Product Reviews

Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular

Our go-to lightweight cotton shirt is served up in a spicy mix of patterns this season: checks, dots, floral, and a cute chambray for good measure. Cut classically, with button front and cuffs, darts for shaping, and a shirttail hem, it's great solo or as a slim layer peeking out under a sweater or jacket. Long sleeves. Soft cotton lawn or cotton chambray. Imported. For a more relaxed fit or if you are between sizes, we recommend you order up a size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.413 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
34
3 stars
28
2 stars
17
1 star
8
59 of 10954%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Review 1 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Floridagringa
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
More trouble than it is worth
Date:August 31, 2014
5"4" 125# I usually get a size 4 or XS in GH shirts. read the reviews, sized up to size 6. It was still too small. So returned for a size 8 which fit fine in the shoulders but still was tight on the hips so that the buttons gapped over jeans. And it is defective with the button & its hem frayed off the sleeve. Would be a nice shirt if more room in the hip and better quality control.
Review 2 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
koolmommyof2
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice cotton shirt
Date:August 30, 2014
I love how this shirt is indeed very lightweight. It makes it perfect for wearing in the hot summer months with the sleeves rolled up and also in the cooler months layered with a sweater. If there is one thing I can't stand with layering is feeling too bulky by the layers. I always look for lightweight shirts just for this reason. I agree that this shirt runs just a little small compared with other GH items. The patterns on these shirts are delightfully fun!
Review 3 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodNeighbor
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Instant Classic
Date:August 26, 2014
I bought my first of these shirts about a year ago & I now own 4. The cut is beautiful, making the fit very flattering. The prints are fun yet timeless & the cloth is the perfect weight & super soft. I knew the first time I put it on that I had found a staple for my wardrobe.
Review 4 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ksag
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not all shirts are the same
Date:August 21, 2014
I first bought the Chambray, and it is 3/4 sleeved. I then bought the slate (grey) check, and it is long-sleeve. Not sure why there is a difference, but I was surprised.
Review 5 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhraub
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
checked b&w shirt
Date:August 11, 2014
This is such a nice weight for a summer cotton shirt -- layers, or worn alone -- very comfy and cool, yet long sleeved.
Review 6 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Catalogfan
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Weirdly proportioned shirt
Date:August 8, 2014
After I read the reviews, many of which said this shirt ran small, I ordered it in a size larger than I normally wear. However, it was still very tight across the shoulders while the sleeves were so long that the cuffs hung over my finger tips. The fabric was very pretty but really too thin and see-through for an everyday summer shirt.
I was very disappointed that I had to return the shirt because it was stylish, attractive and exactly what I what I had been looking for, but it was unwearable due to the sizing issue.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 11, 2014
Our Casual Cotton Shirt is a lightweight cotton with a slim fit. Referring to the actual garment measurements rather than your shirt size will help in getting the best fit. We appreciate your feedback and would love to help with a freight free exchange, give us a call 800.870.3513.
Review 7 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
erae
Location:Dover, OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
awesome
Date:August 8, 2014
soft, comfy with beautiful colors. I think it runs a bit small though. I am glad I got the larger size.
Review 8 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
txjp
Location:TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice (if right size...)
Date:August 5, 2014
The shirt is wonderful. I ordered the slate check - the color is so pretty. It's very light-weight and so soft. I usually wear an 8 or 10 (5"8, 140#, med. build) and I ordered a size 14! I based this on the garment measurements and reviews and I also measured a similar shirt that I l already owned to compare. I got it right. Phew!
Review 9 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
red58
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice shirt
Date:July 26, 2014
Love the feel and colors of this shirt. I did not give it an overall 5 because it is very fitted at the waist and feels tight around my middle. I do not have an excessive middle but I do have a little pouch.
Review 10 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KathrynT
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cut VERY small
Date:July 24, 2014
I must have missed the reviews about this shirt running small. I usually wear a 4P in a tailored shirt, but couldn't even raise my arms in this 4P. The fabric is very soft and loosely woven, which may cause seams to pull at stress points. Despite my concerns, I'll try exchanging my 4P for an 8P, because I like the pink/green/orange plaid.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 29, 2014
We’re glad to see that you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges, to try another size. If you need any assistance please let us know. 1.800.870.3513
Review 11 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halzof
Location:Longmeadow, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:July 24, 2014
Beautiful, lightweight fabric. Truly runs exceptionally small. I am 5'6" about 130lbs and had to reorder up to a size 10 I am unable to roll the sleeves up more than once. It's so pretty that I am keeping it. Would only recommend to "petite" friends.
Review 12 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pbcookiemom
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice lightweight shirts
Date:July 17, 2014
I bought two of these on sale. They are exactly as described, nice shirts in cute colors and patterns. I am happy with my chambray and striped shirts.
Review 13 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Linsto
Size and fit wrong
Date:July 16, 2014
I would not purchase this again, even on sale. I bought this item 2 sizes larger and still did not fit right. Very awkward looking, no room in arms and shoulders but loose everywhere else. Quality is not good...very thin, like tissue
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 22, 2014
This is a lightweight cotton shirt with a slim fit. Perhaps another one of our shirts would better suit you. Give us a call if we can help with a freight free exchange.
Review 14 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracker
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Go to shirt of the summer!
Date:July 14, 2014
Very light weight and soft fabric. It's fine without a tank top, but it's like handkerchief fabric, so it's on the sheer side. Ordered GH recommended size for me and it fits perfectly. Washes well, but needs touch up with an iron for a less casual look. I line dry the shirt for fear of shrinkage in the dryer. So far so good.
Review 15 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StylishMom303
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Summer Shirt
Date:July 13, 2014
I love that the shirt is lightweight. I am glad that I read the other reviews and purchased a size larger than normal.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JenCB
Location:Western NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice shirt, very casual, runs small
Date:July 7, 2014
I usually order a 6-8, but the 10 is barely big enough. Quite a lightweight, casual fabric. Not sure I can really get away with it under a blazer at work-more like beachwear.
Review 17 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aria
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Something wrong with the cut
Date:July 3, 2014
The shirt has exactly the fabric I was looking for. I read the other reviews and ordered one a size larger. Alas it is cut very oddly; my hands disappeared in the sleeves, the shoulder seam was two inches below my shoulders but I could not button up the shirt all the way. I was pleased it was on sale but it must go back. I hope Garnet Hill carries other clothes made of cotton lawn; it is a wonderful fabric for warm months.
Review 18 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ruby731
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing
Date:July 2, 2014
As recommended by Garnet Hill, I ordered a size up. Still way too small/tight. I am slender and I could not get my arms in the sleeves. The shirt looks like it is sized for a pre-teen. The material is thin but for the summer it would be nice. I will be returning and trying 2 more sizes up.
Review 19 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cjmd
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
very disappointing
Date:June 28, 2014
The shirt is entirely smaller than it is sized.
It is sheer to the point of being useful only over a cami. Not at all what I expected.
This is probably the only Garnet Hill product I have ever been truly dissatisfied with.
Review 20 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VicG
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too narrow in the hips
Date:June 20, 2014
I'm 5'7", 125 lbs, ordered my regular size 6. It fit great through the top, both shoulders and chest, but was too narrow in the hips. I have pretty straight hips and never have issues with that, so I was more surprised than disappointed. A size up will be too large on the top. I'm returning it. That said, I loved the color and the feel of the fabric. Too bad I won't be wearing it!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 22, 2014
We're sad to hear the fit of this shirt didn't work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try a another shirt that may offer a better fit.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>