Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Backpack

Designed for kids age 7 and up, our beloved backpack is a customer favorite for its durability, comfortable fit, and roomy, kid-friendly design. Imported. Ergonomically designed for kids Easy attachment loop for our Lunch Pack Built-in organizer iPod/MP3-player holder and port Fits a 4" binder in one of its two zippered compartments Side pockets with grommet vents Top handle with foam center Adjustable padded shoulder straps and padded back panel Sturdy YKK zippers Clear hardware 360-degree reflective Rugged, easy-to-clean 600-denier fabric Double-strength 1200-denier fabric bottom Durable nylon lining PVC-free Size: 18" H x 12 1/2" W x 5" D WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD—Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs. To monogram a name with more than one capital letter, such as McMillan, please contact Customer Service at 800.870.3513. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
134 of 14096%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Backpack
Review 1 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sullpa
Great product
Date:March 26, 2015
Great value for the backpack and very durable. Love the different color options.
Review 2 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nkvt
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
great backback
Date:March 21, 2015
we have several garnet hill backpacks and they are a great size for younger kids, and they hold up well. The colors stay bright and make the backpack easy to pick out in a pile!
Review 3 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimCam
Location:La Canada CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Tough and Cute!
Date:March 18, 2015
We purchased this backpack and lunchbox back in August, and it has survived almost a whole year of kindergarten. Still looks great.. Simple to keep clean and my daughter loves the design.
Review 4 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neddy
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Girls backpacks
Date:March 18, 2015
Garnet Hill backpacks are sturdy, colorful, and a real winner with my grandchildren. I purchased five for my granddaughters and they are all thrilled with them. The outside pockets are perfect for a water bottle and girl treasures and the inside pockets are perfect for organizing items. One granddaughter uses hers for swim team because the inside does not allow the dampness through to the other compartment. She is still using her horse backpack I got her a couple years ago for school. I have been shopping Garnet Hill for years and have never had to return an item. Kudos for keeping up great quality. Love the cotton bedding too!!
Review 5 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennyMo
Great Backpack!
Date:March 18, 2015
We have two backpacks, one for each kid, and have absolutely loved them! They have held up well and we have been using them for over 2 years. I highly recommend them for preschool, school or even a diaper bag!
Review 6 for Backpack
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
casiegrl
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Didn't last a school year
Date:March 2, 2015
I'm so disappointed. My 5th grade son made it to Christmas with his backpack and the strap is ripped halfway off. It did not hold up. It's not overstuffed either since they don't carry textbooks. I keep hoping it will hang in there till school ends, so I don't have to buy another yet. It's embarrassing, though, walking around with a ratty backpack. Actually, the rest looks fine, it's just the strap(s).
Review 7 for Backpack
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spartanmom
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointed
Date:February 18, 2015
I purchased this with the lunch box in fall of 2013. I hoped it would last two years. I just had to order a new backpack for my daughter. The lunch box buckle broke at the end of December and the back pack has many signs of wear, it tore on the straps. The zipper has held up great. As a teacher I know that is normally the first thing to go, but it seems everything but the zipper seems to be falling apart on this bag. My daughter does love the pattern.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 25, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your disappointment but glad to see a Customer Care Specialist has reached out to offer assistance with your purchase.
Review 8 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabsM
Location:Lake Tahoe summer
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Practical and Fun
Date:February 16, 2015
Got this as a Sale of the Day...very inexpensive, and seemed as a fun
pack to have as an "extra"...for use
with grandkids for picnics, etc. Well,
when it came, my 9 year old granddaughter
was with me, and claimed it...thought it
was great. It has lots of storage space,
light weight and super fun print...Great value at sale price!
Review 9 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpg21
Location:San Angelo, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Crazy cute and durable!
Date:January 15, 2015
This backpack has to be the best backpack I have ever purchased! This one is thick; durable; great pockets and tuck-aways; and the straps are amazing for little shoulders! You must get the matching lunch bag as well! They hold up so great... no squished sandwiches! :)
Very happy mom and 1st grader!
Review 10 for Backpack
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ohiomommy
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Disappointed
Date:January 9, 2015
I am surprised at the amount of good reviews for this backpack. I must have just had very bad luck with not only one but two.
I ordered the horse backpack for my daughter for the 2014-2015 school year and after 2 weeks of using it the chest clip kept falling off of the bag. My daughter uses this a lot to keep the bag on her shoulders correctly. So after reattaching multiple times with no luck of it staying I emailed Garnet Hill and they exchanged for a new one. We have had the second one for approximately two and a half months and the chest clip has actually broken off. One of the three prongs that snaps in broke off.
Very disappointed to say the least and we will be looking elsewhere for a new backpack come fall of 2015.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 14, 2015
We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with your backpack. We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you.
Review 11 for Backpack
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MCD1
Location:Boston, MA
Disappointed
Date:December 17, 2014
I love the lunchboxes; we used the same one for 2.5 years, so I tried this backpack for my daughter entering kindergarten knowing it would be big (it was) but hoping it would last a couple years. She started using it in September and so far, 3 months later, the chest clip has broken (making it unusable without repair because I knowingly bought a pack that is large for her), and the stitching where the arms attach to the pack is coming apart. I am very surprised considering the other reviews and my own past experience with GH--very positive. I hope to replace the chest buckle, although with how this is constructed, it will be difficult (one side is sewn in, and not sure my handiwork will be able to get through the nylon strap).
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJanuary 15, 2015
Thank you for speaking to us regarding this issue, we're glad to hear that you were able to fix the backpack strap. If you need any further assistance please know we are here to help.
Review 12 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeDee1108
Location:Greenville, MS
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Very pleased with purchase
Date:September 25, 2014
Bought the backpack and received the lunch pack free.... Really nice. Seems to be a quality item. Really cute.
Review 13 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kidsstuff
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Awesome
Date:September 20, 2014
These backpacks last through numerous washings and kid tough for a couple years. Absolutely worth the money!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Backpack
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BeadMom
Location:Phila burbs
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute and Strong Back Pack and Lunch Bag
Date:September 18, 2014
My kids and I love the back pack patterns. Both kids used them for two years before choosing new patterns for this school year. I pack lunches every day for my 9 &7 yr old dues to allergies. We all love the new attachment system- much easier. The lunch bags are easy to wipe clean and big enough for a small thermos. My only issue is that the seam on one of the lunch bag handles is coming undone (in use for 2wks). I am sure GH will send me a new one, though.
Review 15 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Debita
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
I love it
Date:September 13, 2014
My daughter loves the pony prints and the quality is remarkable I'm very pleased
Review 16 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SDMOMOF2
Location:South Dakota
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great backpack
Date:September 5, 2014
Love this back pack, the colors/graphics are bold. The material is strong, easily cleaned. Very impressed with our purchase. We always seem to have trouble with zippers on our backpacks, not this time-great quality.
Review 17 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danidouds
Love
Date:September 4, 2014
Daughter loves this, lots of compliments. Holds everything she needs and more. This should last us a while!
Review 18 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TXmomX3
Location:TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Date:September 3, 2014
Love this back pack. Great pattern with bright colors. Very sturdy, good quality , material, fits my 5 yr. old very well, and he loves the organizer pocket.
Review 19 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenJo
Location:MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Get this one!
Date:September 2, 2014
LOVE this backpack and lunch pack set! I debated about this and the JR size for a week for my daughter going into kindergarten. I compared the measurements to backpacks in stores and second guessed myself, thinking I had gotten one too large. Not the case, and I am so happy I decided on this one. It is THE perfect size for even a petite 5 year old. Room to grow without being too large. The adorable pony pattern cannot be beat. It is the cutest! I'm very happy with this purchase (minus being one letter too long to personalize - boo!), and my daughter was so excited about it. You cannot go wrong with this. Get it! And the matching boots!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momtotwoblessings
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Awesome Backpack!
Date:September 2, 2014
My second grader loves her new backpack. We really like how big the inside is as she can easily fit folders, books, lunchbox and papers without anything getting squished. The pockets on the outside fit her water bottle perfectly and are very sturdy. Very satisfied with product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>