Product Reviews

Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular

Made by Eileen Fisher exclusively for Garnet Hill. A sweep of surplice gives this dress a most flattering silhouette. Crafted from organic cotton with a little Lycra®, it drapes the body beautifully (skimming curves without being a bit clingy). The tipped hem keeps the line modern. Below-knee length in front, longer in back. Organic cotton/Lycra®. USA. Updated based on customer comments: This dress runs true to size, but is more full in the skirt than pictured.
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
2
35 of 5267%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaggieAnn
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
This dress works for me
Date:July 21, 2014
I hesitated to buy this as I have 2 other E.F. dresses in another style but similar fabric which I wear a lot so I didn't really need this one. When this went on sale I couldn't resist. I ordered the PS by mistake, and it nearly fit, but the PM was perfect. I love the fit, I have broad shoulders and am a 36C, and don't have an issue with the skirt. The amount of fabric is perfect and the hem is too. The front is just above my knees and the back slightly at or below my knees exactly as shown in the photo (I'm 5'4" with a long waist and shorter legs).
The fabric is lovely and the charcoal (only color in my size) is very dark, almost black. This is a great spring, summer and fall dress and I couldn't be happier.
Review 2 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caliugirl
Location:San Francisco
Simple and elegant
Date:July 18, 2014
Gorgeous drape and nice fabric. Heeding others' advice I ordered a size down-medium- in black. I'm 5' 9" and 155 and busty enough to fill out the top, which I think helps with the silhouette of this dress. It's slightly loose in the torso but that works for me. I debated about getting a petite for length but like the regular length. The asymmetrical cut is what makes this dress. Everyone asks me if I've lost weight when I wear this dress and I'm ordering another in cornflower.
Review 3 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilyB
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Elegant, Cool, Easy to Wear
Date:July 17, 2014
Yes this is full from the waist down. But it is an elegant, not sloppy look. With flats it is the perfect summer dress for business casual events. With a hat, it's pretty for daytime parties or lunches.
Review 4 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Isamom
Location:somewhere in CA suburbs
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Can't go wrong with this dress
Date:July 15, 2014
I totally agree with other reviews that this is a perfect travel dress. I recently returned from 3 months of travel across 2 seasons and 8 countries and wore it everywhere, along with the ballet neck dress in black and graphite. It pairs well with leggings when you need them and can be dressed up or down with scarves, necklaces,etc. If you need to travel super light, pack this dress and the EF ballet neck dress and you can travel comfortably with style no matter where you go. EF dresses are a little pricey, but this line made in USA holds up really well and worth the extra $$. I already have the graphite and am about to order it in black on sale :-)
Review 5 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ShortStory
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love / hate relationship with Eileen
Date:July 15, 2014
This dress is fabulous! The fit is great - I am a petite and sometimes surplice dresses gap at the neckline, but this one hugs the curves perfectly.
And the fabric quality is superb. I spilled something on the dress on my first wearing. To get the stain out I had to rub and was afraid there would be a color difference or it would pill. Not so! after the wash the dress looked great with no discernible mark. I love Eileen Fisher!
So why the hate part? I want ALL of her clothes and normally can't afford them. I got this dress on a great Garnet Hill sale and I'm very happy with both the dress and the price. Thanks GH!
Review 6 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skilinda
Location:Steamboat Springs, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great travel dress
Date:July 11, 2014
Fit me well (5'7", 145 lbs). I read the reviews and bought a small. It was on sale and that made it even better. Bought the gray rather than black, it is just different enough from others. Can dress it up or keep it simple. Very versatile.
Review 7 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeautifulWorld
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:July 10, 2014
The dress is beautiful, fits well and maintains its shape after laundering. Highly recommend it!
Review 8 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nylight
Location:new york
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
pleasantly surprised
Date:July 7, 2014
i got the dress in black sz PP (i ma XS in GH & EF) i sized down in this style in order to get the fitted flattering silhouette. the top is snug but the bottom isn't clingy at all.
the XS skirt part would be too full for me
the PP is above knee length on me
well made , great organic cotton very comfortable, can dress up /down
Review 9 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappiLadi
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Excellent Fit
Date:July 7, 2014
After reading several reviews, I decided to purchase this dress. I usually wear a size 10 or a medium in most dresses, but I chose to order a small in this dress because many reviews stated that the dress was larger than expected. The size small fits perfectly and the quality is great. I love the hi-low style. I am 5'4 and with an hourglass shape and the dress hits me at the knee in the front. It is a very feminine style and my husband LOVED it! I came back to order another color and I was pleasantly surprised to find it on sale.
Review 10 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thunder5656
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:July 5, 2014
Very comfortable, perfect for day or
, night, Love it ,
Review 11 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lucy2014
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice little dress. It's a keeper
Date:June 26, 2014
I purchased this piece when it was the sale of the day. I'm glad I did. This is a nice little dress that I can see myself wearing for various occasions. I have been purchasing more Eileen Fisher pieces lately, and just like the others, this one does not disappoint. The fit is true to size. I love the sweep of the skirt. I decided on the graphite, and it is a nice color. It's a keeper.
Review 12 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MADG
Location:Jackson Heights, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointing
Date:June 24, 2014
Material quality was good, size a little big below the bust, but acceptable. Unfortunately, the cornflower blue is flat looking and calls to mind a nurse's uniform. Not flattering. Returning this item.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJune 26, 2014
We like the quality of Eileen Fisher organic cotton too! Perhaps a different color would meet your needs better. We're here to help with exchange or return.
Review 13 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alfwin
Location:Victor, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
organic dress
Date:June 23, 2014
Very nice fit and feel, perfect for casual outings!
Review 14 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Catena
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:June 20, 2014
Ordered two because I thought it would be an easy summer dress, instead two shapeless sacks arrived. If I was a tall beanpole I'm sure it would be fine, but at 5'8" with a bit of a menopot I just look frumpy.... Still seeking that perfect flattering summer dress to slip into!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 22, 2014
We're sorry to hear the style of this dress didn't work for you. We have several other options and would love to help with a freight free exchange. Give us a call if we can help, 800-870-3513.
Review 15 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LoloR
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not as special as others I've tried
Date:June 18, 2014
Eileen Fisher is lovely of course, both design and fabric especially, but this one just didn't wow me. Its fit is on the large side, compared to another style I have, so if you do think it might suit you, you might size down. I'm 5'4", 130 lbs, and usually a size 4. I ordered a petite S and probably need an XS, I do think the top and angled hem could be very flattering for some!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LisaH
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nothing special
Date:June 18, 2014
The blue color is dull, the cut is non-descript, and I don't like the high-low cut. The neckline is also a little high.
Review 17 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DSmith
Location:Baltimore
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Another Eileen Fisher Favorite
Date:June 16, 2014
This is a very comfortable, easy wearing summer dress.
Review 18 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabbsK
Location:Dallas, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Work Attire
Date:June 10, 2014
This is a great dress. It can be dressed up or down for work or play with a change of accessories. Washes well and does not need to be pressed. Perfect weight for Dallas summer weather.
Review 19 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
oldrunnergirl
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointing...
Date:June 6, 2014
I wanted to love this dress, because of the high-low hem and the comfortable fabric, but it was so unflattering. I am tall and although not quite as slender as I once was, I thought this would hide some of my less than attractive features. I just felt like it looked like a sack on me. For the price, I had to LOVE it, and I just didn't.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 8, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fit of this dress didn't work for you. We have several other options that may offer a better fit and we'd love to help with a freight free exchange. Give us a call 800-870-3513
Review 20 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patricia0758
Location:Ridgewood, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Best dress ever!
Date:May 22, 2014
I now own this dress in all three colors. I have worn it both casual and with platform sandles for dinner. It fits perfectly, I am 5'4" and weigh 140 and the PM fits without clinging anywhere.
Compliments galore!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>