Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Backpack

Made to be durable, comfortable, and kid-friendly, our backpack in exclusive, original patterns is ergonomically designed and full of the features that parents want and kids love. Designed for age 7 and up. Two zippered compartments, one with a large interior pocket (back by popular demand) Built-in organizer Fits a 4" binder iPod/MP3-player holder and port Kid-friendly Lunch Pack attachment loop Side pockets with grommet vents Adjustable padded shoulder straps; padded back panel and top handle Sliding sternum strap Sturdy YKK zippers 360-degree reflective features for safety Rugged, easy-to-clean 600-denier fabric; double-strength 1200-denier fabric bottom Durable nylon lining PVC-free Imported Size: 18" H x 12 1/2" W x 5" D WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD—Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs. To monogram a name with more than one capital letter, such as McMillan, please contact Customer Service at 800.870.3513. Monogramming is only available on orders shipping within the U.S.
Average Customer Rating:
4.668 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (178 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
2
167 of 17894%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Backpack
Review 1 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect gift for a school age girl!
Date:December 19, 2015
Such a happy design for a backpack. It's perfect to travel with.
Review 2 for Backpack
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Fabric, Size = Good, Hardware = TERRIBLE
Date:November 29, 2015
We are now on our SECOND backpack (identical to first) and our SECOND lunch bag (identical to first) because the clips keep breaking. My daughter's backpack (2nd one now) is pristine, and incredibly well-taken care of otherwise, as was the first backpack.
My husband has had it with GHK's customer service as their attitude each time was C- worthy. No immediate replacement either -- had to PAY FOR NEW ONE AND SEND BACK THE OLD ONE BEFORE BEING REFUNDED. It's not a party dress, GH, it's a broken backpack and broken lunch bag USED EVERY DAY, 5 DAYS A WEEK.
Cute but limited function = GARNET HILL
Cute, high quality, 5-star customer service = LANDS END.
Review 3 for Backpack
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ripped 2 Weeks After School Started
Date:November 21, 2015
This is our first Garnet Hill backpack/lunch box and they are so cute. Unfortunately, the backpack ripped about 6 inches between the main and outside pockets in the second week of school and I didn't reorder in time to get the same style before it sold out. I think we will stick with other backpack retailers in the future because the kids have had their backpacks for years with no rips!
Review 4 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Il
Big score
Date:November 5, 2015
I knew I had scored big when I delivered this to my granddaughter and she smiled big and her eyes lit up.
Review 5 for Backpack
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute and solid.
Date:November 4, 2015
I bought this for my son in the Monster print. It is a great size for both his stature and his assignments. He can fit his daily folders, library books, his sweatshirt and other things inside. The only con is the water bottle pockets on the sides are a bit small at the opening, which makes it difficult for him to get his bottle in and out.
Bonus - He is the only one in his school of 470 with this backpack. Love that! Lots of the girls have GH backpacks, though! Wish GH still carried more boy items. He also loves the flannel pj pants!
Review 6 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Very good school backpack
Date:October 19, 2015
My daughter loves this backpack for her 4th grade!! It is super cute, very high quality and she loves that is big and her folder fits in nicely. She also loves the handle-very easy to carry; in comparison with other backpacks she had, this one seems to be very easy to handle:)
Thank you!
Review 7 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love this backpack
Date:October 16, 2015
I got this backpack for both of my kids for school this year. I love them and they love them. The patterns and colors are bright and fun and the backpacks are durable but still light weight. We are two months in now and they still look like new!
Review 8 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wonderful Gift for Kids!
Date:October 13, 2015
These backpacks are well made and they look very adorable - Love that they are PVC-free! Monogram makes it a special gift for children. It's an easy gift pick for many occasions. Highly recommended!
Review 9 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frederick, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Best Backpack EVER!
Date:October 13, 2015
I have been purchasing Garnet Hill backpacks for the last four years and have never been disappointed! The unique, beautiful patterns stand out and the quality is exceptional. I also love the different pockets to keep my child organized. This is a must have Garnet Hill Item!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Backpack
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2015
Great backpack, daughter loves it! A little smaller then I would like is the only downside
Review 11 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenbrier, TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Awesome Backpack!
Date:October 2, 2015
I ordered this backpack with my daughter's name on the front. It was for her 5th birthday. It came within 2 weeks and in plenty of time for her party. It was exactly what I was hoping for. It's thick, brightly colored and so cute! Everyone has commented on it. I love all the pockets inside it too. She feels like such a big girl with her new backpack. The only recommendation I could make is that I would have liked to pick the thread color for her name. Her name looks good and is in white thread, but I would have picked turquoise.
Review 12 for Backpack
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Disappointed
Date:October 1, 2015
My daughter had the junior version for 2 years and it was great! We passed it to a frriend's daughter in like new condition. This one is already breaking apart after one month. The fabric on one of the handles is pulled from the trim and frayed further, it lookes like it will get torn more very soon. It pulled so badly that there is a padding seen underneath. And the top handle has stretched stitches that looke like will tear in a while. My daughter loved the navy piece designe which is not available any more. I wish I shopped elsewhere this time, really disappointed.
Review 13 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shorewood, WI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Quality Backpack
Date:September 26, 2015
Backpacks from Garnet Hill are going to last for a couple of years. They are great. This is our third for our third girl. They are unique and look great.
Review 14 for Backpack
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:chicago
Date:September 24, 2015
My daughter loves this backpack. The colors are very rich just enough to brighten up my 1st grader mood in the morning. However we just had it for about 3 weeks and I already noticed the top handle is tearing apart. We do not cary a lot, just one binder, and I only use this handle to place the backpack in my car so just a bit disappointed there... the material seems to have a better quality it is the stitcher
that did not hold.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiaisonSeptember 30, 2015
Thank you for sharing this with us. We are reviewing your comments and Customer Care Specialist will be in touch to see what we can do to help!
Review 15 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect
Date:September 12, 2015
My daughter loves this backpack. It has plenty of room for all of her stuff and the print is beautiful.
Review 16 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Love it!
Date:September 12, 2015
The backpack is very well made and I believe it is one of the best value in the market. There will be cheaper ones but this is very sturdy and well constructed backpack plus very fashionable!
Review 17 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montgomery, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great backpack for 1st grade daughter!
Date:September 3, 2015
Great backpack! The horse one was perfect for my equestrienne daughter. Whimsical and young without being 'babyish'. Great space for her binder, several pockets and place for water thermos in side pocket. Love how the lunchbox attaches with easy snap fastener to the outside. Monogramming can sometimes be 'iffy' with online ordering, but it turned out perfectly!
Review 18 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Litchfield CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Delightful design
Date:August 29, 2015
My 7 year old needed a new backpack and do I bought this as a surprise when it was on sale. I had her name put on it you. She was thrilled and loved the design as its I different from scything else out there.
Review 19 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Adorable and Durable
Date:August 29, 2015
I have been buying Garnet Hill backpacks and lunch packs for the last couple of years. My daughters love the adorable designs and I love that these products hold up year after year. My two older daughters still use their backpacks/lunchpacks, and I just bought one for my youngest daughter who will enter kindergarten! Would definitely recommend!
Review 20 for Backpack
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice purshcase
Date:August 28, 2015
This is the second year in a row we've ordered a Garnet Hill bakcpack and matching lunch box. In truth, we probably could have used the backpack again this year. It wore very well and still looks great! Just wish the body of the backpack itself was a little larger. Getting all my daughters school binders, books and other assorted goodies into the main compartment gets a bit tight. Otherwise... I would highly recommend.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>