Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Favorite Modern Chinos

The tapered legs of our favorite chinos can be rolled up or down for a most modern take on a timeless style. We crafted these classics in year-round cotton in a fresh bunch of fall hues. We're thinking they'll be your go-to pants (with silk shirts or fun cardigans) this season and the next. Front slash pockets. Back welt pockets. Belt loops. 100% cotton twill, washed for softness. Imported. Inseam: 32" Rise: Favorite (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
35 of 4283%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Favorite Modern Chinos
Review 1 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JoEl
Location:madison, wi
Age:45-54
Nice pants, very disappointed in sizing
Date:October 30, 2014
I bought these pants in a size 6 based on the number of reviews that stated they ran big. The size 6 was way too big so I reordered in a size 4 and I couldn't even get them on. I'm at a loss. I usually like Garnet Hill but when I can't count on there sizing it's time to find a new vendor. :(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 5, 2014
Oh my, that is strange! We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges, when you returned the pants, to try one of our other great clothing items.
Review 2 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Caliugirl
Location:San Francisco
better for summer than Fall
Date:October 21, 2014
I bought these in aqua and khaki at the beginning of the summer. Love the weighty fabric and learned to love the ankle length. Like others say, these run snug and the waist is a high compared to last year's fit. The true test is that I got pen ink on the stone-colored pair and am hesitant to replace them. The ankle length has shrunk (making me wish they came in tall/long) and i'm not seeing how ankle pants will work with winter shoes. I really like the 2013 version of these pants, which had more of a classic fit and transitioned seasons. Hoping you'll bring those back.
Review 3 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LCDH
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Mom pants
Date:October 17, 2014
Just not all that flattering on....Looks a bit matronly
Review 4 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fran2508
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Need to return them!
Date:October 16, 2014
Unfortunately, for lack of petite sizes, I ordered a 6 Regular but it did not fit and since I am petite, I cannot order a size 8; they would be way too long. I must say though that the fabric and the overall quality is excellent; they are well made and the grey and the blue colors are really nice and this is why I give them 5 stars. Too bad, because I really liked them!!!!
Review 5 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dillon
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice pants
Date:September 26, 2014
I got these pants on sale, so they were a great value. I wouldn't call the color (a bright green-yellow...my husband said I wouldn't have trouble crossing the street!) a fall color, but I do like it. And the fit and comfort are great.
Review 6 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoubleBB
Location:Louisville, Kentuckcy
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wear everywhere pants
Date:August 21, 2014
Why would you not want a pair of pants that you can dress up or down - roll up or leave down and are just all around GREAT!
You can be very tailored in khaki/tan or pick a color and live on the wild side. Don't pass these up or you will be sorry!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edie42
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Wish I'd bought more...
Date:August 21, 2014
Flattering fit with fabric that looks as good out of the dryer as when I bought it. Casual crop style, but with a tailored look that makes it more versatile. Just wish I'd bought more in other colors when they were available.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
4kelbob
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sizing different than previous chinos
Date:July 21, 2014
I have worn out the GH chinos I purchased 2 years ago. These have a different cut, which I expected, and also run a full size smaller and shrunk more when washed and dried. The gray/green color is green and odd. Would love to have them in a true gray!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sabh63
Location:Lenoir City, TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
no dice!
Date:July 9, 2014
I couldn't zip these pants; and, with no stretch in the fabric, no dice. Too bad, as they are a nice color (grayish green).
FYI, I have several pair of GH pants and jeans and have found the ones with a little spandex fit me better.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 9, 2014
You're right, these pants don't have any spandex in them; they are 100% Lightweight Cotton twill. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our pants that does have spandex in them.
Review 10 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yve4424
Location:Woodside, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Bright Summer Pants
Date:June 29, 2014
As soon as I opened the package, I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful and vibrant aqua color. The weight is perfect for summer. My only complaint is that the legs will have to be hemmed. While I am a true petite, the pant length is not.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nawne
Location:Honesdale, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great purchase
Date:June 19, 2014
The quality is outstanding on these pants. I would probably order the next size up, a little snug, but not enough to return them. I am 5'2" and about 150 lbs and ordered 10P. They are great pants.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GloryGirl
Location:Shenandoah Valley VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful Colors & Comfort
Date:June 3, 2014
I purchased both the aqua and pink pants. Both colors are beautiful & I receive compliments every time I wear them. The fit is comfortable and flattering.
Review 13 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HoneyDoll
Location:Stamford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Summer White Pants
Date:June 3, 2014
These are light and comfortable. They are the perfect pair of summer white pants.
One note, I ordered these in the same size in blue and they were enormous on me. That was disappointing.
Review 14 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ryter
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice...
Date:May 16, 2014
I purchased these in both the blue and the light tan color and like them both. good sizing, just enough but not too much stretch and good go to basics! Would buy again!
Review 15 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JCF1
Location:Ambler, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Purchase!
Date:May 11, 2014
Loved the Modern Chinos! Perfect fit. Got them in every color.
Review 16 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweeetpea
Location:Louisville, KY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Spring staples!
Date:April 28, 2014
These pants have been my spring staples. The fabric is a comfortable weight and not too thin. These are a happy compromise to skinny jeans. They are slim fitting but easily accommodate a little "fluff". I am 5'2" and 130 lbs. I purchased size 6 in the regular length because petites tend to be a little shorter than I like. These are a bit long on me but roll up into a cuff nicely so I don't need to hem them. They look great with flats or sandals. They are a bit close fitting to wear over western boots but you can pull boots over the top of them easily. The waist hits below the belly button but not too low. I like that they have back pockets but they are very shallow. I purchased them in sky blue, white, begonia pink, and pebble and wear them all. They wash well. I put them in the dryer about 5 minutes to fluff them, then hang to dry. I have not had any shrinkage and do not need to iron them. If a color says "no longer available" keep checking because so far every color I have said this and they restock them. They must be super popular and I know why!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bugrl
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Perfect Fit
Date:April 27, 2014
Finally a pants that fit me perfectly. I have short legs 29" inseam, so these are not ankle length on me - almost to the floor at my heels. Also I usually have problems with pants gapping in the back (25" waist, 36" butt). These pants don't gap without being too low rise. I wanted to get more colors but they are "No Longer Available." I don't know if that means forever or just temporarily. Also, I would have preferred the Grey Olive to be the color pictured. It is more of a sage blue green, but it is nice enough to keep.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 28, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear you've found the "perfect" fit! Be sure to check back with us as we may carry these pants in future seasons.
Review 18 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oremommy
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great basic chino pants
Date:April 18, 2014
I am wearing these pants for the first time today. I love them so far. They seem to be holding their shape and are very comfortable. I might have a little room in the waist but overall they fit well.
Review 19 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillies8008
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Best fit ever
Date:April 14, 2014
I have purchased many pairs of your chinos over the years and this is the best fit by far and the nicest look.
I do hope you plan to restock them and include darker colors for fall/winter.
Review 20 for Favorite Modern Chinos
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sUNNycAl
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Fit
Date:April 13, 2014
These pants fit me perfectly. I am 5'51/2" and weigh 130 lbs. I have a small waist and fuller thighs and calves. The pants look cute rolled up as shown in the photo. The legs are tapered, but I think this keeps this classic chino from looking frumpy. Love them.
1 2 3 next>>