Product Reviews

Lightweight Denim Shirtdress

Your favorite denim shirt has grown up into a perfectly tailored shirtdress in an even more perfect shade of indigo — not too worn, not too new looking. The details add a dash of refinement, from a pair of patch pockets to a faux-leather belt (to tie or not). It's the kind of seasonless dress that looks great with sandals now and tights and boots later. Collar with V-neck. Long sleeves with button cuffs. Removable belt. Shirttail hem hits above the knee. Lightweight cotton denim. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 1479%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Review 1 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yardflower
Location:Madison, WI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love it!
Date:July 20, 2014
I bought a Bella Dahl chambray dress for way more and was so disappointed with the fit and quality. I just happened to see this on the SALE OF THE DAY and decided to give it a try. So glad I did! Much nicer product for a fraction of the cost! I am 5'3" and 125, and was between a 2 and 4 (TTS), I opted for the 4 just in case it shrinks over time. The length is great, and it stays put. Also very glad it doesn't have the annoying roll up sleeve tabs. Great year round style.
Review 2 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uncivil1
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Dress - Not for me
Date:July 8, 2014
This is a great piece. Would be fun to wear alone or with leggings and boots. Perfect length. It was a perfect fit in the shoulders and the sleeves. Unfortunately it did not fit my pear shaped body and I had to return it. Not the fault of the garment.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 10, 2014
We hope when you returned your dress that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 3 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveSailing
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute dress, very versatile
Date:June 19, 2014
Lightweight denim shirt dress in easy-to-wear design. I have a hard time with dresses -- narrow hips relative to bust -- and this worked for me. I substituted a different belt but the tie belt that came with the dress is cute too. Could be worn with leggings in winter, or open over a swim suit or a tank top and skinny jeans in summer. Flattering and versatile. Got it on sale...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
salemgrl
Location:Salem, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
VERY versatile dress
Date:June 18, 2014
Very happy with purchase. I've worn it to the office and plan to take it on a girlfriend spa weekend and the farmer's market. It's a good length and the material isn't too heavy for a cooler summer day.
Review 5 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LilyKona
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Nice denim dress
Date:June 11, 2014
I love denim dresses and glad they are back. I think it runs a little more fitted then most Garnet Hill Dresses. I am 5'3" 120 lbs but curvey. It fits but I cannot gain weight. I think it will be cute with boots and tights.
Review 6 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MtnHouse
Location:Calif
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too narrow in the hips
Date:June 9, 2014
Soft fabric, but too narrow in the hips. Length is above the knee.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 11, 2014
You're right, the shirttail hem hits above the knee. If you decide you'd like to return or exchange it for a different dress, give us a call 800-870-3513.
Review 7 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nrhgal
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice casual denim dress
Date:June 9, 2014
I bought this little denim number on sale so I feel it is a good value. The style is rather straight and "shift" like. Very comfortable lightweight soft washed denim. This type and style of dress isn't easy to find and I am very pleased that it can be worn year round in Texas with a few changes in accessories and footwear. A nice addition to my weekend wardrobe.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nylight
Location:new york
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
light blue
Date:May 28, 2014
i ordered my size 4, good fit at the top
looser at the bottom. wasn't flattering on.
the material is mid weight , the color lighter than the picture, even, with no faded effect.
the dress isn't short and quite comfortable
but way too simple with no special shape
or style.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 30, 2014
Please know we want you to me completely satisfied with your item. Our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 9 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
organizer2522
Location:Langley WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Denim Shirtdress
Date:May 17, 2014
Plan to wear it as a dress and as a long shirt with jeans - it's perfect.
Review 10 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Golda
Location:Westfield, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Made For Me
Date:May 7, 2014
I don't know what the other reviewers expected or are talking about. This dress was made for me! I'm 5'3"and 120lbs with 34D bra and it fits like a glove. The FABRIC IS THE PERFECT WEIGHT for spring into those cool summer nights and I can even wear it in the fall with leggings. I will be wearing this dress with a tan obi belt and throw on my huge turquoise jewelry and maybe short cowboy booties or caged sandals for dressing up or lighter jewelry and gladiators for a more casual look. And because of the strategically placed buttons, the options are endless. It can also be used as a jacket! LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 25, 2014
We're so glad to hear you found the perfect dress with endless possibilities! Thank you for sharing your comments with us!
Review 11 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jen1875
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute!
Date:April 25, 2014
Cute dress, fits well and good length, I am 5'7". Have always ordered a 2 with GH and did so with this dress too. Color of dress is lighter than what I would have preferred, looks a bit darker online than in person. Otherwise, lightweight denim, cute dress. Reminds me of a denim dress I had in my younger years.
Review 12 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bosaknm
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
TrueFit failed me
Date:April 21, 2014
Well, my dress is going back even though I ordered the size recommended by TrueFit ( which was right on the mark with my last order or two). I'll exchange it but I'm not overly optimistic as the next size might be too baggy. The dress seems to fit narrow through the hips.
I'm 5' 4" and the length is fine for me but seems like it would be short on someone much taller.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your note! We're sorry to hear your TrueFit suggestion was off, and are here to help if you have questions regarding your exchange!
Review 13 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leonor
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Style and quality were not up to my expectations
Date:April 18, 2014
Regretfully, I returned both sizes I purchased. The style was not flattering, the quality did not meet my expectations and iit was difficult to button up the dress. Perhaps using snaps would have been better.
Overall, just not for me.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 21, 2014
Thanks for your honest feedback. We're sorry the Shirtdress didn't meet your expectations and have shared your comments with our design team. If you have further questions or feedback we're available at 800-870-3513
Review 14 for Lightweight Denim Shirtdress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
scout1980
Unflattering; Returned this dress
Date:April 17, 2014
The fabric is thick and heavy. The dress is way too short. It is has long sleeves and looks like a shirt that is too long. Not cute at all. Had to return this dress.