Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular

We've tweaked the fit of our favorite flattering maxi so it's slightly sleeker and even more body-beautifying — the better to glide from sandy days to Saturday nights. Fitted surplice bodice; deep V front and back look chic coming or going. Double-layered fitted surplice bodice Deep V front and back A-line silhouette Slight gathering at the shoulders and waist Maxi length Cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
2
85 of 9788%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cherry Hill, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Comfy and Sleek
Date:August 7, 2015
I love, love, love this dress. It falls nicely and looks lovely. The fabric is a nice quality!
Review 2 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mn
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:August 2, 2015
Did not care for fabric......it was "heavyweight". Cute dress but too low cut!
Review 3 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pleasant Surprise
Date:July 30, 2015
I was afraid to order this dress online because as a pear shaped curvy girl, fit can be somewhat difficult in the bust. However, the top was not overwhelming , even the plunging neckline was not too bad. The drape was flattering and the colors were vibrant and the print not too overwhelming. I purchased this dress for a wedding in August in New Hampshire. It will be easy to accessorize as well.
Review 4 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great buy!
Date:July 30, 2015
Love love love this dress! The length is great and the cut is very flattering. Besides looking great, it is very comfortable.
Review 5 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cleveland
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
beautiful pattern
Date:July 20, 2015
Love, love the pattern (blue medallion) and fabric. The 10P was slightly large for my 5'4" frame - length hits right at the floor which will easily be fixed with heels. Alteration to take up the bodice slightly will make this a favorite piece.
Review 6 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lewisburg, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love it
Date:July 12, 2015
This dress makes me look tall and thin but I'm not! I am 5'4" but when I paired the dress with wedge sandals, I looked long and lean. The fit is very flattering; not too tight, and not too loose. A little low cut, by itself, for my teaching job and summer church so I just put on a white lace cami underneath and it looked great!
Review 7 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Maxi Dress
Date:July 12, 2015
Unfortunately, the top is not full coverage enough for me so I had to return it. The length and the rest of the dress was fine. If you are above a C cup, this may not work for you. Liked the material.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiasionAugust 25, 2015
We agree the material of this dress is great. Thank you for sharing your comments!
Review 8 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Tx.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great fit
Date:July 11, 2015
dress fits great, style hides hips and belly imperfections. very flattering, not snug. wish it came in more colors or patterns
Review 9 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love the style but . . .
Date:July 10, 2015
Love the style, the fabric and even bought 2 of them. However, when I washed the black and purple one following the laundry directions, the black color of the background faded and wore away close to the seams. I love the dress but it looks old even though I've never worn it. The pink print was ok after washing.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 11, 2015
Wow, this is not typical of our Modern Surplice Maxi dress. We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you so we can find a solution. Thank you for your comments.
Review 10 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect!
Date:July 7, 2015
I wanted to try a maxi-dress this year, and this one looked just right. Glad I bought it: excellent fit and very, very flattering in the pink print. (I'm 5"2 115lb and 32C, and the 2P was perfect).
Review 11 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lawrence, KS
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
comfy elegance
Date:July 5, 2015
This dress fits me perfectly, is comfortable and looks elegant. Great for summer nights!
Review 12 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Age:55-64
Date:July 3, 2015
Love this dress!! Fits well, washes well, material is super soft.
Review 13 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
More like a nightgown!
Date:June 28, 2015
Unfortunately, this dress did not work for me. The material was not as soft as I'd hope. But mainly, the style made me look like I had a nightgown on, not a dress. Sadly, I had to return it.
Review 14 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Trenton, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
If you are hesitant about a maxi--try this one!
Date:June 27, 2015
I bought the black on clearance last year but it was not flattering on me, so I gave it to a friend. I was drawn to this dress again this year so decided to give it another go with the blue medallion. This is going to sound crazy, but I accidentally put it on backward at first, and it was super flattering! The pleats in the bust area did nothing for me, so if you are small busted, and the dress is not flattering with the plunging v-neck, it is very cute with the deep vee in the back! I am 5'5 112 lbs, I got 4 petite but I think the 2 petite will work better and am going to exchange it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Wow!
Date:June 24, 2015
This is a fabulous dress! I wore it to a garden party and got lots of compliments. I am 145 pounds (10 of them unwanted) and 5' 7". The size 10 fit perfectly. Maybe a little extra fabric under arms but my bra definitely did not show. Love the low cut cleavage (and so does my husband!). I am a 34 DDD and not afraid to show it to the world as long as I am wearing the right bra (critical to the success of this, I might add). Three cheers for this lightweight, summery super dress. Will get lots of wear! Thank you once again, Garnet Hill. You are amazing, as always!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ossining, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very pretty
Date:June 21, 2015
The dress is very pretty and well made. My only complaint that it is very low cut and you need a safety pin so as not to show your bra. Otherwise I am happy with my purchase.
Review 17 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:turlock california
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great for graduation
Date:June 20, 2015
Had to wear a camisole so my modesty was protected but that is because i am not prone to show cleavage at my age. otherwise so comfortable and material is heavy so drapes well and was perfect for a day into evening look. thanks
Review 18 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia , PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Back for a second one !
Date:June 18, 2015
I loved this dress last year I bought it in the orange print, I came back to buy a second one , it is very feminine and easy to wear.
I am a 5.2" bought them in a petite 6 they fit perfect, Love them !
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Date:June 17, 2015
Great dress, love it. I'm 5'1", ordered 00P, fits perfectly, no alteration is needed.
Review 20 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle Mom of 2
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Easy Peasy
Date:June 15, 2015
So comfy. I am 5'8" and ordered petite cause I am tired of the "maxi" thing. The petite length is perfect and makes it feel less like I'm swimming in fabric.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>