Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular

We've tweaked the fit of our favorite flattering maxi so it's slightly sleeker and even more body-beautifying — the better to glide from sandy days to Saturday nights. Fitted surplice bodice; deep V front and back look chic coming or going. Double-layered fitted surplice bodice Deep V front and back A-line silhouette Slight gathering at the shoulders and waist Maxi length Cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.309 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
0
61 of 6890%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carr01
Location:Toronto, ON
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not my type of dress :-(
Date:May 20, 2015
Very beautiful dress, the fabric is soft and flowing, the colour (Steeple Grey) is gorgeous and can be dressed up or down. I am 5'2 and even petite was a bit long on me. The overall fit was strange - the dress made my chest look massive, and I am only 34B. My underwear lines were visible through the skirt. I love the feel and the look of this dress, I don't like the way it looks on me.
Review 2 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CollageArtist
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Presto Change-O!
Date:May 16, 2015
This lovely maxi not only feels soft and flows perfectly, it is magically flattering. Pop it on with a cardigan, and a pair of ballet slippers, and you'll be the Girl Next Door. Appear in it on an evening, with strappy heels and a shoulder wrap, and you're the Fashionista! I highly recommend this versatile dress!
Review 3 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JEJ10
Location:Washington, D.C.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice dress, but not the black
Date:May 16, 2015
I have purchased 5 of these maxi dresses over the course of 3 seasons. Clearly, I love the dress. I was disappointed in the black and violet floral this year because after I washed it once (inside out - as required) it faded dramatically in one wash. It looks like I have owned it for years.
The sizing on the dresses is off; I wear a 14 dress in any other style, but a 10 in this one.
Review 4 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Onlineshopaholic
Location:Walters, Ok
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Go solid
Date:May 15, 2015
I previously ordered this dress in the black print but I was disappointed in the fabric. I liked the fit and style so I ordered it again in solid black. I like it so much better. I can dress it up or down. I will get a lot of wear out of this dress.
Review 5 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bosaknm
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice summer maxi
Date:May 13, 2015
I'm happy with this purchase. The dress fits well although I was surprised that the length was not too long and actually grazed my ankles. I'm 5'4" so on someone taller it might be shorter than expected.
Review 6 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
acara
Location:USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love the dress
Date:May 13, 2015
This is a perfect dress. I love maxi dresses. This looks good, is very comfortable and can be worn anywhere. If you need to be more modest add a shrug or a big scarf.
Review 7 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CVCA5
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Maxi Dress
Date:May 13, 2015
Maxi dress fitted perfectly. It's very flattering. I may purchase in another color.
Review 8 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Homekybeky
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this dress
Date:May 13, 2015
I love this dress, however, I wear it backwards because the cross over in the front gives me too much cleavage. I'm a 36 DD and don't feel comfortable with that much showing. I paired this dress with a little grey sweater and rhinestone necklace and loved the look!
Review 9 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
meredith333
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great summer dress - casual or more!
Date:May 8, 2015
I really love this dress and bought two - one print and one solid. I imagine getting a lot of wear out of both for casual summer days and even more dressy occasions with the right sandals and accessories. I am 5'4" and 135 lbs and ended up with the Petite 02 (the 04 was just slightly too loose and I prefer a slimmer fit). The 02 top fits well (I am a 34B) and there is not too much material in the skirt. I also prefer the slightly shorter length of the petite which is still long enough and falls around the ankles. This was a great purchase, especially if you can buy it with a discount!
Review 10 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
talltexan
Location:New Braunfels, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Prettier in person
Date:May 6, 2015
I love this dress. Great weight, beautiful material - I got the black/violet floral and it is very pretty. No complaints at all!
Review 11 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TallyMay
Location:Deep south
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for the very pear-shaped
Date:May 1, 2015
I am pear shaped and usually buy size 16 or 14W pants, but have a relatively modest bust size (38B). I ordered this dress in a 12 due to the reviews and the True Fit recommendation. The banded waist fits perfectly, but the skirt is cut too narrowly for me. It shows not just the curve of my hip to the side, but also how my thigh curves forward. The skirt reveals the elastic line of my underwear on my rear, too. Meanwhile, above the waist, the top is already too big, so sizing up won't solve the fit issue. The fabric is nice, and overall it seems like it would fit many body types (thus the 4/5 rating). Just not mine, unfortunately!
Review 12 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SNBVT
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect from the start
Date:May 1, 2015
This dress fits like a charm. It's fitted around the bodice so it's quite flattering, and the fabric has a nice stretch so it's very comfortable as well. I'm a size 10 in most everything but True Fit suggested size 8, which was perfect. The V front and back give it some snap but it's not too revealing. The fabric has a nice drape and there wasn't a wrinkle as soon as I put it on, even after being folded and mailed.
Review 13 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEN5123
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Perfect dress
Date:April 30, 2015
Love this dress. I ordered over 10 maxi dresses from elsewhere in the last month. This is the only one that was an absolute keeper. I was a bit unsure on the sizing so I ordered 8(P) and 10(P). My stats are 5'2" and 138lbs, wearing a 34DD bra. The truth is that they both work. The 8 fits just slightly better in the chest, but I could use a little more room in the waist/ hip area, as that is where I carry more weight. I think the 8 looks better, but the 10 is more comfortable for lounging in. The length is absolutely perfect. If ordering again, I would probably get the 8 and will in fact exchange the extra that I got for a third print!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ellen27
Date:April 30, 2015
Dress was too expensive for the material. Looked great in the catalog but when I received the dress, I was disappointed that it was nothing more than a jersey beach cover-up
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 13, 2015
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with this dress. If you need help with a return or freight free exchange, give us a call. 800-870-3513.
Review 15 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deedee12
Date:April 27, 2015
Perfect length for me. Good quality. Fabric is comfortable next to my skin and NOT see thru. Had to take the bodice in but that was a simple fix.
Review 16 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jfit51
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very comfy
Date:April 17, 2015
Super comfortable and soft. Also washes well.
The only complaint I have is that the bodice above the waistline poofs a little, perhaps because I'm short waisted and small. Otherwise I really love the way it wears.
Review 17 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mrsjuiceplus
Location:Georga
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
LOVE this dress!!!
Date:April 13, 2015
After reading all the reviews, I was confused on which size to get. I wear a size 12 dress but XL in some tops. The 12 fit perfectly and the dress is very flattering! If it was less expensive, I would buy one in every color!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie65
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely
Date:April 13, 2015
Soft, flowing, beautiful material. I am only 5'2" and the petite was perfect. Very flattering.
Review 19 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BooBooLaRue
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
More than I imagined!
Date:April 10, 2015
The length was great (I'm 5'10" size 14-16), the style is au courant and fits my bust well w/o showing too much skin.
Very good quality fabric and product is well-made. My very first GH order and I am hooked!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4shopping
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Fit
Date:April 9, 2015
I bought the petite and it fit perfectly on me. This along with the other dresses from GH are perfect for spring break travel.
1 2 3 4 next>>