Product Reviews

Merino Sweater Dress

Women love the classic fit of our bestselling dress in pure merino wool — but this year we've increased the gauge of the knit slightly, so the silhouette has more substance for flattering drape. The crewneck style is as versatile as ever — wear it belted, over leggings, or paired with our Italian leather boots or ballets. Bracelet-length sleeves. Drop-shoulder detail. Knee length. 100% merino wool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
3
33 of 4573%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merino Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TucsonAZ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Good dress
Date:July 15, 2015
Just tried on and it fits well; not clingy.
Not itchy.
Haven't worn yet since it's wool and it's hot in Arizona now!
Seems great for travel and dressing up or down.
Review 2 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kannsummer
Location:Germany
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Fits very well
Date:April 29, 2015
True to size, good fit with nice form. Beautiful and rich color. I was happy to get this on sale, which makes it an excellent value!
Review 3 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MASZ
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Soft and elegant!
Date:April 15, 2015
I love the weight of this dress - it is soft, yet elegant and I will wear almost year round. Just received my first one (charcoal) and am back to purchase another. Thanks to GH for another great product.
Review 4 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michelle83
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Work Essential
Date:March 30, 2015
I love this dress. The material is soft but also holds it's shape. It is perfect with tights and boots for the office. The length is a little long (hitting just below knee) but is still a flattering fit for my 5’1’’ frame. It is an essential for a working mother's winter wardrobe.
Review 5 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ineedclotheseveryday
Location:san diego
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great dress, now get to work
Date:March 19, 2015
I need clothes everyday to work inside. This dress looks good with a black jacket over it. Neckline is good and does not slip down on the shoulders. The shoulders are generous. The color is bold; I also bought the beaujolais one.
Review 6 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KatG
Location:Tryon NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Go to dress
Date:March 19, 2015
Classic style that is a go to in my wardrobe. Nice fabric weight, great color
Review 7 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FireHorse
Location:Horse country...New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Versatile & Cozy
Date:March 18, 2015
Love this dress!
Can wear it to an event or work...
Feels so comfortable and cozy!
Wears well with tights and tall boots.
The Beaujolais color was my choice...
so different and flattering. Happy happy!
Review 8 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jass
Location:Kingsport TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Quality material and flattering fit
Date:February 26, 2015
This dress has beautiful havier weight. Looks expensive. Fits like glove in my usual size L (not too fitted). I need Spanx for perfect look. I got grey color, wear it with Elisabetta black belt and ChanLuu floral scarf. Beautiful! Good value on sale.
Review 9 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fawn
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Flattering, classic dress
Date:February 23, 2015
I normally wear a 2-4, so I sized down to an XS (0-2) from a S (2-4). It fits beautifully, form-fitting but not tight or clingy. The cobalt blue color is gorgeous. Easily dressed up or dressed down. The sleeve length is also feminine and flattering.
Review 10 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LJoy
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Dotted Got Balls
Date:February 15, 2015
Let me preface this by stating that I love GH products. I have this dress in a few colors but the dotted pattern material did not fare well. After 2-3 wears, balls formed all over the dress. My sweater ball remover didn't do the trick either. I'm not sure if the dotted print dress was made from different material than the other dresses.
Review 11 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chispa
Location:20016
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Versatile style, flattering fit
Date:February 14, 2015
I bought the gray last year and LOVED the look and feel of it. It's a great dress, one that you can accessorize to suit any occasion. My only complaint would be that it pilled a lot, especially around the middle, probably from wearing a belt with it. I took a chance and bought another one this year when they went on sale, hoping GH's claim of an improved knit will stand up against the rigors of accessories. FYI, I am 5'8, 125 lbs., and the size S fits me perfectly.
Review 12 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
197666
Location:the Berkshires
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
You did it again!
Date:February 13, 2015
Love this dress! This is the 3rd one I have purchased in 2 years. The merino wool is the perfect weight and super soft.
I had multiple compliments the first night I wore the leopard print dress and happily told all that I got it from Garnet Hill.
Review 13 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
savvy
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great sweater dress
Date:February 6, 2015
I'm 5'4 and 125 lbs. -- the XS fit was just right. The merino wool is soft and the knit is very nice. I got on sale and am delighted with the purchase.
Review 14 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PickyE
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Great winter dress
Date:February 5, 2015
With tights and boots, I could wear this dress every day to get me through a NYC winter. It's warm yet comfortable; soft yet elegant. The blue is beautiful. I am an 8/10 (S for GH sweaters) and the Medium fits nicely. Hits just above my knee.
Review 15 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tradewinds
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love the Merino Sweater Dress!
Date:January 28, 2015
Great quality dress. Loved my first one so much that I ended buying more! Beautiful, soft and is holding up well. So easy to dress up or down! Great dress for winter time!
Review 16 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bkath2000
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super cute!
Date:January 17, 2015
I am 5'5" about 145 lbs - i purchased the leopard dress - it is SO adorable! It fits perfectly and looks really nice with boots and tights. I typically wear a medium in Athleta dresses and this dress fits similarly to their clothes. The fabric is really soft.
Review 17 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Longtrailer
Location:VT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Exquisitely Beautiful! LBD
Date:January 16, 2015
Lucky me; got this on sale of the day...it's gorgeous and is of the highest quality! I got black; it's a deep and dark color, very elegant.
Review 18 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FashionSally
Love this dress!
Date:January 15, 2015
Nice fit and length. Very classy looking. Comfortable too.
Review 19 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DonnaE
Location:Annapolis, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Way too big!
Date:January 15, 2015
Even after following the sizing chart this was huge!
Review 20 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
likeclassics
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
strange fit
Date:January 13, 2015
I like the feel of the fabric, but the top part of the dress was large & the hips were narrow (like it's made for a man). I wear a 34D bra, but this top was loose with arms about 3 inches too long. The fabric also looked like it was already pilling on arrival. I thought at first I would keep it & make due, but it is going back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 14, 2015
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free and we do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
1 2 3 next>>