Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Backpack Jr.

Designed for kids age 4 and up, our small backpack now fits little shoulders even better (thanks to your feedback!) with redesigned ergonomic straps — and it still packs in everything you love. Imported. Two compartments (one big enough for a standard folder) and a built-in organizer Kid-friendly attachment loop for our Lunch Pack Padded back panel with adjustable padded straps and sternum strap Side pockets with grommet vents Top handle with foam center Clear hardware Sturdy YKK zippers 360-degree reflective Rugged, easy-to-clean 600-denier fabric with a reinforced 1200-denier fabric bottom Durable nylon lining PVC-free Size: 15" H x 11" W x 6" D WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD—Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs. To monogram a name with more than one capital letter, such as McMillan, please contact Customer Service at 800.870.3513. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38100%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Backpack Jr.
Review 1 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DD24
Location:Brooklyn, ny
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this Bag
Date:August 31, 2014
Great quality, great price! I love the design and the bag. I purchased this backpack for my 2 year old. It's definitely a little too large for a 2 year old, but I pulled the shoulder straps all the way and bc it snaps in the front, she can probably still use it this year. Realistically, I will probably be carrying it more than she will. The quality seems really good and she will probably be able to use it again next year.
Review 2 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StaceyWhite
Location:Elizabeth City, NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Personalized Backpack
Date:August 30, 2014
This was a special purchase, my niece started Kindergarten! The product was super affordable, great quality & shipped FAST!! I should have chosen a darker color for the stitching of her name because it was a loud print and hard to read, but I wanted a particular color. The gift was perfect & I LOVE GARNET HILL!!
Review 3 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GapQueen
Location:Tulsa, OK
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Backpack
Date:August 29, 2014
This backpack is a great size for a younger student. We tried junior backpacks from big box stores and while the compartments were smaller, the straps were wide and uncomfortable. This one is just perfectly made for smaller kids. There is plenty of room for my daughters binder and folders from school, as well as a separate pocket for library books, yet the height and shoulder width fit comfortably. All the extra interior pockets and matching accessories are really nice too! I see using this for a couple of years. The size and quality look like they will hold up.
Review 4 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marthemur
Location:Central Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Adorable
Date:August 28, 2014
Love the backpack and matching lunchbox, and my granddaughter is thrilled with it. Proud that she will have a backpack that stands out from the all the big box store packs the other kids have. With your sell, it was a very good value.
Review 5 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KelleyC
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
The best back to school purchase thus far!
Date:August 26, 2014
I hardly ever write reviews, but this little Backpack Jr. has been everything we wanted it to be for our 3 year old who just started pre-school. The school asked for kids to have full size backpacks so a binder/folders would fit; a full size backpack would have swallowed our daughter. This not only fits a binder, but there is plenty of room for her change of clothes, any other items she might need to store (in all of the little perfect pockets inside), water bottle, etc. We couldn't believe how much the backpack could hold and how beautifully it adjusted to her size. It not only adjusted to her 3 year old frame perfectly, but can support her school/backpack needs for many more years to come. The cupcake pattern is adorable and the quality of the backpack is outstanding! I HIGHLY recommend any of the GH backpacks!
Review 6 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsOffKilter
Very Satisfied!!
Date:August 25, 2014
This is the cutest backpack, my daughter loves it!! Although it's only endured one day of first grade, it seems to be very well made...the straps are well cushioned and soft, the workmanship seems to be top notch. I will update in June, after it has ran the full gamut!!
Review 7 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abcdefghi
Location:Roscoe, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great back pack
Date:August 24, 2014
I was worried about the size for my daughter. Sometimes the small back packs are too small for the things they are bringing home. This was perfect for kindergarten. It fits nice and comfy on her back without slipping off her shoulders. I would for sure recommend this!
Review 8 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommyMichelle
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Good backpack
Date:August 24, 2014
I got this backpack for my 4 year old. The size is perfect. I dislike the front buckle. It makes it hard for my toddler to put it on and of independently. That aside, it's a great backpack!
Review 9 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nitpicky
Location:Annapolis, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Has stood the test of time
Date:August 22, 2014
Two years ago, I purchased the junior backpack with robots on it. They don't make the robot one anymore but the backpack is totally worth it. Even though our kids can now fit into the big packpack, the robot backpack is our go-to because it's just nice to have a smaller backpack for those smaller trips to the park. And it's lasted, perfectly, for two years of hard abuse. No frays. No rips. No nothing.
Review 10 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EAurora
Location:Athens GA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Perfect PreK and beyond
Date:August 22, 2014
I love this bag in that it fits my daughter's shoulders well, and is only slightly long for a Pre-K-er, so I know it will be perfect for a few years, and maybe longer. The design--both how its built and how it looks--has lots of time to stay cute and appropriate. I love the unique patterns.
Review 11 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TWINMOM2010
Location:Memphis, TN
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
LOVE IT!!!
Date:August 22, 2014
I purchased this backpack for my daughter last January when she started Pre-K. She used it for the remainder of that year, and it held up so well that she is able to use it again this year. Very high quality. The pony pattern is super cute. She loves it and so do I.
Review 12 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Britny
Location:Arkansas
Best backpack EVER!
Date:August 22, 2014
I purchased two backpacks and they are amazing! The size and design are perfect for my two children. The material is durable yet functional. The side drink compartment will accommodate an adult size water bottle (that my five year old must have) or a child size water bottle with no worry of it falling out while wearing the backpack. The extra pockets on the interior are perfect for adding a change of clothes while not compromising the space for the 'other stuff'! So pleased with these bags!
Review 13 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WeluvGH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Practical and cute!
Date:August 21, 2014
Purchased this bag for my child going into kindergarten. Love the size and the fun patterns that these book bags come in!!!
Review 14 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandylu
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
the cutest backback!!!!
Date:August 21, 2014
My 4 year old son is starting school in 1 week and can not stop talking about how excited he is to go because of his new backpack! I have been a nervous wreck to see him start this new beginning but with his new found confidence wearing his new backpack I am feeling better.
Review 15 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCGrandma
Location:Coastal South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Lasting backpack
Date:August 21, 2014
I've bought Garnet Hill backpacks for my granddaughter over the past few years. They are so durable, the old ones are still in good shape when the new one arrives. So she switches off depending on her mood.
Review 16 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BonMSN
Location:Hartford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Durability Plus!
Date:August 21, 2014
I purchased the Backpack Jr, for my granddaughter when she started PreK two years ago and it is still going strong! It is used and abused daily, and I have just purchased the Rockets fro my grandson for Pre-Kindergarten!
Review 17 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nati
Location:Brick, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
My daughter loves it!
Date:August 21, 2014
This is the 2nd backpack/lunch box combo i get for my daughter and couldn't. Be happier with the purchase; the size, quality and colors are great! My almost 2nd. Grader cant wait to start school.
Review 18 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
supermom11
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Sooo Adorable! Perfect Preschool Size!
Date:August 21, 2014
We are so in love with the Backpack Jr! It has exceeded my expectations, and my son is over the moon about his 'rocket ships & planets' backpack w/ FREE matching lunch box! What an amazing deal, and worth every penny. I had never heard of Garnet Hill before, just randomly came across it on an internet search for 'preschool size backpacks'. As soon as I saw the adorable prints and read the wonderful reviews, I was sold. My son is 4.5 yrs old, 43" tall. The backpack jr is a perfect fit for him, with room to grow, yet w/o looking too big. I bet it will get us through preschool, kindergarten and maybe even into 1st grade! And he adores the print, pack design, easy zipper pulls and comfy straps. The quality is heavy duty and excellent w/ padded shoulder straps, chest strap, water bottle side pockets, 2 large compartments w/ lots of lil interior pockets inside. A file folder/notebook size can fit in it no problem, along with lots of other goodies/clothes etc. One of the coolest features is the lunchbox handle that clips onto the front loop of the backpack, it holds it securely and nearly 'morphs' right into the design of the backpack, one less thing to lose or forget. So cool and so handy. We chose to spend the extra for monograming his name on them both and so glad we did. It makes it impossible to lose or mistake for another child's. And so well done, the orange lettering on blue rocketship print looks wonderful and very heavy duty quality. I'm so pleased and highly recommend the set!
Review 19 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessM2
Location:Tampa, FL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Won't take it off!
Date:August 21, 2014
The size is perfect for my 4 year old, who is tall for his age. There are several adjustments that help make it fit nicely. Great storage for their age: front zipper area with many small areas for pencils, etc. and a larger zipper area with a divider. Perfect for pre-k and I hope it lasts a couple more years. It seems that it will. My son gets home from school and keeps it on his back for quite some time. I also really like that it is PVC free.
Review 20 for Backpack Jr.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KynleesMama
Location:Tyler, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Date:August 21, 2014
I LOVE THIS BACKPACK! It's so sturdy and the print is too cute. (I purchased the "Pony Up" set). The shipping was super quick even with my monogram. Too precious!
1 2 next>>