Product Reviews

Modern Hooded Anorak

We love the dramatic look of this favorite fashion coat. Now with a slimmer fit and a higher waist for a feminine look, this anorak style is the perfect weight for pre-season conditions and quick winter trips outdoors. The body of the coat is fleece-lined with poly-lined sleeves. Drawcords at the hood, waist, and hem allow you to customize the look and fit. Removable faux fur frames the hood. Hidden zipper with snaps. Front snap pockets. Long sleeves. Three-quarter length. Cotton twill. Cotton lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
10 of 2148%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Hooded Anorak
Review 1 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
natalia123
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
So Happy I Bought
Date:March 25, 2015
I went back and forth on this one so many times based on the reviews. It went on sale and then on sale of the day and I picked it up. So happy that I did. I ordered the smallest size based on reviews it is roomy or too large. I am five foot 3 and 126 lbs and size 2 is perfect for me. It has such a warm lining and I love the hood. I got the blue color. Granted this is not going to be my winter coat. I bought it more for watching my son's baseball games in the chilly wet spring weather. It can be used as a rain coat or just a jacket to keep me warm but stay stylish. I highly recommend this coat to anyone at the sale price if it comes back in stock. So glad I took a chance. Thanks GH. I scored two new coats recently, this one and the Westminster and am in love with both!!
Review 2 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pamplemousse
Location:mom in suburbia
Beautiful in-between season coat with fit issues
Date:March 24, 2015
I bought this coat on clearance and was thrilled with its quality but I couldn't get past the ballooning fit at the bottom of the jacket. I found it very unflattering and had to return.
Review 3 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
noyb
Location:LA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Terrible Quality
Date:January 16, 2015
This coat was a wrinkled mess right out of the bag. Flimsy material, some snaps didn't work, a snap on the pocket was so tight that the material came right through it when trying to unsnap it. The lining had a cheap look. I purchased it as a "Sale of the Day" and even at that price it was not worth keeping. I'm fuming that I have to pay to return this disaster. Long time customer and this is my first bad purchasing experience w/GH.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 20, 2015
We're sorry to hear of your experience! We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you.
Review 4 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SylPod
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice quality
Date:January 14, 2015
Very nice coat, runs true to size, but what makes it unwearable for me is the very expansive bottom part of it. It might be ok for pear shaped women though.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 14, 2015
Thank you for your feedback!
Review 5 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
notime
Location:Pa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great in between jacket
Date:January 11, 2015
This is a great jacket for 35 - 45degree weather. Not too heavy or bulky. I am 5' 9" and appreciate that it covers my backside. Yes it is full at the bottom, but it lets me take full strides when I'm walking. Nice sleeve length.....most jackets just barely come to my wrists. I do wish that the bottom pull strings could tuck in someway. Some reviews thought the bottom made them look bad, but it works for me.
Review 6 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennC
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Makes me look like a whale- but I don't care!
Date:January 3, 2015
I purchased this coat to take on a trip to Paris over the holiday week. I have recently gained a little weight (that I hope is temporary;-), and didn't want to spend a lot of money. This coat (at the sale price, minus an additional holiday discount) was a phenomenal value and of good quality! The weather during my visit was between 30-45 degrees, and this coat kept me warm and snug. The pockets are nice and deep- I had plenty of room for gloves, tissues, and even a bottle of water! The lining (which buttons out to remove) is incredibly soft and snuggly, and extends all the way up to the top of the hood. I actually used the coat as my blanket on the plane! I washed the coat as soon as i returned (on cold, and removing the faux fur trim as recommended) and it emerged from the wash like new! This coat fit comfortably over a long sleeved t-shirt, a cotton jersey dress, and a sweater (worn simultaneously on the coldest day). I was outdoors for extended periods every day, and this coat was perfect! As I mentioned in the title, it did, however make me look like a whale. I am a size 12, and the silhouette did nothing for my shape. The features and quality for the sale price made me not care so much about how i looked. IMO, function is the fashion of the well-adjusted, and this fit the bill! 4 stars instead of 5 for the button out lining (buttons are fragile- zippers would have been better), as well as the tricky business of what to do with the extra string one they're tightened.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darla
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Actually Quite Pleased!
Date:December 26, 2014
For the sale price, this is quite a steal! I only rate the "overall" at 4 because the fit was challenging to get right, and it's still marginally too voluminous on the bottom. But it looks nicely made and the only overtly cheap feature is the zipper and it isn't easy to see, esp is you just button it instead.
I did as an earlier reviewer suggested and immediately pulled all tabs to snug up the fit of the waist and bottom hem. I tend to prefer fitted clothes & admittedly, the coat is *not* as fitted as the pictures show. The bottom is still a bit "tent-like," even with the drawstring snugged up. But the overall look is pretty, with the nice faux-furry hood, and the gray color I got is lovely. Really nice touch: the lining, including cozy lined pockets! So it's a trade-off: on sale, it's a great value that feels quite lady-like. True, the zipper isn't high quality and it takes a minute to reach it down there, align it and zip it up. But it's surprisingly pretty and the furry hood (detachable) is cute. PS I exchanged the size 4 for a size 2, which fits. (I usually wear S on top and M on the bottom in Garnet Hill.)
Review 8 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PGayleE
Location:Bellevue
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Can be customized
Date:December 11, 2014
I ordered a size down. First,I removed the button out fleece lining. Then,I tightened the empire drawstring to a more princess form fitting shape. Last I played with the drawstring at the bottom of the parka & it now is very flattering shapely look. I think the key is to use the drawstrings at the high waist and the drawstring at the bottom to customize it to give a faux princess fitted look. The parka is very cute with the faux fur trim.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CandiceC
Location:Bethesda, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Good jacket - at sale price
Date:November 27, 2014
Just received after purchasing at sale price. The length is great, it's very cozy, has some good features - fur hood, fleece liner, and fact that liner is removable are nice. But the zipper feels very cheap - the coat cannot be easily zipped and unzipped. Standing around on a cool day, I had to put everything down and muscle with the zipper to get it to go up/down. The zipper has that cheap "metal" feel and catches on the material easily. That one thing makes the coat feel like a cheaper variety - so I'd recommend only at the sale price.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TinaU
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
amazing material - sadly looks like a tent
Date:November 10, 2014
I really wanted to like this coat. The material is really great and finally a jacket that has long arms.
Perfect for the fall/spring in MA but the bottom of the jacket is soo big that it looks like a swing skirt. Even for the amazing deal "Sale of the Day" I am returning it - unless you are very petite and don't mind looking bigger I would not purchase this item.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 12, 2014
We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned your coat to try another one of our great items.
Review 11 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jass
Location:Kingsport TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great fitting anorak
Date:August 20, 2014
I just bought the previous year version of this coat when it went on the supersale. What a find! I do not see one single flaw on it. I wear it now already without fleece linning with shorts and ankle boots. I find the shape very flattering, high waist and adjustable bottom. I am 5'9", size 12 and it does not look baggy. I like the quality of the material, it is water resistant, cotton linned (feels soft even without fleece insert, which is a nice one too). I agree, that is not for everybody, but people should not be mocking such a quality product because of that. I love you, GH!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frem1024
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Recommend with reservations
Date:February 4, 2014
I live in Texas where it gets chilly but not bitter cold. I was correct in that this is a great jacket for a 40 degree day. I returned for a smaller size since I felt like unless it fit well, it looked a little too boxy and untailored. The smaller size is better. The quality of this jacket is good, especially at the sale price. Unfortunately, I did not get it for that price, which is a little disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mieani
Not worth the high price
Date:December 8, 2013
When I received this coat I was under impressed. It felt like a coat I could get anywhere.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Remember our exchanges are always freight free! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 to assist you with this purchase.
Review 14 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MVBLH
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
strange sizing; disappointing
Date:November 23, 2013
I'm a size 6-8, average height, & tried this coat first in a 6 (swam in it) and then a 4, and sent both back. The 4 almost fit but the waist then was too high, and the coat still far too long overall. I tried using the drawstrings to size it down but it always looks like a sack.
Disappointing b/c it was the exact style and color I was searching for. Something's simply off w/the sizing.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We have adjusted the product descriptions based on your experience with this coat.
Review 15 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mickyrox
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Poor quality
Date:November 15, 2013
I had never, over many years, yet returned a Garnet Hill item. I bought this to be mid-weight coat on the days that didn't need a down coat, but it was not very warm. The exterior fabric is stiff, but thin and not wind proof in the least. One one of the first days I wore it the entire snap placket ripped off. The snap stayed attached, while I took off the coat. The "fur" around the hood was like a city rodent, and I took it off immediately.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts! We're sorry to hear our Modern Hooded Anorak didn't wear as well as it should have. We are glad to see you contacted us, so we could assist you with your return.
Review 16 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
theTreesandme
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Terrible fit
Date:November 11, 2013
I am truly shocked that anyone could say this coat fit well. I am a true size 6, that's what I ordered. The coat fit well through the shoulders but from the waist down it would have fit me if I was pregnant with quintuplets. I don't really get how Garnet Hill thinks that a size 6 person needs soooooo much room in the bottom half of a coat. It was truly absurd.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thank you fjor your note! Based on your experience with this coat, we have adjusted the product descriptions.
Review 17 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
obismom
Location:Easton, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
cozy and warm
Date:October 18, 2013
I just got this anorak yesterday and love it! it's comfy, cozy and just right over any outfit and is the perfect coat before real winter.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
katebee
Location:pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointed.
Date:October 15, 2013
I ordered this hoping for a new casual winter coat - sadly I was wrong, this would not be a good winter coat unless you live in the south or somewhere with VERY mild winters. For the price, I would expect something a little more substantial. The main body's 'cotton twill' is very thin, and feels more like a shirt type of material. Although the fleece lining in the body of the coat is super soft, it is also pretty thin. The arms are just lined with another layer of thin cotton, so no insulation there. The fit also seemed a bit off to me - the sleeves were super long on the size 4 (and I usually have the opposite problem) and the bottom of the coat stuck out in a weird unflattering triangle shape at the bottom. This one is going back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please remember when you return that our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 19 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stretch
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Balloon Coat
Date:October 10, 2013
I bought this again, after returning it last year, because the description says it has "an even better fit" and I do need a good anorak, but I'm afraid that what they sent me has the same silly balloon skirt that last year's had. Maybe a bit less volume, but still there. Really unflattering (that's an understatement) and awkward. What a shame! It's gone back.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 5, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Modern Hooded Anorak did not work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned.
Review 20 for Modern Hooded Anorak
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jen1170
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Awesome Coat!
Date:September 27, 2013
Runs true to size! Thought it was going to run large, so I ended up ordering one that was too big and exchanged it for one 2 sizes smaller! The inside is fuzzy and comfortable, the fit is a little boxy, but just the right amount so that it looks worn in out of the box! I'd own it in all colors if I could!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>