Product Reviews

Brompton Wool Coat

A polished way to face winter — with a shapely, ladylike coat in beautiful hues. The feminine silhouette in a refined wool blend makes this the perfect piece to pair with dressier outfits. Long sleeves. Flap pockets. Three-quarter length. Lambswool/nylon, with poly lining. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 875%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Brompton Wool Coat
Review 1 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dancemom
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gorgeous Coat
Date:February 25, 2014
Full disclosure, I got this coat on sale. Way on sale, so that might be coloring my opinion. Having said that, I love this coat. I'm an athletic, short woman (5' 4", 130 lbs.) with broad shoulders and muscular arms, and I have a difficult time finding coats that fit me. This one fits perfectly. It's slightly tapered at the waistline which keeps it from being boxy on me, and I love the longer length. I bought the small, although I'm usually an xs with most Garnet Hill items. The lambs wool is very luxurious. Couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Review 2 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NorthernNelly
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Feminine
Date:February 14, 2014
The Brompton Wool Coat is form fitting, which I like, yet I wish the waist had just a little more space. The pink grapefruit is an orange color. I like the fleece looking wool. My coat came with what appears be be dark smudges on it. Is this some variation in the wool or stains? I can't exchange because my size is sold out, so I'm hoping these areas aren't noticeable and I like the coat enough to keep it anyway. The sale price was great.
Review 3 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
UpstateSCMom
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice coat
Date:January 28, 2014
Love the color (pink)! The fabric IS lightweight, as others have mentioned, but more than heavy enough for the South. Very soft and comfortable. The fit is a little different - seems to be wide in the shoulders, and narrow at the waist. I did size up, based on other reviews, but not sure it was necessary. I am 5'5" and 116, and I got a size 4.
Review 4 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
abbysmom
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
fine coat but not for me
Date:January 13, 2014
Good quality, nicely sized but did not have special something I was looking for. good basic black coat.
Review 5 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sheetmetalgirl
Location:Wisconsin/Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Extra coat
Date:December 1, 2013
I bought this coat to use traveling north and south. It will be high maintenance because of the wrinkling and attracting lint. Love the cobalt blue, fits well, but if you want to wear sweaters underneath, size up one size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013

Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Remember our exchanges are always freight free! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 to assist you with this purchase.
Review 6 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mantioch
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wrinkly fabric, small through chest
Date:October 9, 2013
I love the look and feel of this coat, but the fabric wrinkles easily. Also, I am big through the chest (36DD) and I had to size up to a size 18 to get this to fit. The 18 size turned out OK, but I couldn't get past the wrinkly fabric. The style and color (cobalt) are gorgeous and the fabric is soft, but it definitely creases and wrinkles easily. I'm returning it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seattlesaltydog
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful color, nice style
Date:October 7, 2013
Like the other reviewer of this coat, I fell in love with this from the images and description online. In person, it's an unusual texture, and very lightweight, as compared to your typical winter wool driving coat. I wasn't sure about it at first, and then realized that the difference is, it's lambswool, rather than regular wool, which is stiffer and maybe thicker. So this coat feels softer, and lighter, more like a lambswool sweater texture than a hard-core wool coat. Hopefully it wears well with time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brompton Wool Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
discerningdame
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Unhappy with the fabric
Date:October 3, 2013
I loved the way this looked in the catalog, and have been looking for a not too long black coat. Unfortunately, the fabric seems very low quality, and looks like something I could have gotten at a discount store. It has a fleece-like look rather than a true wool appearance. The shape is nice, but the pockets stick out a bit at the upper hip.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 20, 2013
This coat has a great drape, but if you’re looking for a more traditional wool coat we have several other styles that you may prefer.