Product Reviews

Essential Sundress - Regular

The ladylike way to float through the day, our lovely dress is fitted through the bodice and flared at the full skirt. With a rounded neckline, a contrasting sash, and a bevy of retro-inspired prints (not to mention a flower-power eyelet), this is a frock you can really rock. Eyelet has a contrasting lining and scalloped hem for an extra dash of interest. Sleeveless. Knee length. Hidden zip. Removable sash. Cotton voile. Lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.958 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
4
10 of 2442%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Essential Sundress - Regular
Review 1 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Sweet dress
Date:July 30, 2014
This is a lovely summer dress, but too short waisted for me. I bought the yellow stripe and it is lovely, but the waist is too high for me and the stripes just accent the fact. Sorry to have to return.
Review 2 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judimcd
Location:Ringwood, New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Summer dress
Date:June 25, 2014
I wore this dress to my son's school function and it was perfect-- very comfortable and dressy without being to dressy. The fit was perfect and the skirt was not too "poofy". I am a size2-4 petite and the 2 petite fit just right.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your great feedback!
Review 3 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
emrgee
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
So disappointed
Date:June 9, 2014
I was so excited to get this dress and wear it to some summer events. The print is beautiful, the light fabric is perfect for summer. But I have to agree with all the other reviews about the poufy fit. From the front it looks great, but it puffs out in the back and stomach and is not flattering at all from the side. I changed out of it before I left the house. So disappointing, as the pattern and fit up top are perfect. Sadly sending it back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dixon
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
loved it but,
Date:May 19, 2014
really loved this adorable dress, but like many other reviewers said, it didn't fit correctly in the back. I'm so sad about it - had to send it back
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 20, 2014
Sad to hear this dress didn't work for you. We have several other sundresses that my offer a better fit. Give us a call if we can help with a freight free exchange or return.
Review 5 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Happy2shop
Location:Eastern Washington State
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute but not for me
Date:May 19, 2014
I was super excited to get this dress for mothers day. Im 5'9" and 165lbs. I usually wear an 8 and sometimes a 6. This dress fit great in the chest but was not flared to a full skirt at the hips. I am curvy but I wouldnt say all hips either. I was sad because I really thought it was cute!
Review 6 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SGJ48
Location:Concord, GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:May 13, 2014
Nice fit! Wore it to a wedding the weekend I got it and was very comfortable and felt good wearing it! Love the color! May have to get another in a different color!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mommyoftoddlers
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Confirmed Pooch in the back
Date:May 12, 2014
I read the reviews, but thought that perhaps the other reviewers were being harsh regarding the pooch in the back of this dress so I ordered it anyway. It is a beautiful dress (color/fabric). BUT it does have a very weird pooch in the back at the waist. I returned it
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
aab7337
Fit and Quality
Date:May 12, 2014
I ordered this dress because I loved the prints. When I received it, I was not impressed with the quality-- the material seemed a little cheap and the lining was just a plain cotton. For the price of the dress I would expect more. The fit was also not great. It kind of pooches in the stomach area and overall doesn't have a perfect fit like a would expect from a dress of this price.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jleaton
Location:Concord, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Really disappointing
Date:May 11, 2014
Every spring I look forward to the new dress styles that GH puts out because I always purchase several of them and then live in them all spring and summer. This dress is a COMPLETE miss- poor, poor quality, and a terrible fit. The dress is tight up top (I've worn the same GH dress size for years) and then poofs up where the bodice meets the skirt- it looks ridiculous. I had it on my body for 60 seconds and couldn't wait to get it off and send it back. Major disappointment!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 13, 2014
We appreciate your comments on the fit of our Essential Summerdress and have asked our design team to review them. If you need help with your return we're happy to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 10 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
waterlover
Gender:Female
should have followed advice
Date:May 2, 2014
Got the dress, tried it on. Fits nicely on top, but that poof in the back is just not acceptable. Will be sending it back. Not up to the standards I would expect from GH.
Review 11 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kay2014
Not the quality I expect from GH
Date:April 29, 2014
I returned the dress. I didn't like the flimsy fabric.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 30, 2014
We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges! We appreciate your feedback.
Review 12 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Newport13
Location:Newport, RI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
I thought bustles went out of style in the 19th C
Date:April 23, 2014
Despite reading the reviews and knowing other women were frustrated by the fit of this dress, I thought it was too cute to not give it a try. I purchased both the navy scroll and the sailboat prints. The navy scroll is on backorder and hasn't arrived yet. The sailboat print is adorable. I was a bit concerned upon removing it from the packaging because the seam at the neckline appeared to have been sewn incorrectly, resulting in the white lining being visible. This may simply be an issue with how it was pressed, rather than sewn, but the flaw looks as if it will require work to correct each time it is pressed. More problematic, however, was the fit. I am typically a size 6-8 in dresses. I have a narrow waist and full hips and can typically get away with a 6 if the dress is A-line or has a full skirt. I purchased the 8 in this dress due to the comments about the pouf in the back and I'll still have to send it back. It is not tight anywhere, but the skirt puffs out unattractively in the back. I had hoped a cardigan would camouflage it, but no dice. And who wants to hide such a cute dress? I hope GH can fix this issue and offer a modified version of this dress in the future. Meanwhile, I'm envious of all of you who can wear it as is!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
klb1
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Misplaced pouf
Date:April 18, 2014
The size 8 dress fit almost perfectly with the exception of an erroneous pouf at the back of the waist. It looked ridiculous. I thought it was just me and how I'm built, until I saw the other reviews online that mentioned it. So, the person who may look best in this dress is someone with narrow hips, and very little padding in the rear who, when someone sees this strange cut to the dress, won't wonder whether the dress fits. The observer (and wearer) will simply understand it wasn't designed well.
I also felt the fabric on the blue print dress was a bit thin/weak. Perhaps the eyelet is more substantive. Overall, I am disappointed that I must return it as I was hoping it had a better structure.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 21, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed. Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase and we offer freight free exchanges.
Review 14 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KatefromMaine
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute dress
Date:April 18, 2014
I am so happy with this dress! So glad it came in a petite. I am 5'2" 125 lbs and the 6 petite fit perfect!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chicagogirl23
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
beautiful dress
Date:April 14, 2014
I ordered this dress in the fuschia eyelet. It's beautiful! I love it!
Review 16 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dairy
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great fit
Date:April 12, 2014
Like everyone else is saying, this dress is a true fit....however, like everyone else is saying, the little poof in the back is really strange...I am going to keep it because I hate returning things and I will wear it, but I just wonder how things like this gets past someone that is designing clothes? Another thing is that there are no pockets...C'mon give us some pockets!!! Anyway, other than that it is really cute until you turn sideways and it's a little goofy looking...I wear a 0, so my poof isn't that big, but it's still there.....( I got the fushia eyelet)
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 15, 2014
Thanks for your note! We'll be sure to share your request for pockets with our designers.
Review 17 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1runninggirl
Location:Colorado
Date:April 12, 2014
The quality if the dress did not fit the price. It fit well, but I returned it as I didn't think it was worth the cost.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 15, 2014
Customer comments are extremely important to us, and we appreciate your honest feedback! We'd love to help you find the perfect dress, and are here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 18 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alyc
Location:buffalo, ny
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
love this dress!
Date:April 8, 2014
this dress is lovely. it's a little poofier of skirt/waist than i'd like, but the fit is great and the color (fushia with orange) is PERFECT for the spring. love!
Review 19 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HopeH
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Almost Perfect
Date:April 7, 2014
I so wanted to love this dress. The fabric is soft and lovely. The fit of the bodice is absolutely perfect, true to size (I'm a size 4) and so flattering. I love the overall styling. Sadly, as others have noted, there is something wrong with the way the dress fits in the back. The cut of the skirt creates an unattractive pooch between the waistband and the full part of your bottom, instead of skimming nicely. Then it is almost too snug across the tush. If they can fix this issue, I would buy several of these lovely dresses.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 9, 2014
We appreciate all the great comments and are sad to hear the fit of this dress didn't work. We'd love to help you find the perfect dress and are here to assist with a return or freight free exchange! Give us a call 800-870-3513
Review 20 for Essential Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smurfette
Location:MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So cute!
Date:April 7, 2014
I ordered sz 8 petite. It is pretty on. It is just a little snug in the bust area, and I am an A cup.
1 2 next>>