Product Reviews

Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular

Abstracted sequin stripes and lines imbue this dress with a dash of flapper glamour. The A-line mesh overlay has sheer sleeves. Scallops at the sleeves and hem keep the look freshly feminine. Scoop neckline. Three-quarter sleeves. Side zipper. Above-the-knee length. Nylon mesh over poly liner. Imported. This dress runs small. For best fit, order up one size.
Average Customer Rating:
1.833 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
3 of 1225%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kendallk
Pretty Dress
Date:January 31, 2014
I ordered this dress to go with the Milliana Victoria Necklace which is shown in the photo. The two items went perfectly together but sadly I had to return the dress. If it had been offered in a "petite" I would have kept it. I ordered the "2" and it was just too big overall and would have needed extensive alterations. I don't know why it says to order up a size. The A line design was very wide and the dress is long--slightly below my knee and I'm 5'1".
I thought the "champagne" color was very elegant and something different from the usual black. I was very disappointed that the sizing did not work out for me.
Review 2 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
midwestmom13
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
GORGEOUS
Date:January 22, 2014
I almost didn't order this dress because of the plethora of negative reviews but I couldn't be happier that I did. In my opinion, it mirrors the photo exactly. The color is in fact muted, but I love that about the dress. I also found that it ran on the larger side. I am typically a size 2 or 4 in dresses, though my shoulders are broad so I often opt for a 4. I bought a 6 in this dress and was swimming in it, so exchanged for a smaller size. Cannot wait to wear it, it's a special piece. And the sale price is incredible.
Review 3 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chinkely
Location:Fairfield, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful Style
Date:January 14, 2014
I ordered this dress in a size 2, which is what I normally order and it doesn't fit tight. I am glad I did not order one size up as recommended. It fits perfect, with boxy A line style with a bit of wiggle room. I ordered two colors since it's on sale and is keeping it both for party wear. I would not, however, have paid full price for it as the fabric was thin and almost too delicate to wear. I am afraid it may snag on something.
I am 5'6" and weighs about 118 lbs. so a size 2 is not too small.
Review 4 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Finn1
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Much better on-line
Date:November 15, 2013
This dress looks so cute on the on-line model. The color is beautiful and it looks like the perfect holiday dress. In person, it's color is like putty and it fits sack like. Soooo disappointing. I had high hopes.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your note! We strive to accurately present colors online, and are sorry you were disappointed. If you would like to exchange or return, please call us, if you need assistance
Review 5 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HeathB
Location:Hermosa Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
misrepresented dress
Date:November 11, 2013
This dress looks beautiful on the model, but in person it looks completely different. The color is more putty than the beige shown. It runs big and the length is too long. The quality is not very good. The only reason this dress looks good on this model is because the color in the catalog is incorrect and they must have fitted it to her to make it look good. It makes me hesitant to buy from you because I am not sure I can trust that what I see in the catalog or online is true to the actual product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and have shared it with our team. Please feel free to give us a call at 800-870-3513 if you have further feedback or questions!
Review 6 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ednamo
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
washed out
Date:November 10, 2013
very disappointing- the color is drab and washed out, not like the picture online. It looks like an old nightgown... I am returning and not exchanging for black since even the cut is poor quality. Not what I am used to with Garnet Hill.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress. We hope you will take advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 7 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
momwith3littleones
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
So disappointing
Date:November 8, 2013
I wanted to love this dress. The color definitely is not what I imagined, and the fit is just off. I am an athletic build, 5'10" , 170 lbs, and am always a small or medium or size 8 at GH. This dress (in size 8) is way too big in the waist, making it feel frumpy, and way too small in the arms. I could barely bend my arms. I had thought I had found the perfect holiday dress, but this one has to go back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress did not work for you. Please know our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 8 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MominVermont
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too tight across the shoulders
Date:November 7, 2013
Pretty dress -- I bought it in black for the holidays, but it is cut too tight across the shoulders and on the top of the sleeves. I echo the previous poster who mentioned the feeling of a straight jacket. Unless you have extremely thin upper arms and very narrow shoulders I would steer clear of this dress.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
Remember our exchanges are freight free and we have many other great dresses to choose from. If you need any assistance please feel free to contact us.
Review 9 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WifeandMommy
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Color is disappointing!
Date:November 5, 2013
I also wanted to love this dress. Ordered the champagne color thinking it would be the perfect holiday dress. Opened the package was so disappointed! The color is not champagne at all - more of a putty. It washed me out. My coloring is more like the model, pale skin and blonde hair. I ordered my usual GH size 2 and found it true to size, maybe a tad big. The dress is A-line with no zipper so it's roomy. Unfortunately, the dress is shapeless and drab. Not elegant and lovely, as I had hoped. Sadly, it's going back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress did not meet your expectations. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 10 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lynnieann
Location:Mystic, CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
color, length :(
Date:November 5, 2013
This dress looks much better online than in person. The color is quite muted and dead, and the length was far longer than I expected , below the knee...I'm 5'6", so not short. I love Garnet Hill, but not this dress.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
Hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try one of our other great dresses.
Review 11 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vendee
Location:Tx
Gender:Female
Sleeve Problem
Date:November 5, 2013
Sadly I am returning the dresses (black and the tan) as there is something wrong with the way the sleeves are fitted.
The sleeves pucker at the shoulder top and are too tight at the upper arms. The sleeves do not “move” with the dress If I reach forward the dress pulls tight across the back and the dress rides up. Very uncomfortable. I feel like I am wearing a straight jacket.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 12 for Sequin-Detail A-Line Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RuthR
Gender:Female
Color was a washout on me.
Date:November 2, 2013
I wanted to love this dress. I love the sheerness and thought it would be so much fun. But when I tried it on, it just seemed to wash me out. It also runs small in the shoulders. Very sad, but it had to go back. I would love to see another sheer color that would mess well with a brunette hair. The concept of the dress is great!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonNovember 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback! We have several other dresses that may work better for you. Give us a call if we can help at 800-870-3513.