Product Reviews

Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular

Made by Eileen Fisher exclusively for Garnet Hill. A sweep of surplice gives this dress a most flattering silhouette. Crafted from organic cotton with a little Lycra®, it drapes the body beautifully (skimming curves without being a bit clingy). The tipped hem keeps the line modern. Below-knee length in front, longer in back. Organic cotton/Lycra®. USA. Updated based on customer comments: This dress runs true to size, but is more full in the skirt than pictured.
Average Customer Rating:
3.565 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
1
13 of 2357%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rose13
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
not the best
Date:April 24, 2014
I usually have great success with EF dresses, but this one not only is too long, even with the high-low cut, but strangely unattractive as well. The top fits, but really isn't the best cut, and the body is way too full- not as on the model. Going back
Review 2 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pvmom
Location:Palos Verdes, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great dress!
Date:April 21, 2014
This is my 1st EF purchase and I'm hooked. I couldn't be happier! This dress fits perfectly. The fabric is luxurious.The v neck is modest and the length is great. It's not tight around the middle. I disagree with the other comments about the skirt being to full. I'm 5'8" 163 lbs and the medium 10-12 was perfect!
Review 3 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SadieTakoma
Location:Washington, D.C.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Tremendously useful dress
Date:April 14, 2014
Read all the reviews. And ordered a few sizes down. I am 5ft 7in, 137 lbs and slim but with hips. Usually, I am a medium. Based on all the comments, I ordered a small and an extra small-- the xs fit. That's how large the sizes run.
So far, the dress travels well, is comfortable and dresses up with jewelry and heels or down with flats. For warmth, I am wearing a full slip underneath and will drop that once warmer weather settles in.
Review 4 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Costy11
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great fit
Date:April 5, 2014
Great fit, especially if you carry a little weight around the middle. Material is a nice blend.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fisherfan
Location:fresno, ca
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
not for my figure
Date:March 31, 2014
it's pretty form fitting, so not very forgiving if you have any flaws to hide.
Review 6 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CBLanz
Location:Albany,NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A perfectly lovely dress
Date:March 25, 2014
I ordered 2 of these - they are flattering, comfortable, and can be worn to work and after work. Highly recommend this dress. I am an XS in Eileen Fisher sizing.
Review 7 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JennieF
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great fabric! Baggy around middle
Date:March 20, 2014
I loved the fabric - the drape, the feel against my skin, and wanted so much for this dress to work. Unfortunately, it looked like a maternity dress on me. Maybe I'm not a great candidate for Eileen Fisher - I'm 5'4" and 130 lbs with an athletic build, and I think her clothes tend to be shaped to be more forgiving - too bad it just hung like a loose sack on me.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're sorry to hear this dress did not work for you. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 8 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
grnthl
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not a typical Eileen Fisher fit
Date:March 14, 2014
I loved the cornflower blue color and the soft, silky fabric, but unfortunately the top was too tight in the bust. The lower portion of the dress is already very voluminous so going up a size wouldn't be a solution. Disappointing!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We're sorry you were disappointed with the fit of this dress. We hope you take advantage of our freight free exchanges when you return, so you can try one of our other great dresses.
Review 9 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JeaninBoca
Location:Boca Raton
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing
Date:March 12, 2014
The cap sleeves with this dress make it look like a sack. Sending back
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 14, 2014
We're sorry to hear that this dress did not meet your expectations. Please know that we offer garment measurements to help you get the right fit. We hope you take advantage of our freight free exchanges when you return the dress, to try one of our other great dresses.
Review 10 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nicsim2
Location:GA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Size is way off!
Date:February 22, 2014
I wanted to love this dress. It looks great on the model..of course, but I ordered a LG and it was huge on me. I am not a small women at 5ft11 and 170lbs .. I just do not wear medium or smalls ever. I think it is way over priced too. Guess I could have tried it 2 sizes smaller but decided to return. For that price I want to really love it
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 11 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Virginiareviewer
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
So disappointed
Date:February 22, 2014
I had hopes this would be a great casual dress. The fit is really odd, however. I am 5'3" and 130, with wide hips. I ordered a petite small. The top fit. It was a bit snug, but fine. The bottom is, as others have described, like a tent. It was quite flattering from the side -- the angle shown in the catalog photo. From head-on, however, it made me look wide as a house. I tried it on several times and tried to convince myself it was ok. I couldn't. The fabric, however, is really nice. I wish it had worked.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the fit of the dress. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 12 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlaj
Location:Linville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Travel Dress
Date:February 11, 2014
Another reliable EF dress both in style and quality! It will be the basic garment my travel wardrobe will be built around this spring!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OaktownCyn
Location:Oakland, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Actually not a "flattering silhouette" at all
Date:February 9, 2014
I'm usually a medium in EF, and while this medium fit around the chest and shoulders, it was huge below. Very unflattering, like a sack. I wouldn't recommend it if you are slim through the hips. But it is well made and lovely material as you would expect from EF.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts! We'd love to help you with a return or exchange, and are here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 14 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GraceMama
Location:OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
This one is going back
Date:February 8, 2014
I usually love my Garnet Hill dresses, but this one is going back. It was WAY overpriced for the quality. I got the blue color and felt like it looked more like a waitress uniform than a cute dress. I'm 5'9" and it was much longer on me than pictured above. I usually want the dresses to be a bit longer, but this one was too long.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 15 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4kelbob
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Did not work for me
Date:February 6, 2014
I am an EF fan and own several styles of her dresses that I have purchased from GH. This one was longer on me than the model and the hemline was not flattering. Also had a maternity look with the empire waist, but that may be because I am a 38D. Ordered my usual medium and did not find it to run large, just long. Overall disappointed.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 16 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yenrub
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:February 5, 2014
I have to say I am a huge Eileen Fisher fan, despite her getting some things so very wrong. This dress isn't one of those things.
I own several of her organic cotton dresses, and live in them as often as possible. This dress will absolutely go in the rotation.
I am 5'5", and large chested. Very large. This is the first surplice dress that doesn't look heinous on. Does it run a bit large? Yes. Will it shrink in the wash? I've never had an EF organic cotton dress do that. Do I need every dress to be form fitted? No to that as well, so this dress was a true pleasure to put on, and having the style be different is refreshing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
subi
Location:me
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
size not typical for EF
Date:February 5, 2014
I always wear a s in EF but had to return this one for a medium. Chest runs a bit too tight. Not sure I love the dip in the hem. it is apparent.
Review 18 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ARunner
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Bummer
Date:February 5, 2014
Well I thought this was going to be the perfect casual/dressy dress, and maybe it would've been if it fit. I'm 5'3", 107lbs, with a boyish figure (small chest, no hips), and was hoping the design would mask my lack of figure, BUT the PP (petite xs) was HUGE!! The only part that fit was the shoulder width, otherwise it was a TENT! And I didn't realize there would be a slight "high-low" hem - which I really didn't like! This was my first Eileen Fisher purchase, so I don't know if this is standard for the brand's sizing; it didn't feel at all proportioned for petites. On a positive note, the material is very nice.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 19 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Archivist
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Comfortable but trendy
Date:February 4, 2014
This dress is flattering and comfortable at the same time. The triangular top half makes the waist look narrow, yet there is plenty of room for hips. I am 5'6" and 150 lbs. with larger hips and it makes me look very proportioned. Great with flip flops or boots.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Eileen Fisher Organic Cotton Surplice Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gmsatl
Location:atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
comfortable dress
Date:February 3, 2014
I purchased the dress mainly for work. I work in a retail environment and I like clothes that are comfortable and can be dressed up or down. This dress fits the bill and i have had several compliments. It may run a tiny bit big.
1 2 next>>