Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular

A favorite maxi is back this season in the perfect weight to glide beautifully over the body and go from sandy days to Saturday nights. The easy silhouette has a fitted surplice bodice, an A-line skirt, a front and back V-neck, and gathered straps that look chic coming or going. Double-layered bodice. Made of a stretchy cotton/rayon/spandex blend in solids and prints that celebrate the season. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.121 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
28 of 3385%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
warmthfreak
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
heavy fabric for summer
Date:July 3, 2014
Surprised nobody else mentioned this, but i was surprised how heavy and thick the fabric is for a summer dress. From the picture i imagined a very fine, flowing jersey. Also, because it is heavy and a bit stiff for a knit, the skirt kind of sticks out a little too stiffly, making me look like a little souvenir doll. I guess maybe for cooler summer days, and if you weren't thinking of a more straight-falling, fluid shape, it may be ok. Quality seems good, and i don't find the sizing issues some other people have found, maybe because i am pretty small overall. Still debating whether to keep it, as i like the black and white pattern - hides figure flaws.
Review 2 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oremommy
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful prints
Date:June 29, 2014
Love this dress but the cut seemed a bit big in the waist and arm holes. The colors and prints are beautiful though. I had to send it back because it ran large.
Review 3 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raven125
Location:FL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
One of my better purchases!
Date:June 28, 2014
This is the type of dress that you can wear anywhere! Out to dinner, to a function or to church.
Review 4 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MissMellie
Location:North Texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely!
Date:June 28, 2014
With great sale pricing, many sizes and patterns were already sold out so I was thrilled to find the one I wanted in my regular size but I worried it would be too big based upon other reviews. My fears were unfounded! The dress arrived yesteryear and fits perfectly right out of the package! The fabric weight is great for Texas summers, the cut is very flattering, and the Blue Geometric pattern is a welcome change to all of the solids in my closet. I am very petite on top but do not have issues with extra fabric or gaping armholes like some reviewers. At 5'10" it fits just above my ankle. An extra inch or two would have made it ideal. I hope next year it will be offered in a tall version. In the meantime, I've ordered another and expect them to be my summer staples. Very pleased!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 30, 2014
We're glad your pleased with your purchase! We'll be sure to share your request for a tall version with our Design Team.
Review 5 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGerman
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:June 23, 2014
Ordered this dress with worry because of all the reviews. It turned out to be just perfect for a D cup, size 6 woman. It's not cut too deep in the front, only a tiny bit too loose right by the armpit, but not bad at all. I can either have it taken in by a seamstress or just not worry about it. True to color; light, flowing material. It's a keeper and I love it.
Review 6 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nefertiti2012
Location:Southern California, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Comfortable and Stylish
Date:June 21, 2014
Wore this dress immediately after receiving it and received many complements. Using 'True Fit", I got the correct size and I am very happy with the way it fits, otherwise I would have ordered one size up!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 23, 2014
We all love to receive compliments when wearing a new dress! Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Review 7 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hotlava
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
weird fit
Date:June 13, 2014
the top is soooo big and lose. I've gone two sizes and still can't make it work.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 16, 2014
We're sorry to hear you are having fit issues with this dress style, but we’re glad to hear that you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges, to try other sizes. If you need assistance, call us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 8 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MollyB717
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
perfect summer dress!
Date:June 13, 2014
I bought this dress in black, and loved it so much I came back and purchased it in the black/white palm. The fit is very flattering on my curvy figure, and the fabric is soft, and drapes well. Very easy to dress up or down. I'm sure these will be my go-to dresses this summer!
Review 9 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
muranomama
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely in coral.
Date:June 12, 2014
While I prefer the hi-low hem in a maxi, this one is quite nice. I appreciate the petite sizing, and found a 6p to be perfect--34C, 115lbs, 5'3. I find the fit a little odd, the straps are very wide and I have pretty small shoulders, so it's a little uncomfy--restricting almost--but overall I love the bright coral enough to keep it. It's a nice modest dress, some maxis can be a little too revealing for this 40-something mom. I won't buy more of this particular style, but I'm glad I bought this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CanaryBlue
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Maxi craving satisfied
Date:June 9, 2014
I already had two maxi dresses which I don't like because they look like muu muus - no shape. I ordered this one because it is fitted under the bustline and shows one's shape a little. I will definitely wear it this summer for casual weekends around town or as a hostess dress. The material is substantial and will keep it's shape after washing. I see maxis shown with jeans jackets. It's a cute look which I will try.
Review 11 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IndigoBunting
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
I'll be wearing this all summer!
Date:June 7, 2014
I have this dress in two colors (blue and blue geometric). I ordered it in 0P after trying and returning other dresses that only came in regular sizing. I'm 5'1", and the petite sizing makes the waist fall in the right place, and the hem just clears the floor. Works great on an hourglass figure. It's a nice, mostly-cotton fabric; many maxi dresses are all rayon. GH- make more bright colors in this dress, and make more dresses in petite!
Review 12 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A2KB
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Dress with Alterations
Date:June 6, 2014
I ordered the Cobalt Blue version, and the color is stunning - rich and saturated. I paired with a simple white draped cardigan and bold silver jewelry (to beautiful effect.)
However, I did have to have the top taken in a bit. Overall, the straps are cut too wide (and I have straight/broad shoulders) and the front gaps/fits in an odd way so I have to use fashion-tape to keep it closed (too low cut otherwise). Overall pretty happy with the look of the dress, but there are some real fit/design issues. I am size 14 hourglass and wear 36 DDD bra. I ordered the size 14 dress.
Review 13 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CJ20
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very long and bulky
Date:June 4, 2014
I was hoping to bring this dress on our vacation as well as wearing it through the summer but sent it back after trying it on. I am 5'6" and wear 10-12 and I ordered this dress in a 12. It was very large all around and the length of the dress was ridiculous, puddling on the floor! Very disappointed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 5, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fit of our Modern Surplice Maxi Dress didn't work for you. Actual garment measurements are provided to assist in getting the best fit. Give us a call if you need help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 14 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lindloo
Location:Olympia, WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great style and functional garment.
Date:June 2, 2014
I'm trying to decide if the fit through the bodice is right for me.... Really like the maxi dress otherwise.
Review 15 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gilan
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Beautiful dress
Date:May 29, 2014
I ordered this to take on a trip to Viet Nam where I will be limited in terms of what I can pack. This will be my only "dressy" piece. It is beautiful and very well made. It runs big, however, and although I will keep the size 8, I am 5'6", 140 lbs., I could have easily taken the size 6. I would suggest ordering down by at least one size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hemisk
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Go to summer dress
Date:May 25, 2014
I've been buying mostly bright colors for the past few summers, but the black and white print spoke to me. I wore it out to dinner tonight and felt very elegant. The dress is comfortable and stylish, and would work equally well for days or evenings in the summer. I like that the straps are wide enough to cover any type of bra. Runs true to size -- I am 5'3", usually 6-8 in tops and 4-6 in bottoms, and I ordered the 6P.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! It makes us very excited, when we hear back from a customer, that one of our items makes them feel "elegant" when they wear it!
Review 17 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over60
Location:Myrtle Beach
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Comfortable and Elegant
Date:May 23, 2014
The material of this dress is very soft and comfortable. The dress would be appropriate for company, around the pool, or just for being comfy at home.
Review 18 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lbh0815
Location:Wilton, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
love this dress
Date:May 23, 2014
really comfortable dress. runs large. I am usually a medium so bought a 6 but it was too big so exchanged it for the 4.i would buy more but not as crazy about the other patterns. I bought the coral floral one.
Review 19 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
letyourinnergeekspeak
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
flattering dress
Date:May 21, 2014
if you order down a size (always the case for me at GH) then the generous cut becomes a very comfortable cut. it's true that the neckline plunges so be ready to show serious cleavage. I'm between a 10 and a 12 and the 10 fits fine.
lovely soft knit fabric with beautiful drape. haven't washed it yet so i can say how it will look once laundered. my experience with other GH dresses has been that the knit looses some of its gorgeous texture and feel if you follow the instructions and "Tumble Dry Low". I recommend "dry flat" if you have the time and space.
I gave it a 3 on value because, even at the Dress Sale price, the price seems high and shipping costs are really high.
Review 20 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nicsim2
Location:GA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Gorgeous!
Date:May 21, 2014
This was a great buy. This dress is soft, long and very flattering to my tall frame. I got several compliments when I wore this.
Will definitely be ordering another color.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 21, 2014
We agree, this is a gorgeous maxi dress that's a favorite! Thanks for sharing your comments with us!
1 2 next>>