Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank

A great layering piece. We retooled our ribbed tank so it has great retention and a hip shirttail hem. A scoop neck in the front and back, and a happy, happening palette, make it a great baselayer. Slightly longer than hip length. Narrow ribs. Midweight cotton with a hint of spandex. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
17 of 1989%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Review 1 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mammabastone
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Perfect piece for every wardrobe
Date:August 21, 2014
I have this tank in white and watermelon. Both are just wonderfully soft and well made. Now that there is a bit of stretch in them, I'm even more happy with this staple. They do run a bit big. I'm a size 8, typically, and I get a size small or even xs. Watermelon is a beautiful, vibrant color. Happy with this find!!
Review 2 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SylPod
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Runs small!
Date:July 16, 2014
I am almost always size 8 so M in this tank, but it fits very small. For reference I am 36C, 142lb and 5'6. Will exchange it for L.
Review 3 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MtMom
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
soft, substantial fabric, plus it's made in USA
Date:July 3, 2014
Ordered both Med & Large to compare fit. The length (lower hip) & hip width was the same on both sizes??? Gray is 90% cotton, 5% polyester, 5% spandex and it's a little thinner than the other colors, which are 98% cotton & 2% spandex. I prefer the feel of the non-gray colors better--- those are softer & more substantial.
Request for GH: It would be nice to have a little more fabric in the waist to hip region to avoid too much cling.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kata29
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
no ribbing on this layering tank
Date:May 4, 2014
I bought these only because the description stated they are ribbed, they are not. These are a smooth cotton spandex tank. I have the original "ribbed" layering tank which were all cotton and I loved them. I wanted more colors so I thought these would be an OK alternative. They are not. I will be returning these. I want the original layering tank back. Also these are not long enough for me. The original tanks were plenty long and I miss them. The quality is good, just not what I wanted.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 9, 2014
The ribbing on this tank is VERY narrow and on first glance can be missed. We're sorry you were disappointed with the tanks, so please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 5 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lakeside
Location:Cape Cod, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Just a tad different
Date:May 1, 2014
IIt was love at first sight. Really like the way this longer tank peeks out when worn as a base layer. So comfortable I bought in multiple colours. Was disappointed I was unable to obtain white, which despite ordering early is not available, but the lime colour is lovely and OK, I admit to buying two blacks and a gray. The watermelon is wonderful as well but did not work with my skin tones. VERY COMFORTABLE. I'm 5'6" at 134 and the medium fit perfectly.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IdaEd
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Went from Great to Awful!
Date:April 20, 2014
Why the old fantastic long ribbed tanks were discontinued and replaced with this cheesy item is beyond me. I bought all the colors in a size Medium...each tank is a completely different width and length (some with a 2" difference!) and the gray is a completely different fabric. All going back.....
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Lisiaon April 22, 2014
We're so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. A Customer Care Specialist will be in contact with you to find a solution.
Review 7 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heelermom
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:March 25, 2014
I love these tanks - I have 3 of them (black, white and gray) and am excited to see they will be back in stock. I probably wear one as a layering piece on a daily basis. The length is great - no riding up and are made from a nice, thick fabric. I am going to order a few more in additional colors!
Review 8 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willow70
Location:West Coast
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Finally! Now we need more!
Date:March 3, 2014
Thank you, Garnet Hill! I've been looking for this perfect tank for years...pretty scoop, but no cleavage visible. Love the curved hemline. I bought black, so can't comment on the transparency of the white, but the slightly heavier weight of the fabric is promising. Seems true to size...a little snug, perhaps, but the thicker fabric smoothes well. I am 5'5", size 12, 38B, and the L fits me well. This item quickly sold out, so I can only assume many others have been looking for these. Please make more colors before summer!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sushan
Location:Mid west
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
This is a go to shirt.
Date:March 2, 2014
this tank is going to be my go to shirt under everything and alone on hot days.
Review 10 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fieldbotanist
Location:eastern Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
new favorite
Date:February 15, 2014
I took up GH's recent mix & match offer and of the three styles I purchased, this is my favorite one. I chose watermelon, a pretty pink. The tank is made with a pleasant weight fabric, soft & smooth. I think calling it "ribbed" is misleading, but it does stretch and is snug, great as a base layer. The length is good (longer on me than on the model) plus I like the slightly higher neckline. No negatives here!
Review 11 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Theacemom
Location:Knoxville, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
The best tank I have seen for a while
Date:February 14, 2014
I bought three, two black and one white, on sale. Best decision I made that day. They fit beautifully. I'm wearing them under everything now, but they will be perfect in July all by themselves.
Review 12 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aamom
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Great layering piece
Date:February 9, 2014
Very comfortable, and great length. Not too tight, not too loose..
Review 13 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
luki
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A thicker/heavier cotton tank than most!
Date:February 2, 2014
I like it because it is not so sheer or clingy as so many of the others I have. The shirt tail hem is a nice touch. Neckline not too low, so overall a nice layering piece that looks good on! I think true to size as well.
Review 14 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Just what I wanted
Date:February 2, 2014
This under shirt gives a little support and has a long tail.
I suggest ordering one size smaller than you usually do.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Preppy
Location:Albany, New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great basic tank
Date:February 2, 2014
I love this tank. The material is substantial and I love the shirttail detail. I especially like that this tank is a big longer than my other tanks. I am thinking of getting another one.
Review 16 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfofva
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
My new favorite tank!
Date:February 2, 2014
I have a long torso and have difficulty with shirts exposing my lower back when sitting down, leaning over, etc. This tank completely solves that problem! I bought three of the white tanks and wear the tanks several times a week. The only thing I would note to potential buyers is that the white tank is very sheer. Even when wearing nude bras you can still see the outline of the bra as well as all lumps and bumps. I would definitely use it as a layering piece, but not on its own or with an unbuttoned shirt or cardigan.
Review 17 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JARR
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Good Tee
Date:February 2, 2014
These have a nice texture, fits well and the straps are a little wider. I plan to wear them in SE Asia with skirts as it will be very hot.
Review 18 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
terzlover
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Solid product
Date:January 31, 2014
There were no reviews when I made my purchase so I guessed at a size and think I got it right. I'm a 32C/D and trend toward XS but I ordered this in a S and it fits perfectly over my bust without making me look like a sausage. The fabric is substantial (thank you, Garnet Hill) and soft. The watermelon is pretty much a pink. While I bought it on sale, even at full price I'd say it's a good value. The shirttails are an "interesting" look. They give it length. I imagine some people might not like the scalloped look.
Review 19 for Shirttail Ribbed Layering Tank
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kansascitian1
Location:KCMO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
excellent choice
Date:January 27, 2014
It's plain and simple and well made. I bought grey, white, black. No gapping under arms. No shrinkage in dryer that I can discern. I am a 32-34 b/c and purchased size small - a guess. I am only 5-3 -1/2" tall. The neckline is not too low. Usually necklines are too low as tank straps are mostly too long for me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.