Product Reviews

Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer

FROM VELVET BY GRAHAM & SPENCER FOR GARNET HILL From Velvet by Graham & Spencer for Garnet Hill. Bare your sun-kissed shoulders in Velvet's tank dress. Fitted through the bodice, with pretty shirring along the V-neckline and a flattering, slightly A-line skirt. Above-knee length. Cotton with a hint of spandex. Imported/USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 of 757%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Review 1 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arwen
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
wrong for me
Date:July 17, 2014
This dress was well made and true to size. It would probably be great for someone else, but I have strong shoulders and this was one of those pieces that makes me look like a football player. If you also have this issue, you know just what I'm talking about =)
Review 2 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stylishnottrendy
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
split-personality dress
Date:March 20, 2014
I got this because I love Velvet's fabrics & drape, & it was a great price on sale. I'm also an A cup, & figured the smaller bust portion would fit well. It did -- but the rest of the dress was like a tent. It flared out in an A-line that made me feel like either Twiggy or a 5-year-old. If you have full hips, it may be great for you -- it wasn't for me.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 24, 2014
We're sorry to hear this dress did not work for you. We hope you take advantage of our freight free exchanges, when you return the dress, to try one of our other great dresses.
Review 3 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ttmarie
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great travel dress
Date:July 7, 2013
I bought this dress for a trip and I was not disappointed. It travels well. It can be casual with flat sandals or dressed up with heels. It drapes nicely and is quite flattering. The only drawback is it may be a bit overpriced, but I intend to get every dollar out of it!
Review 4 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stonehengehorse
Location:Altadena, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not Fantastic but nice
Date:June 6, 2013
I took note that someone said it ran small so I got a size up and quite frankly the fit was perfect. I found that the runching did not quite make it below the bust but almost and it didn't make it look odd. I've never had real Velvet so can't compare fabric but all I can say is that the cotton is of decent quality and dress is lined which adds to the weight and quality of the overall dress. Perhaps all the talk of the fabric made me hope it was a little better so therefore I feel it is a little overpriced. It had a nice fit for a gal who has some curves. It skimmed my body and it in no way just hung there.
Review 5 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sophie4456
Location:chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
perfect little black dress
Date:May 25, 2013
Perfect cut for a curvy body. Slim silhouette, body conscious but not too tight due to bias cut and very slight a-line. Shirring very pretty. Velvet always uses the best fabric with just enough give that doesn't stretch out. Great dressed up or casual, and good for packing.
Review 6 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amy81
Location:Sag Harbor, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute summer/beach dress
Date:March 29, 2013
Fit/Sizing: I have other Velvet items (not GH just regular Velvet) and I wear a small, after reviewing the sizing guidelines and speaking with a GH customer service rep, it was clear that this dress runs smaller than regular Velvet items. The bust on the small is a 28 1/2, so I ordered up to a medium, the fit is very similar to the image shown, it is not super tight but it no way does it hang. I was concerned that the shirring at the bust would be askew based on the size but the shirring comes to the bottom of the bust. The dress is a little bit more empire just based on the bust seam but doesn't really flare out at all. I paired the dress with a braided belt at my natural waist to give it a little bit more definition and color pop.
Quality: For the cost of the dress vs. what it will be used for it, it's priced too high (I used a coupon so it wasn't so bad). I would not pay full price for the dress. The fabric seems comparable to my other velvet items but really what are you going to wear this for? A casual summer day? Beach vacation? So for the dollar amount charged, it's over priced.
I purchased the grey color which is very much a charcoal, the image on the internet looks more light grey, it's darker in person.
I think with the right accessories, this could be a really cute dress, alone, it's just sort of plain...
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sabrina Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BlueGirlRedState
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Velvet for GH is NOT the same!
Date:March 28, 2013
I have a version of this dress from last season that I love. It wasn't Velvet for Garnet Hill. It was Velvet. I was really excited to see this dress because they sold out of last year's dress in black before I could buy it. Fabric quality is fairly comparable, but Velvet for GH lacks some of the details that really make the fit of true Velvet tees & dresses incomparable.
The top of this dress is just odd. It was like an empire waist where the top didn't fully come down below my bust. Last year's Velvet dress had a top that fit perfectly, and all the ruching was artfully placed. I also ordered my usual Velvet size, and instead of just beautifully skimming my body like most Velvet, this dress hangs like a sack! It's going back to GH just as soon as I can get it back in the package!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.