Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Favorite A-Line Knit Dress

Our popular boatneck dress has a bit more weight to it this year (so it skims the body even better), and we're offering it a new wave of colors, including confident red. The easy A-line shape swings from day to party mode, depending on the accessories — necklace, scarf, belt, boots, or pumps. Think of it as your stylish blank canvas. Center-back seam adds definition. Above-knee length. Three- quarter sleeves. Midweight cotton/modal/spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 1573%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Review 1 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoahsTia
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice Dress, But Not for My Body Type
Date:April 19, 2015
I am 5'4", size 12, and curvy. This dress was just "meh" on me; it simply hung on me. The saffron is a beautiful color, and I wanted to love the dress, but the lines aren't right for my body type and height. The high neck line made my bust look even larger than it is. If the dress were a scoop neck or similar, it may be more flattering on short, curvy figures. However, it is well-made and lovely overall, and I can tell it would be a great dress on a different body type.
Review 2 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lcfshs
Location:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
gh - please bring this style back
Date:December 1, 2014
this is a great dress. super flattering, versatile and comfy. please bring it back!!
Review 3 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WorkingMominSeattle
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Shapeless
Date:November 30, 2014
I really wanted to love this dress. there are so many good reviews and the pictures make it look great, but it was completely shapeless and looked like a bag hanging on me. Another reviewer mentioned that it must be pinned in the back for the picture and I agree - it does not look like that. For my measurements (5 ft 5 in, 130 lbs, 34D, I should have ordered a medium, but I risked it and ordered a small - even that was just baggy. The fabric and quality were great, but sadly I just sent it back for a return.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 19, 2014
Thank you for your note. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 4 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bonbon169
Gender:Female
Beautiful Color and Comfy
Date:November 28, 2014
and hides some of my body better than others. Overall a lovely color and am keeping - will wear with a sweater, jacket or belt.
Review 5 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
penny1
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Fantastic Fall T-Shirt Dress
Date:November 17, 2014
I love this dress. The only drawback is the value since the retail price seems excessive for the quality given it is just a well-fitting cotton shift dress. (I bought it as an exchange, so the sale price did not apply.) The fit is just flattering and unique enough that I am going to keep it anyway since it is sold out. Cobalt was a beautiful and bold shade. Wish I could have gotten it in black too. Sizing = perfect! I ordered an XS and am 5'2"/125lb pear shape. Length was longer than photo given my height, but perfect since I like short skirts to hit just above the knee. Thanks, GH!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cathimurphy3
Location:LI, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress!!
Date:October 20, 2014
I bought this dress in black and it is a great little black dress! You can dress it up with jewelry or just as a casual choice with boots. It's machine washable and fits perfectly. I am 5'1" 115 lbs. and ordered an XS. It's not clingy and fits perfectly.
Review 7 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mcd12
Date:October 2, 2014
The dress must have been pinned in the back for the picture. It is an A-line, as described, but a baggy one -- even the XS. I returned it because it would have required altering and the price was too high (esp with the cost of shipping!) to make a further investment. Material was fine, construction good, just cut quite large,
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GymMouse
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for the petite
Date:October 2, 2014
Even xs was too big for my petite (5-2, 105 lbs.) frame. It looked like a tent on me. Back it goes.
Review 9 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baccia
Location:small town New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Work Perfect
Date:September 21, 2014
Love the style, fit, comfort and length of this dress. It is perfect for work, i am a learning consultant for teachers, and it's great for parent meetings and looking "professional". It can be easily dressed up, if need be.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Miamigirl
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lacks shape!
Date:September 18, 2014
The fabric and cobalt color are lovely! However, I am returning the dress because it is shapeless and hangs like a flour sac on me. It is also much longer than pictured. I wish it had a little more style as I really wanted to like it!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WNCkayaker
Location:WNC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
super wardrobe addition
Date:September 15, 2014
The dress is as advertised - comfortable, so versatile and timeless style. It was shorter than expected, so I hung it up instead of folding it. Being knit, it is now the perfect length! Love this dress and the color will be super for three seasons.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SB52
Location:Middletown, DE
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Super Value
Date:September 5, 2014
This is a very versatile dress. I have worn it 3 ways; by itself with sandals and chunky jewelry, over leggings with flats and a scarf, and belted over slim jeans. It will go into Fall easily by adding a cardigan and tights. A great medium weight fabric, body skimming, but not clingy. I bought it in the orange and blue and would have purchased in black, but it was sold out. And it packs perfectly for travel. I rolled them up and they arrived wrinkle free. Terrific purchase!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shakti
Location:Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great dress
Date:August 24, 2014
This dress is as advertised - I love it and will be wearing it a lot! Great fit, comfortable and versatile. I am very happy with my purchase.
Review 14 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlytheSC
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Perfect fall transition piece!
Date:August 23, 2014
I want this dress in every color! It is true to size, but if you are in between sizes, I would recommend going a size down. It fits nicely without being clingy. The cotton has a great weight to it. Perfect with flats now and boots later! I will get a lot of wear out of this.
Review 15 for Favorite A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DragonflyLady
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Nice Dress, a bit pricey
Date:August 17, 2014
Although I think the price is a bit high for this dress, it seems to be well made. The material is weighty and substantial, perfect for fall or cool summer evenings. The only thing I was a bit disappointed about was that it does not come with pockets (which I knew before ordering, as it is not mentioned in the item's description). The A-line shape is a safe bet for many body types. It fits true to size, and I hope they come out with more colors.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.