Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater

We knit ribs into our supersoft cashmere for a touch of texture and a bit more stretch, and this season we've added the rich neutrals Heathered Oat and Merlot. Graceful, bateauesque neckline exposes a hint of collarbone. Relaxed fit. Long sleeves. Hip length. 100% cashmere. Imported. GARNET HILL CASHMERE Garnet Hill cashmere is made from the fine, downy undercoat of Kashmir goats raised in Inner Mongolia. Our suppliers practice responsible herd management and produce the highest quality fibers, which are washed, carded and spun into sumptuous two-ply yarns, twisted to resist pilling (without compromising strength). To achieve our vibrant colors, we use only Oeko-Tex certified eco-friendly dyes, which means we also use fewer chemicals, less water and less energy. From start to finish, every step in our manufacturing process takes place under the glass roof of a world-class, eco-conscious production facility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.068 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
5
43 of 5973%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
armychic
Location:Washington
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
beautiful sweater
Date:December 14, 2014
My sister had this sweater and I wanted one as soon as I saw it on her. The quality and fit are what I expect from Garnet Hill, superior. I like the way the sweater is fitted but not tight. I have muscular arms and a small upperbody I often have a hard time finding tops that fit both nicely.
Review 2 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lido
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
wonderful sweater
Date:December 9, 2014
This thick soft sweater was all I hope it would be. The color is great.
Review 3 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Babs38
Location:New Haven, Ct
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great BDay present
Date:November 9, 2014
This purchased was picked out by my daughter-in-law for her birthday--she loves GH and is always thrilled to when she gets to pick her present--this is a lovely sweater that can very easily be dressed up or worn simply with jeans--very versatile but classic...makes birthday shopping easy with GH...
Review 4 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Houmom
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Good fit...
Date:November 8, 2014
Great sweater! I love the way it is fits- I am usually a size small and per other reviews ordered the X-small. It is fitted enough to look good but not too tight. Will have to get this in more colors!
Review 5 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jneppe
Location:Sonoma CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice but not the softest
Date:October 27, 2014
This sweater isn't as soft as I hoped but I like the shape and style. I hope it doesn't stretch and lose it's shape between cleanings but it looks like it might. It will be an everyday sweater - nothing too special - and that's what I was going for yet something that's clearly higher quality. I don't own much cashmere so this is a treat. I think for the sale price it's a good value.
Review 6 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Studio67
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
The same only different
Date:October 9, 2014
This is the third classic ribbed cashmere sweater I've bought from Garnet Hill. I like the style and this year's cabernet color. I buy the small but it runs quite a bit bigger than most smalls. It's a sweater I can fold into a handbag to wear in air conditioned theatres and restaurants as I live in a warm climate.
Review 7 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect weight sweater
Date:March 17, 2014
I bought this in two colors and am loving both. This is a perfect weight to wear alone or over a top. Not too thin so that you're cold, but not so thick that you're stifling. I keep checking to see if it's available in grey, as I would order another if it were. Does casual or dressy well, is generously sized.
Review 8 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlingShopper
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful sweater
Date:February 5, 2014
I ordered the Pumpkin color in XS, and it fit well. I was pleased that it was more form fitting (but not at all tight) than some of the other cashmere sweaters I've purchased from Garnet Hill. The color is a rich pumpkin orange. I recommend ordering your normal size; the fit is true.
Review 9 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taste4finnerthings
Location:Midlothian, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Huge!
Date:January 20, 2014
I read the reviews prior to purchasing and thought if I went with an XS that it would fit me. Wrong. Just like the other reviews, I found it too long in the arms. I returned it. The color was beautiful. I wish the arms were not so long and it would have fit.
Review 10 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ny4agirl
Location:upstate NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very soft
Date:January 5, 2014
Bought on sale so good value, true to size with nice length overall.
Review 11 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dunerd
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Sweater
Date:January 4, 2014
I am always freezing and looking for warm sweaters -- this is a great addition. I found it ran slightly large (I'm 5'9", 32D and 135 lbs and a Small in the new sizing) and I probably could have gone with an XS, it would be a little more polished for skirts, but this one is great with jeans. Bought it as a Sale of the Day and so worth it, I'm going to get another!
Review 12 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
YAG39
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Slightly disappointing
Date:January 4, 2014
I love the color - the "warm heather grey" has a beige tint to it, and it's beautiful. Love the neck opening - slightly wider than a crew neck, but not too wide to show your bra straps. The fabric is very soft and so far hasn't shown any signs of pilling - after multiple wears. It is very thin, so the light grey is quite see-through. I do like the relaxed fit, but my major issue is that it stretched a lot and lost its shape very quickly. Especially the sleeves look baggy now. Also , the sizing is off - I am a medium, and I order GH tops in medium, but GH cashmere sweaters that I had ordered before had to be exchanged to small. I ordered this one in small too, but even when I first tried it it was a little too big, and now it looks like a Large rather than a Small.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison January 21, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your expirience with the fit. Give us a call at 1-800-870-3513 and we'll be happy to help you with this purchase.
Review 13 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SMBMAK
Location:Chicago
Love it!
Date:January 4, 2014
A Christmas gift I love! Fabric of good quality and very soft. Fits true to size. Ordered another for my daughter.
Review 14 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
badgerinca
Location:northern calif.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great buy
Date:January 3, 2014
I have 3 of these sweaters. Bought the first on a slight sale then got 2 more when price got lower...good weight and fit for tall person. I can see that if you're short, it might be long in sleeves and body but for me (5'8") , it's perfect. I did, however, get a medium first and it's too big...small is great for size 8.
Review 15 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
westcoaster
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Sweater!
Date:January 3, 2014
I ordered this in the pumpkin color -- it is very soft. I agree that you should order one size smaller than usual for a slim fit or regular size for loose fit.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaxMimi
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love this sweater!
Date:January 3, 2014
Although I haven't yet worn this sweater (it's just now cold enough here in north Florida!), I've tried it on a couple of times and look forward to wearing it tomorrow for the first time. Love the fit, the color, the softness and the fit - it's what I'd call a 'soft fit,' fitted but not the least bit tight. I'm 5'7" with long arms, and it's just perfect. Others have disliked the long arm length, but I love it. As to pilling, I will have to update this review if that's an issue, but honestly it feels so soft-yet-sturdy that I don't think pilling will be a problem. I recommend this one, especially at the sale price! I may buy another.
Review 17 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Candy
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice sweater
Date:December 31, 2013
I have this sweater in Gray and like the feel and look of it. It does have a few drawbacks. It does tend to stretch out during the day and it is scratchy. The other thing I'd like to mention, it will show any tummy bulges. I still like it and will probably buy another but go down one size. I'm 8/10, medium. Will try small next time.
Review 18 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bailie
Location:York, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Date:December 27, 2013
Love this sweater with reservation...the ribbing gives it a fresh look, length is great for average sizes, colors are beautiful...but the sweater "grows" bigger and bigger as the day goes on! Order a size down!
Review 19 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Glow19
Sweater too long, falls way short
Date:December 25, 2013
As this sweater comes in such gorgeous colors (I ordered the spicey orange) and a great contemporary weave and style, I had wished it would work this time. Ordered in my usual size 6-8, the sleeves landed about 3-4 inches past my fingertips and the overall length was more tunic in styling than crew pullover. I keep hoping every year that the sweater experience with Garnet Hill will improve. But until the company relents and begins to offer truly petite women sweaters to fit us, I doubt satisfaction will ever be found in their sweaters. Thankfully, Garnet Hill has excellent customer service so the return was a snap.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Classic Ribbed Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lovebug4ever
elegant
Date:December 22, 2013
This is pricey but very nice. I got it in black. The neckline, the cashmere and the color make it an elegant sweater.
1 2 3 next>>