Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular

We shaped the tapered legs of our favorite chinos so they look equally dashing rolled up or down. We're thinking they'll be your go-to pants (with everything from silk shirts to sweet cardigans) this season and the next. Front slash pockets Back welt pockets Belt loops Inseam: 32" 100% cotton twill, washed for softness Imported Rise: Favorite (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
3
76 of 8886%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Review 1 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
favorite Modern Chinos
Date:February 11, 2016
Bought a couple pairs of these in the past, but put on weight, so had to leave the petite sizing behind and go to regular. They are beautiful pants, very well made and wash up beautifully. Lovely fabric as well.
Review 2 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice pants
Date:January 16, 2016
These are well made and probably true to size. The coral color is pretty.
Review 3 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very Happy purchase !
Date:November 19, 2015
I took a chance and bought 2 colors since they were on special price. I was very pleasantly surprised that the chinos were a quality fabric, a good fit, not too tight or too loose. I have washed and dryed one pair on delicate cycle and they came out ready to wear ! It is a really Great experience when merchandise lives up to the expectations.
Review 4 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North of San Francisco in the wine county.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Value
Date:October 25, 2015
Even off sale these are great pants. I bought them a size larger in petite so they would be short enough. Very happy. Nice to have a step up from jeans and still be casual.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Too bad they don't make them in Tall
Date:October 15, 2015
I think these pants are great.
I'm 5' 9 1/2 and hoped the 32 inch length would be long enough. But not quite.
I'm disappointed they don come in 33 or 34"
I have to return them
Review 6 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
the perfect chino
Date:October 14, 2015
I am very picky about pants, so I breathed a definite sigh of relief when I tried these for the first time. They fit like a dream. The waist is not too low, so I can bend down to help my toddler without the back coming down. The fabric is so comfortable, I actually prefer them over my jeans. And did I mention they rarely need ironed? I bought my first pair on sale, but I will be back for more colors - at regular price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Flattering
Date:October 2, 2015
These are flattering, and the fabric is thick and nice quality, no bagging, etc. I do miss the bit of stretch most similar pants have -- these don't have that.
Review 8 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingsport TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Best fitting chinos
Date:September 18, 2015
Very flattering cut: the look is a round rear and slim legs! Length is perfect for me (5'9"), in petite fleur pattern they look better unrolled. The pattern is beautiful. They look great with the cotton camp shirt in similar pattern or with the blue cotton jacket. Fits TTS and the price was great on sale. I love you, GH!
Review 9 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fit disappointing.
Date:August 13, 2015
I will not return this item because shipping cost makes it a poor investment. The pants are baggy, but the waist is comfortable. I look very tacky in these pants because of poor fit.
Review 10 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Binghamton, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Nice pants for work or casual
Date:August 10, 2015
Extremely well made pants from nice material. Ran slightly small, normal size still fits, but snugly. FYI Sizing is not consistent across different pants. Bought a different pair of capris that fit perfect.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Greenwich, ct
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice pants - odd color
Date:August 9, 2015
I bought these chinos on sale and the color I chose was just very irridescent peachy/orange and unflattering. The pants are generally nice and the fit is great, so I would suggest that if you purchase these, you get a neutral color to be safe. Will be returning them.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiaisonSeptember 3, 2015
We appreciate you taking the time to contact us regarding the color Sea Coral and will pass along your comments to our Design Team. For a return or freight free exchange, please contact Customer Service at 800-870-3513
Review 12 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pretty perfect
Date:August 7, 2015
Ordered a size up (8) for a little extra in the waist. Really comfortable and look great!
Review 13 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:July 31, 2015
I ordered two pair: classic navy and a lovely coral. Oddly, the sizing was different between the two. The navy pair was a slimmer cut -- not so much tighter that I will return them unless they shrink in the wash and the coral were a bit fuller. I prefer the way the coral pair fit. I'd recommend them to a friend, but beware of the lack of consistency in fit.
Review 14 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great pants
Date:July 31, 2015
Very nice fabric. The pants look great and they are very comfortable.
Review 15 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
fun chinos
Date:July 27, 2015
Love the very summery pink flower print.
Tried them on and they fit fine but were very long for my 5'5". Washed and dried on low, they shrank around the waist and in length.
If rolled, that roll is white, so I'll just wear them down and bunched at my ankles and hope the waist will have some give.
Review 16 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montclair, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice pants but trouble with sizes
Date:July 16, 2015
I was looking for classic cotton pants with minimal stretch. Like other reviewers, I was reluctant to buy online because pants can be so hard to fit. I've bought from Garnet Hill for years. Reviews were mostly good. These are great - very nice fabric and style. Fit was a big challenge though, even using True Fit. I'm 5'6" and 140 lbs, curvy, carry my weight on the bottom. I started in size 8 (my size with other makers), tried 10 and now have 12s. Since these pants are 100% cotton and don't stretch, it might have been harder to find the right size. I'm keeping 3 pairs of pants in and will take in the waist. The legs are still a bit more snug than I would like. Sigh.
Review 17 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Conover, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fit too tight in waist
Date:July 10, 2015
I normally wear a size 4 or 6. Last year, I ordered a size 6 in these pants. Everything but the waist was fine. The waist was too small. This year, I ordered the size 8 (I'm still the same weight and shape0, and, again, the waist is too tight and the rest fits loosely. Am I the only one with this issue?
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 11, 2015
We're glad to see a Customer Care Specialist has reached out to see how we can help. If you have additional questions or comments, give us a call.
Review 18 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:July 3, 2015
Previously I had bought two favorite modern chinos and was tremendously happy with them. But this is a new version. The cut is different from the previous ones - OK, I guess. But the cloth is much heavier whereas the previous version's cloth was much lighter and great for summer heat, also more flexible for more sporty or a bit more dressy. Please bring back the previous cloth!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 8, 2015
Thank you for your note!
Review 19 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great fit
Date:June 19, 2015
I was a little leery that these might be too low rise for me, but they're not - they actually come just below the natural waist. The taper is just right for a skinny but not too-skinny look.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Favorite Modern Chinos - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fit like a glove
Date:June 16, 2015
I have been reluctant to order pants from GH because I find it difficult to get a good fit in pants. After reading the other reviews, I was persuaded to take a chance. These pants fit like a glove and run true to size. I'm 5'2", 108 lbs., and purchased the 4P. On top of getting a good fit the first time around, the pants were on sale which made this an even better buy.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>