Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater

Eco neat-o! We recast our classic ribbed cashmere sweaters to include new eco colors — undyed, unbleached, and updated in shades of browns, grays, and ivories (naturally, from the coats of Kashmir goats). We kept the favorite fit the same: relaxed with a graceful, bateau-esque neckline that exposes a hint of collarbone. Long sleeves Ribbing at the cuffs and neckline Hip length Pure cashmere Imported GARNET HILL CASHMERE Garnet Hill cashmere is made from the fine, downy undercoat of Kashmir goats. We create long-term relationships with the herdsmen who raise them on multi-generational family farms in Inner Mongolia, where changeable weather has evolved goats with longer, loftier, softer fibers. Clipped but once a year in spring, these purebreds are treated like pets; never crossbred for higher yields, as some farms do. This produces the highest-quality fibers, which are then washed, carded, and spun into sumptuous two-ply yarns twisted to resist pilling without compromising strength. To achieve our vibrant colors, we use only Oeko-Tex®-certified eco-friendly dyes, with fewer chemicals, less water, and less energy. Eco-Cashmere is made from the natural white, beige, and brown fibers. Undyed and unbleached, they are processed with even less water and zero chemicals. The seams of our sweaters are linked by hand at a maker that sells to only a handful of high-end clothiers in Europe... and to one in the United States: Garnet Hill. From start to finish, every step in our manufacturing process takes place under the glass roof of a world-class, eco-conscious production facility. With proper care, your cashmere sweater will last for years and years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
5
63 of 8376%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Most comfortable sweater
Date:January 27, 2016
This sweater is lightweight and warm. The fit is relaxed. My only complaint is I wish it came in a V neck. I will be purchasing more of these.
Review 2 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My favorite winter sweater
Date:January 23, 2016
I am now the happy owner of three of these wonderfully soft and very flattering sweaters. They are beautifully constructed with enough shaping to be very feminine but not necessarily form-fitting. Great length goes with skirts and pants and the neckline can be dressed up nicely. I'm a particular fan of the undyed "eco" colors as they are complex neutrals that always work.
Review 3 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
soft and comfortable
Date:January 23, 2016
And great looking too! Sweater is warm and fits well.
Review 4 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I am keeping it but...
Date:January 21, 2016
I am keeping this sweater because it is so soft, but 1) the cashmere is thinner than some of the other GH sweaters I have--more like a heavy t-shirt than like a sweater, and 2) it is very boxy--not very flattering. That said, it is soft, the sleeves are very long, and I've already paid for it, so I'm keeping it. Wearing it today and am very comfy.
Review 5 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Different fit from last year?
Date:January 13, 2016
I purchased this sweater in gray last year and have worn it constantly. It is a perfect neutral color and style and is comfortable and warm. Sadly, the one I just ordered in the same size, but different color (eggplant) feels shorter and smaller all over and the color is pinker than the picture. I was looking forward to having another one of these, but will be returning this one.
Review 6 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:az
Date:January 11, 2016
I love this sweater It is thin and soft and so comfortable Wish I could have bought 2 but were sold out
Review 7 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute, doesn't hold shape
Date:December 29, 2015
I ordered the natural with stripes. So cute for the first part of the day. Love the shape, love the form.... then it gets saggy. But I think that comes with the territory with cashmere. Just know that after a while the ribbing doesn't hold and you need to change your expectations of the sweater. Still an amazingly soft cashmere. Sooooo soft.
Review 8 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful and luxe feel
Date:December 16, 2015
I ordered the eggplant color and it is simply divine. Exchanged for smaller size as it runs a little large.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect sweater
Date:December 9, 2015
Fit is flattering, not boxy. Arms and body are long enough even after washing. Great quality, the maroon is a beautiful, rich color. Warm and comfy.
Review 10 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Loved this sweater!
Date:December 7, 2015
I am a cashmere lover and this one is great. I like the quality, the fit, the style and the color. It is not at all itchy and the thickness is just right. I ordered a M via the True Fit tool which always gets my size right.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Expected more
Date:December 7, 2015
As others have commented, this sweater def runs large and is more itchy than expected. I am a consistent 8 in tops, but the shoulder seams on the medium are 1/2-way down my bicep. So I exchanged for a small (still roomy but kept). The main reason for this review is the eco natural color -- much thinner (transparent) than I expected. Not sure how they photographed the model with an opaque sweater. Your nude bra (silhouette anyway) will likely show, so be aware.
Review 12 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Nice classic sweater.
Date:November 26, 2015
I ordered two, the Eco stripe and the eggplant. Quality is very nice, but the sweaters were not sized the same. The stripe was larger than the eggplant. I am keeping both because the larger sweater works well with leggings.
Review 13 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Beautiful cashmere sweater
Date:November 20, 2015
Love the color (eggplant) . The fit a little roomy,
I would have preferred it a little less so.
But it is still a great addition to my cashmere collection
Review 14 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful sweater
Date:November 19, 2015
The color of the sweater is beautiful and it is extremely soft to wear. I am touchy about things being itchy and this is just soft and comfortable. It can easily be dressed up or down. It runs true to size.
Review 15 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Knoxville, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wardrobe Staple
Date:November 18, 2015
I bought this flattering cashmere sweater in black several years ago and it has proved to be my go to sweater when I want something a little bit more than casual. When I saw the eco colors, I knew I wanted one and I am happy I went ahead and ordered it. The color and fit are perfect for me.
Review 16 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lexington, KY
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Wish it had fit
Date:November 6, 2015
I made this same mistake last year. This sweater is HUGE. I ordered the XS in two colors and will have to send both back. It is too big all over. Sleeves are too wide and about 3 inches too long. It is too big to be flattering to one's shape and too small to hide one's shape, Other than that it is lovely.
Review 17 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
gorgeous
Date:October 27, 2015
can't wait until it's cool enough to wear this sweater. beautiful colors- I had to get the cream and brown stripes when I saw it online.
Review 18 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:October 21, 2015
I am always happy with Garnet Hill Cashmere, yet the moment I tried on this sweater, it felt itchy. I checked the label to see if it was a wool mixture and the label indicated a 100% cashmere. Additionally, I purchased the XS which is a perfect size usually. This sweater fit more boxy, longer and over sized than I like. I am returning and disappointed for I had hoped this sweater would work with my pencil wool skirts for winter wear.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiaisonJanuary 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We’d be happy to offer a return or exchange for any of our products. Please give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 19 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
LOVE LOVE LOVE this sweater
Date:October 15, 2015
This is the go to sweater for me, I have several colors and keep ordering more so I have one on nearly all winter. They skim the body without being tight so are very flattering but remain comfortable and stylish. The neckline makes them perfect with skirts and jeans both. The ribbing is forgiving but doesn't bag out so they never get frumpy looking. The cashmere is soft, warm and hard wearing, they look good year after year. Piling is not an issue with this one and it's easy to hand wash. My all time favorite sweater!!! Don't hesitate!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Itchy!
Date:October 14, 2015
I love cashmere as it is so soft against my skin and doesn't make me itch like merino wool does. But this sweater was a disappointment because it was not as soft as I'd expected, and it did itch. I couldn't wear it and had to return it. The color was beautiful and quality of construction was great. The cashmere just felt more like wool than I'm used to with cashmere.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiaisonNovember 29, 2015
We're disappointed the sweater was not as soft as expected and will share your comments with our Design Team for further review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>