Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress

A bodacious bandeau swim dress that fits the body beautifully. Our design team dove into the details to perfect the ruching on the top, the swing of the A-line silhouette, and the full one-piece swimsuit underneath (for no-flash security). In a sophisticated cache of graphics, dots to mums. Removable, adjustable halter strap. Molded cups with underwire. Made of our favorite lightweight and silky-luxe nylon/spandex with UPF 50 sun protection. Partially lined. Imported. Runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 2889%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KathyL
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Long torso
Date:July 26, 2014
The torso is so long on this swim dress that the crotch hangs out of the dress when not on. It's passable, though, when on. The print was brighter and more "old lady" looking than I had hoped for. I did decide to keep the item, since it is difficult to find small sizes in swimwear. GH should consider petite sizes.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 29, 2014
We'll be sure to share your request for petite sizing with our Design Team for future collections. Your satisfaction is guaranteed and we are happy to exchange or accept returns if items do not completely delight you!
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeanJames26
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
One piece swim dress
Date:July 19, 2014
I wasn't sure if I would feel like my mom in this one piece swim suit dress, but after trying it on, I definitely did not. I love the way this piece fits, it's comfortable and flattering on. It's really cute and covers the little bits of extra flesh around my lower half, while flattering my upper half. The suit fit true to size.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruchedpjs
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
long
Date:July 16, 2014
I've never tried a swim dress before so I can't compare, but on me, this was very long and covered too much thigh (more than in the photos). I'm 5' 7" tall but I am short waisted. I'm 57 years old and can't seem to find a swimsuit for my body type. I have slender legs and arms but want to hide my tummy and don't want to look like a granny.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 22, 2014
Perhaps a different style from our swimwear collection would better suit you. We appreciate your comments and are here if you need help with a return or freight free exchange. 800.870.3513
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
photoguru
Location:Pittsburgh
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
very cute and flattering
Date:July 14, 2014
I am 5' 3". I have a small bust 34A. I'm 115 lbs. I bought the 4 and it fit great. It's really cute for a one piece and doesn't look like a mom suit.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CRMSBM
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice suit but not for me
Date:July 14, 2014
This is a nice bathing suit but it was not true to size. Just too big which means there was a lot of excess fabric.
Just packed it up to send it back tomorrow.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Young52
Location:Nor Cal
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Excellent design, excellent fit!
Date:July 14, 2014
This suit accomplishes everything I have issues with in looking for swimwear. The bust has perfect support (I'm a DD) without being uncomfortable, the length is perfect (5'9"), its lightweight (I was worried it would weigh me down) and it is slimming! I'm so happy I'm buying another! I can actually be active in water sports and look elegant, slim and modest. Thank you Garnet Hill!
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
possibilities
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
very flattering!
Date:July 11, 2014
Purchased this suit on sale, but it's worth full price. The suit is very slimming and covers the thigh area which I'd rather not expose at my age. The style is very chic and not at all "old ladyish"!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizTish
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
No regrets!
Date:July 5, 2014
I've been eyeing this piece for a long time and am very glad that I purchased it. True to size an very flattering, finally a suit that I'm not wrapping a towel around every chance I get!
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bromom
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Suit
Date:June 28, 2014
Great swim dress that does not make you look or feel like a grandmother.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francoise
Location:DC area
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Feel ok in this!
Date:June 28, 2014
I have been wearing black bathing suits for the last few years in an attempt to slim down. Never felt quite comfortable. This bathing suit makes me feel good and looks good. Magic slenderizing properties! I am 5 '9", 160 lbs and a 12 fit me perfectly. Don't size up even if you usually do. At this sale price they are a steal! Only wished the polka dot was still there although the pink tile I got is pretty too.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodgal
Location:Fairfield County, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Surprise!
Date:June 25, 2014
Who knew a swimdress could be cute and not "middle-agey?" I got the red tile print and it's cute. My belly is well hidden in this suit from the pattern and the shape. It falls smoothly and doesn't cling at all, even to the parts that may be bigger than others! I am 5'4 and it could be an inch shorter on me (short torso, long legs), but it's not too long to look dowdy. I would love a little boning on the sides of the bra top, but it works well enough without. Definitely a keeper.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CKH62753
Location:Gloucester, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
What a Great Bathing Suit!
Date:June 20, 2014
One of my least favorite clothing items to buy is the unforgiving bath suit. Garnet Hill has made this dreaded task a pleasure. The swim dress is flattering and forgiving where needed. It can be worn all day without tugging and hoisting to keep body parts covered.
Thank you Garnet Hill!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're so happy to know we were able to make your bathing suit shopping a pleasure!
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RAC228
Location:Kennett Square PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So surprised
Date:June 18, 2014
The sad day has come to wear a dreaded swimdress. Depressing, or so I thought. I love it. Comfortable and still kinda sexy, not the Victorian outfit I had pictured. Truly, middle aged has been accepted. At least in my Garnet Hill swim dress.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Geralyn
Location:Pa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not a grandma suit!
Date:June 14, 2014
I like the idea of a swim dress, but not the mental visual. I was pleasantly surprised, this IS really cute.. True to size- I weigh 115 5'2" and ordered a six, perfect
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
warmthfreak
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
don't like wires
Date:June 7, 2014
This is a beautifully styled suit, and very concealing, makes me actually look thin .. which i'm not anymore. However, why so many stiff wires?? I never understand this. Bathing suits are usually worn on hot days, when you want to feel comfy and relaxed. So why would you want to feel like you're in a straight jacket? Not only are the cups underwired, but also there's a long stiff something under the armpit. Bad enough that bathing suits are always tight and constricting so they stay on in the waves, but then they add a ton of stiff hardware, tight straps with metal hardware. I thought the days of corsets were past us. Yet still i'm on the fence, and even thinking of trying another color as well, that's how well it fits and looks. Oh well. Incidentally the other swim dress with the rouching on the sides has no wires at all and that one is very flattering too and fits great.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janney
Location:Grosse Pointe, MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:June 1, 2014
Suit fits perfectly and I love the way it looks on me! I've tried on many swimsuits and there always seems to be some problem - but not with this swim dress. I couldn't be happier!
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hard2please
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Just right
Date:May 31, 2014
This suit is just the right thing for women of a certain age. It doesn't hug tightly or look like a maternity suit. The length is so appropriate and it is made of quality fabric.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BPine
Location:Guilford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
a great suit
Date:May 20, 2014
I love this suit. Sizing is right on. I now have both a grey dot and a black one. Skirt is just short enough to provide coverage, but not be drapey, especially when wet.
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
norsewench
Location:ATLANTA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
SWIMSUIT LINING
Date:May 13, 2014
I love the look, but the bottom lining was not cut smaller that the outer fabric, so it tends to stick out, when wet.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Ruched-Detail Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fab50
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
perfect fit
Date:May 12, 2014
most flattering bathing suit I've ever owned since I no longer wear a bikini ! Love the material and it feels great. I'm a size 6 in clothing and the size 8 fits perfectly
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We're glad to hear you found a bathing suit that's perfect for you!
1 2 next>>