Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress

How to make a splash this season: in a most modern swim dress that floats over a full one-piece suit — it's beautifully made, so you get all the coverage you want without a whit of weight. Adjustable straps can be worn over the shoulders, crisscrossed in the back, or tied at the neck, halter style (depending on your mood or the surf). Lightweight cups ensure no-show-through coverage. In a slew of new prints, dots to medallions. Substantial nylon/spandex with the added plus of UPF 50 sun protection. Partially lined. Imported. Runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
13 of 2162%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MtnAz
Location:Mountain Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very odd design
Date:September 22, 2014
I had hopes for this--even ordered two patterns. The bra totally flattened what little I have and the bottom--well--if the skirt were to float up, everything would be hanging out! The legs are very high-cut and kind of loose--completely defeats the idea of a skirt IMHO.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rainyseattle
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love this suit
Date:September 1, 2014
This was my first one-piece skirted suit. I was afraid of looking to mature and frumpy, but also was ready to feel cute and comfortable in a suit, after 2 kids. I love this suit and received so many compliments on it. I felt comfortable walking around with the cute skirt. I ordered a small which fits great, I'm 5.5 and 135 pounds. The straps can be straight or criss-crossed. The legs have a higher cut, but it's covered by the skirt. The material isn't too stretchy so when the skirt is wet it isn't flapping around soaking, I like that. Love this suit!
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Antoinette
Location:Ashland Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattering, beautiful suit, but wide leg openings
Date:August 27, 2014
I love swim dresses, and ordered this swim dress after a long search. The blue print is lovely, and the quality is excellent. I am 5'11 and found this suit to be long enough. I am small chested and the top is flattering, BUT the leg openings are so big that the elastic was actually loose. I am slim, so perhaps this suit would better fit a person with a more ample lower half. Also, although an indicator of quality, the fabric is somewhat heavy and I may have found it to be uncomfortable after wearing the suit for awhile. That said, this suit is VERY flattering, and I wish it fit a little better.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonAugust 28, 2014
We hope that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another item from our swimwear collection.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jusitne
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit for looking great!
Date:August 23, 2014
I've worn this suit so many times in both chlorine pools and in the ocean. It holds its shape well. The suit fits true to size and looks great on me, hiding my somewhat full stomach and thicker waist (aging!). I can swim laps and it fits well for speed. Highly recommended for swimmers and sun worshippers.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LuckyLucy
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Surplice Swim Dress
Date:August 21, 2014
This bathing suit is flattering at first glance. Had I tried it on in a store, I never would have bought it. The bust is too small. I'm a B cup and it doesn't cover. The rear end, on the other hand is too big. It hangs off. Plus, the suit is long. In sum, the cut is wrong for a normal sized woman. If you have a really small bust with a lot of room in between, a super small and low rear end, and a long body, this would feel good. Otherwise, probably not. I wish that I could have returned it but I was in a pinch for a bathing suit and wore it. The print , blue medallion, is gorgeous, as is the material. It doesn't compensate for having material hanging down off the bottom, while the top is barely covered.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonAugust 28, 2014
If you are not completely satisfied with your item, you can return or exchange it at any time. If you need any assistance, please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Clovis,CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fun suit
Date:August 8, 2014
First time wearing a bathing suit/skirt combo. Very comfortable. Fun to wear. Getting lots of compliments. Thank you Garnet Hill for such great/comfortable clothing!!
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
possibilities
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
fits wrong
Date:July 11, 2014
The suit was gorgeous and so flattering through the torso area. I so wanted the suit to work__ the print was beautiful too. However, the bust area was way too small. If you're an A cup and don't mind that it's cut VERY low, then this is the suit for you. It wasn't for me, so I returned it.
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fja45
Location:Southern Ontario
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fit issues
Date:July 5, 2014
Loved the basic idea of this, and it looked not bad if I squinted at myself in the mirror, but there were lots of fit issues with the size 4 navy striped suit I ordered.
For reference, I'm 5'3", around 115 lbs, a 34A/B, depending on style. I'm also a little short-waisted, and that was one of the problems: the ruching hit not where it shows on the model, but well below my waist, at an unflattering point, and the skirt length was much longer than shown, fingertip length. You'd really need an average to long torso for this suit to fit as it was designed to.
There is indeed, as others have mentioned, lots of extra fabric to the surplice bust, which flapped and gapped when the ties weren't done up criss cross. When the straps were crossed, the bust fit better but the straps were tight and bit into my shoulders.
As far as pattern goes, I hadn't realized until I saw them in real life that the navy stripes were so wide --5/8ths of an inch.
Overall, maybe not the best suit for a petite-ish figure.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Maybe one of our other swimsuits would be a better fit for you. If you need assistance, we are here to help.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
atlantanative
Location:Atlanta Ga
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic Quality !
Date:June 30, 2014
Fabric is great, weight and styling too. Forgiving with style.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bainbridge
Location:Bainbridge Island, WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
One problem
Date:June 29, 2014
I really liked the look and fit of this swimsuit, but the elastic around the legs was too loose, and I would have been pulling it down constantly. I had to return it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 1, 2014
We're sad to hear you needed to return your swimsuit. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another item from our swimwear collection.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnneA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swim dress
Date:June 29, 2014
Longer than I expected, which I like. Lots of support too.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kramerica
Location:NC
Date:May 20, 2014
This is a flattering swimsuit, which is a challenge. I really like the dress part giving me more coverage.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VAP2
Location:Fountain Hills, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Did not work for me!
Date:March 18, 2014
Bathing suits are tough. This suit runs big for a bathing suit (which usually run small).
Too big on top, too snug on the bottom. Had to send it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 20, 2014
We're sorry the fit of our Surplice Swim Dress didn't work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try a different swimsuit that may offer a better fit.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lyndale
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Long body
Date:March 18, 2014
I am 5'8" and found the body of the suit quite long. For me it provides coverage. But not sure how it would be if I was not this tall.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 21, 2014
We want you to be completely satisfied with your swim dress. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chowski
Location:Rochester, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:March 17, 2014
Very flattering - am 55 years old, 5'4", 120 lbs. The size 8 was too big so reordered in a size 6 - very flattering!!! Wouldn't mind a second in a different color. Nice to walk the beach and not have to have a coverup on!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TinaL
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
May be the answer
Date:March 16, 2014
The length of bathing suit fits. I am 5' 9", so this must run a little long. I hope the skirt does not float up to the surface of the water when in the pool. With other suits, this has been a problem.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wildgirl
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great design!
Date:March 15, 2014
Nicely cut. It is plenty long without being too long. No tugging or fussing to get full coverage. I'm 5'7" and a 12 but I bought a 14 because I'm long waisted. I'm not busty so to get a good fit is tricky. I bought the blue design and it is really cute on! Very happy!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CCGoody
Location:Central NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
too large, not enough support in the chest
Date:March 10, 2014
Bummed that I didn't like this suit. I love swim dresses but the one I currently have takes forever to dry, so I thought i'd try this one out. Overall, the chest has very little support (and I'm only a c cup) and the bottom part- the part underneath the skirt- was huge! Like, saggy and hung open.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 12, 2014
We’re sorry to hear that this swim dress did not work for you. Please know that our exchanges are always freight free and we do have other swim dresses that may work better for you.
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Julihwk
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Good fit
Date:March 10, 2014
I purchased the swimsuit and the matching cover up. I love it and can't wait for summer!
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Signature Surplice Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
classiclines
Location:San Anselmo, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Free to Play!
Date:February 17, 2014
I ordered many suits from many places and this (in blue and white stripe) is one of two that I kept - and it was my favorite one to wear on a recent beach vacation. I felt free to play without feeling self conscious, while still feeling cute and not dowdy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>