Product Reviews

Modern Cropped Chinos

We combined menswear styling with our favorite, feminine fit to create our classic cropped chinos. Styled with a tapered leg and crafted from year-round cotton in a refreshed palette, we're betting these will be your new go-to capris. Front slash pockets Back welt pockets Belt loops 25 1/2" inseam Washed 100% cotton twill Imported Rise: Low (View our Pants Rise Guide ) Updated based on customer feedback: This style features a slim, feminine fit. For a more relaxed fit, order one size up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
3
18 of 2669%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Cropped Chinos
Review 1 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:August 28, 2015
Fantastic quality. Sturdy fabric. Well made. Can be casual or dressy. My second pair of these pants. Very happy.
fit guide said size 4 (although I wear a 2 in Gap clothes) and 4 is perfect!
Review 2 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great pants
Date:July 30, 2015
These are really nice, high quality pants. I am 5'4" and they hit me just a little bit above the ankle. But I did size up because the sky blue color was only available in the bigger size- but the price was so good that I have no problem taking them to be tailored. Only just a little big in the hips.
Review 3 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Not as Expected
Date:July 6, 2015
I was very disappointed. The material is very stiff - they are really baggy and gap at the waist.
Would have sent them back, but cut the tags off. They look much better off than on. Uncomfortable.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 8, 2015
At Garnet Hill, we want you to be satisfied with your purchase. We'd love to help with a return or freight free exchange even if you have cut the tags off. A Customer Care Specialist will be reaching out to see how we can help.
Review 4 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
really like!
Date:May 3, 2015
Sometimes jeans just aren't the right look, and I'm so glad I got these chinos (got them in pink). Pretty, clean, nice look--and the cool cotton is so comfortable! Thinking about getting in other colors now.
Review 5 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great if you order one size up!
Date:March 15, 2015
I really like these crops!! I took the advice of previous reviews and sized up and they fit great. Even though I am 6' tall they are about the same length on me as on the model. Fabric is sturdy but not too heavy - very comfy and it hides flaws! I got the pink, which is bright & cheery - wore them today with a simple black tee & wedges - scored some compliments!
Review 6 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heed advice that this runs slim
Date:August 31, 2014
For perspective: I normally wear a 2P, and the 2 regular fit nearly perfectly. Although I'm short I have a long-inseam (29.5), so these hit at the correct spot on the shin. (Any shorter, and it'd be clam-digger territory.)
The fabric is a little bit stiffer/heavier than what I'd normally want in a summer chino but the upside seems to be no bagging/sagging over the course of the day.
I purchased lemongrass, which looks great with navy, black or crisp white. A casual but sophisticated look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:brentwood, tn
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love these
Date:August 22, 2014
i ordered a 4 and they were just a little snug. not so much that i should have ordered a 6, but if you are in between, you might want to go up a size. Cant wait to wear them?
Review 8 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:minneapolis, mn
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sizing out of whack
Date:August 15, 2014
I am consistently a size four and these were WAY too snug and the rise too low. Very stiff fabric, too. Sending back
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 18, 2014
Thanks for the note. This style features a slim, feminine fit. For a more relaxed fit, we do recommend ordering one size up. Actual garment measurements are provided to assist with sizing.
Review 9 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
3-season pants
Date:July 14, 2014
I love the green color and the overall look works well for me. However, the rise is just a little short for me in a 6, my usual size. If not for that, I could probably take a 4 in these pants, as they are somewhat loose in the legs. As is always the case on my 5'1" frame, the capris actually hit my ankles, but this was what I was hoping for. Overall, they are attractive and a nice, 3-season weight, and fit well enough for me to keep them.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Chino pants fit well.
Date:July 7, 2014
I like the feel and fit of these pants. I especailly like the color as well as the natural fibers next to my skin.
Review 11 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
too baggy
Date:June 18, 2014
not same as skinny pants as shown in the ad, the material is very stiff, shape is too baggy
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 18, 2014
Thanks for the note. We strive to accurately present our products and are sorry you were disappointed. We combined menswear styling with a slim, feminine fit to create classic cropped chinos. Perhaps another style may better suit you. Give us a call if we can help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 12 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Sleek and stylish
Date:June 18, 2014
Love the fit and tailored look. Effortless summer wear.
Review 13 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WV
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Way too small
Date:June 15, 2014
I wear a size 2 and usually have problems with clothing being too big. I did the True Fit and read the measurements, so I thought that the zero would fit. Wrong. Barely got them up and couldn't zip them. The Gray Olive was a very nice color and they appeared to be high quality. Had to return them. Didn't like any of the colors available in my size.
Review 14 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice pockets
Date:June 9, 2014
Great fabric. Cool for the summer. Nice pockets. Run a little large, so order a size down.
Review 15 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Athens, GA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Just what I was looking for
Date:May 25, 2014
I wanted a pair of cropped chinos and when I saw these I was thrilled. I am very short (5'1") so a lot of petites are still too long. These cropped chinos are just to my ankles so with a roll or two they the length I wanted. I normally wear a 4 petite and the 4 petite in these pants fit perfectly. I bought 2 colors, grey olive and pebble, and they are both good looking. Very versatile colors.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Western MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not even close
Date:May 23, 2014
These pants do not resemble the photo or the description. I was looking for "Slim" cropped chinos. My body type and leg size are very similar to the model. The legs were a LOT wider than shown. Not at all cute or flattering. They're going back. The other item that I ordered wasn't as shown either. Very disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 26, 2014
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with these chinos. These are not a “slim” style chino, we combined menswear styling with a slim, feminine fit to create these instantly classic cropped chinos. We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 17 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering
Date:May 12, 2014
I love these chinos which I bought in the traditional pebble color. The fit is slim but the look is very flattering. The pockets don't bulge out which is sometimes the case with this style pant. The fabric is thick enough that panty lines don't show. I am so happy with the way they look.
Review 18 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Comfortable chinos
Date:May 10, 2014
Although I normally don't wear cropped pants, proportionately they don't look good on my 5' body, but these were an exception.
They were tapered appropriately and did look good. I should have bought the petite though for they are a little long, almost ankle length but I do like them.
Review 19 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
WRONG WRONG WRONG
Date:May 9, 2014
Horrible cut! Doesn't fit rise of average woman. Cuts across stomach area.
Cuts my body image issue to the core! Real women have hips and you need to adjust cuts for us.
Very sad - i wanted those to be part of my spring wardrobe.
:-(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 13, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that these chinos did not work for you. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 20 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fit and look fantastic!
Date:April 27, 2014
I ordered these pants in pink and like them so much I ordered another pair in white! Very flattering fit and the crop length is just right.
1 2 next>>