Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular

We've tweaked the fit of our favorite flattering maxi so it's slightly sleeker and even more body-beautifying — the better to glide from sandy days to Saturday nights. Fitted surplice bodice; deep V front and back look chic coming or going. Double-layered fitted surplice bodice Deep V front and back A-line silhouette Slight gathering at the shoulders and waist Maxi length Cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
1
75 of 8588%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rintin
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
More like a nightgown!
Date:June 28, 2015
Unfortunately, this dress did not work for me. The material was not as soft as I'd hope. But mainly, the style made me look like I had a nightgown on, not a dress. Sadly, I had to return it.
Review 2 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
YellowDog
Location:Trenton, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
If you are hesitant about a maxi--try this one!
Date:June 27, 2015
I bought the black on clearance last year but it was not flattering on me, so I gave it to a friend. I was drawn to this dress again this year so decided to give it another go with the blue medallion. This is going to sound crazy, but I accidentally put it on backward at first, and it was super flattering! The pleats in the bust area did nothing for me, so if you are small busted, and the dress is not flattering with the plunging v-neck, it is very cute with the deep vee in the back! I am 5'5 112 lbs, I got 4 petite but I think the 2 petite will work better and am going to exchange it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weaselino
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Wow!
Date:June 24, 2015
This is a fabulous dress! I wore it to a garden party and got lots of compliments. I am 145 pounds (10 of them unwanted) and 5' 7". The size 10 fit perfectly. Maybe a little extra fabric under arms but my bra definitely did not show. Love the low cut cleavage (and so does my husband!). I am a 34 DDD and not afraid to show it to the world as long as I am wearing the right bra (critical to the success of this, I might add). Three cheers for this lightweight, summery super dress. Will get lots of wear! Thank you once again, Garnet Hill. You are amazing, as always!
Review 4 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lesliesbr
Location:Ossining, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very pretty
Date:June 21, 2015
The dress is very pretty and well made. My only complaint that it is very low cut and you need a safety pin so as not to show your bra. Otherwise I am happy with my purchase.
Review 5 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
icumom
Location:turlock california
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great for graduation
Date:June 20, 2015
Had to wear a camisole so my modesty was protected but that is because i am not prone to show cleavage at my age. otherwise so comfortable and material is heavy so drapes well and was perfect for a day into evening look. thanks
Review 6 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chechel
Location:Philadelphia , PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Back for a second one !
Date:June 18, 2015
I loved this dress last year I bought it in the orange print, I came back to buy a second one , it is very feminine and easy to wear.
I am a 5.2" bought them in a petite 6 they fit perfect, Love them !
Review 7 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pangbecky
Love it
Date:June 17, 2015
Great dress, love it. I'm 5'1", ordered 00P, fits perfectly, no alteration is needed.
Review 8 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JenR
Location:Seattle Mom of 2
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Easy Peasy
Date:June 15, 2015
So comfy. I am 5'8" and ordered petite cause I am tired of the "maxi" thing. The petite length is perfect and makes it feel less like I'm swimming in fabric.
Review 9 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fantm
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattering but very low cut
Date:June 11, 2015
I love this dress; it's very flattering and comfortable. However it is very low cut. There's no way I could wear this without a camisole under it to cover the cleavage. I'm a 32DDD so maybe it will work better for someone less busty than me. I'm keeping it and will wear with a cami.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redhotmama
Location:Grand Rapids MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love this dress
Date:June 10, 2015
it is so comfortable and every time I wear it, I get compliments on it!! It's adorable! I have the navy and white and just ordered the pink one!!
Review 11 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
saaz
Location:nm
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
pretty dress
Date:June 4, 2015
nice dress. Great cut. It is, however, very low cut. As another reviewer said, it works well backwards. On the first wash, it came out faded.I purchased the black color. Not happy about that, however, will probably keep it. Price pretty high for the quality.
Review 12 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
907Laurie
Location:Anchorage, AK
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
gorgeous dress
Date:June 4, 2015
Was very happy when this dress arrived and I slipped it on for a look-see. As described, it provides a slim, sleek profile without being body-hugging. The weight and density of the fabric is just right; no need for a slip. It is not for the shy, however; the deep V neckline is just that, so the girls are at the center of attention in this dress. I wore it for the first time to a downtown summer evening dinner party, and felt perfectly dressed. Would feel equally comfortable wearing it in a tropical beach setting.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CTB28
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Petite proportions off
Date:June 1, 2015
I really love the print and colors. The overall length (2 petite) was perfect for my 5'4" frame. The top, however, was big. It seems like a regular 2 on top with a petite skirt. If you are large busted , it may work better than it did for me. I'll have to have the top altered, which is something I don't usually hae to do with a 2 petite. I decided to keep it.
Review 14 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hatsumomo68
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this maxi dress!
Date:May 30, 2015
This dress runs true to size & I ordered it in petite & it didn't need hemming (I'm 5'3")! The fabric is a nice quality & the pink geometric print is very pretty & unique. Might be a little low cut for some, depending on where you plan to wear it, but I think it would work with a tank or camisole underneath.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ClareMc
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for me
Date:May 27, 2015
I wanted this to work and on paper, it should have: plenty of others have loved it after all. An easy, loose summer frock that makes me look good and feels fab is what I was after. This is not quite it. I also ordered the A-line Maxi Dress in teal and that one I kept (review already posted). I ordered the size small --I'm 5' 8" and size 4/6 with lean, athletic build-- and both the fit and the drape felt wrong. I felt constricted around the rib cage which is where the empire waist hits. So, the ease of wear is missing for me. Then, the fabric felt like it was coated in some chemical which makes for a rough kind of cotton, not silky smooth. I don't want this against my skin on a hot, humid day. I know immediately if I like a garment or not, if it flatters me or not and unfortunately, this fell into the "not" category. I couldn't wait to take it off. On me, this dress felt very so-so, completely average and not at all special.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 4, 2015
Please remember that we provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 16 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CalHula
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely
Date:May 27, 2015
I like the cut of this dress - it fits well around the top and isn't too clingy. I'm 5'6" and only wear flats so the dress very long on me - like 5 inches too long. So I had it hemmed, which is an added expense but that way it fits just the way I like in terms of length.
Review 17 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dancemom
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Maxi
Date:May 23, 2015
Great fit. Very flattering. Perfect length for me. I'm 5'4" athletic size 2. I bought the grey color, and it is lovely. I can see this being flattering on a lot of body types. The fabric is very soft & flowing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carr01
Location:Toronto, ON
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not my type of dress :-(
Date:May 20, 2015
Very beautiful dress, the fabric is soft and flowing, the colour (Steeple Grey) is gorgeous and can be dressed up or down. I am 5'2 and even petite was a bit long on me. The overall fit was strange - the dress made my chest look massive, and I am only 34B. My underwear lines were visible through the skirt. I love the feel and the look of this dress, I don't like the way it looks on me.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 2, 2015
Thank you for your honest feedback! Please remember our exchanges are always freight free. If you need assistance, please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 19 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CollageArtist
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Presto Change-O!
Date:May 16, 2015
This lovely maxi not only feels soft and flows perfectly, it is magically flattering. Pop it on with a cardigan, and a pair of ballet slippers, and you'll be the Girl Next Door. Appear in it on an evening, with strappy heels and a shoulder wrap, and you're the Fashionista! I highly recommend this versatile dress!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Modern Surplice Maxi Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JEJ10
Location:Washington, D.C.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice dress, but not the black
Date:May 16, 2015
I have purchased 5 of these maxi dresses over the course of 3 seasons. Clearly, I love the dress. I was disappointed in the black and violet floral this year because after I washed it once (inside out - as required) it faded dramatically in one wash. It looks like I have owned it for years.
The sizing on the dresses is off; I wear a 14 dress in any other style, but a 10 in this one.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>