Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit

Retro-active! A plunging neckline and well-placed pleats make for a most flattering silhouette, even if you've missed a pilates class (or three). This year we've improved the fit a bit based on your request for a sleeker line. Soft molded cups provide light support and shaping. Lightweight, silky-luxe nylon/spandex; UPF 50 sun protection Lined Imported This suit runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (178 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
37
3 stars
19
2 stars
16
1 star
2
152 of 17885%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryJ
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit.
Date:May 21, 2015
This suit is great for hiding one's middle section. It is tight around the waist and holds everything in. The fabric is silky soft and feels good too. I am very pleased.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sryder
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
found it!
Date:May 1, 2015
So happy to find this suit- can't believe I actually wear an 8 in a bathing suit. I wear 8 in clothing but usually go up for suits, after reading the reviews decided to try my size and it fits perfectly. Very pretty, I like the low cut but it could be improved with an underwire. For size referenceI am about 5" 5' and 127 #s.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandyk
Location:Leesburg, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My favorite suit in years!
Date:April 30, 2015
I loved this suit so much I bought it in two other colors. Comfortable and forgiving! I am 6' and although this wasn't a tall size, it was long!
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chanelgirl
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Waistline Appears 3 Inches Slimmer!
Date:April 28, 2015
Ordered the black stripe which I love. The stripe print (even though horizontal) along with the ruching takes inches off the waistline--it's amazing. Neckline is very flattering. The straps are wider than I'm used to, but are an interesting statement.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginia
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
pretty polkas
Date:April 17, 2015
This suit is so cute on. Fits well. Very flattering & comfortable. Only thing I'd say is it could be a tad short if you're a long torso, but I'll run with it. Really love GH swim suits !
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mandis
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Wow
Date:April 12, 2015
This swimsuit fit my hourglass curves to a tee. It held up very well at the beach and I was able to comfortably play in the waves without slippage.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
acara
Location:USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
For some not for others
Date:April 2, 2015
My problem is I have a long torso -- I am not complaining, it's good. But a good fitting swimsuit is difficult to find. Usually I end up buying a size 8 suit just to get a little lentth. 6 is more my size. I liked this suit a lot but I needed length. I felt that a size 8 in this suit would not work as it's somewhat revealing at the chest. I would have loved it if it fit right for my long torso.
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GAPeach400
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Swimsuit search ends here!
Date:March 27, 2015
I bet I buy 3 suits a year in hopes of finding the perfect suit..I am a mom in my 30's and my average size is between a 6-8. I realized I need to bite the bullet and just try a one piece.. It's been tough for me to accept the fact that tankinis just don't look flattering on me. I need tummy support but didn't want to look too matronly. This one piece is amazing! I got the grey dot pattern and it is gorgeous. The neckline is not too low but still sexy and the rouching around the tummy isn't bunched up looking like a lot of the other swimsuits I've tried. I plan to get the black and white stripped pattern as well. Please offer this suit in some modern patterns to appeal to us moms that don't want to look like moms! Thanks Garnet Hill my search is over!
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Riverqueen1714
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love Love Love it
Date:March 24, 2015
I absolutely love this suit. So mush that I got a second one in a different design. It has a great fit!
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJandFL
Location:Chatham, NJ and Vero Beach, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit
Date:March 20, 2015
I/ve got two of these Retro swimsuits - one solid and one print. I always get compliments when I wear them. The rouching makes for a flattering, comfotable fit. I am in my mid 50s and a size 6 and found the fit true to size and the style very good for my age.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kitelady
Location:plymouth MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:March 18, 2015
First one piece I have bought in quite some time. Very comfortable but wished I had bought one size smaller. Top very roomy but still worked for smaller bust size. Great tummy control.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Realshopper123
Location:Annapolis, Md
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sad to return.
Date:March 18, 2015
Wanted to really love this suit. Made well and great color but not exactly made for ladies who are well endowed. Not enough support. Going back
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback! Please remember our exchanges are always freight free, when you return your swimsuit.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DesignLover
Location:Marin, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
so comfortable and flattering
Date:February 27, 2015
I have a pear-shaped figure, and this suit is flattering on me—seems to minimize the bottom while fitting fine in the bust. And it's EXTREMELY comfortable, no straps digging into the neck or shoulders. I want to order in more colors/patterns, but I don't care for any of this year's fabric options. More fabrics please!
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaliforniaPoppy
Location:Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Just not working for me...
Date:February 16, 2015
Sadly, this beautiful and well made suit is going back because its not flattering for my shape. The plunging neckline is too revealing and its uncomfortably snug around my midsection which is probably due to the strong tummy control feature. The Garden floral is a truly beautiful print!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 27, 2015
We agree too, that the Garden Floral is a truly beautiful print! Thank you so much for your note!
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tradewinds
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Swimsuit is functional and beautiful!
Date:January 28, 2015
The neckline is not too plunging and the look of the suit is classic yet is still sporty! I like having the versatility of looking good but having a suit that stays on me when I go swimming in the ocean and this one fits both criteria. Highly recommend it. I sized up from the true fit and I bought the 12 (as I have a very long torso). Also bought on sale and am very pleased!
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
designergirl
Location:Westchester New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Suite ~ Needs Tweaking!
Date:October 14, 2014
Sadly this had to be returned. Sad because I bought it at an amazing discounted price. Unfortunately this is cut WAY TOO LOW! I discounted other reviewers who said the same thing. Big mistake! It is far too revealing without enough lift and support. I am a 50 something, as are most of the women buying these, and this design will not work for us. Let's face it guys, a younger women with a great figure does not buy this suit. This is for the over 40 crowd. I gave it an overall of 3 stars because although the quality is there the design is not. Great quality suit just needs tweaking.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We have shared your comments with our Design Team.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bellaalice
Location:saint augustine, fl
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Average torso
Date:August 24, 2014
This suit works for an average torso. I am between sizes, so the 10 is a little snug, but the 12 was too big. Overall I love the suit. It I'd durable for my water aerobics class several times a week.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beantown
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this suit!
Date:August 22, 2014
This suit is super flattering and very snazzy. I read the other reviews and ordered an 8 (I'm usually between an 8 and a 10). I do not have any problem with the straps - it provides plenty of support and coverage. Have gotten lots of compliments!
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KSHinPA
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Really great one piece!
Date:August 22, 2014
I love this suit so much that I bought it in two patterns (and had to really really talk myself out of a third.)
I feel somewhat modest as it's a one piece, but still really attractive with the cut and silhouette. My only minus is that, with DD bra size, the low cut leaves me feeling a little inappropriate while at the neighborhood pool with my four year old. Still, overall, I love this suit!
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monstermum
Location:Webster, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Thank you!
Date:August 22, 2014
Finally, a pretty print bathing suit! I looked long and wide for a post-mastectomy suit that wasn't too frumpy. Fits great, and the ruching hides a bit of recent weight gain. I may stitch the top together a bit, but I was able to wear it as is and got lots of compliments. Off to try to buy another for next year.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>