Product Reviews

Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress

Sultry silk — in our favorite hothouse hue and two on-trend prints — gives this short dress the presence to hold its own, from date night to wedding invite. With a low surplice neckline (a snap ensures modesty) and a modified racerback, the shoulder-baring silhouette emanates a subtle sort of sexiness. Elastic waist to blouson or not. Sleeveless. Short length. Silk. Poly georgette lining. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 875%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Review 1 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SylPod
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Runs small
Date:August 26, 2014
I am almost always GH size 8, but had to get this dress in size 10 and it fits well. It is silk so dry clean only (always a minus for me). Otherwise I am very happy with the purchase. For reference I am 36C, 144lb and 5'6". Also, you need to wear a T-back bra with this dress.
Review 2 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lifeisgoodat45
Location:Sarasota, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
be aware...shorter than listed
Date:August 23, 2014
I'm 5'7" and very particular about length... preferring at least 36" on a dress. The measurement for this dress listed 37" so I thought it was a sure thing. My guess would be more like 34-35"...fitting like on the models (whom I always assume are taller!) Fit true to size elsewhere. Disappointed because the tulip color was beautiful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 25, 2014
As noted in the description, this dress is a short length. We have several other dress options that offer a longer length and would love to help with a freight free exchange. Give us a call if we can help!
Review 3 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moisha
Location:Carmel, N.Y
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great evening dress
Date:August 19, 2014
Stunning material and well made. I did order up a size and happy I did. the fit was fantastic. It slid easily over my curves. Perfect for hour glass shape.
Review 4 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hawaiiangramma
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love it!
Date:August 6, 2014
I bought the navy stripe size 6 and it fits my 5'2" 122 lb. frame perfectly. Doesn't plunge too low, and the quality is very good.
Looks just like the photo, just above my knee, and so flattering! Thank you GH!
Review 5 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcado
Location:Atlanta Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Had to return
Date:July 30, 2014
I watched this dress from it's first appearance until it finally went on sale. I was so excited. When it arrived and I tried it on I almost cried. It just didn't look right across the bust line. The waist fit and the length was fine, but it pulled across the bust and looked bad. I tried it on with different bras and still couldn't make it work. I thought about a larger size, but was concerned that the armholes would be too big with the way they were cut . It broke my heart to return it, but I knew I would never be comfortable in it. I am sort of sorry that I didn't try the larger size.
Review 6 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
westsideLA
Location:LA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
perfect for summer
Date:May 16, 2014
love the look, the material, light and airy w/o sacrificing quality. Very comfortable dress.Can dress it up or down w the right accessories.
I am a pettite size 6 with a shorter torso but took a chance ordering a non petite item in size 06. Thought it would work because of the gather at the waist. Looks great ;the length was fine so maybe its actually shorter than pictured?
Gave it 4 stars because overall its a bit expensive
Review 7 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yummymummy
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:April 18, 2014
I really like this dress, but it is cut a little on the slim side and if you order too small the surplice will gap. Make sure you go by the bust size. The stripe is a very dark navy, almost black . Can be dressed down with sandals, but dressed up with heels and some bling. This dress will get a lot of wear this summer!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sleeveless Silk Surplice Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Greenbrae
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Striped Silk Dress
Date:April 5, 2014
This dress is cut poorly. I ordered a size 6 according to the size chart and it was huge. Regardless it's not figure flattering, droopy on the sides which is cute if you're Twiggy. Also it's navy and white stripe not black and white as described,
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 15, 2014
You're absolutely right, this dress is white and navy stripe as down on the thumbnail. We'd be happy to discuss other dress options and help with a freight free exchange.