Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnet Hill.

Academy Riding Jacket

Our favorite vintage-inspired blazer is new for the season in lighter-weight tropical wool that works in any weather. Toss the classic over dresses or denim to look completely pulled together. Jacket has neat tailoring: a notched collar, two buttons, and front welt pockets. The inside is beautifully constructed too, with a hanger loop and a little stash pocket for a lipstick or a tenner. Slim fit Hip length Tropical-weight poly/wool/rayon Acetate lining Imported
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 of 757%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Academy Riding Jacket
Review 1 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trapezewoman
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fun Velvet Jacket
Date:April 27, 2015
Very fun jacket - I bought it on sale and in black velvet - I definitely pair w\ jeans. I bought a size 14 even though I'm usually a 10 in slacks and a 12 in shirts. But I have a lot of upper body muscle and I'm a C-cup - so the 14 fits snugly (riding jackets fit snugly so I sized up and it fits perfectly).
Review 2 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CLM11
Location:college town
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
beautiful but ill-fitting
Date:March 19, 2015
Like another reviewer, I find the jacket to be ill-fitting in the armholes. If I pull the jacket up an inch or so, it fits beautifully. The jacket is well made, and I got it on sale, so I'm debating whether I have it tailored to fit. Disappointing.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 27, 2015
Thank you for your feedback! We will share your comments with our Design Team.
Review 3 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ErinG
Location:Kirkland, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Jacket
Date:March 2, 2015
This jacket met all my expectations. Fabric is excellent, fully lined, weight is perfect and can be worn all year, workmanship is good. I had no problems with fit.
Review 4 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jass
Location:Kingsport TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love it!
Date:January 23, 2015
I love this jacket, color (houndstooth) is beautiful, beautifuly made and the fit is flattering. I like the shoulder pads and shorter length. It is comfortable in my usual size 12. Looks probably even better on less busty person. 5 stars for everything!
Review 5 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
swimmershoulders
Location:Ma
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
It fits
Date:November 6, 2014
I like this jacket very much. The cut worked for me. I am 5'10' long arms and have shoulders but a small bust and waist. This jacket fit. Its not super heavy. The houndstooth is darker than the picture. Looks great with everything.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Xandragar
Location:TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Armholes very large
Date:September 16, 2014
The fabric is very nice but the tailoring was not executed appropriately for a jacket in this price range. This is unusual for Garnet Hill. I purchased my usual size (00). The sleeve hem appears as if it were previously let down and the crease from the original hemline is still visibly in place. The armholes are very large. I compared the measure from the shoulder of the sleeve down to the side seam under the arm with another jacket of the same size and cut. The armholes are 1 1/2" larger. However, the shoulder to shoulder width across the back and length of the two jackets were the same. I cannot exchange it, as it's the smallest size they carry. I'll have to return it.
Review 7 for Academy Riding Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NicoG
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cut wrong for me
Date:September 11, 2014
This is beautiful fabric and perfect sewing. But for me, with my broad shoulders and small bust, the jacket is cut wrong. The armholes are too deep, restricting movement across the back and chest. Taking the shoulders up an inch would solve the problem, but I want a jacket at this price to already fit.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison September 15, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fit of our Academy Riding Jacket didn't work for you. We'd be happy to help you with a return or exchange at any time. Give us a call at 800-870-3513.