Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular

The chicest pants, made of soft velvet with just a hint of stretch. The striking new matchstick silhouette looks chic balanced by an oversized sweater or tucked into a pair of boots. In a delicious winter palette from Snow to Gunmetal, these are ready to go from work to weekend and any holiday party in between. Classic five-pocket styling. Low rise. Cotton/poly/spandex. Imported. Regular inseam: 31" Petite inseam: 29" Rise: Low (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 1283%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Review 1 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TiaLia
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:February 10, 2014
sumptuous velvet feel, a bit less stretch than I'd expected, but overall fabulous!
Review 2 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mikasmom
Location:Brookfield, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice pants
Date:January 17, 2014
Nice fit, TTS, just the right amount of stretch, good length.I have a leg brace and they fit over it nicely. Purchased to wear with the gray over sized turtleneck and they look lovely- another nice GH purchase
Review 3 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MominVermont
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
tighter than expected but I like them
Date:January 4, 2014
I bought my usual size, and these were tighter than I usually wear, but I paired them with a loose top and then a tunic sweater and they really worked. Great for when you want to dress things up a little. Got the dark gray, which is a pretty color.
Review 4 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosco11
Location:Charleston, SC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Awesome pants!!
Date:January 3, 2014
I love these pants! I ordered the wintergreen because that was the only color left when I ordered them. I am 5' 7" and weigh 124 pounds. THe size 4 fits me perfectly. They are a bit pricey but I bought them on sale. The texture is so soft and keep me warm on a cold, wintry day in SC. They look great!!
Review 5 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
topofthehill
Location:Keene, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Waist large
Date:January 2, 2014
The pants were a nice quality material and the legs fit well but the waist (just below the waist) was very large. I wear a 2 or 4 and ordered these in a size 4. I found everything but the waist to fit well. I think the 2 would be too small in the thighs. There's a nice amount of stretch to them as well but they were sent back.
Review 6 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilag
Location:Marblehead, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
velvet pant
Date:November 26, 2013
This pants are great. The velvet is thicker than the previous velvet pants I ordered. They are a bit on the short side but with boots they look fine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ColoradoCasual
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great velvet jeans!
Date:November 25, 2013
The quality of the velvet this year is more substantial than last year's edition -- lovely, rich, and soft. These are slim (not uber skinny) jeans that look super with an oversized sweater or a cashmere turtleneck and short boots. I'm enjoying both the gunmetal and the blue ones ... great weight for chilly fall into winter weather!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MuirBeach
Location:Geyserville, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Not Chic
Date:November 13, 2013
I might have loved these had I not purchased them along with a black oversized sweater they were shown with. The sweater was so extremely linty that it discolored the off white version of these instantly. I am 5' 5" 145 pounds and usually wear a 12, these were very low wasted and quite loose through the hip/ thighs and tight at the calves slim at ankles. The regular length would have been too long, the petite was too short. Fabric is a bit too dense to stuff into a boot as recommended this combined with loose thighs makes them bunch up from the knees to waist if tucked into a boot. If you have the right body type they would probably work nicely outside a boot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 2, 2013
Remember our exchanges are always freight free. If you need assistance please contact us.
Review 9 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janet49
Location:Allentown PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I liked the cords better
Date:November 10, 2013
I ordered these in the same size as the cords which fit me very well, but these were snugger in the waist, and when I compared them to the cords the waistline was almost 2 inches smaller. I wanted the tan color (not available in the cords) so I kept them anyway in the hope that I will lose a few lbs. or the pants will stretch out. Other than the fit I was very pleased with them.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arabel
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Chic, luxurious,well cut pants
Date:November 5, 2013
As described, these pants have a very chic cut. They are true to size, very comfortable, and the fabric is wonderful - luxurious, and neither too thin nor too heavy. I bought the pants in gunmetal (a beautiful medium gray), and after finding how well they fit, I ordered them in poseidon, an unusual but stunning shade of blue. Wearing them with a black cashmere top, I feel quite dressed up. Thank you, GH, for making these pants with a rivet fastener rather than a button! I hope you will continue to offer pants of this specific cut in future seasons.
Review 11 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gretchen11111
Location:seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love
Date:October 8, 2013
Super comfortable, great fit and the snow color is fabulous for fall/winter!
Review 12 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WisWis
Location:Redding,CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Supreme comfort plus chicness
Date:October 8, 2013
These pants have a great fit! There is a very nice amount of stretch and the grey pair has an especially nice sheen. I am 5'4 and hourglass type of figure. The size 8 fits like a glove. Wears well with flats or tucked into boots. It is also a slimming look.