Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular

The chicest pants, made of soft velvet with just a hint of stretch. The striking new matchstick silhouette looks chic balanced by an oversized sweater or tucked into a pair of boots. In a delicious winter palette from Snow to Gunmetal, these are ready to go from work to weekend and any holiday party in between. Classic five-pocket styling. Low rise. Cotton/poly/spandex. Imported. Regular inseam: 31" Petite inseam: 29" Rise: Low (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 1377%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Review 1 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Omilein
Location:Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:May 7, 2014
It was the first time that I sent merchandise back. The fabric was rather stiff and although I always wear size 8 I couldn't even fit into them. Very disappointing.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 8, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. For the best fit, we recommend viewing the actual garment measurements under the Measurements tab. If you ever need help with sizing, give us a call.
Review 2 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TiaLia
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:February 10, 2014
sumptuous velvet feel, a bit less stretch than I'd expected, but overall fabulous!
Review 3 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mikasmom
Location:Brookfield, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice pants
Date:January 17, 2014
Nice fit, TTS, just the right amount of stretch, good length.I have a leg brace and they fit over it nicely. Purchased to wear with the gray over sized turtleneck and they look lovely- another nice GH purchase
Review 4 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MominVermont
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
tighter than expected but I like them
Date:January 4, 2014
I bought my usual size, and these were tighter than I usually wear, but I paired them with a loose top and then a tunic sweater and they really worked. Great for when you want to dress things up a little. Got the dark gray, which is a pretty color.
Review 5 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosco11
Location:Charleston, SC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Awesome pants!!
Date:January 3, 2014
I love these pants! I ordered the wintergreen because that was the only color left when I ordered them. I am 5' 7" and weigh 124 pounds. THe size 4 fits me perfectly. They are a bit pricey but I bought them on sale. The texture is so soft and keep me warm on a cold, wintry day in SC. They look great!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
topofthehill
Location:Keene, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Waist large
Date:January 2, 2014
The pants were a nice quality material and the legs fit well but the waist (just below the waist) was very large. I wear a 2 or 4 and ordered these in a size 4. I found everything but the waist to fit well. I think the 2 would be too small in the thighs. There's a nice amount of stretch to them as well but they were sent back.
Review 7 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilag
Location:Marblehead, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
velvet pant
Date:November 26, 2013
This pants are great. The velvet is thicker than the previous velvet pants I ordered. They are a bit on the short side but with boots they look fine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ColoradoCasual
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great velvet jeans!
Date:November 25, 2013
The quality of the velvet this year is more substantial than last year's edition -- lovely, rich, and soft. These are slim (not uber skinny) jeans that look super with an oversized sweater or a cashmere turtleneck and short boots. I'm enjoying both the gunmetal and the blue ones ... great weight for chilly fall into winter weather!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MuirBeach
Location:Geyserville, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Not Chic
Date:November 13, 2013
I might have loved these had I not purchased them along with a black oversized sweater they were shown with. The sweater was so extremely linty that it discolored the off white version of these instantly. I am 5' 5" 145 pounds and usually wear a 12, these were very low wasted and quite loose through the hip/ thighs and tight at the calves slim at ankles. The regular length would have been too long, the petite was too short. Fabric is a bit too dense to stuff into a boot as recommended this combined with loose thighs makes them bunch up from the knees to waist if tucked into a boot. If you have the right body type they would probably work nicely outside a boot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 2, 2013
Remember our exchanges are always freight free. If you need assistance please contact us.
Review 10 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janet49
Location:Allentown PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I liked the cords better
Date:November 10, 2013
I ordered these in the same size as the cords which fit me very well, but these were snugger in the waist, and when I compared them to the cords the waistline was almost 2 inches smaller. I wanted the tan color (not available in the cords) so I kept them anyway in the hope that I will lose a few lbs. or the pants will stretch out. Other than the fit I was very pleased with them.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arabel
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Chic, luxurious,well cut pants
Date:November 5, 2013
As described, these pants have a very chic cut. They are true to size, very comfortable, and the fabric is wonderful - luxurious, and neither too thin nor too heavy. I bought the pants in gunmetal (a beautiful medium gray), and after finding how well they fit, I ordered them in poseidon, an unusual but stunning shade of blue. Wearing them with a black cashmere top, I feel quite dressed up. Thank you, GH, for making these pants with a rivet fastener rather than a button! I hope you will continue to offer pants of this specific cut in future seasons.
Review 12 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gretchen11111
Location:seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love
Date:October 8, 2013
Super comfortable, great fit and the snow color is fabulous for fall/winter!
Review 13 for Matchstick Velvet Pants - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WisWis
Location:Redding,CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Supreme comfort plus chicness
Date:October 8, 2013
These pants have a great fit! There is a very nice amount of stretch and the grey pair has an especially nice sheen. I am 5'4 and hourglass type of figure. The size 8 fits like a glove. Wears well with flats or tucked into boots. It is also a slimming look.