Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack

Designed for kids age 7 and up, our beloved backpack now has even more to love (thanks to your feedback!). Double-strength 1200-denier fabric bottom, sturdy YKK zippers, durable nylon lining, side pockets with grommet vents, clear hardware and a kid-friendly attachment loop for our Lunch Pack. And it's roomier too, with space for a 4" binder in one of its two zippered compartments. Ergonomically designed for kids, with adjustable padded shoulder straps and padded back panel. Built-in organizer. Top handle with foam center. 360-degree reflective. PVC-free. Rugged, easy-to-clean 600-denier fabric. Imported. Size: 18" H x 12 1/2" W x 5" D WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD—Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs. MONOGRAMMING is available for this item. To monogram a name with more than one capital letter, such as McMillan, please contact Customer Service at 800.870.3513. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
86 of 8898%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TiggerMom
Location:Kansas City, MO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointed...
Date:November 3, 2013
I was initially impressed with the quality of the backpack. Unfortunately within a couple of months the straps started to separate from the backpack at the top. I attempted to exchange it and they no longer carried the backpack (they had small quantities of the pony and butterfly). I am really disappointed to have to purchase another backpack before the first semester ends when I paid more for a better quality backpack.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tracy828
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointed in the quality
Date:October 25, 2013
I've always found the quality and design of the GH backpacks to be much better than the rest but sadly not this year. We finally replaced my sons backpack he'd had since kindergarten, which lasted him 3 years, but this new one hasn't even lasted 2 months! There's fraying from the seams along the front of the straps exposing the padding beneath and stitching is separating from where the straps meet the back of the pack. I just don't understand how this could happen so quickly. Perhaps ours just happened to have poor stitching but I also feel the fabric seems less durable this year.
Also miss the inner folder section, which was a perfect place for storing homework.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chelseab
Location:Denver
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great backpacks!
Date:October 1, 2013
This is my second set of backpacks for my two kids; they outgrew the jr. backpacks after a few years of wearing them. The backpacks are very durable for everyday use, fun colors & designs, and my kids love them. Lots of pockets and sleeves in just the right places for them.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josie4
Location:Grand Haven, Mi.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wish I'd had one!
Date:September 22, 2013
Purchased the full size Pony Up last year and the 2013/2014 school year order included one full size backpack in the Butterfly print and two backpack juniors, one in Rocket and the other, Pony Up print. They are well constructed, richly colored, and very durable. Love the coordinating lunch bags.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stphint
Location:Leawood Kansas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Always durable!
Date:September 10, 2013
This was our 2nd year buying our daughters backpack. The first one she used all school year and then again all through summer camp where it was dragged, dropped, and tossed. It could have been used again for this school year but she wanted a new style. I love the durability. We wash it in the washer with a load of towels to clean it up every once in a while and it looks brand new again.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sugarpoprock
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Perfect back to school backpack
Date:September 10, 2013
Awesome backpack. Sturdy and large enough to carry everything my child needs on a daily basis. The colors and pony print are bold and eye catching. Great purchase!
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WendyB3121
Location:Decatur, AL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
The Perfect Backpack
Date:September 10, 2013
Not only is this backpack adorable, it is very well made. Perfect for a first grader and for any elementary school age child. Lots of space, two side pockets for water bottles, and organizational spaces inside. Love, Love, Love this backpack!!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PHKsMom
Location:Richmond,VA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute Backpack
Date:September 8, 2013
We are very pleased with this purchase. The backpack is perfect for our Kindergartener and is a good size for any Elementary student. We look forward to more purchases from Garnet Hill!
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreenAcres
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great backpack
Date:September 8, 2013
These are well made and long lasting. My son had his for years and my daughter used the same one for K-2nd grade. Hers doesn't need to be replaced yet but she is obsessed with horses so I just bought another one with the horse pattern to replace her purple leopard print one. We use the old backpacks for overnight bags, they still look great.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anelsia
Location:Fairburn Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Best Backpack Ever.
Date:September 8, 2013
My daughter loves this back pack and so do I. Perfcet size and the clip in the front makes all the difference so it does not fall off her shoulders. She wanted the one with peace signs but it was sold out very happy with our selection.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aglita
very nice
Date:September 6, 2013
nice and cute my daughter loved it. shes 6 and it fits her perfectly.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marme1
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
A Terrific Buy
Date:September 5, 2013
I purchased the Pony Up bookbag for my granddaughter when she entered kindergarten. She just began the 4th grade a couple of days ago. I asked her if she needed a new bookbag and got a resounding "NO, My bookbag is still perfect". The lunchbox was an added incentive as it was included in the price. I am hysterically pleased that I have not needed to purchase another bookbag for all of this time and could concentrate on the clothing Garnet Hill has instead. Makes this grandmother verrrrry pleased with Garnet Hill as I teach and half way through the school year several of my students have to purchase a new bookbag because of faulty workmanship, I tell them to order from Garnet Hill.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scriberson
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Wonderful
Date:September 5, 2013
My kids only get backpacks every other year and my daughter started 2nd grade with this last year. After a year of school, then being dragged around all summer to various camps/trips/etc., one wash and it looks brand new for the start of 3rd grade. Amazing quality!
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GreekMomNJ
Location:Millburn, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Kids' Backpack
Date:September 3, 2013
I've been purchasing backpacks from GH for 3 years now. You can't beat the patterns! My daughter had the Jr. in K-1 and now we upgraded to the regular size due to the homework load.
The regular backpack has no extra inner compartment which I found not practical because she is going to carry home several folders and books.
I miss the two rings for the lunchbox, too.
I plan to keep it for the next 2 years, and hopefully it will last that long. Overall good value, especially with the free matching lunchbox offer.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
luppy
Location:MO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:September 3, 2013
Great product ....perfect size for first backpack. Fits my daughter perfect and is made very well. Big enough to hold papers and folders but not too big that it overpowers.
Very happy and super cute!
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaniB
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love at first "site!"
Date:September 3, 2013
I searched cute backpacks and garnet hill site appeared. My girls immediately said "I WANT THAT!" and so it was. We bought both the peace and the sketch dot bags and my girls couldn't be happier with the look. Momma was happy with both the price and the space inside the packs. Perfect for school plus dance gear. :)
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomTo5Boys
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
We love this backpack!
Date:September 2, 2013
I purchased a backpack for my son going into kindergarten 3 years ago and he is still using it! I purchased another for another son going into kindergarten this year! Great purchase! Holds up great to boys and years of use! Love the bright patterns and monogramming available! Will buy again for my next son when he goes into kindergarten!
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HappyMamma
Location:Lewisburg, PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Awesome
Date:September 1, 2013
My daughter was not very excited to start Kindergarten until this backpack with horses on it came in the mail. She loves it so much! It is very well made and looks great!
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
runbuddy
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Daughter loves it!
Date:September 1, 2013
My daughter loves this backpack. She loves the design and I love the quality. Exactly what I would expect from Garnet Hill.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Kids' Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Best Backpack Ever
Date:September 1, 2013
I buy both of my kids a Garnet Hill backpack every year for the new school year! I love how tough and reliable they are. My husband appreciates having the reflective stripe to keep them safe in the early mornings and late afternoons! My fav part is personalizing them with my kids' names. We will continue to purchase these backpacks every year! Thank you Garnet Hill!
1 2 3 4 5 next>>