Product Reviews

Modern Knit Surplice Dress

A luscious lightweight jersey with enviable drape gives this surplice silhouette some real sophistication. The slightly dropped waist is elasticized so you can wear it low or blouson it up a bit, with or without a belt. The skirt is double layered, so it glides nicely, and the deep-V neckline features a built-in camisole bib for modesty. Cap sleeves. Low elastic waist. Knee length. Viscose/elastane. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.071 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
7 of 1450%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Review 1 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
marygina
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wanted this in Large
Date:June 14, 2014
Disappointed as I lost connection with my online order and when I logged in again, my size had been sold. I already have the black in size L and wanted a spare:) This dress works very well for full-busted women. It has been my 'go-to' so far this Summer '14 (in CA), It can be a daytime knock-around with flip flops and also can dress (with accesories) for casual barbeques and dinners.
Review 2 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lin001
Location:Canada
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:June 5, 2014
I really like this dress. I was a little hesitant ordering it because I wasn't sure how the elastic in the waist would fit and thought it looked a little awkward in the photo of the model sitting down. Turns out that the dress is quite loose and the elastic just skims the body. I think that the loose fit and breathable fabric will make this a very comfortable dress on really hot days. The print is great and I think more vibrant in person
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizH
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute
Date:April 23, 2014
I love this dress so much I bought 2, the teal cherry blossom and black. The style is supposed to be loose/flowy on the top and I get many compliments on them. I'm 5ft 8in and bought mediums. I am a teacher and wear these to work. Nice and light for hot recess days and an appropriate length.
Review 4 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LParker
Location:Cambridge, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too big on top
Date:April 21, 2014
I loved the jade print but I could not make the dress work. It is just too big on top. Not flattering. Please make another dress in this print!
Review 5 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nynjgirl
Location:New York , NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Flimsy and over-sized - promptly returned
Date:March 7, 2014
Sorry, but I've ordered several items and every time I send them back. I keep trying because I think the items look so cute and maybe I've just received a sub-par item. However, time and again, the material is just thin and cheap. I'm not sure if everyone who reviews here are used to items that are poor quality, but I'm really having a hard time with the price and it being worth what you get. I expect this type of material from big box discount retailers - at least there you pay significantly less. The colors in this dress are pretty, yes, but when the fit and the quality are sorely lacking, there's no way I was keeping this. Back it went as soon as it arrived.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts! We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase and have shared your comments with our Team. ! If you have any questions or further feedback, we're here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 6 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BlueKat
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Radient green dress
Date:February 17, 2014
I love this dress. The print is great and the color is so rich! BUT...It is loose in the bust on the size 6 and fits in the hips fine. It just won't work with my figure type, but on the right person, it will be stunning. I hope you use the fabric for other styles as it is so pretty.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 19, 2014
Thanks for your great comments! We're sorry to hear the fit of this dress didn't work for you. . If you need assistance with your return or help finding a dress that does work for you, please let us know.
Review 7 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sewhappy
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great spring/summer dress
Date:February 12, 2014
Got this for my daughter who is tall and slim. Ordered the extra small. Yes, it was somewhat loose but she wears with the Garnet Hill double wrap black belt and it is adorable. She rarely wears prints but loves this. Too cold now but summer is coming!
Review 8 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
weslas
Location:florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this dress
Date:February 8, 2014
This dress is just a great basic that has everything...comfort, style, simplicity, every day casual yet can be dressed up at night. I found the fit to be perfect but for comparison sake I am 5'11" so I was pleased that it wasn't short-waisted. I liked it so much I would have ordered the print as well (I got the black) but by that time it was out in my size (large). If you're looking for a great basic and they have it in your size I highly recommend.
Review 9 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Catch
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Too loose
Date:February 8, 2014
Another oversized GH purchase. 5'3", 120, I ordered the small and have to return for xs. Got it on sale so I like the price. Seems like a very easy go to piece for the summer. Hope the xs fits better.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 24, 2014
We're glad you took advantage of our freight free exchanges. If you have any questions or further feedback, we're here to help at 800-870-3513.

Review 10 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sgpas12
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute online boxy in person
Date:February 4, 2014
This dress was adorable online so I just had to order it. Was disappointed when I tried it on. The top is very generous, fit more like a large on top than the small it was suppose to be. Below the waist was fine, but the odd proportions made it a definite return.
Review 11 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
McAcyr
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing Fit and Fabric
Date:February 1, 2014
This showed every bulge in my thighs and bottom because the material is so thin. A smaller size would be way too big on top. Disappointed as the jade print is pretty. Going back.
Review 12 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Melissa07
Location:Durham, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Disappointed
Date:January 28, 2014
Another clothing purchase from GH that just doesn't fit right. It is loose in all the wrong places. I am 5'4, 115 lbs and ordered a size Small. I am normally a size 6 in a dress, or an 8 Petite. However, this dress was huge and not at all flattering. It makes me look like I have a straight up-and-down figure, with no curves. I love the soft fabric, I can tell that it would be easy to wash and relatively wrinkle free and the design is super pretty (hence two stars for quality)...I really wanted to like this dress, but unfortunately it will be going back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonFebruary 4, 2014
We're glad to hear your comments about the soft fabric, this same fabric is used for some of our other knit dresses. Call us if we can help you find another style that may work better. Exchanges are always freight free!
Review 13 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cam79
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Lovely dress, runs a bit large
Date:January 27, 2014
I ordered this in the jade blossom print, and was happy to see it looks just as pictured on the model, and I really appreciate the built in camisole coverage. I'm 5'5" 122 lbs and ordered the S, but have since sent it back for an XS. The top and the waistline ran big for me, with the waist sitting at my upper hips (my waist is approx. 28"). I'm hoping the XS fits, because this really is a cute dress that I'd love to have in my closet come spring.
Review 14 for Modern Knit Surplice Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ksjhawk
Location:Wherever the military sends us~
Gender:Female
Huge
Date:January 26, 2014
I ordered this in a small. I'm 5'4 and 118 lbs. Was swimming in this puppy. For the price I also felt the fabric was super thin and not expensive looking. Will be sending it back.