Product Reviews

Modern A-Line Knit Dress

The classic boatneck tee grows into a chic dress with an easy A-line shape that swings from day to party mode, depending on the accessories — necklace, scarf, belt, boots, pumps. Think of it as a stylish blank canvas. A center-back seam adds definition. Above-knee length. Three-quarter sleeves. Cotton/rayon/spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.593 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
16 of 2759%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Review 1 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzylawyer
Location:Portland Me
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love this dresss
Date:February 11, 2014
I like this quite a lot. I was on the fence as to the size but ultimately went with the small which is splendid- I am 5'7" and about 123 lbs. curvy. it is a t shirt dress so the fabric is not heavy, not a ponte knit so be aware what you are buying. but more fitted than the Calais dress het not clingy.
Review 2 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shoekook
Location:Newtown, CT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
nice for sale price
Date:February 9, 2014
nice shape without a belt. i love the calais knit dresses with the pockets but this is nice without pockets- more dressy. pretty blue that i didn't have in my closet before. not superb quality but very good
Review 3 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lada
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
looks like a night shirt
Date:December 18, 2013
the material and way this dress is cut makes it look like a hight shirt to me. for a dress the material just isn't very nice or because of the shape and simplicity it should be more structured or a little more detail. it is soft and a very pretty color.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Backdoc
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cobalt dress
Date:December 14, 2013
Thin fabric, large for it's size, I washed it to shrink it and it will be fine for work with a belt.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your note! We do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you ever need assistance with sizing please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 5 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cvn1
Location:San Diego CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sizing a problem
Date:December 12, 2013
I have exchanged this dress twice. Hopefully the third time around will be the charm. I am finding GH sizing very inconsistent this season.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your note; we have shared your feedback with our team! If we can be of further assistance please call 1-800-870-3513.
Review 6 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LovingtheSunshine
Location:Naples, Fl.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too thin
Date:December 9, 2013
Dress just too thin. Too long. Too bland.
Sad to say, I sent dress back...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your note; we have shared your feedback with our team! If we can be of further assistance please call 1-800-870-3513.
Review 7 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pllow
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:December 8, 2013
Love the color! Good for office with scarf, and then straight to cocktails or dinner with a little extra accessories. Good value for money!
Review 8 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
relly1
Location:choctaw, ok
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:December 7, 2013
fabric was very flimsy, did not fit well. i ordered this for my daughter-in-law who is tall and thin, and was not becoming on her figure quality not what i expected. i returned this dress
Review 9 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CSCi
Location:Indianapolis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great dress
Date:November 23, 2013
Very nice dress. Can dress up or down. Wish it came in petite sizes.
Review 10 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glamgran
Location:Washington,D.C
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Super comfortable and flattering
Date:November 23, 2013
Living in temperate Washington, D.C., I often feel too hot in wool or heavy knits, even in the winter. This dress is super comfortable, smooth and not over revealing of figure flaws. I can see wearing it in three seasons.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sushigirl
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Meh
Date:November 19, 2013
Really not crazy about these dresses...I ordered one in each color. The material is very thin, and the black looks more like a charcoal gray. I think that I might have gotten a size too big (I wear 8 or M usually) but the M seems big...but I am afraid to get a S b/c the material is very unforgiving...should have listened to the review mentioning the thinness...this seems more like a nightgown than a dress to me...very disappointed as it looks adorable on the model! Also, I am 5'3" and the dress is too long for my taste.
Review 12 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
InChicago
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not what I expected
Date:November 18, 2013
Dress is much thinner fabric than I anticipated, The sheen that is visible on the model is a great lighting trick. Not what
Review 13 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
waytoomanyshoes
Location:Landenberg, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
More dress than need be
Date:November 18, 2013
The picture shows it belted and for good reason. The skirt is quite full making it rather matronly. I'm keeping it however because it is incredibly soft and has a good neckline for a middle aged gal. However, come on GH, put a little shape in your dresses!
Review 14 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VTmomof3Boys
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too big
Date:November 18, 2013
I ordered a small which should have been great (I am a size 6), but instead of looking great (see model), I looked frumpy. The dress is huge, like a bag. Am going to return both (was so excited I bought both black and blue)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaggieCooper
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love this dress
Date:November 18, 2013
This dress is as cute in person as it is in the picture. Will be wearing it this winter with tights and next spring with sandals. Just adorable. Fit is great - very flattering. Wearing it as shown with a little silver belt. So cute!
Review 16 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2234
Location:MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Poor Quality
Date:November 18, 2013
Way to small. Fabric not top quality as I would expect from Garnet Hill
Review 17 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makers
Location:Knoxville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Basic
Date:November 18, 2013
The only reason that this did not get five stars is that the fabric is pretty thin. I was expecting a little more heft to the fabric. Otherwise, love the dress!
Review 18 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MajorDressFan
Location:Mid Atlantic area
Gender:Female
Great Dress! Would buy in every color!
Date:November 18, 2013
Great Dress that hits all my curves in just the right spot. I love that the shape of the dress is not straight, but rather nipped in at the waist. The only downside is that the back could be more fitted if darts were added. But all in all, a great dress for year round wear that can worn many, many ways. Also a great length for my 5'5 frame - hits at the knee.
Review 19 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pammalamma
Location:Sacramento
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Glorified tee
Date:November 17, 2013
This dress is nicely made but the fabric was thinner than I expected for a dress. It really feels like a tee shirt and has very little shape. Sometimes a "blank canvas" is great and sometimes it is just lacking. This dress is close to the latter.. It washes well and is extremely comfortable. I wish the fabric had been more substantial. It might work better for a curvier build too. I'm 5'3 and slim, muscular figure.
Review 20 for Modern A-Line Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curvyandcute
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
great dress
Date:November 17, 2013
I ordered the dress in both blue and black because I was not sure I would like the blue color. When it arrived, I loved the vibrant color of the blue and kept both.
In terms of fit, I am a bit curvy in the hips. In fact, I usually have to size up to accommodate my hips when it comes to dresses and skirts. I usually wear a size 10, but with this dress was able to wear a small. I found that the dress hid that area well and without pulling or stretching, as some other dresses do. The material is a bit thin,so it can show some body flaws. However, when I paired it with my Spanx, all was good.
I received many complements on both the fit and the color when I first wore the blue one to work. I am excited to wear the black one this week. The boatneck cut at the top tends to offset my hips, so this is a great look for me.
1 2 next>>