Product Reviews

Favorite Pencil Skirt

The workplace workhorse is even sharper in tempting fabric. We love peppered tweed or cavalry twill, a tight diagonal weave once used in cavalry uniforms. The classic cut and conforming fit look equally chic with a cashmere sweater or tucked-in shirt. Front slash pockets. Side zip. Back vent for ease. Hits just below the knee. Tweed: poly/wool/acrylic; twill: cotton/spandex. Acetate lining. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
10 of 1567%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Review 1 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomOhio
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
new standard skirt
Date:February 18, 2015
I got this in both blue and black and love them both. Am ordering another set for when I wear these out. Am between a 10 and 12, so bought both so that I can flex depending on whether I need to tuck a shirt in or not. Only think that I don't like is that it is dry clean only, but the price is right to make this worth it!
Review 2 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dollartist
Location:Vancouver, BC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not my best style
Date:January 21, 2015
This skirt is almost straight from the waist to the hem.
So did not work for me as I have a small waist and bigger hips.
But the fabric was up to Garnet Hills high standard so if you have a straight silhouette, this would be a good skirt to buy.
Review 3 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilliana
Location:Spokane, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classy, comfy, high quality
Date:January 21, 2015
I absolutely love this skirt in the black and white tweed. I am 5 ft 3 inches tall, 120 lbs, and the size 6 fits PERFECTLY at waist and hips. The material is high quality and will look good for many years. I received many compliments wearing this skirt with a black cashmere pullover sweater. This skirt will be a staple in my wardrobe and I am so glad I bought it!
Review 4 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Godiva21
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Favorite Shirt
Date:January 18, 2015
This skirt is absolutely beautiful! You can't tell the exact look of the material from the picture. The material is gorgeous. The fabric has a nice sheen and weave that makes the skirt very classy. I am 5'3" and weight 124 lbs and I purchased the size 6 which fits perfectly. This skirt is my new favorite item.
Review 5 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lindapoolou12
Location:Lakeland, Fla.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Favorite pencil skirt
Date:January 16, 2015
I was very disappointed in th poor quality and fit of this skirt! I wear a size 6 or 8 and could not get this skirt over my knees.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 20, 2015
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 6 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shopdesign
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
good skirt
Date:January 16, 2015
THis is a good foundation skirt for the wardrobe. While I won't wear it in the dead of winter it will be a staple in the shoulder seasons. The fit is good and length reasonable (5'-9", 128)
Review 7 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mnshpr
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A Real Winner
Date:January 2, 2015
I have the black and white tweed, and it is one of my "go to" skirts! It runs a bit small so order up if your current size just fits or is a little tight. I normally wear a 10 and it was too tight. The 12 was just perfect. The skirt is lined! You can't go wrong!
Review 8 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farmor
Location:Geneva, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
What a great skirt!
Date:December 27, 2014
I recently purchased the tweed skirt. It is very well made and quite attractive. I am about 145#, 5'5" and the size 10 fit well. I have a mature figure, meaning I have a bit of a thicker waist. I wore this for a holiday party with a black sweater and short gray suede boots. I got many compliments! I'm not a big skirt wearer so I was happy to have a skirt that looked good on and will be very versatile. I also really like the pockets and that the skirt is lined!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
professorNell
nice but sizing WAY off
Date:November 28, 2014
Nice skirt, or would have been, if it had been cut remotely to fit. Way WAY too small.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 19, 2014
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 10 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jennifer99
Location:Saint Louis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Versatile skirt but size up
Date:October 23, 2014
Nice classic, versatile pencil skirt. The pockets are a nice touch. It does run very small through the hips. My usual size (4) was much too small through the hips and seat, but fit OK in the waist (which is unusual for my straight figure). I sized up to a 6, and it fits well. The waist is not too big. It does hit mid-knee (I'm 5'5"); I wearing it, and it looks nice; haven't decided if I'm going to have it hemmed or not.
Review 11 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wyomingal
Location:Wyoming
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great go-to skirt
Date:October 22, 2014
This skirt fits well for me ..love that it can be dressed up with a great blazer or sweater. And it can be worn with a denim jacket for a more casual look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CBos
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Runs small
Date:October 1, 2014
I like the look of the skirt. I ordered the tweed and followed the size guide carefully. I'm 5'4" slender. With 25" waist and 36" hips the 0 should have fit nicely and it is definitely too small in the hips/butt. I am considering exchanging it for the 2 and I'm wondering if that size will be to big. Is this skirt running true-to-size for you?
Review 13 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mehh
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
wrinkles
Date:September 16, 2014
Got this in black and in blue. It fits well, but wrinkles like crazy as soon as you sit down.
Review 14 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pellegrino
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Didn't fit this curvy petite.
Date:September 13, 2014
I really like the blue color, and decided to give it a try, despite the fact that it doesn’t come in petite sizes. I’m 5’3”, about 125 pounds, curvy, short-waisted, 32A-28-38. I typically wear regular sized pants, but usually need petite skirts and dresses. The size 4 is too tight in the hips, but still too big in the waist. Looking at the size chart, I probably should have tried a 6 - whoops. But I imagine that still would have been too big in the waist. The skirt is also too long for me; it hits right at the middle of my knee, which generally makes me look shorter. Guess I'll stick to petite pencil skirts.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison September 16, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fit of our Favorite Pencil Skirt didn't work for you. We'd be happy to help you with a return or exchange at any time. Give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 15 for Favorite Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jasmine123
Location:oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Best Pencil skirt
Date:September 4, 2014
I love the quality and design for this product. I am amaze. I have a lot of friend compliment as well. It is good pattern with good fabric.