs).
Review 8 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaineMermaid
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pretty good fit on a hard-to-fit body.
Date:February 8, 2015
I am 5'4" with a pot belly,slim hips, and a long torso with short legs. I bought these in petite for the shorter leg length and smaller hip size, knowing that there might be problems with the rise and waist fit. These pants close tightly about 3" below my navel (though not to the point of discomfort) and they are less fitted across my hips and upper thighs than on the model. But the overall look is slimming, and the fabric is soft and beautiful. Not sure I would purchase them at full price, but they were a good buy on sale. Come spring, I will wear these everywhere.
Review 9 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tradewinds
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Chino pants of great quality!
Date:January 28, 2015
Okay... first off these pants hit it out of the ball park. They are soft, quality material and fit beautifully!!! Did I say how much I love these pants:) Second...as for the length I have succumb to realizing I just have short legs and pretty much any pants I get I will most likely have to hem. But I do like how they roll them up at the ankles - so cute! I went up a size from true fit and was glad I did. Great Purchase!!!
Review 10 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JoEl
Location:madison, wi
Age:45-54
Nice pants, very disappointed in sizing
Date:October 30, 2014
I bought these pants in a size 6 based on the number of reviews that stated they ran big. The size 6 was way too big so I reordered in a size 4 and I couldn't even get them on. I'm at a loss. I usually like Garnet Hill but when I can't count on there sizing it's time to find a new vendor. :(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 5, 2014
Oh my, that is strange! We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges, when you returned the pants, to try one of our other great clothing items.
Review 11 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Caliugirl
Location:San Francisco
better for summer than Fall
Date:October 21, 2014
I bought these in aqua and khaki at the beginning of the summer. Love the weighty fabric and learned to love the ankle length. Like others say, these run snug and the waist is a high compared to last year's fit. The true test is that I got pen ink on the stone-colored pair and am hesitant to replace them. The ankle length has shrunk (making me wish they came in tall/long) and i'm not seeing how ankle pants will work with winter shoes. I really like the 2013 version of these pants, which had more of a classic fit and transitioned seasons. Hoping you'll bring those back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LCDH
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Mom pants
Date:October 17, 2014
Just not all that flattering on....Looks a bit matronly
Review 13 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fran2508
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Need to return them!
Date:October 16, 2014
Unfortunately, for lack of petite sizes, I ordered a 6 Regular but it did not fit and since I am petite, I cannot order a size 8; they would be way too long. I must say though that the fabric and the overall quality is excellent; they are well made and the grey and the blue colors are really nice and this is why I give them 5 stars. Too bad, because I really liked them!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dillon
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice pants
Date:September 26, 2014
I got these pants on sale, so they were a great value. I wouldn't call the color (a bright green-yellow...my husband said I wouldn't have trouble crossing the street!) a fall color, but I do like it. And the fit and comfort are great.
Review 15 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoubleBB
Location:Louisville, Kentuckcy
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wear everywhere pants
Date:August 21, 2014
Why would you not want a pair of pants that you can dress up or down - roll up or leave down and are just all around GREAT!
You can be very tailored in khaki/tan or pick a color and live on the wild side. Don't pass these up or you will be sorry!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edie42
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Wish I'd bought more...
Date:August 21, 2014
Flattering fit with fabric that looks as good out of the dryer as when I bought it. Casual crop style, but with a tailored look that makes it more versatile. Just wish I'd bought more in other colors when they were available.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
4kelbob
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sizing different than previous chinos
Date:July 21, 2014
I have worn out the GH chinos I purchased 2 years ago. These have a different cut, which I expected, and also run a full size smaller and shrunk more when washed and dried. The gray/green color is green and odd. Would love to have them in a true gray!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sabh63
Location:Lenoir City, TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
no dice!
Date:July 9, 2014
I couldn't zip these pants; and, with no stretch in the fabric, no dice. Too bad, as they are a nice color (grayish green).
FYI, I have several pair of GH pants and jeans and have found the ones with a little spandex fit me better.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 9, 2014
You're right, these pants don't have any spandex in them; they are 100% Lightweight Cotton twill. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our pants that does have spandex in them.
Review 19 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yve4424
Location:Woodside, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Bright Summer Pants
Date:June 29, 2014
As soon as I opened the package, I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful and vibrant aqua color. The weight is perfect for summer. My only complaint is that the legs will have to be hemmed. While I am a true petite, the pant length is not.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nawne
Location:Honesdale, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great purchase
Date:June 19, 2014
The quality is outstanding on these pants. I would probably order the next size up, a little snug, but not enough to return them. I am 5'2" and about 150 lbs and ordered 10P. They are great pants.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>