Product Reviews

Westminster Coat

Super-roomy, double-breasted, drop-shoulder — the retro silhouette of the '80s is made modern with a stylized wide collar and lapels. Oversized enough to top the chunkiest of sweaters. Long sleeves. Front pockets. Three-quarter length. Heavyweight wool/nylon. Poly lining. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
11 of 2055%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Westminster Coat
Review 1 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OverYonderField
Location:East Coast
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
What I wanted -- at sale price
Date:March 13, 2014
Love this coat. I had been looking for a long time for a longer-than-jacket length, nicer-than-jacket appearance coat -- that fit over winter clothing, heavy sweaters included, but didn't dwarf me. I also wanted it to be fairly light-weight. This is it!
But -- I would not have been happy had I paid full price. On sale, such a deal.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Zapatos
Location:Billings
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lost in the coat
Date:March 1, 2014
This is such a lovely coat, a classic. I sized down like the reviews said and the 6 was still huge on me. My husband said I looked liked a lost rag doll in it. I would order the next size down but I am afraid it will be too small to layer with a sweater! I loved the price but this is not flattering on my 5.0ft frame. Now I have to find my receipt in order to return it. What a ley down!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 4, 2014
At Garnet Hill, your satisfaction is guaranteed and we're happy to exchange or accept returns if items do not completely delight you! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 and we'll be happy to assist you with this purchase.
Review 3 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TRose509
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Too Big
Date:February 14, 2014
Coat is nicely made, fabric is a good quality, but it is so big. I have long arms and the sleeves are still too long. The body is really roomy. I would recommend ordering a size down, and only if you are looking for a very loose look.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 17, 2014
Thanks for your note! We do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you ever need assistance with sizing please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 4 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Misty
Location:Brooklyn, New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
happy coat
Date:February 6, 2014
I love this coat. I got the dark brown in my usual size 10. I do not feel the coat is too large, though it is large enough to go over a bulky sweater. It feels like something I've had for years, but it looks neat and stylish. The color is very rich; it is warm without feeling heavy. The length is perfect for me (just under 5'4"), long enough for warmth without being the least bit dowdy. It is sort of wonderful, a coat to feel happy in. I hesitated because of the reviews, but am very glad I ordered it.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boop45
Location:Albany
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Westminster Coat
Date:February 4, 2014
Love this coat! It is a bit itchy in the neck area like others said, but w/ a scarf it's fine.
Lots of room for a sweater underneath which other winter coats don't always have!
I got it in the brown which is a lovely color and the way the back of the neckline sticks up it looks very classy!
Review 6 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crisser
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice coat
Date:February 4, 2014
This is a great basic coat I swooped up on sale. As other reviewers noted, it runs big, but the size 2 was perfect (normally a 4 or 6). It has nice movement and the wool is beautiful and it looks great with a colorful scarf. Not super warm, but great for winter errands.
Review 7 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarieBernadette
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great coat
Date:February 2, 2014
I actually love this coat. I'm almost always a size 8, but based on earlier reviews, I ordered the 4. The fit is good, with enough room to go over work jackets - a requirement for me. I'm a knitter so I handle a lot of wool; I find the quality very good. Since I purchased on sale, the coat is a great value. Thinking about ordering the brown, too!
Review 8 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
linda3
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice car coat, but lighter than expected
Date:January 27, 2014
When this coat went on sale, I decided it was too good a deal to refuse. While it was not as heavy as I thought it would be, for the sale price it will still make a nice car coat, but not a coat for the bone-chilling polar votexes that seem to be plaguing the Mid-Atlantic this year.
Review 9 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Calgal123
Location:Oxnard, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too baggy
Date:January 26, 2014
This coat is advertized as super-roomy. Normally I like this, but it was too baggy for my taste. The fabric was soft and the garment appeared well made, I just did not care for the styling
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 30, 2014
We'll share with our design team a slimmer version would be nice! Let us help with exchange or return.
Review 10 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shopperkay
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wanted to love it
Date:January 24, 2014
I was so looking forward to getting this coat. The fabric is beautiful, though I wouldn't call it heavy weight, and the length and style are spot on. However, the sleeves are way too short--bracelet length on me and I am only 5'6"--which looked really out if proportion with the drop shoulders. Had to got back :(
Review 11 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kalea
Location:Central PA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Not what I expected
Date:January 24, 2014
Warm, but not cozy at all. I have come to expect very lovely materials from Garnet Hill buyers. This was a disappointment.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 27, 2014
We'll make sure our design team sees your comments about materials. Please know you may always exchange or return.
Review 12 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rmac
Location:Chicago,il
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute style
Date:January 24, 2014
. I like this coat. It is a thin wool but roomy enough to layer. The material is quality. The pockets are just for show so be warned. I would recommend it especially at the sale price. Purchased the medium. Iam usually a 12 . The brown color is attractive.
Review 13 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rockteacher
Location:Wyandotte, Mi
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Ok - but....
Date:January 17, 2014
I bought the coat on sale so the value worked for the quality of the coat. The coat is thin, especially for Michigan. Have to say it ran large but I kept it because it fits over my bulky winter sweaters. Would I recommend it to a friend - not without a disclaimer.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 30, 2014
Thanks for your notes! We offer this as a relaxed version of a traditional wool car coat! Great to wear shopping or in and out of stores. If you're looking for warmth a down coat would work better.
Review 14 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PhillyFille
Location:Philadelphia, pa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gray Wool Coat
Date:January 17, 2014
it is as advertised, roomy, drop shoulder but just too boxy for my build —was not flattering on me, think you need to be tall and thin for this cut.
Review 15 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
perfectshopper
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:January 2, 2014
There is no lining around the neck of the coat and the fabric is very scratchy. It is not a quality fabric. Also, the placement of the pockets are strictly for looks. They are placed on the front of the coat not near the sides where you could use them to keep your hands warm if needed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison January 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback — we value the opportunity to learn from it. Please note that your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and we’re happy to accept exchanges and returns.
Review 16 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
annier
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
disappointed
Date:December 3, 2013
As others have noted, this coat runs very large (size 2 swam on me) and seems more dowdy than "retro." I also found the wool very thin, especially for a coat that costs over $250. Oh well, still love Garnet Hill...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suemcsue
Location:Traverse City, MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just what I wanted.
Date:December 1, 2013
You have such a great selection of classic clothing I am never disappointed. This coat really "fills the bill!"
Review 18 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Creedon
Location:Chester County, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic Coat
Date:November 28, 2013
I really enjoy wearing this coat. It reminds of the coats we used to wear before the puffy, quilted ones became popular. I feel well-dressed and warm. I have yet to take advantage of the oversized feature, but will as the weather becomes colder and I "layer up." One of the best features is the length, it covers the hips, a must to stay warm.
Review 19 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chex99
Location:Sioux City, IA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wonderful Go To Coat
Date:November 22, 2013
Ordered this in size 4 and definitely is roomy. Tried the size 2, but went with the 4 because I need a coat that allows me to wear warm clothing underneath in the winter.
Already have enough slim fitting coats--so I have a feeling I will be wearing this one a lot! Retro feel and fun. Warm chocolate color/fabric and quality is excellent.
Review 20 for Westminster Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
QueenofHearts
Location:Portland Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Rich and cozy! Accurate product information.
Date:November 16, 2013
I would normally wear a size 8 in an overcoat; but after reading the style description for this garment; I decided this over-sized, drop-shoulder look was not for my puny shoulders.Still.... I was looking for an unstructured, brown ,wool ,short coat. I read the measurements GH provided carefully; to make sure my size 10 bottom would fit in the size 6; as I REALLY needed to reduce the shoulder drop. I am VERY happy to report that GH did their job well! Those measurements were dead on. The shoulders, for me, are now an acceptable, yet still over-sized width; and I am now the very happy owner of a very cozy coat in a gorgeous, rich shade of brown; which I have worn every day since it arrived!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.