Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular

We've tweaked the fit of our favorite flattering maxi so it's slightly sleeker and even more body-beautifying — the better to glide from sandy days to Saturday nights. Fitted surplice bodice; deep V front and back look chic coming or going. Double-layered fitted surplice bodice Deep V front and back A-line silhouette Slight gathering at the shoulders and waist Maxi length Cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
0
47 of 5389%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jfit51
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very comfy
Date:April 17, 2015
Super comfortable and soft. Also washes well.
The only complaint I have is that the bodice above the waistline poofs a little, perhaps because I'm short waisted and small. Otherwise I really love the way it wears.
Review 2 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mrsjuiceplus
Location:Georga
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
LOVE this dress!!!
Date:April 13, 2015
After reading all the reviews, I was confused on which size to get. I wear a size 12 dress but XL in some tops. The 12 fit perfectly and the dress is very flattering! If it was less expensive, I would buy one in every color!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie65
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely
Date:April 13, 2015
Soft, flowing, beautiful material. I am only 5'2" and the petite was perfect. Very flattering.
Review 4 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BooBooLaRue
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
More than I imagined!
Date:April 10, 2015
The length was great (I'm 5'10" size 14-16), the style is au courant and fits my bust well w/o showing too much skin.
Very good quality fabric and product is well-made. My very first GH order and I am hooked!
Review 5 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4shopping
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Fit
Date:April 9, 2015
I bought the petite and it fit perfectly on me. This along with the other dresses from GH are perfect for spring break travel.
Review 6 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NYNYGiraffe
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute summer dress.
Date:April 9, 2015
A really good summer basic, easy to pair with a jean jacket or a light weight cropped cardigan. I feel sure I will wear it a lot. I think it will be good to travel with also.
Review 7 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TCoop
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great summer dress
Date:April 8, 2015
This dress has a very flattering fit and is very comfortable. Love the v neckline in the back.
Review 8 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Samok
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not a fan
Date:April 8, 2015
I am returning the dress. Bought the red color with the flowers and do not like it AT ALL. The colors I wanted (for the sale price) were not available. I DO however like the style of the dress. Looks like it would be very comfortable and fun to wear.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 10, 2015
Thank you for letting us help you with your freight free exchange! If we can be of any further assistance please let us know.
Review 9 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truefan
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect fit-Perfect dress!
Date:April 3, 2015
This is the best one yet, Garnet Hill. I have bought similar dresses over the years and have never been happy with the fit even though I followed your guidelines- until now! I am 5'4, 115 and 32D. This dress in a size 2 fits PERFECTLY! it is so beautiful I will be wearing it often. I wish you had more print choices though. It as a FAB dress. Thank you!
Review 10 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ScoutFinch
Location:Boston MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great purchase!
Date:March 28, 2015
Great prints, fabric, and silhouette. I have worn this dress to engagement parties, nights on the town, and casual barbecue's. You will not regret this purchase!
Review 11 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fewcat
Location:Hurst, TX
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
quality
Date:March 20, 2015
won't be disappointed with the fabric, not see through sheer. it's quality. this is a great summer dress. I love wearing maxi dresses, thank for the selection.
Review 12 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JAKD
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
One of my favorites
Date:March 20, 2015
I bought this dress in black last year and loved wearing it - very easy to wear and to dress up or down.
Review 13 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lucythecat
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love it!
Date:August 27, 2014
I first bought the cobalt blue dress in a size 16 because I am busty and since I wear XL in tops I figured that was my size. Little did I know! The dress looked like a sack on me - it was too big in the armpits, shoulders and even the bustline. I sent it back for a size 12 in the black and white. It fit like a glove and I love it! Never did I think I could wear a 12 comfortably! Thank you Garnet Hill!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudiS
Location:Merrick, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Favorite!
Date:August 25, 2014
I love everything about this dress. It even looks good on my pear shaped body, hides all imperfections well and is not too low cut!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cajmere
Location:tallahassee, fl
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
It's hard to stop wearing this
Date:August 23, 2014
This is my second Garnet HIll Maxi...I wear these to death. Perfect for warm weather climates where you need to dash from work to pool.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rosepearl
Location:Australia/California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Cruisin' with Style
Date:August 14, 2014
This dress fits the bill for a comfortable dress to take on a cruise. With the right accessories it will be fine for dressy dining nights.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martilynn
Location:Kalamazoo Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great Dress!
Date:August 14, 2014
I bought this dress for myself in a size 6P (my usual size, at 5'2" and 116 lbs), but it was too big and too long. I shrank it, but it was still too large. I gave it to my sister, and bought myself a size 4P. It was a better fit, but still too large. I shrank that one too, which improved the fit. It still needs to be smaller, so I'm going to try to shrink it again, and then have it hemmed. In fact, I love the dress so much that I then bought it in blue (knowing full well how much it'll take to get it down to my size). It's a great dress and worth the trouble, especially on sale. But buyers beware...size it down!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BFitz
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute summer dress
Date:August 14, 2014
Caught this during a Sale of the Day. Used the size helper. Ordered in a 10. A little large in the bust, but overall good fit. Nice feel to the fabric. For the sale price, great value.
Review 19 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenMerc
Location:Santa Rosa
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Comfortable and flattering
Date:August 13, 2014
I bought this dress on sale and can say it is one of the the best dresses I own. The arm holes are a bit large but other than that this dress is perfect. Easy to dress up or down with soft but not overly drapy fabric.
Review 20 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomCoo
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Size down!
Date:July 29, 2014
The Fit Finder told me I should get a regular size 8, but I decided to order a 6 and I'm so glad I did! It's a real stretchy material so even if I were a few inches bigger I would still fit in it easily! I have a 36B chest and almost always an 8 or medium for tops and dresses As for the length, since I'm only 5'1", I always have to shorten Maxi dresses but I can wear it without hemming it up - it's a true floor length on me. To get the length on the model wearing the red dress, I do need to shorten it a few inches but I'll wait till I wash it just in case it shrinks.
Other than the size being big, I love this dress. Cobalt blue is beautiful and I got it on sale! It drapes beautiful and very comfortable. It looks low cut up front but the materials covers my bra perfectly so even a conservative/modest dresser like me can wear it!
As someone mentioned, the material is rather thick so it's not for a real hot day but it's been a cold summer here in Chicago so will be a perfect evening dress for me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>