Product Reviews

Merino Sweater Dress

Women love the classic fit of our bestselling dress in pure merino wool — but this year we've increased the gauge of the knit slightly, so the silhouette has more substance for flattering drape. The crewneck style is as versatile as ever — wear it belted, over leggings, or paired with our Italian leather boots or ballets. Bracelet-length sleeves. Drop-shoulder detail. Knee length. 100% merino wool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.645 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
20 of 3165%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merino Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tradewinds
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love the Merino Sweater Dress!
Date:January 28, 2015
Great quality dress. Loved my first one so much that I ended buying more! Beautiful, soft and is holding up well. So easy to dress up or down! Great dress for winter time!
Review 2 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bkath2000
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super cute!
Date:January 17, 2015
I am 5'5" about 145 lbs - i purchased the leopard dress - it is SO adorable! It fits perfectly and looks really nice with boots and tights. I typically wear a medium in Athleta dresses and this dress fits similarly to their clothes. The fabric is really soft.
Review 3 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Longtrailer
Location:VT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Exquisitely Beautiful! LBD
Date:January 16, 2015
Lucky me; got this on sale of the day...it's gorgeous and is of the highest quality! I got black; it's a deep and dark color, very elegant.
Review 4 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FashionSally
Love this dress!
Date:January 15, 2015
Nice fit and length. Very classy looking. Comfortable too.
Review 5 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DonnaE
Location:Annapolis, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Way too big!
Date:January 15, 2015
Even after following the sizing chart this was huge!
Review 6 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
likeclassics
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
strange fit
Date:January 13, 2015
I like the feel of the fabric, but the top part of the dress was large & the hips were narrow (like it's made for a man). I wear a 34D bra, but this top was loose with arms about 3 inches too long. The fabric also looked like it was already pilling on arrival. I thought at first I would keep it & make due, but it is going back.
Review 7 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LCSW
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great but itchy
Date:January 11, 2015
I really loved the way this dress fit but I am sending it back because it is too itchy! I thought merino wool is softer and less itchy. Oh well. It really does fit beautifully.
Review 8 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
musekings
Location:San Francisco East Bay Area, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattering fit and nice hand to the fabric...
Date:January 9, 2015
I had earlier purchased the 'Luxe' merino sweater dress which I really liked so I decided to try this one too (to get another color). While I can tell the difference bet/ the just-plain-ol' merino and the 'Luxe' merino (the Luxe merino is definitely softer with a finer hand), I love the fit of this dress, the length is flattering and the cloth is thick enough to be warm and opaque without being too bulky or stiff. Recommended.
Review 9 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMinVA
Gender:Female
Fabulous Dress!
Date:January 7, 2015
Great fit, great feel, cut fully but shows your curves :-)!
Review 10 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilAaron
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great buy
Date:January 3, 2015
I love the dress! I'm 5.6 with a few extra pounds. Wore it over tights with boots and a body slimming slip. Drapes well, fits great, forgiving . Next time it is available will get another in a different color
Review 11 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dsquared
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too long for petite women
Date:January 2, 2015
Needs to be available in a shorter length. I am 5'3" and this dress hit almost mid calf in a small. Would have been great if length were just above knee. Returning, sadly.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SeattleWA
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Runs large, brilliant color
Date:January 2, 2015
The color of this dress (blue) was amazing - almost too much for my typical earthtones. The fabric is heavy, and will be very warm. Certainly a winter dress, and probably not appropriate as a tunic with pants. I also am 5'1" and 115 pounds and found the smallest size to be a tad large overall. I'm hoping it may shrink a bit with washing, and if not, a chunky belt will work fine.
Great value on sale!
Review 13 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gil31
Location:westcjester, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nothing special
Date:December 24, 2014
The wool is quite soft, but on the thin side and though I like the leopard print, the shape overall is blah. This dress really needs accessories: a belt,jewelry, a scarf to loo like an outfit. Returned
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJanuary 16, 2015
We're sad to hear that our Merino Sweater Dress did not meet your expectations. Hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned.
Review 14 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zephyr
Location:Wi
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:December 21, 2014
Soft, not itchy and very comfortable. I now own 4 dresses. Works great for work, moves freely, not binding, and looks professional. I mix it up with scarves or belts or jackets or jewelry. My figure is slim so it's great for me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjpb
Location:DE
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Merino Wool Dress
Date:December 20, 2014
Beautiful dress and very nice quality. It was a perfect length to knee for my 5'7'' height. It drapes nicely and is very flattering.. The only detail of the dress that concerned me was the drop shoulder which lent too much material under the arm area, but because of the leopard pattern it is not as noticeable as with the solid color dress which, unfortunately, I had to return for that reason.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GrandmaVan
Location:Del Mar, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:December 14, 2014
I bought the XS since there was no petite dress. Beautiful pattern and soft fabric. However, the fit was wrong for my short waist and height. So sad since I love that look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJanuary 15, 2015
Thank your for your feedback!
Review 17 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sleepybear
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too Small
Date:December 10, 2014
I normally wear a size 6 dress, but this was way too tight. I have a small upper torso and larger hips and it was too tight in the hip area. Otherwise, I loved the length. Wish it fit!
Review 18 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SnowAnn
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
MISLEADING COLOR!
Date:December 8, 2014
Love the fit and material of this dress. I also thought I would love the grey and black leopard print that was shown in the catalog. Unfortunately, I am sending it back because -- unlike the catalog image and the larger online image -- the color is pinky-beige with dark brown spots. I am disappointed that someone didn't do a better job matching the photo with the actual product, as now I have to go to the bother of sending it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your note! We strive to accurately present colors in our catalog and online, and are sorry you were disappointed. If you would like to exchange or return, please call us, if you need assistance. 1.800.870.3513
Review 19 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dakelina
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful piece of clothing!
Date:December 6, 2014
This dress is amazingly beautiful and the quality is excellent. It's A-line and hits at the knees /for reference I'm 5'7" 130lb and ordered size S/ The colors are vibrant and the animal print looks classy and very stylish. My only concern is the "Dry clean only", but I guess it comes with the high quality fabric. Fabulous winter dress - looks great with tall boots and leggings. Thank you GH!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnieH
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute Dress
Date:December 5, 2014
This is a nice dress that I will wear often. I wore it with my short slouchy dark brown boots and it looked good.
1 2 next>>