Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit

Retro-active! A plunging neckline and well-placed pleats make for a most flattering silhouette, even if you've missed a pilates class (or three). This year we've improved the fit a bit based on your request for a sleeker line. Soft molded cups provide light support and shaping. Lightweight and silky-luxe nylon/spandex with the plus of UPF 50 sun protection. Lined. Imported. This suit runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (170 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
36
3 stars
19
2 stars
16
1 star
2
144 of 17085%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Riverqueen1714
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love Love Love it
Date:March 24, 2015
I absolutely love this suit. So mush that I got a second one in a different design. It has a great fit!
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJandFL
Location:Chatham, NJ and Vero Beach, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit
Date:March 20, 2015
I/ve got two of these Retro swimsuits - one solid and one print. I always get compliments when I wear them. The rouching makes for a flattering, comfotable fit. I am in my mid 50s and a size 6 and found the fit true to size and the style very good for my age.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kitelady
Location:plymouth MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:March 18, 2015
First one piece I have bought in quite some time. Very comfortable but wished I had bought one size smaller. Top very roomy but still worked for smaller bust size. Great tummy control.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Realshopper123
Location:Annapolis, Md
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sad to return.
Date:March 18, 2015
Wanted to really love this suit. Made well and great color but not exactly made for ladies who are well endowed. Not enough support. Going back
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback! Please remember our exchanges are always freight free, when you return your swimsuit.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DesignLover
Location:Marin, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
so comfortable and flattering
Date:February 27, 2015
I have a pear-shaped figure, and this suit is flattering on me—seems to minimize the bottom while fitting fine in the bust. And it's EXTREMELY comfortable, no straps digging into the neck or shoulders. I want to order in more colors/patterns, but I don't care for any of this year's fabric options. More fabrics please!
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaliforniaPoppy
Location:Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Just not working for me...
Date:February 16, 2015
Sadly, this beautiful and well made suit is going back because its not flattering for my shape. The plunging neckline is too revealing and its uncomfortably snug around my midsection which is probably due to the strong tummy control feature. The Garden floral is a truly beautiful print!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 27, 2015
We agree too, that the Garden Floral is a truly beautiful print! Thank you so much for your note!
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tradewinds
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Swimsuit is functional and beautiful!
Date:January 28, 2015
The neckline is not too plunging and the look of the suit is classic yet is still sporty! I like having the versatility of looking good but having a suit that stays on me when I go swimming in the ocean and this one fits both criteria. Highly recommend it. I sized up from the true fit and I bought the 12 (as I have a very long torso). Also bought on sale and am very pleased!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
designergirl
Location:Westchester New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Suite ~ Needs Tweaking!
Date:October 14, 2014
Sadly this had to be returned. Sad because I bought it at an amazing discounted price. Unfortunately this is cut WAY TOO LOW! I discounted other reviewers who said the same thing. Big mistake! It is far too revealing without enough lift and support. I am a 50 something, as are most of the women buying these, and this design will not work for us. Let's face it guys, a younger women with a great figure does not buy this suit. This is for the over 40 crowd. I gave it an overall of 3 stars because although the quality is there the design is not. Great quality suit just needs tweaking.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We have shared your comments with our Design Team.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bellaalice
Location:saint augustine, fl
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Average torso
Date:August 24, 2014
This suit works for an average torso. I am between sizes, so the 10 is a little snug, but the 12 was too big. Overall I love the suit. It I'd durable for my water aerobics class several times a week.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beantown
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this suit!
Date:August 22, 2014
This suit is super flattering and very snazzy. I read the other reviews and ordered an 8 (I'm usually between an 8 and a 10). I do not have any problem with the straps - it provides plenty of support and coverage. Have gotten lots of compliments!
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KSHinPA
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Really great one piece!
Date:August 22, 2014
I love this suit so much that I bought it in two patterns (and had to really really talk myself out of a third.)
I feel somewhat modest as it's a one piece, but still really attractive with the cut and silhouette. My only minus is that, with DD bra size, the low cut leaves me feeling a little inappropriate while at the neighborhood pool with my four year old. Still, overall, I love this suit!
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monstermum
Location:Webster, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Thank you!
Date:August 22, 2014
Finally, a pretty print bathing suit! I looked long and wide for a post-mastectomy suit that wasn't too frumpy. Fits great, and the ruching hides a bit of recent weight gain. I may stitch the top together a bit, but I was able to wear it as is and got lots of compliments. Off to try to buy another for next year.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AmyLyn32
Location:Newton, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Tummy Control
Date:August 22, 2014
I never had to worry about my abs until I started experiencing perimenopause symptoms. This swimsuit is perfect for tummy control.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mimishka
Location:Boston area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for me
Date:July 24, 2014
I loved this suit but, for my body type—which does not have a slim middle—the suit didn't really flatter me the way I had hoped. So sadly I sent it back.
The fabric was really nice, and I liked the tank top style. It was slightly low between the bust - not racy-low, but low.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 30, 2014
We hope when you returned the swimsuit, you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to another one of our great items.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jacefk
Location:Narragansett, RI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
After a couple of adjustments, a great suit!
Date:July 19, 2014
I loved the way this suit looked in the pictures, and after reading the reviews about how long it runs, I decided to "take the plunge" but order it down a size from my usual bathing suit size - an 8 rather than a 10. When I tried it, it seemed pretty good but I thought I might just shorten the shoulders a tad for a better fit. But something made me just put it in a drawer without removing the tags and did nothing. Then it went on sale and I said, hmmm I think I'll just try still another size smaller. Sure enough, when the 6 came, it's pretty perfect! I returned the 8 (good premonition not to take the tags off) and Garnet Hill even gave me a refund of the full price I paid even though the suit was now on sale and I no longer had my receipt! Very happy! My only wish (4 rather than 5 stars) is for a little more bust support.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
katdog
Location:Middle TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
hiding factor
Date:July 19, 2014
suit does exactly what it says it will do. I will stitch up the deep plunge but that's just me. others may like it that low.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynDSmith
Location:Eden VT
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
So close to perfect...
Date:July 12, 2014
I bought this item in midnight and fuchia. I am so disappointed because I loooooved the prints and material and they fit perfectly, except the straps which opened serious potential for wardrobe malfunction. I am 5'8" and 220 lbs with a B/C cup and bought size 16. Unless you are a full B or not-so-shy D, think twice about purchasing this suit. There was about 3-4 inches of extra fabric in the straps which I could have taken up. Loved it but I shouldn't have to alter a suit that costs this much.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 14, 2014
We love the prints and material of the Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit as well. We're sad to hear the style of the straps didn't work and would love to help with a freight free exchange; perhaps a different style in the same print would better suit you. Give us a call any time if we can help, 800-870-3513.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimoneSays
Location:St. Louis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect for my long torso
Date:July 7, 2014
I read the reviews before ordering, and many said this was too long. So I thought, "This might be the swimsuit for me", and it is! I have a longer torso and this is a very flattering suit. It fits to size, I'm 5'7", about 130 lbs., pear-shaped, longer torso and the 6 fits me perfectly. I can walk around without it riding up! The fabric is the softest and silkiest I've ever experienced in a swimsuit. I bought the grey dot and it is very cute in a retro way. The only downside is that it's not very flattering to my 50-something year old sagging bustline :-). Needs more support. Underwire would make it perfect. Can't wait to wear this on my beach vacation next month!!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gigixxxx
Location:Florida Keys
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great suit
Date:July 6, 2014
The suit fits perfect. I am 5'5'', 135 pounds usually wear a size 8 or 10. I called Garnet Hill before ordering the suit because in their two piece I wear a size 6 on top but a size 10 on the bottom. A size 8 was recommended and it fits great. Loved the material and the color.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cabogrl
Location:Pueblo, CO>
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very cute
Date:July 3, 2014
I got this in the midnight stripe, very cute just not me. I didn't keep the suit but it is very well made and for the price (on sale) so worth it. I'm just not a pattern girl so I just didn't like the way it looked on me. Had nothing to do with the suit. Pretty low v in front but sexy...and covers.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>