Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Messenger Bag

A popular backpack alternative, our Messenger Bag has a large main compartment with plenty of room for school supplies (or clothes for sports or sleepovers). Imported. Organizer insert for pencils and lunch money Front slit pocket Adjustable front straps Long adjustable shoulder strap with sliding shoulder pad Top handle with foam center Rugged, easy-to-clean 600-denier fabric Double-strength 1200-denier fabric bottom, durable nylon lining, side pockets with grommet vents, and clear hardware 360-degree reflective PVC-free Size: 11 1/2" H x 14" W x 5" D WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD—Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs. To monogram a name with more than one capital letter, such as McMillan, please contact Customer Service at 800.870.3513. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18100%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Messenger Bag
Review 1 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvadealmom
Location:houston, tx
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
durable bag for your very active girl
Date:July 16, 2014
I bought my first backpack from here for my 8 year old 2 years ago and it lasted for 2 school years and camp and sleep overs and road trips! My daughter is rough with her everything including shoes, jeans (which get holes in them all the time) books, you name it. This backpack has seen her through it all unscathed. I have literally seen her dragging it across the gym floor as if it had wheels and the fabric still holds up. All I do is throw it in the wash when it looks a little grubby and voila, it comes out good as new, same with the lunch kit. All I can say is, if this backpack can survive my daughter and live to tell about it, then you have indeed made an awesome product. We could actually take it one more round into 4th grade but she wants a new look.
Review 2 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMTCS
Year after year
Date:May 29, 2014
We come back to Garnet Hill every year to order our back to school basics! My girls love the messenger bags, backpacks, sports bags and lunch boxes. Great designs and sturdy. They are still young enough to love their names on items too! We do buy a new ones every year because they get dirty but you could use them more than one yr.
Review 3 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maverick
Location:Saratoga NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Daughter LOVES it!
Date:April 14, 2014
It is the perfect size for my 8 year old. It holds everything she needs, including water bottle on the side, its smaller than an adult sized messenger bag so this is perfect. It is much cuter in person and my horse crazy daughter loves loves loves it!
Review 4 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanax2
Location:Lucama, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love Love the Book bags/Satchels
Date:January 21, 2014
Love, love, love this book bag. I purchased the satchel in the ponies for my 8 yr. old niece and the book bag and lunch box in the butterflies for my 4 yr. old granddaughter. They are very durable and pretty. On-line does not do these bags justice. It is worth every penny. The ponies are my favorite. I highly recommend Garnet Hill. They are worth every penny.
Review 5 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NatMomofKat
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Bag for Scrapbooking & Organizing Everything
Date:January 14, 2014
Love the messenger bag! My daughter wore it all day after receiving it for Christmas. She put all her American Girl Scrapbooking stickers and stuff in it.
Review 6 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
momo3kiddos
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Little Disappointed
Date:December 1, 2013
LOVE the messenger bag, perfect size for my 7 year old daughter. I was disappointed that, after having to wait a month (it was on backorder) it came with a thread run in the strap. A very NOTICABLE run, that was signed off on by 5 different people (initials on packing slip). The bag is beautiful, but check it thoroughly when you receive it.
Review 7 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CampusMom
Location:Burlington, VT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great alternative to a backpack!
Date:September 10, 2013
My niece is in 5th grade and this bag was just the fashion accessory to make her stand out this year! It's very unique, and the patterns are colorful and fun. She chose the ponies and loves it! Seems to be holding up well, too. I love GH designs -- they are always the most unique ones around.
Review 8 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caraboo
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute Messenger Bag!
Date:August 29, 2013
My 10 year old fashionista had to have this for 5th grade as appearances are everything... She loves it!
Seems very sturdy-- I just hope she doesn't have a problem wearing it while riding her bike to and from school...
Review 9 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Espo
Location:New Milford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Comfortable and Colorful
Date:August 29, 2013
My daughter used this backpack for two years In a row. The messenger bag style is better for their backs, no matter how many things are stuffed inside! Plus, she never tired of the colorful design. We've had a couple of backpacks from Garnet Hill, as well as other companies. This is our favorite by far.
Review 10 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AMcKibbin
Location:Lexington,KY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute, but beware if your child is petite
Date:August 28, 2013
This bag is very cute and the quality is great, BUT if you are ordering this for a young or petite child be careful. My daughter is petite for her age (50 inches) and the bag is a little too much for her to handle - even when you make the strap as short as it will go. Despite the issue with the size she loves it and overall it's a great bag so far.
Review 11 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whitter
Location:Tuscumbia, AL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very sturdy, well made
Date:August 26, 2013
I was very pleased with the quality of this messenger bag. I ordered it for my 2nd grader who really didn't want a traditional back pack. While I do miss the roominess of a traditional backpack (for tennis shoes, etc), I'm impressed with the number of pockets and overall size. I do wish there were a clip/latch for her lunch pack like on a tradition backpack since she is using this as a school bag but we just clip it to the side. Colors are just as true as they appear on the screen. Very pleased.
Review 12 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Murray
Location:New Haven, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Haven't used it yet
Date:August 24, 2013
Everything looks great about the messenger bag. Our school days haven't started yet so I would wait to rate it a 5 star, especially on quality. Let's see if it makes the entire year. My daughter loves it as a change of pace from the backpack.
Review 13 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jschick
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Daughter Loves the Messenger Bag
Date:August 24, 2013
We bought a messenger bag from GH last year and it was great (really could use it this year too). It held up the entire year - so I expect the same with this one. The colors of the pink striped one are great and my daughter loves it. My only complaint is that the promo of the free lunchbox never includes the messenger bags and I wish some of the other designs that are used with the other backpacks were used for the messenger bags (more to choose from).
Review 14 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baby2
Gender:Female
Love this Bag!
Date:August 19, 2013
Great quality and bright colors. My 1st grader loves it! We added initials to front flap. So cute!
Review 15 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
st042702
Love it....but....
Date:August 19, 2013
This messenger bag was exactly what we were looking for. My daughter wanted something more grown up instead of a backpack this year and we struggled to find something that was just right. She absolutely LOVES it and so did I until we started trying to put anything in it. It is very small on the inside and holds a 2 inch binder and not much else. Anything else will have to be squeezed in. We are going to try it and see how it goes as today was our her first day of school It is beautiful and she is happy....so we will see!
Review 16 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gadge
Location:Lake Elsinore, Ca.
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Adorable AND sturdy bag
Date:August 13, 2013
2 years ago, I purchased the pony print backpack for my kindergartener. She used it for 2 years. She probably could've kept using it, but she wanted a messenger bag instead. So we got this with the new pony print. I love the print, and I love the new reinforcements throughout the bag. VERY cute. Customer service VERY helpful, so glad I called in, instead of placing order online. She suggested a dark purple for monogramming that wasn't online. My daughter loves her new messenger. Perfect size, not as huge as adult bags.
Review 17 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cirera
Location:Downingtown ,PA
Love it!
Date:July 23, 2013
Love the quality and patterns.
Fast and easy service.
Always have a great selection and always stocked.
Review 18 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamaof3girls
Location:Wild, wild Westchester, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great back pack alternative
Date:July 18, 2013
My eldest daughter wanted something other than a back pack and was thrilled that GH now offers these. She loved her previous GH back packs and so do her sisters. Got it monogrammed and as soon as it arrived, the baby, now 7, tried to poach it from her. Very, very happy with it and expect it to last a long time too! Thank you!!