Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Messenger Bag

A popular backpack alternative, our Messenger Bag has a large main compartment with plenty of room for school supplies (or clothes for sports or sleepovers). Organizer insert for pencils and lunch money Front slit pocket Adjustable front straps Long adjustable shoulder strap with sliding shoulder pad Top handle with foam center Rugged, easy-to-clean 600-denier fabric Double-strength 1200-denier fabric bottom, durable nylon lining and side pockets with grommet vents 360-degree reflective features for safety PVC-free Imported Size: 11 1/2" H x 14" W x 5" D WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD—Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 2796%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Messenger Bag
Review 1 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennieN4
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love It!!!
Date:July 31, 2015
We choose the bag with horses. My daughter loves it and has taken it everywhere.
Review 2 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2Belles
Location:Naperville, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute but didn't hold up
Date:July 10, 2015
I'm on the site this summer looking for a new backpack and just realized it's because this bag did not last. My 3rd grader wanted this bag last year and it's adorable. The canvas held up very well, but the cheap plastic clips didn't even last the school year - they broke back in March!
Not sure I'll be purchasing this item again, but it's a shame such a well-made cute item has poor quality clasps. My daughter isn't rough with her items and the rest of the bag is fine.
Review 3 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cameronu
Location:wake forest, nc
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
messenger bag
Date:June 30, 2015
We have always purchased garnet hill backpacks/lunch boxes for school, but this time we chose the messenger bag. Poor quality on the plastic clear clips. My daughter is not rough on her stuff and the clips on both sides have broken off in one school year. Disappointed!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 7, 2015
We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you, to see if we can assist in reaching a resolution.
Review 4 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reagan
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great quality! Adorable!
Date:September 2, 2014
Garnet Hill backpacks and messenger bags are the absolute best! We have purchased them year after year, but they hold up so well that you don't really need to buy a new one every year! We like the matching lunch bags and especially that they can clip on... so no more forgetting your lunch bag!
Review 5 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommmyof1
Location:california
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Awesome sauce
Date:August 21, 2014
This is the best i actually bought it to use it as a diaper bag! My baby girls theme is cupcakes and its so hard to find it anywhere! this came highly reccomended by a coworker! its a excellent product with excellent space.
Review 6 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheermom14
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice
Date:August 20, 2014
Very nice bag and vibrant colors. We had the back pak last year, this is a very durable product. So durable that I sold it for someone to use this year. Love these bags.
Review 7 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmann
Date:August 17, 2014
Super cute and roomy too! My daughter loves the pockets and places for pencils/water bottle/snack.
Review 8 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladybugg
Location:Scott, AR
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
M. Dean
Date:August 13, 2014
This was my first purchase. Very cute and stylish. My daughter can not wait to carry her back pack and matching lunch box to school. I am very well pleased
Review 9 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chrissy0677
Location:Amesbury, Ma
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cutest Messenger
Date:July 24, 2014
Perfect fit for my 7 yr old. She loved it! Thank You
Review 10 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvadealmom
Location:houston, tx
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
durable bag for your very active girl
Date:July 16, 2014
I bought my first backpack from here for my 8 year old 2 years ago and it lasted for 2 school years and camp and sleep overs and road trips! My daughter is rough with her everything including shoes, jeans (which get holes in them all the time) books, you name it. This backpack has seen her through it all unscathed. I have literally seen her dragging it across the gym floor as if it had wheels and the fabric still holds up. All I do is throw it in the wash when it looks a little grubby and voila, it comes out good as new, same with the lunch kit. All I can say is, if this backpack can survive my daughter and live to tell about it, then you have indeed made an awesome product. We could actually take it one more round into 4th grade but she wants a new look.
Review 11 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMTCS
Year after year
Date:May 29, 2014
We come back to Garnet Hill every year to order our back to school basics! My girls love the messenger bags, backpacks, sports bags and lunch boxes. Great designs and sturdy. They are still young enough to love their names on items too! We do buy a new ones every year because they get dirty but you could use them more than one yr.
Review 12 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maverick
Location:Saratoga NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Daughter LOVES it!
Date:April 14, 2014
It is the perfect size for my 8 year old. It holds everything she needs, including water bottle on the side, its smaller than an adult sized messenger bag so this is perfect. It is much cuter in person and my horse crazy daughter loves loves loves it!
Review 13 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanax2
Location:Lucama, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love Love the Book bags/Satchels
Date:January 21, 2014
Love, love, love this book bag. I purchased the satchel in the ponies for my 8 yr. old niece and the book bag and lunch box in the butterflies for my 4 yr. old granddaughter. They are very durable and pretty. On-line does not do these bags justice. It is worth every penny. The ponies are my favorite. I highly recommend Garnet Hill. They are worth every penny.
Review 14 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NatMomofKat
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Bag for Scrapbooking & Organizing Everything
Date:January 14, 2014
Love the messenger bag! My daughter wore it all day after receiving it for Christmas. She put all her American Girl Scrapbooking stickers and stuff in it.
Review 15 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
momo3kiddos
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Little Disappointed
Date:December 1, 2013
LOVE the messenger bag, perfect size for my 7 year old daughter. I was disappointed that, after having to wait a month (it was on backorder) it came with a thread run in the strap. A very NOTICABLE run, that was signed off on by 5 different people (initials on packing slip). The bag is beautiful, but check it thoroughly when you receive it.
Review 16 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CampusMom
Location:Burlington, VT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great alternative to a backpack!
Date:September 10, 2013
My niece is in 5th grade and this bag was just the fashion accessory to make her stand out this year! It's very unique, and the patterns are colorful and fun. She chose the ponies and loves it! Seems to be holding up well, too. I love GH designs -- they are always the most unique ones around.
Review 17 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caraboo
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute Messenger Bag!
Date:August 29, 2013
My 10 year old fashionista had to have this for 5th grade as appearances are everything... She loves it!
Seems very sturdy-- I just hope she doesn't have a problem wearing it while riding her bike to and from school...
Review 18 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Espo
Location:New Milford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Comfortable and Colorful
Date:August 29, 2013
My daughter used this backpack for two years In a row. The messenger bag style is better for their backs, no matter how many things are stuffed inside! Plus, she never tired of the colorful design. We've had a couple of backpacks from Garnet Hill, as well as other companies. This is our favorite by far.
Review 19 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AMcKibbin
Location:Lexington,KY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute, but beware if your child is petite
Date:August 28, 2013
This bag is very cute and the quality is great, BUT if you are ordering this for a young or petite child be careful. My daughter is petite for her age (50 inches) and the bag is a little too much for her to handle - even when you make the strap as short as it will go. Despite the issue with the size she loves it and overall it's a great bag so far.
Review 20 for Messenger Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whitter
Location:Tuscumbia, AL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very sturdy, well made
Date:August 26, 2013
I was very pleased with the quality of this messenger bag. I ordered it for my 2nd grader who really didn't want a traditional back pack. While I do miss the roominess of a traditional backpack (for tennis shoes, etc), I'm impressed with the number of pockets and overall size. I do wish there were a clip/latch for her lunch pack like on a tradition backpack since she is using this as a school bag but we just clip it to the side. Colors are just as true as they appear on the screen. Very pleased.
1 2 next>>