Product Reviews

Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress

Two knits are better than one in our new sweater dress made of a miraculous, supersoft merino wool that holds its shape, takes color beautifully, and is machine washable to boot. The ribbed top gives way to a slightly gathered jersey skirt for a flattering (not clingy) silhouette. In a spicy palette, made for fall days and long nights — and it packs like a dream. Tiny ribbed bands at the neck and hem. Long sleeves. Above-knee length. Merino wool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 2171%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HulaGirlOne
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Soft Warmth in Rich color
Date:April 5, 2014
As always, a beautiful color, rhododendron, combined with light soft wool--great for 3 seasons. Only a slight difference between this wool and some cashmeres.
Dress up or down, add a scarf or pearl earrings, and your are good to go!
Sleeves are a little long, and the material a bit thinner, so an alternative to last year's--still great, tho.
Review 2 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jennyo
Date:March 21, 2014
This dress is comfortable and cute, but the quality of the wool is a little off. After a day of wearing it at work is was pilling.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 24, 2014
We want you to be satisfied with your dress. Please know you can exchange or return at anytime.
Review 3 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
churchmouse
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A Winner!
Date:March 21, 2014
I don't know what to praise most about this wonderful dress: the material, the fit or the color (I purchased the "berry" color). The fit is true to size and very flattering, not so clingy on the body. It looks as great with tall boots as with pumps.
Review 4 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tigersmom
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wish this dress would have worked
Date:January 27, 2014
I really wanted this dress to work. It looks so flattering in the catalogue. The wool is, as others have said, very soft and not itchy at all. I did not have any problem with the weight of the fabric. I am 5'1'' and 145 lb.s, but I ordered the medium so that it would not be too tight across the hips. The body of the dress fit well. Unfortunately the medium was way too long as were the sleeves. They are not form-fitting sleeves, so I don't think I could have either pushed them up and had them stay there. I just am pretty sure that the small would be too tight across the hips. Agree with other reviewers who have said that if you are short and pear-shaped this may not be the best choice.
Review 5 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NCCA
Location:Nevada City CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Lux Merino Dress
Date:December 8, 2013
Beautiful. and Great Customer Service. The first one I received had two small holes that I didn't see until I went to wear it a few weeks later. Called, and got a helpful cheery response "no problem".
Thank you- from a satisfied customer!
Review 6 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bean
Location:Ann Arbor Mi
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gorgous color but too thin
Date:November 24, 2013
The fabric of this well constructed dress was a gorgeous color but it was too light to wear in winter without another layer. I sadly sent it back.
Review 7 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Susan17
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
so so
Date:November 22, 2013
This dress could have been a serious contender *if* the fabric had been just a smidge more. It is just a tad too thin. Lots of GH's stuff is bordering on the too thin side but this was not enough. I don't want a big hulking bulky dress but a nano more would have made a great fitting, beautiful dress perfect. I kept it because the fit was so good but I would have bought another color if it had had just a tad more body.
Review 8 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hike
Location:Pasadena, California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
So soft, so pretty
Date:November 17, 2013
This dress is made of the softest wool I have ever touched. It is incredibly comfortable to wear! And I love the look. It is fitted on top and then hangs. And in a year of very short dresses, this one is a decent length: above the knee but only slightly.
Review 9 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AnneC
Location:Pleasanton
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Near miss
Date:November 16, 2013
I liked the flattering neckline and soft drape of the fabric, but the dress gapped awkwardly at my waist in the back. I didn't have a problem with the overlong sleeves, and the sale price was good. Because of the fit, though, I had to send it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
We hope when you returned your dress, you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try one of our other great dresses.
Review 10 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kimlee
Location:Canada
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Did not wash well
Date:November 12, 2013
Ordered this in the small. If fits narrow
through the body. The sleeves were quite
long and I have long arms.
Washed it as per instructions and dried it flat
but it stretched out in length and the hem
at the bottom would have needed to be
ironed. It went back. I am 5'3' 118 lbs.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 2, 2013
Thank you for your note! We're sorry to hear that our Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress did not launder well for you. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 11 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brickhouse
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fabulous Dress!
Date:November 2, 2013
I'm 5'6" weight 158, hour glass figure, 36DD and this dress fits fabulously! I normally wear a Large, but after reading reviews ordered a Medium. My husband loves this dress, says it's very sexy. Love the weight of the wool...very light and not itchy. Better be in shape or have a good SPANX, this dress will show EVERYTHING...good and bad!
Review 12 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
researcher
Location:Whitefish Bay, WI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cranberry crush
Date:October 27, 2013
This dress just oozes the holidays. The soft merino wool with a flare fit and flattering above the knee length compliments any figure as you gather around the O Tannebaum. Don't wait for Black Friday... shop it now and yule be jolly happy!
Review 13 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
eliza
Location:north carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Soft Dress
Date:October 20, 2013
Dress is not itchy. Normally wear a size 6 but ordered a Medium so it would not cling to my hips. I am 5'7 and it hits just above the knee. Gave 4 stars because the sleeves are too long.
Review 14 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ljgraham
Location:IC, IA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great choice
Date:October 9, 2013
I was very pleased with this dress and even bought one for my daughter. It is very soft and fits perfectly. We are 5'8" and weigh 126lbs. The size small was just right.
Review 15 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MadreDeCuatro
Location:NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
painful return - fit too narrow
Date:October 6, 2013
I was super excited to get this dress, and the Rhododendron color and the fabric were both lovely, but the fit was not. The arms are very long, and that I may have been able to live with. However, being a pear shape, the narrow hip area I could not. It looked silly tight on me and very unflattering. I definitely think this is one pear shapes should pass over.
I would recommend this dress in a heartbeat to those who are tall and very thin. Short, round, pear - no.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Denise17
Location:Naperville, Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too tight
Date:September 26, 2013
The knit was absolutely gorgeous and so was the color, but the skirt was too tight around the hips. Too sad I had to send it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 14, 2013
We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned.
Review 17 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SlamminSammy
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Lightweight but soft
Date:September 17, 2013
I'd have no idea that this dress was made from wool if the description didn't tell me - and that's a good thing! It's so soft, not scratchy at all. A little lighter weight than I was expecting, and wanted, but overall it's nice. It does run a bit long in both the length and the sleeves, so probably not for very petite women. (I'm 5'4" - size small reaches my knees, but the arm length doesn't bother me because I have long arms.)
Review 18 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IsabelCT
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Loved the concept but fit didn't work
Date:September 8, 2013
Lovely and soft and the perfect shape in theory--I had such high hopes—but the sleeves were too long (much too long!), and the fit was less A-line that I'd hoped. A little too much hip hugging in all the wrong places, I'm afraid, so this one will have to go back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tmgh
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:September 3, 2013
Pretty dress that can be casual or dressy. Will look great with boots.
Review 20 for Lux Merino Open-Neck Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KIowa
Location:Iowa City, IA, USA
Beautiful, comfortable dress
Date:August 29, 2013
I ordered this dress in the blue and it is a beautiful color. The dress is very flattering and the look can be altered with a scarf or jewelry. I've had trouble with many GH items being too large for me, but this dress was a great fit in an XS (I'm about 5'3", 110 lbs.). The dress is very comfortable and will be very warm when paired with brown leather boots.
1 2 next>>