Product Reviews

Frye Shirley Riding Boots

Your not-so-basic riding boots. Made by the aficionados at Frye, these refined, casual pull-on boots have a strappy detail that wraps the ankle and elevates the whole look. Italian leather with leather lining. 15 1/2" shaft. 1" heel. Leather sole. Due to the natural dyeing process, subtle color variations may occur. Imported/Italy. This boot has a traditional cowgirl boot fit, best suited to a narrow or medium-width foot. Please note that the soles may be slippery; please scuff before wearing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 967%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Review 1 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JosMc
Location:Carmel, IN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great boots
Date:October 29, 2014
Have had these boots for exactly a year and I did purchase them from Garnet Hill.
Important to know:
Shirley RIding boots come in a few different types of leather. These boots from GH are in the "full-grain" leather, they have texture and more of a matte finish.
They DO come in a smooth full-grain, but not through GH. Some reviewers wrote they looked cheap, maybe because they were expecting a different finished leather. Make note! These are all full-grain, they have texture, not the smooth, shiny version!
These boots have more of an overall slender fit. I have thin legs and a narrow foot, they fit wonderfully for me, but if you have larger calves and a wider foot, you may struggle getting into them.
I usually have trouble finding boots that don't look huge around my legs, the Shirley Riding boots are a perfect fit.
They are gorgeous and of excellent quality. My only complaint is that they have an extremely strong leather smell, which can be a little annoying at times.
I was told a strong smell is usually the sign of good quality boots.
So there you go, I fluctuate between a 7 and a 7 1/2, but went with the 7's as the 7 1/2's were too big around my foot. I do not wear a thick sock with them, just a regular or thinner sock.
I am very happy with my SRB's
Hope this review helps!
Review 2 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherAnn
Location:Germantown, TN
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Best Boot Ever!
Date:August 22, 2014
Buy a pair of Frye boots and they will last you a lifetime. I got my first pair back in 2004 and I still wear them! The Shirley is a great classic boot that will go with just about anything. If you add anything to your closet this Fall, this boot should be number one on your list!
Review 3 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KatieMcC
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Watch the size surprise on these Fryes
Date:January 2, 2014
I love my boots! They are fun and versatile, but definitely casual. They can be worn over jeans or leggings and I think they are especially attractive with a calf-length skirt. As the description states, they are best suited for a narrow or medium width foot. My feet are average width, but I have a very high arch, so at first I was worried that I wouldn't be able to keep them because I had to pull so hard to put on the left boot. However, the leather stretched a bit to allow for a more comfortable fit and easier 'on / off'. I had tried on a different style Frye boot in my size (7) at a local store and that boot was huge in comparison to the Shirley size 7, so I didn't anticipate how tight they felt initially. The leather is good quality and I like the color. There is very little variation or variegation as there used to be in the Fryes of yore. As with most leather cowboy boots, they need a break-in period, so don't plan a long walk on your first time out or you will have sore feet.
Review 4 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AJPick
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
First pair of Fryes
Date:November 25, 2013
Having read other reviews, ordered 1/2 size larger and glad I did. Always wanted a pair of Fryes--had to wait 'til my fifties to get them!
Review 5 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Harp
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Date:November 24, 2013
I have a hard time believing these are actually Fyre Boots. Not Frye quality at all. Very cheap looking. Went to the Frye store in Georgetown (DC) and the boots there are far superior quality. Seems better value to buy the actual Frye boot from their store than inexpensive version.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
artsypants
Location:Portland, Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So disappointed
Date:November 11, 2013
I've always loved Frye boots and have worn them for years. I was looking for a knee-high boot and was sure these would deliver just what I was looking for. I couldn't have been more wrong. Initially I was unable to get my foot into the ankle area of the boot. I worked until I was finally able to put them on, but felt that they were narrower than any other Frye shoe or boot that I have ever worn. It is with great regret that I am having to return them. I would not recommend this product to anyone unless you had an extremely narrow foot, no arches and a hyper mobile ankle.
Review 7 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FrancesLee
Location:So Cal
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:October 8, 2013
Loved the boots but they did not fit my foot. Had to send them back.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 30, 2013
Hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try one of our other great boots.
Review 8 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pickyshopper01
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love these boots, but...
Date:October 5, 2013
Love the style of these boots and the quality of Frye you cannot beat, but I had a very difficult time getting my feet in these boots (resorted to the plastic bag trick). Once I did manage to get my feet in, they were extremely narrow and hurt across the top part of my foot.
I know that leather boots stretch and conform to your foot eventually, but between the struggle to get them on and then the discomfort of them, I decided to return them. The length of these boots were perfect, as I always take a size 7, and had considered going up half a size, but I do not believe that would have helped with the width issue of the boot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Frye Shirley Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1AlaskaMom
Location:Kenai, Alaska
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love Frye, narrower than my others
Date:September 9, 2013
these are 9M which seems narrower than the 9Bs I have and love - we will see