Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular

Made by Eileen Fisher exclusively for Garnet Hill. A sweep of surplice gives this dress a most flattering silhouette. Crafted from organic cotton with a little Lycra®, it drapes the body beautifully (skimming curves without being a bit clingy). The tipped hem keeps the line modern. Below-knee length in front, longer in back. Organic cotton/Lycra®. USA. Updated based on customer comments: This dress runs true to size, but is more full in the skirt than pictured.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
2
49 of 6773%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bacquet
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Dress with a Little Adjustment
Date:October 7, 2014
After buying this dress in a Petite Large and finding it just a little shorter in front than I liked, I decided to try again with a Large. The Large glides nicely over my curves, is just a little loose in the bodice and is a good length in the front. Since I'm barely 5 ft tall, of course it's too long in the back! But the excellent sale price makes the cost of alterations reasonable. Overall I'm very pleased!
Review 2 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebW
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Even the XS too big!
Date:September 26, 2014
Read all the reviews and thought, especially because of the sales pricing, that this was a good addition to the wardrobe. Ordered down a size to an XS. 5'3", 113 lbs. I was still swimming in it. The bust was ok because I could prob wear a padded bra (34b) but there was so much extra fabric at the high waist that it looked too bulky and not at all flattering. Very disappointed!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison September 29, 2014
Thank you for mentioning the fit of this dress; the skirt is more full than pictured. We'd love to help with a freight free exchange at anytime to find a dress that may offer a better fit for you. Give us a call at 800.870.3513.
Review 3 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jakos49
Location:Southwest NH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute and versatile
Date:September 2, 2014
Does run big, but I heeded other reviews and went for the extra-small. I am usually a 6 or 8, small (sometimes medium) -- never extra small. But this one fits perfectly. The key is the fit in the bust area, because the dress falls nicely, loosely -- but not baggy -- under the bust line ( which is great when the years add a little extra padding at the waist!) Love it in black because I can dress it up or down.
Review 4 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
landlover
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
More trouble than it's worth
Date:August 31, 2014
The dress is very cute but there's too much volume below the bodice. I am 5'6" and 130 lbs. First I ordered the small and it swallowed me. I returned it for the xs and still it was big below the bodice. Because I wanted to be happy with this dress I ended up altering it. The results are pretty good. When the bulk is reduced, the curved hem is more noticeable. If you have this dress and feel the same way, I'd suggest taking it to a tailor. I happen to have a serger and average sewing skills, which is why I did it myself.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonSeptember 6, 2014
We're glad to see you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another size. We have shared your comments with our Design Team for further review.
Review 5 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Malina
Location:Honolulu, HI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Fit & Fabric
Date:August 30, 2014
It is always gives me a good feeling to wear a dress that fits perfectly, has a classic look and is practical to wear for day or evening.
Review 6 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lillypete
Location:Des Plaines, IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely and flattering
Date:August 27, 2014
Very flattering fit. Runs very large. I am 5'4" and 120 lbs and wear a size XS in this brand.
Review 7 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JSunny
Location:Santa Barbara
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this Dress!
Date:August 15, 2014
SO soft and wearable! Great for work and everyday with flats and for dinner with heels! I am normally a medium but ordered the small after reading the reviews and it fit perfectly.
Review 8 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
obgirl
loved it so much, bought 3
Date:August 15, 2014
I really love this dress, and ended up buying it in 3 different colors. I always get compliments when I wear it. I am 5'6", 140lbs, and the size small fit perfect. Since I got them all on sale, the price was great.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thcolorado
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:August 10, 2014
Ordered in the blue first and after wearing for an afternoon, immediately ordered in the gray color before the sale ended. Easy to wear. Just laundered the blue dress and noticed some pilling on the back side. I hope it doesn't get any worse or this dress will have a short wear life as it may start to look worn. Followed the instructions for laundering by hanging to dry to maintain shape. Overall, pretty satisfied with the purchase.
Review 10 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
girlfrommiami
Location:Clayton, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great dress
Date:August 10, 2014
I love Eileen Fisher clothes and this dress is just perfect for summer
Review 11 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AP79
Location:Columbia, South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
wonderful - especially on sale
Date:August 10, 2014
As all my other EF items, this dress has a wonderfully flattering style and the best fabric ever! I like the silhouette in this one best, it's smart and sweet at the same time. I am slightly athletically built, overall average with 5'6'', 140 lbs, and the S fits me just fine.
Review 12 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzF
Location:Providence, RI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Near-perfect dress
Date:August 2, 2014
This dress fits perfectly and is so flattering. The cotton knit is substantial and the sewing is quality. I normally wear a size 8 or 10 dress, and the small in EF is just right, fitted in the bodice and flaring gently over the midsection. I'm not wild about the hem, which is slightly longer in the back, but it's a small issue for an ohtherwise spot-on dress.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NOVAMomma
Location:Northern VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simple & Sweet
Date:July 28, 2014
This is a wonderful dress. Have struggled to find a dress that suits me for some time, and this was it. I purchased the granite, size small. The granite is a great color that will carry nicely into the fall. For the record, I am a mid-40s mom, with a fine, but not so perfect figure (5' 7", 135/140 lbs, small busted).
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liason July 29, 2014
So happy to hear that you've finally found a dress that suits you. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Review 14 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
melindab
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Fantastic dress
Date:July 27, 2014
I watched this one for a while and got it on sale. Very pleased. It's worth the sale price - otherwise you are just paying for the Eileen Fisher name, I think.
It's soft and light. I love that it goes great with nice heeled sandals for work and cute flats on weekends. Versatile, comfy and travel friendly.
Note: the fit is generous. I ordered a small. I'm about 5'3" and 138 lbs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KathrynT
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful, easy to wear dress
Date:July 24, 2014
Good quality knit, nice weight and drape. The dusty blue is great with my fair skin. I'm 5'2", 120# and the PP fits perfectly. I wasn't sure I would like the uneven hem, but it's not exaggerated and looks lovely. My teenage son complimented me on it.
Review 16 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaggieAnn
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
This dress works for me
Date:July 21, 2014
I hesitated to buy this as I have 2 other E.F. dresses in another style but similar fabric which I wear a lot so I didn't really need this one. When this went on sale I couldn't resist. I ordered the PS by mistake, and it nearly fit, but the PM was perfect. I love the fit, I have broad shoulders and am a 36C, and don't have an issue with the skirt. The amount of fabric is perfect and the hem is too. The front is just above my knees and the back slightly at or below my knees exactly as shown in the photo (I'm 5'4" with a long waist and shorter legs).
The fabric is lovely and the charcoal (only color in my size) is very dark, almost black. This is a great spring, summer and fall dress and I couldn't be happier.
Review 17 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caliugirl
Location:San Francisco
Simple and elegant
Date:July 18, 2014
Gorgeous drape and nice fabric. Heeding others' advice I ordered a size down-medium- in black. I'm 5' 9" and 155 and busty enough to fill out the top, which I think helps with the silhouette of this dress. It's slightly loose in the torso but that works for me. I debated about getting a petite for length but like the regular length. The asymmetrical cut is what makes this dress. Everyone asks me if I've lost weight when I wear this dress and I'm ordering another in cornflower.
Review 18 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilyB
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Elegant, Cool, Easy to Wear
Date:July 17, 2014
Yes this is full from the waist down. But it is an elegant, not sloppy look. With flats it is the perfect summer dress for business casual events. With a hat, it's pretty for daytime parties or lunches.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Isamom
Location:somewhere in CA suburbs
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Can't go wrong with this dress
Date:July 15, 2014
I totally agree with other reviews that this is a perfect travel dress. I recently returned from 3 months of travel across 2 seasons and 8 countries and wore it everywhere, along with the ballet neck dress in black and graphite. It pairs well with leggings when you need them and can be dressed up or down with scarves, necklaces,etc. If you need to travel super light, pack this dress and the EF ballet neck dress and you can travel comfortably with style no matter where you go. EF dresses are a little pricey, but this line made in USA holds up really well and worth the extra $$. I already have the graphite and am about to order it in black on sale :-)
Review 20 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ShortStory
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love / hate relationship with Eileen
Date:July 15, 2014
This dress is fabulous! The fit is great - I am a petite and sometimes surplice dresses gap at the neckline, but this one hugs the curves perfectly.
And the fabric quality is superb. I spilled something on the dress on my first wearing. To get the stain out I had to rub and was afraid there would be a color difference or it would pill. Not so! after the wash the dress looked great with no discernible mark. I love Eileen Fisher!
So why the hate part? I want ALL of her clothes and normally can't afford them. I got this dress on a great Garnet Hill sale and I'm very happy with both the dress and the price. Thanks GH!
1 2 3 4 next>>