Product Reviews

Modern Cropped Chinos

We combined menswear styling with a slim, feminine fit to create these instantly classic cropped chinos. Styled with a tapered leg and crafted from year-round cotton in fresh colors (plus a petite print), these are likely to be your new favorite casual capris. Favorite rise. Front slash pockets. Back welt pockets. Belt loops. Washed 100% cotton twill. Imported. Inseam: 25.5" Rise: Favorite (View our Pants Rise Guide ) Updated based on customer feedback: This style features a slim, feminine fit. For a more relaxed fit, order one size up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.389 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
12 of 1867%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Modern Cropped Chinos
Review 1 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeCee
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
3-season pants
Date:July 14, 2014
I love the green color and the overall look works well for me. However, the rise is just a little short for me in a 6, my usual size. If not for that, I could probably take a 4 in these pants, as they are somewhat loose in the legs. As is always the case on my 5'1" frame, the capris actually hit my ankles, but this was what I was hoping for. Overall, they are attractive and a nice, 3-season weight, and fit well enough for me to keep them.
Review 2 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
marfa
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Chino pants fit well.
Date:July 7, 2014
I like the feel and fit of these pants. I especailly like the color as well as the natural fibers next to my skin.
Review 3 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kiuching
too baggy
Date:June 18, 2014
not same as skinny pants as shown in the ad, the material is very stiff, shape is too baggy
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 23, 2014
Thanks for the note. We strive to accurately present our products and are sorry you were disappointed. We combined menswear styling with a slim, feminine fit to create classic cropped chinos. Perhaps another style may better suit you. Give us a call if we can help with a return of freight free exchange.
Review 4 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
njgirl
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Sleek and stylish
Date:June 18, 2014
Love the fit and tailored look. Effortless summer wear.
Review 5 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thundercat
Location:WV
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Way too small
Date:June 15, 2014
I wear a size 2 and usually have problems with clothing being too big. I did the True Fit and read the measurements, so I thought that the zero would fit. Wrong. Barely got them up and couldn't zip them. The Gray Olive was a very nice color and they appeared to be high quality. Had to return them. Didn't like any of the colors available in my size.
Review 6 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buffalogal
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice pockets
Date:June 9, 2014
Great fabric. Cool for the summer. Nice pockets. Run a little large, so order a size down.
Review 7 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pickypurchaser
Location:Athens, GA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Just what I was looking for
Date:May 25, 2014
I wanted a pair of cropped chinos and when I saw these I was thrilled. I am very short (5'1") so a lot of petites are still too long. These cropped chinos are just to my ankles so with a roll or two they the length I wanted. I normally wear a 4 petite and the 4 petite in these pants fit perfectly. I bought 2 colors, grey olive and pebble, and they are both good looking. Very versatile colors.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
goyogirl
Location:Western MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not even close
Date:May 23, 2014
These pants do not resemble the photo or the description. I was looking for "Slim" cropped chinos. My body type and leg size are very similar to the model. The legs were a LOT wider than shown. Not at all cute or flattering. They're going back. The other item that I ordered wasn't as shown either. Very disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 26, 2014
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with these chinos. These are not a “slim” style chino, we combined menswear styling with a slim, feminine fit to create these instantly classic cropped chinos. We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 9 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SNBVT
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering
Date:May 12, 2014
I love these chinos which I bought in the traditional pebble color. The fit is slim but the look is very flattering. The pockets don't bulge out which is sometimes the case with this style pant. The fabric is thick enough that panty lines don't show. I am so happy with the way they look.
Review 10 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monee
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Comfortable chinos
Date:May 10, 2014
Although I normally don't wear cropped pants, proportionately they don't look good on my 5' body, but these were an exception.
They were tapered appropriately and did look good. I should have bought the petite though for they are a little long, almost ankle length but I do like them.
Review 11 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
J3nny
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
WRONG WRONG WRONG
Date:May 9, 2014
Horrible cut! Doesn't fit rise of average woman. Cuts across stomach area.
Cuts my body image issue to the core! Real women have hips and you need to adjust cuts for us.
Very sad - i wanted those to be part of my spring wardrobe.
:-(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 13, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that these chinos did not work for you. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 12 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TAGC
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fit and look fantastic!
Date:April 27, 2014
I ordered these pants in pink and like them so much I ordered another pair in white! Very flattering fit and the crop length is just right.
Review 13 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pegret
Location:Rocky River, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good fit
Date:April 12, 2014
These pants fit well. The cut is flattering. The color was a bit dull.
Review 14 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comfortloving
Location:Northport, New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointed
Date:April 7, 2014
While I did find the quality, fabric, value and cut of the chinos quite nice, my only complaint is that these pants run small. I get all my pants in my normal size 12, but these pants were tight and therefore disappointing because I had to pay to ship them back. I can see that it would be a problem to order future items from GH because I cannot count on them to be true to size.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 8, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed. We provide actual garment measurements under the measurements tab to assist in getting the best fit. If you ever need help with sizing, give us a call 800-870-3513.
Review 15 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
moonrivergirl
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Could not find my fit ...
Date:March 24, 2014
The chinos are well made and the colors are true to what you see online. Unfortunately I was not able to find my fit. The 6 was too big and the 4 was too small. For reference I am 5'3", 120 pounds. Too bad, I would have loved to have a few pairs in my closet!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 26, 2014
We're sorry to hear that these chinos did not work for you. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 16 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SarahA
Location:Tucson AZ
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Who sized these?
Date:March 19, 2014
I ordered a size 10 based on the measurements and past experience with GH sizing. I could hardly get my legs into the pants much less the rest of me. Nice fabric, well made but so far off in sizing that I am not even going to try the size 12's.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 20, 2014
We're sorry the fit of these pants didn't work for you. They do have a slim fit and the actual garment measurements are included under the Measurements Tab to ensure best fit. If you need help with your return or exchange, we're here to help.
Review 17 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CKH62753
Location:Gloucester, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So disappointed
Date:March 11, 2014
These cropped chinos were cut small and low at the waist. I bought, as I always do, from Garnet Hill, a size six and had to return them. I did not order the next size up because I feared they would be way too big.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 14, 2014
We combined menswear styling with a slim, feminine fit to create these low rise chinos. Please remember we do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 18 for Modern Cropped Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kiki2
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Floral crops
Date:February 9, 2014
I love these floral cropped chinos! They are so fresh and cute for a "summery" getaway , even in the winter! They bring a smile to my face. They are so comfy and wear so great all day. I am getting a couple more pair, they are so comfortable. They will be perfect for my winter-summer getaway.