Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wool Pencil Skirt

We've sharpened the iconic pencil skirt by giving it a sleek fit and a great range of colors, classic solids to trending tweeds. Dress the skirt down with a turtleneck and puffer vest, or dress it way up with silk and heels. Knee length. Hidden back zip with back vent. Fully lined in poly. Solids are 100% wool; tweeds are poly/wool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 3177%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wool Pencil Skirt
Review 1 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KB321
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Looking forward to winter
Date:August 22, 2014
This skirt fits perfectly and looks great. All set for winter's arrival and I was lucky to get it on sale. Great value.
Review 2 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raine
Location:South Shore, Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wool Pencil Skirt
Date:February 25, 2014
Beautiful fabric. You get the full texture feel of this skirt when you touch it. Very expensive looking. Perfect fit. Liked it so much I bought the blue color as well.
Review 3 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great style, good fit
Date:February 22, 2014
This is a great version of the pencil skirt. I got the red tweed and have received many compliments. I am usually a 2 but couldn't get my size. The 4 fits pretty well, but did stretch a little after wearing. If it doesn't stretch anymore I should be fine. Will order more for next year when they are available.
Review 4 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ramona
Location:Trenton, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not for curves
Date:February 18, 2014
This is a well-made item, although the white was a bit too predominant in the tweed for my tastes. The killer for me, though, was that it runs extremely narrow/slim and was not at all suited to any curves in the hip area. I ordered a 12, which usually fits, but there was no way it was close to being zipped. Maybe it was mis-sized? Have to return it. Good value on sale and great for gals who are narrow in the hips. Best of luck with it..
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 20, 2014
Our Wool Pencil Skirt does have a sleek fit. The actual garment measurements are provided under the "Measurements" tab for future reference. If you need help with your return or exchange, give us a call.
Review 5 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avon
Location:New Haven, CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great skirt
Date:February 7, 2014
This skirt looked so cute on-line that when I saw it was the "Deal of the Day" I didn't hesitate to order it. After reading the reviews I went with my usual size 6. This skirt is very fitted, but that's the way pencil skirts are designed. I liked both the length and the fact it was lined. Of course, I got this at the sale price. I would not be so sure about it at full price.
Review 6 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarieBernadette
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great skirt
Date:February 2, 2014
I found the size 8 true to size. I'm short, and the cobalt is flattering and coordinates beautifully with my new merino cardigan. Great value on sale.
Review 7 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clownhat
Location:Central Washington State
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect fit!
Date:January 20, 2014
I appreciated that this skirt was fully lined. I enjoy the fit and the color.
Review 8 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
majablo
Location:ma
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too tight
Date:January 17, 2014
I should have known. So many straight skirts are too tight and make even my flat butt stick out. going back.
Review 9 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mtmama23
Location:sw wa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too big but exceptional quality
Date:January 15, 2014
Even the size 2 was too large and dumpy -looking on me. My hips are 34 1/2" waist is 25". I was sorely disappointed that it was too large. The quality is exceptional. Thick, supple wool , beautifully lined(I bought the black). I wouldn't call this a sleek fit, even if it were small enough for me. The hipline is a bit curvier than I am.
Review 10 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kizzie
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Well Made Classic
Date:January 14, 2014
True to size and a great buy. I purchased a similar skirt from another retailer for three times the price several years ago. Blue was vibrant and same color as shown on the website.
Review 11 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reebajoe
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great skirt
Date:December 31, 2013
Fits true to size. Beautiful fabric and construction. I am 5'10" and it comes to right above the knee. I bought both the red tweed and the blue. Plan on buying the black!
Review 12 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shirin
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice Quality but too long and tight in waist
Date:December 25, 2013
I so wanted to love this skirt but it was too long and way to tight in waist. The quality was wonderful just wish the waist would have been elastic and the length as pictures=d on the model. Most of us are not 6 foot tall with a 26 inch waist. If you are than this skirt will be perfect!
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 26, 2013
Thanks for your note! We do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you ever need assistance with sizing please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 13 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
number1mom
Date:December 17, 2013
loved this skirt but unfortunately it was very long. I am 5' 4" and normally do not wear petite clothing. Very disappointed as beautiful quality.
Review 14 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jill59
Location:Boston, Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Compliments
Date:December 15, 2013
I recognized the quality of the fabric the moment I opened the package. The fit is true to size and, although pencil skirts can be a little off, this one brings out the best in me (if you know what I mean). I was complimented on it by more than one person on day one!
Review 15 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Avacado
Location:East coast
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Will wait until tweed is available
Date:December 10, 2013
I wanted the black and white tweed but it was sold out in my size. I ordered the black and am not happy with the fabric. It feels more like felt than wool. I will wait until the tweed is available again. (And maybe next time it will be in petite. Please.)
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your note; we have shared your feedback with our team! If you have any questions regarding a return or exchange feel free to reach out at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 16 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minnesotashopper
Location:St. Paul
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering
Date:November 30, 2013
Got this skirt in blue and it is very flattering ! Love it, keep this one around.
Review 17 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mathgirl
Location:Midcoast Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Fall/Winter skirt
Date:November 30, 2013
This skirt is a lovely tweed (I got the blk/cream combo). I was lucky enough to get it on sale, but regardless it is very well made. It is extremely flattering on, read slimming :). It is longer than the photos, does come knee length or a little below that on me, for I am only 5'4". However I wear it pulled up higher, so it falls above the knee. Either way, just lovely - can be very dressy, or sporty depending on what you wear with it. Looks great with tall boots! True to size.
Review 18 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAChelle
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very nice skirt!
Date:November 23, 2013
Super flattering and long enough for mid-fifty year old person. I love it with the Ribbed Detail Boxy Sweater.
Review 19 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AuntSu
Location:Long Island
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My new go-to skirt
Date:November 19, 2013
I bought the blk & white tweed skirt and like that it is thick and nubby. I can wear it with most anything and love it with tights and boots.
Review 20 for Wool Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kahooty
Location:South Hero, VT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wow
Date:November 18, 2013
The horizontal knit and bright colors makes this skirt a winner. Sleek, eye catching and comfortable.
1 2 next>>