Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnet Hill.

Tiered Cashmere Sweater

Luscious cashmere and a ladylike peplum are two reasons to fall for this fresh and flattering sweater. The details are just right too: a pretty dance neck and a shape that's slim at the top and swings to two tiers of ruffles. In warm shades to spice up your wardrobe. Long sleeves. Hip length. Slight A-line. 100% cashmere. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
9
1 star
1
6 of 1735%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattering!
Date:February 14, 2014
The empire style with the wide neck balances out the ruffles well given that the ruffles don't stick out much (owing to small gathers) and the look works well, even if you're not super slim! Beautiful colors and cashmere too! Fit TTS.
Review 2 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FireHorse
Location:Horse country...New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
flirty.....
Date:February 13, 2014
purchased black: deep & basic and pomegranate: stunning & beautiful
fits & looks exactly as pictured, glad i ignored the other reviews, does not "balloon out", has an a-line flutter to it.
5'6" 118 lbs ordered the small, like to layer & wear a t-shirt or thermal underneath my sweaters.
feels flirty & feminine, ballerina-like!
cashmere is not as soft as other GH cashmere sweaters, more like wool...
Review 3 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RADS
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely color and cashmere, odd styling
Date:February 6, 2014
I kept this sweater only because the pomegranate color is absolutely stunning. The styling is odd, emphasizing and framing the middle, which is not very flattering. I do like the ruffle at the bottom. This would have been much better with two tiers of ruffles instead of the frame in the middle. Also, I only wore it a couple of times and had to sew the seams, also an issue due to the styling. I probably look kind of silly wearing this to work, but do love the color!
Review 4 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gerbera
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not flattering
Date:February 4, 2014
I love the quality of the cashmere and the blue jade color but the tier part doesn't look good on me. It looks good on the model in the picture. I want to love it but can't so I had to return it.
Review 5 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hazeleyes
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fabric 7, Style 0
Date:January 20, 2014
I ordered the sweater in both black and in blue and had the same fit/same problem with both. The middle tier is gathered on both its top and its bottom seam. Tried using first a garment steamer and then a steam iron to stretch the seamline attaching bottom ruffle to the middle one. No success with either approach so both sweaters continued to balloon out all around my middle. Definitely not a good look so will be returning them.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 28, 2014
We're sorry this style did not work for you, but have shared your suggestions with our design team!
Review 6 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lyndoe
Location:chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Tiered Cashmere style
Date:January 11, 2014
I was hesitant to order this sweater based on all the reviews about the 2nd tier and YES, the second tier is a bit puffy HOWEVER since it puffs out all around ~ front, sides, and back ~ it definitely makes the statement that this is the design of the sweater and not that you have a larger stomach ;) I purchased the pomegranate, the blue and the black and I love the sweater, the colors, the overall fit, feel, quality and beauty of this sweater. I am 5'7", 140 and I purchased size S and it is perfect <3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VicG
Love it
Date:January 5, 2014
I was scared by previous reviewers, but decided to try this sweater anyway - can't beat the price. I absolutely love it. I am 5'7", 128 lbs. It looks very flattering on me, but I think it's only because my hips are narrower than my shoulders, so the sweater is loose around the belly. If it clings to your hips/tummy I can totally see how it will be a problem. My only complaint is that arm openings are narrow. I don't consider myself having thick arms, but the sleeves are snug.
Review 8 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NLB60
Location:Connecticut
returning
Date:December 26, 2013
I had been looking at this for some time, and finally ordered it during the last sale. Sadly, I will be returning it. The middle tier does not lay flat and is not a complementary look.
Review 9 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cashmerehound
Location:Toronto, Canada
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
tough to look good with this one
Date:November 13, 2013
This is a really nice quality sweater but the 'tiered' styling wouldn't work for most. The tiers unfortunately are sewn much like an Austrian curtain resulting in a balloon effect. This might be flattering if you are very thin or if you order up a size and have narrow hips. Sadly it didn't work for me so it was sent back. The blue color is lovely.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 3, 2013
We're sorry to hear our Tiered Cashmere Sweater did not work for you. We hope you will try one of our other great cashmere sweaters.
Review 10 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
acleen
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
unflattering fit
Date:October 23, 2013
I love everything about this sweater - except how it actually looks on me. The color is gorgeous (pomegranate) the length is perfect, the neckline is lovely, its just that the second "tier" which, as others have mentioned, is just ruched to give the appearance of tiers, hits right at the tummy/hips, making them look much larger than they are. So disappointed, as I had really high hopes for this otherwise lovely sweater. The cashmere is heavenly.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 29, 2013
We're sad to hear that you were disappointed with our Tiered Cashmere Sweater. If you need assistance finding that "perfect" sweater, we are here to help. 1.800.870.3513
Review 11 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
amr711
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointed
Date:October 21, 2013
I loved this sweater in the photos. I wear a XS or S and ordered this in S. It was not flattering at all. Way too much material. I considered ordering the XS but don't think that would have solved the problem.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 29, 2013
If you decide to try the XS, remember our exchanges are freight free.
Review 12 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KHY1
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing - Very unflattering
Date:October 8, 2013
The color (blue jade) and fabric of this sweater are gorgeous - just the right weight, very soft, stunning blue! I thought the style would be flattering and hide the baby belly I just can't seem to shake after so many years but it emphasized it instead. It made me look wide and heavy - very unflattering :-(.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 29, 2013
Please remember our exchanges are always freight. If you need assistance finding another sweater, please call us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 13 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KDVT
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not a flattering fit
Date:October 7, 2013
I ordered this sweater because it looked so versatile and attractive on the model. Unfortunately, the "tiers" seem to be just sewn into a tunic sweater as an afterthought. They are stiff, stick out and were not at all flattering. Too bad because , if made well, this would be a great purchase
Response from Garnet Hill:By Lorna Customer LiaisonOctober 29, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Tiered Cashmere Sweater did not meet your expectations. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 14 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MollyB717
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely, feminine sweater
Date:October 6, 2013
I love the shape of this beautiful cashmere sweater - the tiered peplum is very flattering on my curvy shape, and camouflages little flaws well.
I can alway count on GH to offer sweaters that are unique and lovely.
Review 15 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marimo
Location:Columbia, MO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing
Date:September 24, 2013
I was so looking forward to the arrival of the sweater, but it was thin and did not have the body that it seemed to have in the photo. I have never been disappointed by a Garnet Hill item before and am sure I won't be again, but this sweater did not meet the high expectations I have for Garnet Hill merchandise.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. If you need any assistance with your exchange or return, please call us.
Review 16 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
colorado7
not flattering
Date:September 8, 2013
I love GH's cashmere sweaters but this one made me look a bell. I am 5'7" and 140 and usually longish sweaters look goof but this one was very unflattering.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonSeptember 13, 2013
Thanks for your note! We've added several new styles and would love to help you find the perfect sweater. Give us a call if we can help!
Review 17 for Tiered Cashmere Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
newsgirl
Location:Salem, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Fall Addition
Date:August 27, 2013
Nice quality cashmere- I got the berry color which is very pretty. It is not tiered as much as it is stitched to give the appearance of being tiered. I got an XS which fit well (I am usually a size 0).