Product Reviews

Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular

We fine-tuned one of our favorite shirts by updating the fabric (it's a bit less sheer) and the patterns (spicy foulard, paisley, plaids, and a chambray for good measure). Feminine, shaped fit with a buttoned front and cuffs, and a shirttail hem, it's great solo or as a slim layer peeking out under a sweater. Long sleeves. Hip length. Lightweight cotton or chambray. Imported. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
13 of 1776%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Review 1 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
streetfashionkidd
Location:Arlington, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
The favorite casual cotton shirt IS the favorite!
Date:October 19, 2014
I purchased the navy plaid and the white cotton shirt. I have worn the navy plaid with a Garnet Hill skirt from the summer, the one with a navy background and dark pink polka dots. The trend of wearing contrasting patterns became a success with this combination. The navy was the common thread, and I felt absolutely adorable. I wear the white shirt with a black cardigan and boyfriend jeans. I plan to wear both shirts under some sleeveless and short sleeve dresses as a warming layer for the winter. I will wear the navy plaid as a top layer over a green t shirt. I will wear both shirts with a denim shirt and or my denim jacket, both from Garnet Hill. I am very pleased with the versatility of my purchase.
Review 2 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
trapezewoman
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Still a little thin but better
Date:October 17, 2014
The fabric is still a little sheer, but it is better than it used to be! My go to look is jeans and a button down shirt. I particularly like white button downs. The fit is nice. I purchased the white shirt. The plaids don't do anything for me, GH used to have lovely, unique prints in this shirt. Overall it's a moderately priced staple.
Review 3 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Barbrhal
Location:annapoli, md
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
disappointed
Date:October 10, 2014
I bought the mulberry plaid, which has nice colors and plaid design, but is very lightweight (even tho its supposedly been redesigned with heavier fabric!). I bought a size 10, even tho I'm usually a 6 or 8, as other reviewers complained how tight it was. Well, the 10 was way too large. If I were to exchange, I would buy my actual size. However, I'm returning, as my biggest complaint is it is pretty shapeless. I guess the word "casual" should have been a tip-off. There are darts at the bust, but no where else. This is just my personal preference, in a button down cotton shirt I like a little more shape.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 25, 2014
We did fine-tune this shirt by updating the fabric, it's a bit less sheer, but please remember that this is designed to be a lightweight cotton or chambray.
Review 4 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AthleticMom
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely Blouse!
Date:September 26, 2014
I got the spice foulard, vary nice subtle print. I plan to wear with a bold print cardi for modern look. Love it! The only reason it gets four instead of five stars is that I think it runs a little small. One size up from my true fit is perfect. I have ordered the gray check too.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
baco
Location:baltimore, md
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute fall shirt
Date:September 25, 2014
Purchased in petite. Still a little long but really cute shirt
Review 6 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LisaH
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I want one in every color!
Date:September 15, 2014
I love this shirt - have it on at work, very nice weight (light) and pattern is feminine, and modern at the same time.
I'm 32DD - usually a 2 or 4 in tops. I got this in 2P and it looks like it was made for me. A nice surprise.
Review 7 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
laurenlaurenk
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
If you're big-busted, forget it!
Date:September 14, 2014
I was excited to see that this blouse had darts, so I ordered it, thinking that it would be a quality piece that would actually fit my rather large chest. I ordered a size 18, which is actually 1 size bigger than what I'd usually need. Well, there's no way this blouse is an 18! It pulled at the buttons and in the back. Also, the material is very thin and sparse (especially for the price). So, even if this were available in a size 20, which it's not, I probably would not be exchanging it. Instead, I'm sending it back for refund. Very disappointed!
Review 8 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jendan0329
Kinda chintzy
Date:September 10, 2014
This was cute enough and the cut was fine but the quality of the fabric left something to be desired. It was thin and the print wasn't too impressive. No way for the price...
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison September 15, 2014
Our Favorite Casual Cotton is designed to be a lightweight cotton. Perhaps another one of our shirts would be more of what you're looking for. Give us a call if you need help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 9 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
windswept
Location:El Paso, TX
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
casual cotton shirt, nice change of pace
Date:September 8, 2014
I chose this shirt in the lovely red paisley, and really like how the solid red side of the cloth shows when I roll up the sleeves. And since it was not available in a petite, that is what I must do in order not to look like I'm wearing big sister's clothes. I had hoped to wear the shirt untucked, but that didn't work, either, because it was so long that lap wrinkles formed and made it look bad. BUT, a moment of inspiration, I tucked it in and in order not to emphasize my not small waist, I bloused it out a little above my jeans. Voila! Looks nice now!
Review 10 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DogLoverMom
Location:West Virginia via Louisiana
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great shirt strange sizing
Date:September 6, 2014
I purchased several of these shirts when they went on sale. I typically wear size S/4 but after SEVERAL returns ended up with sizes 10 and 12 in different shirts. My XS/0 college daughter took one of the size 8's. The blue plaid was a last minute pick up while on the phone making an exchange and it is my absolute favorite. The picture does not do justice to the aqua and blue! These shirts are made of beautiful flowing fabric and the classic styling looks great with jeans or shorts!
Review 11 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
loveslinens
Location:Bay Area, California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too tight -- even two sizes up from "true size"
Date:September 6, 2014
At the rec of "true size" ordered a size 2. Was too tight in shoulders and across chest. Exchanged for a 4, and then a 6, still too tight in same areas. I have somewhat broad shoulders, but chest is small -- band size 38 though. Worried an 8 would be too long in sleeves and overall as even size 2 was a little long overall. Returned. Very surprised to see that this is now a "favorite"!
Review 12 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ExtraOlives
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice fit, nice plaids
Date:September 2, 2014
This shirt has a great tailored fit that even works for me, with my broad shoulders, small bust, and long arms. And you know how collars on some shirts just hang too wide? This doesn't do that either. I'm guessing the fit is very forgiving for lots of body types.
Review 13 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margar
Location:Great Island,Harpswell, ME
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Shirts are back!
Date:August 26, 2014
I love shirts! They are so functional--wear with jeans, pants, and even a suit! Shirts are so smart looking. Not really the old prep, but a newer version. This is how I dress. Fit is good, quality
seems fine and it seems like an
easy care fabric. I haven't washed it yet, but I feel confident that it won't need more than just a touch up! I will be purchasing a few more.
Review 14 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hemisk
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Comfy classic
Date:August 23, 2014
This is the third time I've bought one of these shirts. The fit is nice and the material is on the thin side compared to other shirts, but I think that makes it more comfortable. One note: I bought the pink/purple plaid and the purple is brighter than it appeared in the picture, but still a pretty color.
Review 15 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bunneh
Location:Saratoga, NY
Gender:Female
Go to shirt
Date:August 22, 2014
The fit is excellent, unlike the darling, very small cardigans in the different patterns, this shirt is true to size. The fabric is a little thin, but the colors are great. Great to wear with sweaters, jackets, or alone. I would like to get another.
Review 16 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annatinsight
Location:Caledonia, IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Casual Cotton Shirt
Date:August 22, 2014
Love these shirts- have them in 5 colors and patterns. I wear them unbuttoned with an Eileen Fisher silk tank underneath. Great with Jeans.
Review 17 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gordy
Location:Santa Barbara
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Stellar Delicate Print
Date:August 21, 2014
I purchased the RED PAISLEY and it is the most delicate, feminine, retro print ever. As luck would have it I just bought a pair of riding boots in the same color. It is like a brownish barn-red. Print is lace-like. I LOVE IT!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.