Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Long Puffer Coat

The puffer pretties up. Our down/feather classic has a flattering, feminine silhouette — with ruching at the collar, princess seaming down the front and back, and narrower channels all around. Long sleeves. Two-way zipper with hidden snaps. Front zipper pocket. Detachable hood. Below-knee length. Water-resistant poly/nylon shell with poly taffeta lining. Down/feather fill. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
49 of 5983%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Long Puffer Coat
Review 1 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CJCDC
Location:DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Iffy zipper and too-small pockets
Date:January 8, 2015
I so wanted to love this coat. The shape is great and it is certainly warm. Unfortunately, the zipper is just too difficult to get up or down and the pockets are only about half the size they should be. Only half of my hands fit in them and that is just not workable. :(
Review 2 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JSTVT
Location:Brattleboro, VT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Warm & Pretty--a hard combination to find!
Date:January 8, 2015
A friend sent me to look at this coat when I was searching for one for my sister. It was on sale--and then went on an even better sale, making it a real value!
The coat hugs enough to keep wind from blowing in, although I find a snugger fit would be even warmer in general. I sized up, based on the reviews, and I don't know that it was really necessary.
Blue color is absolutely gorgeous--many compliments from total strangers already! And I'm happily relatively warm in our current cold snap and temperatures of -10 F this morning in Vermont.
I do wish the coat followed other coat manufacturers' ideas of bringing the inside cuff down into a thumb hole, which means that no cold can sneak up at all. I'd also appreciate a larger interior pocket (because I have the larger cell phone and it really doesn't fit).
For the record, my sister in IL is loving her coat, too. It's made her ventures out into -30 and -40 F wind chill temperatures much better, too. And the friend that recommended this company and coat to me also is sorely tempted to get the coat (even though she doesn't really need it)--it was just that pretty in person to her, too!
Review 3 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BerkshireGal
Gender:Female
Awesome!
Date:January 3, 2015
Great color, fit, comfort & warmth. Fashionable & functional!
Review 4 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DerrieAnn
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
NOT true to size
Date:January 2, 2015
I was very disappointed with this purchase. I sized up so that I might wear heavier sweaters with it, and it was very snug, even without a sweater. Not true to size.
Review 5 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scandinavian
Location:Bangor, Maine
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great Look, Great Fit
Date:December 29, 2014
I purchased the coat in the blue. The color is beautiful and the fit is true to size. The coat is very warm, but very lightweight and easy to wear. Met my expectations and was pleased to have purchased it at the sale price.
Review 6 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimmyE
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Coat
Date:December 28, 2014
Nice fit, stylish, and warm. Hard to find a long coat that is not too bulky - this is it! Still gives you some shape. Might be cute with a belt, but doesn't come with one - that would be my only suggestion to make this coat better. I have the black - and love it. Bought one for my 19 yr daughter too, and she loves it too.
Review 7 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jienna
Location:IA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Happy with purchase
Date:December 17, 2014
I love this coat. The blue was different from what I expected, but I love it. It looks really nice on, plus it kept me warm when I went out last night with wind chills in the single digits! Love the length, too. Happy with my new coat.
Review 8 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nylight
Location:new york
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Yes to down coat that slim
Date:December 6, 2014
first i got the pink , didn't like the color but love the fit.
send it back for the beautiful black.
the coat is warm and great looking.
long which is perfect with the G/H cashmere
duster under it, or any other sweater.
down coat without the bulk , very slimming
TTS, i am XS in G/H (S in others), i order SZ 6. i don't see the need to size up
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ajax
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Loved it, but didn't fit
Date:December 5, 2014
This is a lovely coat; the blue is nicer in person - really like it. The quality is nice, and it seems very warm. Alas, it fit great except for too tight in the hips. Darn!
Review 10 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gourmetlover1
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love the coat!
Date:December 5, 2014
This is a great coat and love the lightness of the down. It will be great for walking the dog when it gets really cold.
Review 11 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ambroise
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Excellent
Date:December 5, 2014
I've only had the coat for 2 weeks, but I love it. It's warm, attractive, and fits well. Who could ask for more?
Review 12 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Allie2
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely but too long
Date:December 5, 2014
Loved the coat but it was too long on me. Went below my knees and I wanted it to hit above the knee. I am 5'6". Nice coat but returned it due to length.
Review 13 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sabrinasmom
Location:Southport ct.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
It's a shame
Date:December 1, 2014
Coat is lovely. But too tight in the waist. I am a gh L so I sized ou 3 sizes according to reviews. Why doen't gh makes their clothes affording to their meashering charts lately.? It's very annoying. Will continue to buy from gh as long as the receives jive with your measurements.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 19, 2014
We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 14 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JV54
Location:WI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wish They Were in Stock
Date:November 24, 2014
I ordered this coat, and need a larger size, and it is no longer available. What a drag! It is not bulky, good lines, a hood, two way zipper that is black, everything I wished for but too small. Wish I could order it! Perfect coat.
Review 15 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MiaG
Location:not quite Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice coat!
Date:November 16, 2014
I have been looking for about 2 months for a new casual WARM coat. I am not necessarily a down coat fan but I do really like this one. I got it in the silver which is really a matte light gray but that is ok with me. I have only worn it once but I love the length and weight of the coat. After reading the reviews about the zipper problems, I found that the zipper works well but you have to pay attention to getting it threaded correctly at the start. I think after getting used to it that will not be a problem. I am grateful for the double zipper. Many coats I tried on didn't even have one. That was a must for me for a longer coat. This will be great for the bitter mid west winters. I thought it was pricey but I tend to buy classic coats and wear them for years. I hope this one becomes one of those.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greatgreyowl
Location:Jackson Hole, WY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Warmth With Style
Date:November 8, 2014
I have wanted a long puffer for years and this is the best I have seen!
Review 17 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CapeMaui
Location:Fairfield, CT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
nice but not for me
Date:November 7, 2014
This coat seems well made. I was hoping for a more classic silver but the color was more of a matte grey. I was also hoping for knee length but with me being only 5'1", it came down to my mid calf which is not what I was looking for. Sadly, I had to return it. But the fit is flattering and TTS.
Review 18 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fruitbowl
Location:Manchester, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great coat, terrible zipper
Date:October 21, 2014
Too bad I have to return this coat because I really like it, but the zipper simply does not work properly! Who wants to struggle with the zipper on a winter coat? Otherwise, great lines, good length, loved the matt silvery color. Fits perfectly to size.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 25, 2014
We're sad to hear you had issues with the two-way zipper. We hope when you returned, you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great items.
Review 19 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TulsaShopper
Location:Tulsa, OK
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Loved the coat but not the color
Date:October 9, 2014
I saw this coat in the Garnet Hill catalog and knew that I had to have it. It was exactly what I wanted - a long silver puffer coat. I am 5'6" and 123 pounds. I ordered the size 6 after reading reviews about it running small. The 6 fit just fine, but the 4 might have looked better since I'm pretty small and have narrow shoulders. It is a pricy item, but the quality did seem very good, although I did not ever wear it out in cold weather. Overall, I loved everything about it except the color. In the picture, it appears a very classy silver but in reality it is more of a flat gray color - which is fine if that is what you want. Unfortunately, I decided to return it since it was expensive and wasn't exactly what I was looking for.
Review 20 for Long Puffer Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKinVB13
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Flattering Lines
Date:October 9, 2014
I just purchased the coat so have not had an opportunity to wear it. However, the fit is very flattering when zipped. The pockets are placed in vertical seams so almost invisible when zipped. I like the fact that the hood is detachable as normally I will use without the hood.
I got black as I was wanting a more dressy look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>