Product Reviews

Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular

Our go-to lightweight cotton shirt is served up in a spicy mix of patterns this season: checks, dots, floral, and a cute chambray for good measure. Cut classically, with button front and cuffs, darts for shaping, and a shirttail hem, it's great solo or as a slim layer peeking out under a sweater or jacket. Long sleeves. Soft cotton lawn or cotton chambray. Imported. For a more relaxed fit or if you are between sizes, we recommend you order up a size. Lightweight cotton lawn or cotton chambray.
Average Customer Rating:
3.347 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
29
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 star
8
51 of 9852%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Review 1 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pbcookiemom
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice lightweight shirts
Date:July 17, 2014
I bought two of these on sale. They are exactly as described, nice shirts in cute colors and patterns. I am happy with my chambray and striped shirts.
Review 2 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Linsto
Size and fit wrong
Date:July 16, 2014
I would not purchase this again, even on sale. I bought this item 2 sizes larger and still did not fit right. Very awkward looking, no room in arms and shoulders but loose everywhere else. Quality is not good...very thin, like tissue
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 22, 2014
This is a lightweight cotton shirt with a slim fit. Perhaps another one of our shirts would better suit you. Give us a call if we can help with a freight free exchange.
Review 3 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracker
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Go to shirt of the summer!
Date:July 14, 2014
Very light weight and soft fabric. It's fine without a tank top, but it's like handkerchief fabric, so it's on the sheer side. Ordered GH recommended size for me and it fits perfectly. Washes well, but needs touch up with an iron for a less casual look. I line dry the shirt for fear of shrinkage in the dryer. So far so good.
Review 4 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StylishMom303
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Summer Shirt
Date:July 13, 2014
I love that the shirt is lightweight. I am glad that I read the other reviews and purchased a size larger than normal.
Review 5 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JenCB
Location:Western NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice shirt, very casual, runs small
Date:July 7, 2014
I usually order a 6-8, but the 10 is barely big enough. Quite a lightweight, casual fabric. Not sure I can really get away with it under a blazer at work-more like beachwear.
Review 6 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aria
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Something wrong with the cut
Date:July 3, 2014
The shirt has exactly the fabric I was looking for. I read the other reviews and ordered one a size larger. Alas it is cut very oddly; my hands disappeared in the sleeves, the shoulder seam was two inches below my shoulders but I could not button up the shirt all the way. I was pleased it was on sale but it must go back. I hope Garnet Hill carries other clothes made of cotton lawn; it is a wonderful fabric for warm months.
Review 7 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ruby731
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing
Date:July 2, 2014
As recommended by Garnet Hill, I ordered a size up. Still way too small/tight. I am slender and I could not get my arms in the sleeves. The shirt looks like it is sized for a pre-teen. The material is thin but for the summer it would be nice. I will be returning and trying 2 more sizes up.
Review 8 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cjmd
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
very disappointing
Date:June 28, 2014
The shirt is entirely smaller than it is sized.
It is sheer to the point of being useful only over a cami. Not at all what I expected.
This is probably the only Garnet Hill product I have ever been truly dissatisfied with.
Review 9 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VicG
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too narrow in the hips
Date:June 20, 2014
I'm 5'7", 125 lbs, ordered my regular size 6. It fit great through the top, both shoulders and chest, but was too narrow in the hips. I have pretty straight hips and never have issues with that, so I was more surprised than disappointed. A size up will be too large on the top. I'm returning it. That said, I loved the color and the feel of the fabric. Too bad I won't be wearing it!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 22, 2014
We're sad to hear the fit of this shirt didn't work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try a another shirt that may offer a better fit.
Review 10 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ayakaya
great blouse!!
Date:June 16, 2014
The fabric is soft, it fits nicely, the color is lovely. I would buy it again!!
Review 11 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LyndaS
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointed in quality
Date:June 11, 2014
I read the reviews and ordered a size larger than I normally do, and I am happy with the fit. I'm unhappy, however, that THREE buttons fell off the very first time I wore this shirt! When I heard one fall, I realized two others had fallen off earlier. I was very thankful that I wore the shirt over a tank! I looked more carefully and found that two other buttons are about to fall off. I LOVE Garnet Hill's quality and am disappointed for the first time ever.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 13, 2014
Oh my! We're so sorry to hear that this happened to you. Thank you for speaking to us so we could reach a resolution. Remember we are always here to assist you with any issue.
Review 12 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Berkshires
Location:Berkshires, MA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
size mismarked
Date:June 11, 2014
I ordered my usual size 14 but could not button it around my chest or waist. I have another GH shirt that size that fits perfectly so it was the shirt, not me. I have not gained weight so I am sure the size was just mismarked. It seemed like an 8 or 10 at most. Too bad, because I liked the fabric and pattern and quality. Needless to say I returned it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 13, 2014
We do recommend, for this item, to order up a size as it does run small. We also provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. Our exchanges are always freight free!
Review 13 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jasper123
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Starting a collection
Date:June 10, 2014
This shirt is soft and colors are very pretty and fun. I find I now have three of them and wear them alone, under sweaters or open with a camisole. I do recommend ordering a size up. The fit is small which is ok for me but that is why I hesitate to recommend to friend.
Review 14 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sgettoit
Location:Queens, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great pretty shirt
Date:June 8, 2014
This is a pretty shirt that fits well, and washes easily. I recently purchased the floral pattern, when it was on the Sale of the Day. The cut is longer and leaner, to fit modern up to date proportions. Although I am a little over 5 ft. tall, the XL fits me well. The fabric is lovely.
I washed it in cool water, and some of the color ran, but it rinsed out nicely. Hung it up to dry and there are almost no wrinkles. This is a good 3 season blouse, on its own or for layering under a sweater or jacket.
Please bring this back in more colors.
Review 15 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Billoo
Location:Lexington, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Deceptive
Date:June 7, 2014
The shirt fabric and design was very nice but it was too small for the size, especially the sleeves were made for bulimics
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 9, 2014
Thanks for your note! We're sorry the fit of the Casual Cotton Shirt didn't work for you. Give us a call if you need help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 16 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DWisc
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wacky sizing
Date:June 4, 2014
I checked size charts and decided I needed a size 8 in the Mint Check. Based on other reviews, I went up to a size 10. I'm 5:7, 36B, average build, and when the 10 arrived, it gapped in the bust and was tight across the shoulders. Thankfully, I exchanged it for a size 12. While the bust fits, the sleeves are slightly tight and just a bit too long. I'll keep it, and am glad I got it on sale, because it's very thin. Colors are nicely muted, but I'll have to wear a cami underneath.
Review 17 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monabfish
Location:NIcholson, Pa.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I bought five!
Date:May 31, 2014
Lovely, light weight cotton, very nice construction, fun colors. This is a terrific shirt and I wear them all the time. Please keep making them!
Review 18 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Roza
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
looks better in the picture than on me
Date:May 30, 2014
I followed the recommendations and got a size larger than I typically order which is okay but the shirt is generally shapeless and the fabric is so light that it doesn't go well with layering.
Review 19 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rosie72
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
NICE BLOUSE BUT...
Date:May 19, 2014
I wear a size 14 so ordered a 16. Still way too small. Very tight in the arms and across the bust line. Fabric very sheer. Not the quality I was expecting and I returned the shirt.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 20, 2014
Thanks for your note! Referring to the actual garment measurements rather than your shirt size will help in getting the best fit. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges.
Review 20 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hajful
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
SOOOO tight
Date:May 15, 2014
Just in case you've missed it: This lovely soft but way-overpriced shirt runs crazy-small. I'm usually a 14, occasionally a 12 or 16....you know how it goes, but based upon reading the reviews I ordered an 18 for the first time in my life. Sadly, It's unpleasantly tight in the bust & armpits, but the sleeves are much too long, & cut for wrists of a professional arm-wrestler. Such a shame because if it had fit I'd buy a couple more of the gorgeous colors.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>