Product Reviews

Perfect Knit Tank Dress

A fuss-free silhouette, a fabulous range of punchy hues, and our favorite Green Cotton fabric make this simple sleeveless dress the wardrobe workhorse of the season. The fitted top gives way to a flattering A-line bottom, ready to dress up or down. V-neck. Elastic waist. Above-knee length. In heavier-weight organic Green Cotton. Imported. ABOUT GREEN COTTON® Sold at Garnet Hill since 1994, Green Cotton products are made under the strictest adherence to eco-friendly production standards. Each step in the process must have as little environmental impact as possible. The award-winning result: fabric that feels as good as it looks.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 of 2273%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Review 1 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mcado
Location:Atlanta Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
not the best
Date:July 16, 2014
I love everything about the dress, but where the waistline falls. It is not empire and not at the waist, but at someplace in between. I don't have much of a waist so it feels and looks a bit strange. The color and the fabric are both fine, but the waistline makes me think twice before putting it on.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 22, 2014

At Garnet Hill, your satisfaction is guaranteed and we are happy to exchange or accept returns if items do not completely delight you! Give us a call 1-800-870-3513 if we can help.
Review 2 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvMyBlackLab
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Knit Tank Dress
Date:July 10, 2014
Did not work for me. Neck was too high. Bottom worked though. I am small and there was just too much material from the waist up. Loved the scoop neck Favorite Tank from last year it was so elegant, and the Surplus Tank from 2 or 3 years ago. The quality was great as usual for GH. Oh, the Emerald is really pretty.
Review 3 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SylPod
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Just like on the picture
Date:June 28, 2014
Great dress! True to size (I got M, 8-10) for my 142lb, 36C and 5'6 body. The small one fit well too, but slightly too tight. I love the thickness of the fabric, it is just right on - not as thin as most of the GH dresses (still love them, too!) and not thick. The only complain is the high waist, but I still love the dress and will wear it a lot.
Review 4 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeesburgFashionista
Location:Leesburg, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fabulous Summer Dress!
Date:June 23, 2014
Perfect fit. Fun, comfortable, stylish. This dress has it going on. A bargain to boot!
Review 5 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NomDePlume
Location:East coast
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Dissapointing Fit and Feel
Date:June 21, 2014
I hadn't ordered something from GH since last August, partly because I was becoming dissapointed in the fits and fabrics. Sadly that has not changed. The v-neck is not as low as pictured in the photo-- it is much closer to the neck, resulting in a matronly look. The cotton is only ok-- not soft like GH cotton used to be-- and bit thin. The back of the dress has elastic at the waist (??), which I don't understand, as it cuts into the back a bit and could be unflattering. It's just only okay. I will probably return it, as I wouldn't wear it. I wish GH would listen to their customers and stock things year-round in different colors, like the original flamenco skirt. If they stocked their classics and changed colors for the seasons, and stuck to their quality cotton (soft but thick), I would come back for good. I used to come here to get reasonably priced staples for work. :(
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 23, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed. A Customer Care Specialist will be in touch to see how we can help.
Review 6 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Elsbeth
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Just not the same Tank Dress
Date:June 7, 2014
I wore my last green cotton tank dress many years and loved it and was looking forward to my new one in cobalt blue but was disappointed with the fit, style and fabric.
The new one fits more closely in the skirt which I think gives it a skimpy look.
The fabric wasn't the same, was shinier while my last dress was a heavier weight and had a more "cottony" feel.
The new neckline was almost a v-neck with a small seam in the front compared to the wider scoop neck and the waistline was lower, neither of which flattered at all.
Review 7 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Franjoanne
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect tank dress
Date:June 6, 2014
This dress is so wonderful, I love it. With or without a belt so cute. Very comfortable. The material is just the right weight. This dress can be worn when lounging around the house or on an evening out.
Review 8 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
badhair
Location:Lawrence, Kansas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:June 2, 2014
I got it in black. It is very comfortable. The waist is high, though not quite as high as an empire waist. I
Review 9 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DannyF
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Nice go-to summer dress, but not worth price
Date:June 2, 2014
I was on the fence about keeping this, and in the end I did because I will wear it a lot and it looks like it will hold up to repeated washings. However, it's not special enough to be worth the price, even the sale price. It is slightly less casual than it appears in the photo, as the fabric is thick and the skirt has a tiny amount of puff (just enough that it's not clingy or form-fitting). So if you have problem areas, this dress will hide them. I think a woman could wear it to the office, no problem.
I don't understand other negative reviews about the seam placement--it fell at my natural waist, and does not interfere with a belt at all, skinny or wide.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Salp
Location:SRQ, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great colors
Date:June 1, 2014
This knit dress is similar to the one I purchased two years ago which I really liked. This years colors were different and the cut is also slimmer so I ordered the next size up which was the right choice. I will enjoy wearing this knit dress all summer.
Review 11 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shopper82
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute
Date:May 31, 2014
I love the smooth "Green" Cotton...Its of a quality that is harder to find lately. The waist is a bit high (typical of GH) but I don't think it is unflattering if worn with a belt. The skirt is a little fuller than I was expecting, and I think the V-neck was less attractive than last year's scoop neck version. The color orange is BRIGHT. It didn't flatter my fair complexion. I had a feeling it might fade to a more mellow shade with washing, but I didn't want to chance it. Wish this was offered in more muted shades, the brights aren't my favorite. Otherwise a great quality basic piece, good value.
Review 12 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
scarlet0grenadine
Attractive and Easy to Wear
Date:May 22, 2014
I ordered the blue and the mandarin colors, and I've already worn these dresses quite a bit. They are very easy for casual days, and, though the styles are plain, they could be dressed up with a printed scarf for belt and interesting earrings, etc. The blue dress was a cobalt color, and the mandarin dress is a red-orange. I was afraid the orange tones wouldn't work for me because I am very fair-skinned, but it is actually quite a flattering color.
As for fit, this is the only style of knit dress that I have ordered from Garnet Hill that does not gape open over the breasts and expose my bra. They should consider using this style of neckline more often. I wear a 34GG and have a high bustline, and most of the surplice styles sold by GH seem to assume a low bustline. Something to watch out for if you are built like me. My other issue with GH dresses is that they are somewhat too short for tall (5'10") women like me. These were no exception. They hit me about where they hit the model, five or six inches above the knee. It's an okay length for very casual clothing, but it's not ideal. The waistline falls a few inches below my lowest rib, and, as that is a narrow part of my body, I feel it is flattering. I agree with commenters who say it is neither an empire nor a dress with a true waist, but it is not really a problem for me. My waist is a fair amount smaller than my ribcage, but I do have a small belly ever since I've had kids, so the waistline that hits in-between is fine. It's also a dress that one could easily add a belt to. This dress only comes in a few sizes anyway, so the waistline is going to fall high or low dependent on how busty you are and the length of your torso.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mamamari
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Black was average
Date:May 20, 2014
This is a simple dress, medium weight cotton, quite big looking but the tag says that it is made to shrink up to the right size. I did not wash though as I returned the black because it was kind of a washed looking black that looked like it would fade more. I exchanged for the orange/red as I think that due to the simple style color is better and belt, jewelry is needed to snazz it up! Also it seems more high waisted on me than in the model, more of an empire waist and I'm 5'8".
Review 14 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Totoro
Location:Tokyo, Japan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect for Summer
Date:May 20, 2014
This is a great little summer dress, perfect for travel. You can wear it over a swim suit, for work or an evening out with a nice scarf or wide belt. The cotton feels silky and soft next to my skin. It's a bit high-waisted but the skirt falls nicely and is very flattering. True to size and just right on the bust. I usually wear a size 8 and am a little busty but this was perfect in S.
Review 15 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JennyRA
Location:Douglassville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Maternity Dress
Date:May 19, 2014
If you are not already pregnant, this dress will make you look pregnant. I agree with the other reviewers who said that the seam on this dress is placed in such an odd and high position that a belt could never look like it does in the model pictures. I will never wear this dress in public. I should have returned it, but thought it might grow on me.....not so.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear the style of this dress didn't work for you. We have several other options and would gladly help with a freight free exchange at any time. Give us a call 800-870-3515.
Review 16 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
daybreak
Age:45-54
Comfy Tank Dress
Date:May 19, 2014
Fit is true to size. Arm holes are not too small to choke you. Silky fabric. Wash and wears well. I bought it on sale and is the most I would pay for a tank. Great cool cotton dress!
Review 17 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RegretfulNY
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beware dresses shown with belts!
Date:May 17, 2014
So I bought this dress even though I'd read other reviews about the waist seam and knew that GH never showed the dress without a belt (which doesn't come with the dress). Big mistake! The waist seam is in such a bizarre position mid ribs - neither empire nor at the waist - that it is completely unwearable even with a belt. Recommendations to size down are also correct. I'm a 4 and the XS fit perfectly. I am returning!!!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 21, 2014
We photographed this dress with different belts to show you ways to accessorize it, but we will certainly pass along your comments about photographing without them to our team. If you need any assistance with your return, we are here to help. 1.800.870.3513
Review 18 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MidwestMama
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Quality fabric, cute dress
Date:May 1, 2014
I ordered 5+ GH dresses, and this is one of the two I will keep. I ordered Emerald and the color is beautiful without being too bright. It is very comfortable and made with good quality fabric. I am 5'5", 135lbs, with a small bust, and the small fit just a tad big. I have room to shrink it. Looks cute with a summer cardigan and flats.
Review 19 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLMV
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
PerfectTANK dress!
Date:April 28, 2014
Great value for the money. Good quality fabric, sizing,and color choices. This is a great dress for all summer events.
Review 20 for Perfect Knit Tank Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
renza
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Simple summer dress
Date:April 23, 2014
I had a surprisingly difficult time finding machine washable, cotton summer dresses so I was thrilled to see this one. When I received it I was surprised to see that the waist seam is high, approaching an empire waist (I don't understand why Garnet Hill won't make dresses that hit at the natural waistline!) and that this dress runs large (larger than the measurement chart would indicate). Also the mandarin color although it appears more red-orange on my screen is actually really orange with no red. I did like the fabric, which was soft and not see-through, so I have sent it back to exchange for a smaller size in black. The small was too big for me (33-27-37).
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 24, 2014
Thanks for your comments! We strive to accurately present our colors online and are sorry to hear you were disappointed. We're glad to see you've taken advantage of our freight free exchanges to try a different color. If you have any further feedback or questions give us a call 800-870-3513.
1 2 next>>