Product Reviews

Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular

The dressiest of our silk dresses is gathered in all the right places and is ready to turn up at any and every party of the season. The timeless design is ultraflattering, with a surplice neckline, swingy skirt, and ruching at the wide waistband. Made of a sublime silk crêpe with great drape. Top-of-knee length. Side zip. Fully lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.417 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
4 of 1233%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bxglamma
Location:New York,NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wanted to Love this dress
Date:June 13, 2014
Just received my dress, a little on the short side for me, but I like this dress. Undecided as yet if I am going to keep it. Bought a similiar style dress from here 3 yrs ago and I always get tons of compliments when I wear it, thought this dress would be the same, but love Garnet Hill dresses.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments! Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. We want you to know, if you decide to return, please take advantage of our freight free exchanges, to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 2 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveChrist
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very pretty and nice
Date:December 13, 2013
This is a nice dress. I am 5'4" and 128pds. I ordered a small and it fit fine. the color is beautiful and the fabric is good quality but it just didn't look right on me. I would definatly recommend it though.
Review 3 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anne58
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
cheap material, overpriced
Date:December 11, 2013
I had such high hopes for this dress, but alas, not to be realized. Material was thin, rough & easily wrinkled, not at all the high quality silk I was expecting from the description and for the price. Very disappointing.
Review 4 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
synergylynn
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not a winner
Date:December 7, 2013
The fit, the fabric and the deep cleavage baring cut all made this a quick return. I usually wear a 2P but ordered the 4P because of reviews. It was not even close to fitting. Very disappointing experience.
Review 5 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CindyCook
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:December 3, 2013
I wanted this to be a go-to Little Black Dress --sexy, but also able to pass in professional venues. Alas, it just plain doesn't work for any situation I can imagine. The cut is boring, boring, boring -- bordering on frumpy--a burlap sack in silk. The fabric lacks luster and drape. If you're looking for staid, this dress is for you.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Remember our exchanges are always freight free! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 to assist you with this purchase.
Review 6 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Allthenicknamesaregone
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great for curvy girls!
Date:November 30, 2013
I love this dress! I do have a small waist and large hips so the fit is beautiful. The silk is light weight, so not for winter in colorado, but perfect for many times of the year. I love the the jewel-y pink color too.
Review 7 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Skye4
Location:Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
We'll see if it works out
Date:November 29, 2013
Got this in both colors in a 2P - I am 5'1" and weigh 112. Too small in the bust cause I am a 32 D, so sent back for a 4P. I am going to iron it and see how it looks - it did look very pretty when I tried it on, just very wrinkly. I'll write another review when I get the right size in the mail.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your note; we have shared your feedback with our team! If we can be of further assistance please call 1-800-870-3513.
Review 8 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MissingColorado
Location:OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Meh
Date:November 28, 2013
I really wanted to love this dress and ordered it despite previous reviews. Unfortunately, I have similar opinions as the other purchasers. The color is beautiful. The fit and quality are not good. Whoever photographed this for the web site and catalog should win an award. The dress looks far far better in the photo than it does in person.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ande520
Location:New Orleans, LA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Disappointed.
Date:November 26, 2013
I bought this hoping it would be my go to holiday dress. Thought the V- neck and structured waist would be good for my figure with the more flowy bottom. Well, the neck gaped and the waist was washy too tight. Also a matte silk fabric, not shiny at all like the photo would indicate. Sadly, I have to send it back.
Review 10 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
candksmith
Location:Houston, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointing
Date:November 21, 2013
I love everything I've ever ordered from Garnett Hill so I was very disappointed when I received this dress. It does not look remotely like the picture. The silk is not shiny at all and looks more like a washed silk than a charmeuse. The actual color is a lighter pink than shown. This dress certainly should not be advertised in the "holiday dressing" category or as a party dress because even with nice jewerly and shoes, it would not be dressy enough for the holidays or parties. It is something one might wear to a Sunday brunch or a wedding shower. In a word, the dress is boring, at best.
Review 11 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrsmccormick
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Fit was just off
Date:November 21, 2013
I was really hoping this would be a good dress for the holidays, but the fit was just totally off for me. The neckline was super low and gaping and the "waist" was super tight. The material also doesn't have as much shine as the pictures indicate.
Review 12 for Gathered-Detail Silk Dress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jewelady
Location:New York State
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Awful
Date:November 21, 2013
I bought this dress for my daughter for Christmas and am so disappointed with it especially for that price. It came as one big wrinkle and is not easy to iron to make look moderately like the one in the picture. I got the size six was big for a six. The one good thing about it is it is lined but the lining causes such static to the silk itself that it does not lay right when on. Cannot get the waisted pleating to look like the picture at all and it is much shinier in the picture. The only good thing is that the fuschia is a pretty color. I have gotten her much better made and fitting dresses from some of the designers selling at kohls for much much less. It has been crossed off the Christmas list and is going back for sure.