Product Reviews

Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular

We fine-tuned one of our favorite feminine shirts with fresh new patterns: dots, stripes, ginghams, and an oxford for good measure. The shaped fit is great solo or as a slim layer peeking out under a sweater. Long sleeves with button cuffs. Hip length with a subtle shirttail hem. Lightweight cotton or classic oxford. Imported. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
22 of 3171%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Review 1 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ca22
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
LOVE this shirt. Wish they'd add new colors
Date:March 24, 2015
Love this shirt. It is my favorite go-to casual choice. It's so hard to find a shirt without front pockets. Good weight. Washes well. Nice lines. Needs an iron, but it's worth it. Wish Garnet Hill would add some new colors (deep green) and some interesting patterns (blue paisley).
Review 2 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Herbalist
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love it
Date:March 24, 2015
This shirt is very nice quality that fits true to size. I typically wear a size small or 6 and this fit perfectly. Cotton is nice weight that works well in winter, spring , fall. Can be worn alone or under a sweater.
Review 3 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Punkin1966
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not Thrilled!
Date:March 19, 2015
Not Garnet Hill's best quality item. Flimsy material and couldn't even begin to button at my usual size 8. I have this problem with other companies but was expecting more this time. Very disappointed.
Review 4 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jenfromafar
Location:Dakar for now
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Good for busty women
Date:March 19, 2015
I bought the khaki and coral oneon sale as I need a few nice buttonup blouses for work. It is very nice weave but the best was that it doesn't gap and the bust like almost all other! I am 38DD and was able to wear a 10 no problem. Dressed up or down with jeans, it looks great!
Review 5 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OkeyDokey
Location:Idaho
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
not for the full figured!
Date:March 18, 2015
I really like this shirt and bought a couple for myself and my daughter. It is not designed for the full chested, so I ended up with all of the shirts!! Great for me, too bad for my daughter.
Review 6 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Painterly
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
classic shirt
Date:March 15, 2015
Great classic shirt ! I like layering it under a light sweater and also over a tee all year round. The fit is comfortable in my regular size. I got it in the soft gray check - love to pair it with golden yellow.
Review 7 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JV54
Location:WI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Kind of Blah
Date:March 12, 2015
This is a really basic shirt. It is well made, but expensive for the lack of details. It is not as see-through as last year's shirt, so no panic if you have to ditch your sweater due to increased temps, but not very special., either.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2015
Thank you for your feedback!
Review 8 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NHgirlinKY
Location:Edgewood,KY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not an all over good fit but...
Date:March 9, 2015
This stylish shirt fits well through the chest and torso but the sleeves are a bit too long, not a good it in the cuff either. I will move the cuff button way over to get a better fit which will also help with he length. I love the fabric and how the stripes allighn for a quality look.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your feedback! Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 9 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dolomite
Date:February 7, 2015
Good light weight shirt! Only complaint would be that for a petite size, the sleeves are too long. I'm keeping them in spite of that.
Review 10 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
libbybeach
Location:Island in Puget Sound
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
garnet hill longtime fan underwhelmed
Date:February 7, 2015
I used your size guide and found the shirts that I ordered at least two inches too small; I couldn't button them. I have reordered since I just wanted a simple cotton shirt for everyday wear, and the price is right. The fabric of the dotted shirt is very nice, much less so the stripe which is unpleasantly flimsy--and I didn't reorder that.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
butyjunky
Location:Milwaukee WI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not petite
Date:December 22, 2014
Runs large but was still long in body & sleeves for a petite.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJanuary 16, 2015
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free and we provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab, to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 12 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grntea
Location:Chicago Suburb
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:December 14, 2014
I have done very well with these shirts and own at least 4 in various colors/patterns. The petite sizing works nicely for me (5'2.5", 116lbs, 34B). I typically make use of specific garment measurements that GH provides for this item. Size 4p worked for me. The cotton is very light weight and soft. It is very nice for layering with a tee or under a sweater. The purple plaid looks super with denim and a cardigan. I have also enjoyed pairing it with my grey GH trouser cords.
Review 13 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
landscapepainter
Location:Annapolis MD
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
good but...
Date:November 5, 2014
This shirt fits well, I ordered one size up than my usual size and I'm glad I did. Quality and workmanship is quite good too. My reservation is that the stripes in the plaid that looked like light blue are actually light purple and I'm not a big fan.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastrygirl
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great lightweight shirt!
Date:November 4, 2014
I'm a 32DD and rarely satisfied with the fit of buttoned shirts. This one is great. It lays well and the color is great (I got the plum).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
streetfashionkidd
Location:Arlington, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
The favorite casual cotton shirt IS the favorite!
Date:October 19, 2014
I purchased the navy plaid and the white cotton shirt. I have worn the navy plaid with a Garnet Hill skirt from the summer, the one with a navy background and dark pink polka dots. The trend of wearing contrasting patterns became a success with this combination. The navy was the common thread, and I felt absolutely adorable. I wear the white shirt with a black cardigan and boyfriend jeans. I plan to wear both shirts under some sleeveless and short sleeve dresses as a warming layer for the winter. I will wear the navy plaid as a top layer over a green t shirt. I will wear both shirts with a denim shirt and or my denim jacket, both from Garnet Hill. I am very pleased with the versatility of my purchase.
Review 16 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
trapezewoman
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Still a little thin but better
Date:October 17, 2014
The fabric is still a little sheer, but it is better than it used to be! My go to look is jeans and a button down shirt. I particularly like white button downs. The fit is nice. I purchased the white shirt. The plaids don't do anything for me, GH used to have lovely, unique prints in this shirt. Overall it's a moderately priced staple.
Review 17 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Barbrhal
Location:annapoli, md
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
disappointed
Date:October 10, 2014
I bought the mulberry plaid, which has nice colors and plaid design, but is very lightweight (even tho its supposedly been redesigned with heavier fabric!). I bought a size 10, even tho I'm usually a 6 or 8, as other reviewers complained how tight it was. Well, the 10 was way too large. If I were to exchange, I would buy my actual size. However, I'm returning, as my biggest complaint is it is pretty shapeless. I guess the word "casual" should have been a tip-off. There are darts at the bust, but no where else. This is just my personal preference, in a button down cotton shirt I like a little more shape.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 25, 2014
We did fine-tune this shirt by updating the fabric, it's a bit less sheer, but please remember that this is designed to be a lightweight cotton or chambray.
Review 18 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AthleticMom
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely Blouse!
Date:September 26, 2014
I got the spice foulard, vary nice subtle print. I plan to wear with a bold print cardi for modern look. Love it! The only reason it gets four instead of five stars is that I think it runs a little small. One size up from my true fit is perfect. I have ordered the gray check too.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
baco
Location:baltimore, md
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute fall shirt
Date:September 25, 2014
Purchased in petite. Still a little long but really cute shirt
Review 20 for Favorite Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LisaH
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I want one in every color!
Date:September 15, 2014
I love this shirt - have it on at work, very nice weight (light) and pattern is feminine, and modern at the same time.
I'm 32DD - usually a 2 or 4 in tops. I got this in 2P and it looks like it was made for me. A nice surprise.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>