Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress

We've always been admirers of a proper, ladylike dress — and all the more when crafted from our favorite structured and stretchy ponte knit in a toned-down, sophisticated palette. We imagine this refined, feminine silhouette, with dressmaker darts, subtle gathering at the waist, and elbow-length sleeves, will see you through a number of days (and dates). Scoop neck Above-knee length Midweight cotton/spandex ponte knit Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 of 2277%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Review 1 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gales
Location:Kansas City
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Dress!
Date:April 24, 2015
This is the perfect dress for work or really any occasion. Incredibly comfortable and looks great.
Review 2 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bergy
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love this dress!
Date:April 3, 2015
Whether dressed up or down, this dress is as comfortable as it is attractive.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lillypete
Location:Des Plaines, IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great dress
Date:April 2, 2015
The navy is a beautiful color. The fit is flattering and it's great to find a pretty dress with sleeves! This dress can be dressed up for work or down for casual.
Review 4 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MidwestShopper1
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
practical, easy-to-wear dress
Date:March 29, 2015
I purchased this dress in gray when it went on sale. It's so versatile and easy to wear. I dress this up with beads and a cardigan and I'm set for the day. It's thick enough for the winter and light enough for the summer. It's definitely an all-season easy outfit. The ponte knit is substantial, although I still wear a slip when I wear this dress. The dress wrinkles easily however, so count on some ironing. The waistline is a bit high too, so if you don't like empire styles you probably won't like this dress.
Review 5 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sandwoman
Location:DC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice cut but...
Date:March 28, 2015
I returned it. The black is not a great idea. It is dull, and not at all rich-looking All I'd need is a babushka on my head and I'd look like my late grandmother on the way to church.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 2, 2015
We do have lots of other great dresses to choose from. Let us know if you need any assistance finding that "perfect" dress.
Review 6 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
drapergal
Location:Draper, Utah
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice dress
Date:March 25, 2015
very pretty and fits well. Is very flattering on lots of body shapes.
Review 7 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
salsa82
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
LOVE this dress!!!
Date:March 25, 2015
It is a perfect fit and so comfortable.
Love the 97% cotton, 3% spandex. Neckline is special to wear with different necklaces or pins. My favorite "go to" that dresses up or down. Do hope it will be available in other colors soon! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ccbo
Location:atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
fllimsy fabric
Date:March 22, 2015
Unlike many previous reviewers, I found the fabric of this dress rather lightweight. My husband thought it looked cheaply made. Although the style and blue color are nice, the fit was off so I returned the item.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 1, 2015
The material is a mid-weight cotton ponte with a bit of spandex. We hope when you returned your dress, that you remembered our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 9 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sapphire911
Location:Atlanta GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love this dress
Date:March 18, 2015
This dress fits true to size and flatters the figure. The material is heavy enough to keep its shape but light enough that it's comfortable. You can dress it up or go more casual with simpler accessories. I'm going to get a lot of use from this versatile piece.
Review 10 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoBee
Location:Aiken, SC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Dream Dress
Date:March 18, 2015
This is a classic. Nice weight fabric, not to heavy, not to light. The elbow sleeve elegantly covers your arms and the belled skirt is so ladylike. I will buy this in more colors. Any age could wear this dress and wear it well.
Review 11 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chachacoco
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great dress
Date:March 8, 2015
I bought this dress for work. I love it. It's comfortable, flattering, good for many occasions.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 9, 2015
You're right, this comfortable, flattering dress is good for many occasions! You can dress it up or dress it down. Thanks for your kind feedback.
Review 12 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tortoise
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
My second dress!
Date:March 5, 2015
I bought the cobalt blue dress last year and bought this on sale. It's nice, classy, basic, can be dressed up or dressed down, and best of all, can be rolled up and put into a suitcase. It's with me on this business trip!
Review 13 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
5280
Location:Denver CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointed!
Date:February 17, 2015
I'm still perplexed over the positive reviews on this dress… I was very disappointed in the weight of the fabric and the overall quality of the dress. It is being returned today.
Review 14 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
arock
Weird sizing
Date:February 7, 2015
I ordered two sizes of this dress after reading other reviews and was very disappointed that neither fit...like at all. And it's not like one was too big and the other too small. It was as if they were cut completely differently. Needless to say these dresses were returned immediately.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 25, 2015
We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. Please know we are here to assist you if need help. 1.800.870.3513
Review 15 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
giggirl
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Versatile
Date:January 2, 2015
This is a good staple dress. You can dress it up (not REAL dressy) or dress it down -- add sweater, scarf, jewelry, tights, boots, heels, flats, whatever. The ponte knit is indeed not a heavy or thick fabric, but it's definitely not jersey fabric. I'm 5'7, 150 lbs., in decent shape but with a few (as Bridget Jones would say) "wobbly bits" to hide, and the cut and fabric of this dress does so without enveloping your figure in a tent. I'm strongly considering getting the raspberry-ish color. (Bought L and it was appropriate size.)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DustyAtl
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wonderful Dress!
Date:November 18, 2014
I do not usually stop to write a review, but this dress deserves it. I wore the blue to a play with a grey/silver cropped cardigan and a pewter, softly metallic belt, and my husband told me to go back and buy it in all of the colors because it is so attractive. Yes, it is lighter than most ponte knits, and it is heavier than a jersey knit. It hangs, or drapes, very nicely, and feels soft. The neck is much lower than a crew neck, but not as low as a typical scoop neck. The waist seam is slightly higher than my waist (I am long-waisted), but that makes it look more modern to me. The fabric, design, cut, and construction are all high quality (but I do not know yet how it will launder or wear over time). I am 5' 4", 140lbs, pretty muscular, plus a little overweight. I measure 35"/28.5"/37.5", so I am between 6 and 8 by the size chart, but I got 8 for my waist measurement, plus I have larger upper arms. It fits like it was made for me, and hits at the upper part of my knee, not above the knee. One could wear flats, pumps, or boots with the dress. It will always need a little something in the way of accessories, but I am back to order the wine color and black because I feel that I will truly enjoy wearing these dresses all of the time, to work, as well as out in the evenings, through at least 3 seasons of the year. Highly recommended!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ejanem
Returning this dress
Date:November 14, 2014
Did not like this one at all. Fabric and quality seems very cheap. This is not what I had in mind with a "ponte" fabric. It is just a jersey fabric and to clingy. The waist is too high, and I am very short-waisted. I wanted a "dressy" little black dress, and this is not it!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2014
We hope when you return your dress, that you take advantage of our freight free exchanges, to try another one of our get dresses. Please know we are here to help, if you need any assistance. 1.800.870.3513
Review 18 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaddieH7
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice fit and fabric
Date:October 15, 2014
I am very pleased with this dress. I ordered the blue and it is lovely. I would love to get another...now I just need to accessorize!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lors
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great basic piece
Date:October 10, 2014
Very flattering fit - not too snug but still shaped. I'm 5'3" and dress hits at knee. Found true to size. Flattering neckline. Just great w/wide variety of accessories. Fabric is heavier than a jersey knit but not as substantial as some ponte knits. Wine color is lovely - a bit lighter than the photo but still nice. Just a great basic dress - will buy in black as well.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elbow-Sleeve Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RU22
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely - did not look good on me.
Date:October 8, 2014
The fabric in this dress is lovely and the color is beautiful.
Because I am 5'3" and not skinny (size 8) the horizontal line of the waist was not flattering on me.
I returned it for the wrap style and kept that one. Also very nice.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>