Product Reviews

Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular

Our favorite classically flattering pencil skirt of the season comes in bold shades and even bolder prints for a very sharp look that works at the office or on the town. It fits beautifully, with just a hint of sheen to keep the look polished. Hidden side zip. Back vent. Hits just below the knee. Unlined. Cotton sateen with a bit of spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 of 850%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Review 1 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMERanger
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Spring and Summer Skirt
Date:May 23, 2014
I really like this skirt to wear to work during the summer.
Review 2 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Captanne
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Golf skirt.
Date:May 22, 2014
This skirt fit a little large in the waist and small across the hips -- I normally wear a 2 but tried a 4. So, the sizing is a bit strange. The fabric is thin, the skirt is unlined. When I looked in the mirror I felt like I should be teeing off in the next ten minutes. That's not the look I was going for. Returned it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 23, 2014
We're sorry to hear that this skirt style did not work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned, to try one of our other great skirts.
Review 3 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
goldgirl
Location:Warrenton, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just Not Me
Date:March 27, 2014
I wish my body type could pull off a pencil skirt as this was the cutest in Blue Toile. Alas, size 8 fit but was too tight in my hips to be comfortable. The fabric was nice, relatively thin but that would have been nice for Summer, yet offered no stretch. A size 10 would have been too big in the waist. If you're Mad Men curvy like me then rethink this skirt. Also, I had ordered GH's classic cardigan in the Blue Toile and thought what a perfect outfit combo. Unfortunately the skirt Toile pattern is smaller than the pattern on the sweater so the look would have been off. Disappointed this pencil skirt wasn't for me (will stay with tried/true A-line) but not discouraged as GH always has terrific alternative ensembles.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
luisa
Location:Provo, Utah
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too thin too short, too expensive
Date:March 23, 2014
I loved the print and style, but given that it is cotton, it will most probably shrink when washed. Seemsvery expensive for what you get. Also, it does not cover the knees as I had thought it would, so I'll have to send it back. I would love to see this style in a denim fabric with same prints and slightly longer length.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear that the Retro Pencil Skirt did not meet your expectations. We will pass your request along to our design team.
Review 5 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stick
Location:Hawaii
Pretty and feminine
Date:February 22, 2014
Bought this skirt in blue toile. So pretty and feminine. Lining would have been nice.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KCLisa
cute, but defective
Date:February 16, 2014
Skirt is very cute, runs true-to-size, and will be great for spring (if it ever gets here). However, the skirt I received is defective, the zipper will not zip all the way up. Tried a few times but was afraid I would rip the garment. Hoping that they check the zipper of the skirt before they send out my replacement.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 18, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with our Retro Pencil Skirt. At Garnet Hill, your satisfaction is guaranteed and we're glad you contacted us for a replacement. If you have any questions or further feedback, we're here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 7 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOVAMom123
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute skirt, but thin and unlined
Date:February 9, 2014
This skirt has a nice, slim fit and cute print, but I was not happy that it was unlined, especially since the fabric is thin. I like the thin fabric since it will be cooler in warm weather, but I really think that a skirt like this should be lined, for this price. Debating on whether to return. Wish GH would offer this knee length pencil skirt in more prints, but in the future please add a little more stretch to the fabric, and add a lining.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 19, 2014
We appreciate your suggestion regarding the skirt. We loved this lighter weight stretch sateen for warm weather. Watch for a heavier weight fabric version in our fall collection.
Review 8 for Retro Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nebgal
Location:lincoln, neb
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
floral fab
Date:February 6, 2014
I can't wait to wear this. Bought the floral,
looks exactly like pic. Fabric is pretty thin, I didn't expect that. Super cute! Fit is true to size. Got on sale so value is good.