Product Reviews

Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress

Our sophisticated dropwaist dress features a flirty, flapper-inspired hem. Constructed with a graceful arc that creates pockets at the sides, the dress is an original design that will span seasons and occasions. Back zip. High-low hem is above-knee length in front and back, and longer on the sides. Three-quarter sleeves. Lightweight viscose crêpe. Imported. Runs small through shoulders and bust. Order one size larger than your usual size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
6 of 1540%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Review 1 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julscomarall
Location:Red Bank, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful & Comfortable Dress!
Date:March 17, 2014
I love this dress....I wanted to order it forever and finally did when it went on sale. I was worried it would be too small based on the reviews but it fit perfectly in my regular size (S). It is comfortable and classic. Great color, great fit. I would highly recommend it.
Review 2 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shopinkc
Location:Kansas City, MO
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
I cannot wait to wear it again!
Date:February 8, 2014
After reading the reviews on the fit of this dress, I was uncertain, but I decided to give it a shot as it is "the dress" I have been looking for to match a hat I already own. Since the reviews said it runs small up top, I ordered a size up as recommended and it looks great - I am not incredibly busty, and it is meant to fit loose from the waist down. I am 5'7", 130 lbs., and ordered a 6. It does, however, pooch out a bit at the zipper, but it is not noticeable to most. I received loads of compliments on it at my holiday party. Give it a shot!
Review 3 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MoreMoreGirl
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Thin Crepe is wrong fabric for this style
Date:November 29, 2013
I love the style of this dress, so I ordered it despite the reviews critical of the fabric. This crepe is quite thin and shiny. That combined with a back zipper, ruins this swingy style. It would be great in a heavy crepe and even better in a heavy cotton knit with no zipper in back and a boat neck. Flippy style with pockets is crying out for a knit version next season! Hint. Hint.
Review 4 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CRae
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Date:November 19, 2013
I really wanted this dress; unfortunately, it wasn't just small, it was poorly sewn, so I'm returning it.
Review 5 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rlg1
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not at all what it looks like in pics
Date:November 16, 2013
I got this dress b/c I thought it would be easy fitting and swingy - kind of casual, but could be dressed up. Totally not swingy or easy fitting - tho it fits. This is not the fun - go-to dress I wanted it to be, rather it is hard feeling and the neck is higher than the pic - just not a fun go-to. I'm keeping it for work, but it won't be going on vacation (with boots)...
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your note! We strive to accurately present items and are sorry you were disappointed. If you would like to exchange or return, please call us, if you need assistance.
Review 6 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ManhattanMom
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Hoping for the best
Date:November 13, 2013
I really have been looking for a garnet colored dress for a long time. Wish this had been a velvet or another thicker material rather than the thin crepe. Based on other reviews, I ordered a S instead of my usual XS. The shoulders fit right, but the rest of the dress hung like a sack on me. It reached my knees. I am exchanging for an XS but will not be surprised if it will be too tight across the shoulders since the S was fine there. I am 5'2 and 105lb. Wish the dress did not have those pockets, makes it sag on the sides and gives it a more casual look than want I am looking for. Also the neckline could be more attractive. Like the other buyers, I was hoping to make it work because of the color.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
We're glad to see you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another size. If you need any assistance, call us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 7 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wyzwomyn
Devastated!
Date:November 1, 2013
Love this dress! But no kidding does it run small in the top. I am usually a 6-8 in the top so I ordered the M (8-10) thinking that would be enough room--so not. Do not order this dress unless you can get the full size larger. The black is already gone in the L, but I like the dress so much I am taking it to my tailor to see what she can do with the shoulders.
Review 8 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ProNana
Location:Covington, TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Best for small busted women
Date:October 18, 2013
Loved the style, loved the color. Had to send it back. Too snug in the bust and a bit snug in the arms. Bottom was loose. A size up would have been to large in the shoulders and huge in the bottom.
Review 9 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
michigan
Location:michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:October 16, 2013
This was a strange fit - so I exchanged it for a larger size and it was too big in some places and just lost the style - very odd. It would have been nice in a jersey fabric but I thought the crepe felt very cheap.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 7, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress did not work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 10 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
uncivil1
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Goofy Fit
Date:October 15, 2013
Dress runs very small in the arms and shoulders. Ordered a larger size to accommodate shoulders but the rest of the dress hung like a sack. I usually have the opposite problem.
The color (Garnet) was great and the quality was nice. Unfortunately this item did not work out for me and I returned it.
Review 11 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohmygooseness
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
I Love this Dress! Happy with the Purchase.
Date:October 14, 2013
I received this dress today and it is gorgeous. Garnet Hill's true fit size for me for this dress is a size small, but I took the advice of other reviewers and ordered the medium. It fits perfectly. I don't have the usual smaller top and larger bottom -- my measurements are 37-28-37 -- so I usually have to go up a size or two in dresses so that they fit me in the chest. I'm very happy with this purchase. Love the dark red color.
Review 12 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pika
Location:FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice retro style
Date:October 9, 2013
Tight in shoulders which slenderizes wearer, and otherwise dress would look too baggy. I ordered XS as usual, but tight shoulders added to the vintage look. I'm keeping it because style is a bit 1920's at hem which seems very elegant to me. Great Christmas party, cocktail party dress.
Review 13 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nooch
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very flattering!
Date:October 9, 2013
Love the color! Hides every middle-aged-body flaw! So stylish and fun! At only 5'2", the pockets were a tad low, but it made no difference. I received many compliments. :)
Review 14 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
love2lookgood
Location:Chicago Suburb
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
agree
Date:October 6, 2013
Waaay too small in chest, shoulders and arms. Usual size is S. S was too small on top although fine at bottom, which is unusual for my shape. It is usually the other way around. Exchanged for M, which was a little better, but still too small on top. Cute dress, but gave up on it!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCsutomer LiaisonOctober 28, 2013
We have noted that this dress does run small through shoulders and bust. We suggest that you order one size larger than your usual size.
Review 15 for Yoke-Detail A-Line Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RuthR
Gender:Female
Shoulders run very small
Date:October 3, 2013
Love the dress but had to return it due to the chest/ shoulders running VERY small. I ordered the next size up and hope it now not too huge in the skirt. Fun dress. Looks nice
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 28, 2013
Glad to see you took advantage of our freight free exchanges.