Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Layered Knit Dress

Our sophisticated tee dress has a little extra edge in the form of a second layer that peeks out from beneath. The supersoft, striped top layer is loose (though slightly slimmer than seasons past) and the solid-color underlayer is fitted. Together they make for an easy, flattering silhouette. Scoop neck. Three-quarter sleeves. Short. Lightweight cotton/rayon/spandex blend. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
53 of 5891%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Layered Knit Dress
Review 1 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scribbler
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fun, interesting little dress
Date:February 12, 2015
I first bought this dress a couple of years ago, and eventually gave it away. I liked the fit and the casual flare of it, but at that time the stripes were very wide - I felt like I was wearing a jail uniform! I'm only about 5'2", so wide stripes are not good. But I regretted giving it away; I found myself wishing I still had it. When I saw it was now out with smaller, more flattering stripes, I purchased again. It's a dress that takes some getting used to; if you're short, you may have to fiddle with it a bit. I find it's most flattering if I roll the sleeves up to just below my elbow; this makes me look less boxy in it. But it's such a useful dress; it looks great with canvas sneakers, sandals, even booties. Can be dressed up with tights, too, although I primarily use it for casual wear. The underlayer fits a little snuggly which is nice; it's almost like wearing very comfortable Spanx, in that it keeps your shape nicely (but I stress - it's very comfortable; the material is unbelievably soft!), while the outer layer just flows loosely. It's just a very comfortable, useful little dress that's kind of quirky, and I like it. It runs a little generously, so if you're normally an XL, get a L. (Or if you're a 14, try a 12.)
Review 2 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DiscriminateShopper
Location:Brighton, MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute, but needs altering
Date:February 12, 2015
I like the style and material of this casual dress. However, the tee on my dress is so long that only two inches at most shows making the skirt part look like a mistake. I will need to have the tee portion shortened by several inches to make it look like it does in the picture.
Review 3 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opey
Location:Orlando, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
My second one of this style
Date:February 11, 2015
Wash and wear! Need I say more. The fit is relaxed and very urban. I get compliments each time I wear it
Review 4 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1234jk
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love It!
Date:January 7, 2015
I love this dress! I find it flattering and comfortable. It fits TTS. I typically wear a 6 and the small fits perfectly. The fabric is thin, but not too thin or see through. Hopefully, it will not develop holes after a few washings (I find this is a common probably with thin knits). I hope this dress is brought back for summer with short sleeve or next year. I would definitely buy again (provided it does not get holes).
Review 5 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
merriwild
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Co cute
Date:October 21, 2014
Well, I wanted the gray heather and black stripe, but it wasn’t available in my size, so I ordered the gray and white. Much to my surprise, when it arrived, it was the gray and black stripe. What a cute dress! It took some figuring out at first, but you have to pull the under dress all the way down, then layer the "top' over it. Yes, the top is big, but that is the look of this dress. It's so casual and definitely a dress to wear shopping, beaching, out with the girls or a great throw on. Moreover, I turned it inside out and it is a cute striped fitted dress with long sleeves! Quality material. I’ll wear it with boots this fall and with sandals this spring. Order a size down – I’m a true medium, but the small was a perfect fit.
Review 6 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chachalady
Location:Boston, MA.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fantastic dress
Date:October 16, 2014
I love this dress, bought the grey/navy stripe and wore with navy tights. So comfy. Was told it runs large so went down in size. I am 5'5" and 140 pounds,.got size S and it is perfect. I've worn it twice so far and got compliments both times.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beadgirljgus
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great dress
Date:October 10, 2014
I love this dress. It is very comfortable and fits nice.
Review 8 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizN
Location:AL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love it!!
Date:September 29, 2014
This is a great dress just wear, wash, dry a little hang up and start over. I have 3 colors but would like to have the dress in darker colors for fall & winter but they are sold out in my size. Hope Garnet Hill gets more in!! I want in every color. I can wear this dress year round where I live. I bought one for my daughter-in-law and she loved so much she bought another.
Review 9 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cecilia
Location:Monroeville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fashionable
Date:September 24, 2014
Very comfortable and looks great with a Jean Jacket and tights.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddfloyd
Location:Greensboro, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Dress makes one look huge!
Date:September 15, 2014
Very nice fabric, very comfortable...but the outer dress is huge! Not flattering at all.
Review 11 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gbobmi
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love!
Date:September 15, 2014
This is a fun dress, soon to be worn with leggings and flats or boots. This is a 3 season dress for me. Fits well. I bought a Small, per Garnet Hill's sizing guidelines. I'm 5'6' and weight 145.
Review 12 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cottongirl
Location:texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
compliments compliments compliments
Date:September 12, 2014
This is my second dress...the first one is grey.... my new one is the turquoise! I love and I wear it often and always get compliments. The arms are longer and cover the areas some of us are not fond of. The material is wonderful and never needs ironing.
Review 13 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jalta
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:August 26, 2014
This dress is fantastic. Fits like a dream. At 5'11" and normally a size 8, the medium is perfect.
Review 14 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just not for me!
Date:August 22, 2014
I think this is a dress for the tall and slim; the baggy top just didn't do anything for me, and it looks so good in the pictures! My slim daughters were not taken by the stripes either.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonAugust 29, 2014
We're glad to see that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our items.
Review 15 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kath
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Looks better on-line
Date:August 22, 2014
I don't understand the positive reviews - that's why I got it! Just looked dumpy on.
Review 16 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quest
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great travel dress
Date:August 17, 2014
Good fit, packs well, and dresses up or down to fit the occasion. I have orderied other colors.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weitzbrook
Location:San Jose
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:July 31, 2014
Awesome dress,Had to buy another one..I get SO many compliment s ...
Review 18 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kokolii
Location:Maui
I wish.....
Date:July 30, 2014
.... I could detach the tunic from the dress. I love this ensemble but the dress underneath is so cute and fits so nicely that I wish I could show it off separately.
Review 19 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doriana
Location:Milwaukee, wi
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Best casual dress all year round!
Date:July 16, 2014
It is a dress for all types of body, for colder and warmer seasons, and washes well. I see that some reviews state that the top can be a little baggy, I guess that depends on preference. If that's the case, it is an easy, inexpensive fix. I bought it in three colors, I love to wear dresses vs pants especially during summer. For reference, I am 5'5" , 128 lb, a little curvy. Both S and XS fit me well.
Review 20 for Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jandablack
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Cool summer dress
Date:July 12, 2014
As stated previously the aqua colour is paler than pictured. It was quite short the first time I wore it but after washing and ironing it was a bit longer. Wore it on a very hot day and even with the long sleeves it was very cool. It would look nice with white Capri leggings, also.
1 2 3 next>>