Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit

A retro halter with the pinup appeal of old Hollywood — even the prints, sailboats to dots, have a vintage vibe. The silhouette is cinched at the bandeau bust, with flattering ruching details across the torso. Built-in support with underwire and molded cups. Made of our favorite lightweight and silky-luxe nylon/spandex with UPF 50 sun protection. Fully lined. Imported. Runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
0
6 of 1443%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great suit!
Date:August 29, 2014
This is so flattering, the ruching gives the torso area lots of room to breathe and still look good. The tie neck lets the top adjust nicely. Lovely fabric as well.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yyyyy
Location:Upcounty SC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
looks great!
Date:July 30, 2014
I am older and saggy, especially my stomach. This suit really hides my stomach and my husband thinks I look great in it! The rusching works. It is retro; however, I sewed the straps so they would stay wide. I also sewed the bra to the liner, as when wet it moves.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almandine
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love the style
Date:July 7, 2014
I love the style of this suit! I have not had an issue with the molded cups riding up out of the suit, but my one complaint is that the cinching in the middle of the bust tends to pull the top edge down so that it flips over and the seam is visible. I would try a size up, but it's sold out!
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitat60
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pink stripe see through
Date:June 25, 2014
LOVE the style, very cute and flattering on. I am a 38c and I sized up one size to a 14 but it wasn't needed, I got the strawberry stripe and it is see through when dry, so will be worse when wet. Have to exchange for a dark color.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RunnerWithKids
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not flattering
Date:June 24, 2014
Halter top, check. Molded cups, check. So why did this swimsuit not flatter and enhance my chest, but instead squished it flat? Not sure, but the halter strap seemed an afterthought, just there for looks, and the suit seemed built like a bandeau, maybe requiring extra squish in the chest to hold it up? Perhaps this would look great on someone with a bigger chest. Not for me. I so wanted this to work.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Merez
Location:Kiln, MS.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Halter suit
Date:May 31, 2014
It said it had underwire so I thought it would work for me. It does but a minimum of support. The black bra on thew inside is not stitched securely to suit so it rides up out of the suit and it is visible. I swim everydayt so had to sew the bra more securely to keep from riding out of top of suit. I like the sailboat print and don't mind the faded look. But the bra needs serious attention.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We have passed your comments along to our Quality and Design Teams for further review.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nencehead
Location:los angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
see through when wet
Date:April 25, 2014
just a warning! unless you get a Brazilian wax, you do not want to go swimming in this bathing suit
otherwise it's a really cute suit
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill09
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute and good quality
Date:April 19, 2014
This is the first time I buy a one piece mainly because i really liked the retro look. I have not actually worn it so I don't know how it will hold up after washing. However the fabric appears to be of very good quality and i like that it is not "bulky" like other one piece suits I have tried on. The only issue I had is that i have a very short torso so it id not a perfect fit for me. Nonetheless it still looks good because i bought the dark blue so i am keeping it because I loved it. It would be nice if some of the products were also available in petite sizes.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
docdoc
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Flattering bust, torso too long
Date:April 18, 2014
The retro halter is very flattering in the bust line without exposing too much. Five stars for that. However, the torso was too long for me in size 8, I'm 5'4" and 117 lb but somewhat short-waisted, so it may work for someone else. The seat of the suit was flat and baggy, but that may have been because the torso was just too long. I also didn't care for the boats print, but it was my choice out of what was still available. The blue color looked faded, and the design was very busy. So I'm sending it back. Note that there is no "holding power" at all.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carmel
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Long through the body
Date:April 17, 2014
I'm 5'10" and a size 10-12 usually. I typically order swimsuits in 14 as I'm busty. I love the way this suit fits through the top, but am exchanging for a 12 as it fit great, but was too long through the torso. I have narrow hips, so this may not be an issue if you have fuller hips. Love the halter top and underwire cups. Very stylish!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shygirl
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Adorable suit but...
Date:April 15, 2014
I love the style of this suit so much and I really wanted to keep it but unfortunately the crotch of the suit is not properly lined and I'm not going to Brazil anytime soon so it had to go back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 16, 2014
Thanks so much for your note! We're sorry to hear our Retro Halter One-Piece didn't work for you and would be happy to help you find an alternative! Give us a call at 800-870-3513 if we can help.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zaphelps
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
My Husband Liked it!
Date:April 15, 2014
Really cute swim suit. I may try to remove the under wires but that' just because I hate them in anything.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sms226
Retro Halter one piece swimsuit
Date:April 11, 2014
Love the color. I got the sailboat print. Fits perfectly.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Halter One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chicagogirl007
Location:chicago
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for the busty!
Date:April 7, 2014
I saw this cute bathing suit in the catalog and ordered it. I am on the bustier side and it just didn't work for me. I'm sending it back. If you are small breasted it will look great!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 8, 2014
We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned, to try another one of our great swimsuits.