Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular

A favorite maxi is back this season in the perfect weight to glide beautifully over the body and go from sandy days to Saturday nights. The easy silhouette has a fitted surplice bodice, an A-line skirt, a front and back V-neck, and gathered straps that look chic coming or going. Double-layered bodice. Made of a stretchy cotton/rayon/spandex blend in solids and prints that celebrate the season. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
36 of 4188%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lucythecat
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love it!
Date:August 27, 2014
I first bought the cobalt blue dress in a size 16 because I am busty and since I wear XL in tops I figured that was my size. Little did I know! The dress looked like a sack on me - it was too big in the armpits, shoulders and even the bustline. I sent it back for a size 12 in the black and white. It fit like a glove and I love it! Never did I think I could wear a 12 comfortably! Thank you Garnet Hill!
Review 2 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudiS
Location:Merrick, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Favorite!
Date:August 25, 2014
I love everything about this dress. It even looks good on my pear shaped body, hides all imperfections well and is not too low cut!
Review 3 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cajmere
Location:tallahassee, fl
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
It's hard to stop wearing this
Date:August 23, 2014
This is my second Garnet HIll Maxi...I wear these to death. Perfect for warm weather climates where you need to dash from work to pool.
Review 4 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rosepearl
Location:Australia/California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Cruisin' with Style
Date:August 14, 2014
This dress fits the bill for a comfortable dress to take on a cruise. With the right accessories it will be fine for dressy dining nights.
Review 5 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martilynn
Location:Kalamazoo Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great Dress!
Date:August 14, 2014
I bought this dress for myself in a size 6P (my usual size, at 5'2" and 116 lbs), but it was too big and too long. I shrank it, but it was still too large. I gave it to my sister, and bought myself a size 4P. It was a better fit, but still too large. I shrank that one too, which improved the fit. It still needs to be smaller, so I'm going to try to shrink it again, and then have it hemmed. In fact, I love the dress so much that I then bought it in blue (knowing full well how much it'll take to get it down to my size). It's a great dress and worth the trouble, especially on sale. But buyers beware...size it down!
Review 6 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BFitz
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute summer dress
Date:August 14, 2014
Caught this during a Sale of the Day. Used the size helper. Ordered in a 10. A little large in the bust, but overall good fit. Nice feel to the fabric. For the sale price, great value.
Review 7 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenMerc
Location:Santa Rosa
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Comfortable and flattering
Date:August 13, 2014
I bought this dress on sale and can say it is one of the the best dresses I own. The arm holes are a bit large but other than that this dress is perfect. Easy to dress up or down with soft but not overly drapy fabric.
Review 8 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomCoo
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Size down!
Date:July 29, 2014
The Fit Finder told me I should get a regular size 8, but I decided to order a 6 and I'm so glad I did! It's a real stretchy material so even if I were a few inches bigger I would still fit in it easily! I have a 36B chest and almost always an 8 or medium for tops and dresses As for the length, since I'm only 5'1", I always have to shorten Maxi dresses but I can wear it without hemming it up - it's a true floor length on me. To get the length on the model wearing the red dress, I do need to shorten it a few inches but I'll wait till I wash it just in case it shrinks.
Other than the size being big, I love this dress. Cobalt blue is beautiful and I got it on sale! It drapes beautiful and very comfortable. It looks low cut up front but the materials covers my bra perfectly so even a conservative/modest dresser like me can wear it!
As someone mentioned, the material is rather thick so it's not for a real hot day but it's been a cold summer here in Chicago so will be a perfect evening dress for me.
Review 9 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
warmthfreak
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
heavy fabric for summer
Date:July 3, 2014
Surprised nobody else mentioned this, but i was surprised how heavy and thick the fabric is for a summer dress. From the picture i imagined a very fine, flowing jersey. Also, because it is heavy and a bit stiff for a knit, the skirt kind of sticks out a little too stiffly, making me look like a little souvenir doll. I guess maybe for cooler summer days, and if you weren't thinking of a more straight-falling, fluid shape, it may be ok. Quality seems good, and i don't find the sizing issues some other people have found, maybe because i am pretty small overall. Still debating whether to keep it, as i like the black and white pattern - hides figure flaws.
Review 10 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oremommy
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful prints
Date:June 29, 2014
Love this dress but the cut seemed a bit big in the waist and arm holes. The colors and prints are beautiful though. I had to send it back because it ran large.
Review 11 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raven125
Location:FL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
One of my better purchases!
Date:June 28, 2014
This is the type of dress that you can wear anywhere! Out to dinner, to a function or to church.
Review 12 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MissMellie
Location:North Texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely!
Date:June 28, 2014
With great sale pricing, many sizes and patterns were already sold out so I was thrilled to find the one I wanted in my regular size but I worried it would be too big based upon other reviews. My fears were unfounded! The dress arrived yesteryear and fits perfectly right out of the package! The fabric weight is great for Texas summers, the cut is very flattering, and the Blue Geometric pattern is a welcome change to all of the solids in my closet. I am very petite on top but do not have issues with extra fabric or gaping armholes like some reviewers. At 5'10" it fits just above my ankle. An extra inch or two would have made it ideal. I hope next year it will be offered in a tall version. In the meantime, I've ordered another and expect them to be my summer staples. Very pleased!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 30, 2014
We're glad your pleased with your purchase! We'll be sure to share your request for a tall version with our Design Team.
Review 13 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGerman
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:June 23, 2014
Ordered this dress with worry because of all the reviews. It turned out to be just perfect for a D cup, size 6 woman. It's not cut too deep in the front, only a tiny bit too loose right by the armpit, but not bad at all. I can either have it taken in by a seamstress or just not worry about it. True to color; light, flowing material. It's a keeper and I love it.
Review 14 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nefertiti2012
Location:Southern California, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Comfortable and Stylish
Date:June 21, 2014
Wore this dress immediately after receiving it and received many complements. Using 'True Fit", I got the correct size and I am very happy with the way it fits, otherwise I would have ordered one size up!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 23, 2014
We all love to receive compliments when wearing a new dress! Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Review 15 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hotlava
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
weird fit
Date:June 13, 2014
the top is soooo big and lose. I've gone two sizes and still can't make it work.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 16, 2014
We're sorry to hear you are having fit issues with this dress style, but we’re glad to hear that you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges, to try other sizes. If you need assistance, call us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 16 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MollyB717
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
perfect summer dress!
Date:June 13, 2014
I bought this dress in black, and loved it so much I came back and purchased it in the black/white palm. The fit is very flattering on my curvy figure, and the fabric is soft, and drapes well. Very easy to dress up or down. I'm sure these will be my go-to dresses this summer!
Review 17 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
muranomama
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely in coral.
Date:June 12, 2014
While I prefer the hi-low hem in a maxi, this one is quite nice. I appreciate the petite sizing, and found a 6p to be perfect--34C, 115lbs, 5'3. I find the fit a little odd, the straps are very wide and I have pretty small shoulders, so it's a little uncomfy--restricting almost--but overall I love the bright coral enough to keep it. It's a nice modest dress, some maxis can be a little too revealing for this 40-something mom. I won't buy more of this particular style, but I'm glad I bought this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CanaryBlue
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Maxi craving satisfied
Date:June 9, 2014
I already had two maxi dresses which I don't like because they look like muu muus - no shape. I ordered this one because it is fitted under the bustline and shows one's shape a little. I will definitely wear it this summer for casual weekends around town or as a hostess dress. The material is substantial and will keep it's shape after washing. I see maxis shown with jeans jackets. It's a cute look which I will try.
Review 19 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IndigoBunting
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
I'll be wearing this all summer!
Date:June 7, 2014
I have this dress in two colors (blue and blue geometric). I ordered it in 0P after trying and returning other dresses that only came in regular sizing. I'm 5'1", and the petite sizing makes the waist fall in the right place, and the hem just clears the floor. Works great on an hourglass figure. It's a nice, mostly-cotton fabric; many maxi dresses are all rayon. GH- make more bright colors in this dress, and make more dresses in petite!
Review 20 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A2KB
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Dress with Alterations
Date:June 6, 2014
I ordered the Cobalt Blue version, and the color is stunning - rich and saturated. I paired with a simple white draped cardigan and bold silver jewelry (to beautiful effect.)
However, I did have to have the top taken in a bit. Overall, the straps are cut too wide (and I have straight/broad shoulders) and the front gaps/fits in an odd way so I have to use fashion-tape to keep it closed (too low cut otherwise). Overall pretty happy with the look of the dress, but there are some real fit/design issues. I am size 14 hourglass and wear 36 DDD bra. I ordered the size 14 dress.
1 2 3 next>>