Product Reviews

Modern Hooded Anorak

We love the dramatic look of this favorite fashion coat. Now with a slimmer fit and a higher waist for a feminine look, this anorak style is the perfect weight for pre-season conditions and quick winter trips outdoors. The body of the coat is fleece-lined with poly-lined sleeves. Drawcords at the hood, waist, and hem allow you to customize the look and fit. Removable faux fur frames the hood. Hidden zipper with snaps. Front snap pockets. Long sleeves. Three-quarter length. Cotton twill. Cotton lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
3 of 1030%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Hooded Anorak
Review 1 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frem1024
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Recommend with reservations
Date:February 4, 2014
I live in Texas where it gets chilly but not bitter cold. I was correct in that this is a great jacket for a 40 degree day. I returned for a smaller size since I felt like unless it fit well, it looked a little too boxy and untailored. The smaller size is better. The quality of this jacket is good, especially at the sale price. Unfortunately, I did not get it for that price, which is a little disappointing.
Review 2 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mieani
Not worth the high price
Date:December 8, 2013
When I received this coat I was under impressed. It felt like a coat I could get anywhere.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Remember our exchanges are always freight free! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 to assist you with this purchase.
Review 3 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MVBLH
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
strange sizing; disappointing
Date:November 23, 2013
I'm a size 6-8, average height, & tried this coat first in a 6 (swam in it) and then a 4, and sent both back. The 4 almost fit but the waist then was too high, and the coat still far too long overall. I tried using the drawstrings to size it down but it always looks like a sack.
Disappointing b/c it was the exact style and color I was searching for. Something's simply off w/the sizing.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We have adjusted the product descriptions based on your experience with this coat.
Review 4 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mickyrox
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Poor quality
Date:November 15, 2013
I had never, over many years, yet returned a Garnet Hill item. I bought this to be mid-weight coat on the days that didn't need a down coat, but it was not very warm. The exterior fabric is stiff, but thin and not wind proof in the least. One one of the first days I wore it the entire snap placket ripped off. The snap stayed attached, while I took off the coat. The "fur" around the hood was like a city rodent, and I took it off immediately.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts! We're sorry to hear our Modern Hooded Anorak didn't wear as well as it should have. We are glad to see you contacted us, so we could assist you with your return.
Review 5 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
theTreesandme
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Terrible fit
Date:November 11, 2013
I am truly shocked that anyone could say this coat fit well. I am a true size 6, that's what I ordered. The coat fit well through the shoulders but from the waist down it would have fit me if I was pregnant with quintuplets. I don't really get how Garnet Hill thinks that a size 6 person needs soooooo much room in the bottom half of a coat. It was truly absurd.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thank you fjor your note! Based on your experience with this coat, we have adjusted the product descriptions.
Review 6 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
obismom
Location:Easton, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
cozy and warm
Date:October 18, 2013
I just got this anorak yesterday and love it! it's comfy, cozy and just right over any outfit and is the perfect coat before real winter.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
katebee
Location:pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointed.
Date:October 15, 2013
I ordered this hoping for a new casual winter coat - sadly I was wrong, this would not be a good winter coat unless you live in the south or somewhere with VERY mild winters. For the price, I would expect something a little more substantial. The main body's 'cotton twill' is very thin, and feels more like a shirt type of material. Although the fleece lining in the body of the coat is super soft, it is also pretty thin. The arms are just lined with another layer of thin cotton, so no insulation there. The fit also seemed a bit off to me - the sleeves were super long on the size 4 (and I usually have the opposite problem) and the bottom of the coat stuck out in a weird unflattering triangle shape at the bottom. This one is going back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please remember when you return that our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 8 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stretch
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Balloon Coat
Date:October 10, 2013
I bought this again, after returning it last year, because the description says it has "an even better fit" and I do need a good anorak, but I'm afraid that what they sent me has the same silly balloon skirt that last year's had. Maybe a bit less volume, but still there. Really unflattering (that's an understatement) and awkward. What a shame! It's gone back.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 5, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Modern Hooded Anorak did not work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned.
Review 9 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jen1170
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Awesome Coat!
Date:September 27, 2013
Runs true to size! Thought it was going to run large, so I ended up ordering one that was too big and exchanged it for one 2 sizes smaller! The inside is fuzzy and comfortable, the fit is a little boxy, but just the right amount so that it looks worn in out of the box! I'd own it in all colors if I could!
Review 10 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ZoeOB
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very comfortable fit
Date:September 23, 2013
I was hoping to replace a number of older jackets and parkas with this one, especially since the lining and hood are removable. The anorak is perfect for me. At 5'7" it hits at the very upper thigh and the sleeve length is perfect. (Usually women's coat sleeves are too short for me.) The faux fur collar is not as nice but no matter as I wasn't planning to keep it anyway and it is removable. The poseidon blue is quite lovely, a deep rich color. It is a little overpriced considering it is imported from China but overall, I'm happy with this purchase.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.