Product Reviews

Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular

Our go-to lightweight cotton shirt is served up in a spicy mix of patterns this season: checks, dots, floral, and a cute chambray for good measure. Cut classically, with button front and cuffs, darts for shaping, and a shirttail hem, it's great solo or as a slim layer peeking out under a sweater or jacket. Long sleeves. Soft cotton lawn or cotton chambray. Imported. For a more relaxed fit or if you are between sizes, we recommend you order up a size. Lightweight cotton lawn or cotton chambray.
Average Customer Rating:
3.456 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
24
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
3
39 of 6857%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Review 1 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GoodAttitude
Location:East Bay CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flawed
Date:April 15, 2014
Garnet Hill has had much much better shirts than this. I have a great gray and white check shirt I bought about a year ago. It is a heavier cotton and fit perfectly. This shirt is a poorer quality cotton and didn't fit well at all. It gaps at the bust, it is tight across the shoulders and the sleeves are too long. It is just not well-made...even if I bought a size 8, the cotton material would still be too flimsy. The only reason I kept this shirt is because it was on sale and I can work around the flaws.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 16, 2014
We're so sorry to hear your second shirt didn't delight you as much as the first. This is made of lightweight cotton and we recommend ordering up a size if you are between sizes or prefer a more relaxed fit. Returns and freight free exchange are always accepted.
Review 2 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sms226
Casual cotton shirt.
Date:April 11, 2014
Thinner than I thought it would be, but love it. True to size .
Review 3 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mbcoleman
Location:Chicago IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too small - :(
Date:April 9, 2014
I am a standard size 6 for garnett hill - this shirt ran very small - it will go back :(
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 9, 2014
We do recommend ordering a size up if you're between sizes or are looking for a more relaxed fit. Our Measurements tab has actual garment measurements to assist with sizing. If you need help with your return or exchange give us a call.
Review 4 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fuzzysmom
Location:Lexington, KY
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love the plaid
Date:April 8, 2014
I bought this shirt because I love the colors in the plaid. The fabric is quite thin but I am going to wear it over a t-shirt so it is fine for my purpose. It does run small. I ordered one a size larger than I usually wear and it fits fine. I got it on sale and it was worth the price as it is something I will wear a lot.
Review 5 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hemisk
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great for layering
Date:March 28, 2014
These shirts are very lightweight and sheer, so it is best to layer them over a tank top or camisole, or under a pullover or cardigan. I got the coral check pattern, and it is a nice color for spring and summer. I am between size 6 and 8 for tops, and I had one of these from a previous season in 6 so that is what I ordered again. This one was a little more snug in the chest, but not so much that I wouldn't wear it. It is helpful when the website has information about garment measurements, since the sizes don't always seem consistent.
Review 6 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
oldmcdwife
Location:SLC, UT
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Pink check gingham shirt
Date:March 24, 2014
I had my eye on this shirt for weeks to go under the pink/black featured cardigan sweater which I bought. I finally popped for full price to wear on a vacation. Alas, when it arrived I was extremely disappointed. I usually wear a 6/8 top but could not even button up the size 8. The fabric too was disappointing, thin and sheer. I am thinking of returning it for another size or not keeping it at all.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer LiaisonMarch 26, 2014
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed. Keep in mind, we list measurements under the 'Measurements' tab to assist you in getting the best fit. If you need help with a return or exchange, we're here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 7 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mariabella
Location:New Work
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Versatile style, but too fragile to wear
Date:March 19, 2014
I bought this shirt in chambray, and the arm seams pulled apart after three normal wearings. I complained to GH about it and they replaced it, but it's hardly the go-to top I had hoped for, and too expensive for the quality.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 26, 2014
We're so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience, but are glad to see you've contacted Customer Service to find a resolution. Remember, if you're not completely satisfied with your purchase, returns and exchanges are welcome at any time.
Review 8 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pilchard6
Location:Nebraska
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
nice for summer.
Date:February 14, 2014
very nice for under a cardigan and the cotton is lightweight and soft.
Will need a touch up with the iron. I think it runs on the small side. I ordered one size up and it just fits. Have to be more careful when washing.
I do not think I would purchase another one. To expensive.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vessie
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great casual shirt
Date:February 9, 2014
The design is simple, the fabric is a little too thin - might not be much durable, but in that it is very light and comfortable. Great to the touch. The shirt runs small, I'm a size 4, and I find it tight around the arms and shoulders. Otherwise very nice.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice material, but pricey
Date:February 8, 2014
This is great fitting, nice material, but I wouldn't buy it for full price. It fits TTS. Cute patterns, though!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
preciouspearl
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not quality, but so darn cute!
Date:February 5, 2014
It's true, the fabric is thin and the proportions are funny and run to the small side. However, the print is so darn cute, I kept the shirt and wear it all the time under sweaters. The neck is ample so you can button it all the way up to feature necklaces, and it is a very attractive accessory to many colors and styles of pants, sweaters, and skirts.
Review 12 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
luki
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute shirt
Date:February 3, 2014
It is more sheer than the other white collared shirt I purchased, ( the Eileen Fisher). It is a great layering piece for me though and I look forward to wearing it. Fit is just right.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momto2girls
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Perfect layering shirt
Date:January 29, 2014
This shirt is very soft and lightweight. It is perfect for layering under sweaters, or wearing in the spring with a tank under it. I would definitely purchase this again.
Review 14 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
QueenLadyBug
Location:Sunny State,CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
CheckerShirt
Date:January 25, 2014
Get a size up since it tends to run small so I have to return mine but the gray one had SOLD out...bummer.
Review 15 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kauailover1981
Location:Palmdale, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
The sizing is a mystery
Date:January 25, 2014
I loved this shirt when I opened the package. The colrs were great for a plaid. Then I tried it on, what size was it? I ordered a size larger as the reviews suggested, but, it was so small. I usually wear GH Large, sometimes a med. I ordered a 16, not gonna fit. So tried the next size up 18 and that was like a size 10. Sorry to say I had to send them back. Runs extremely small.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonFebruary 3, 2014
Thanks for your note! We strive to include garment measurements on all our online product. Compare to your body or other garments you own to help with sizing before ordering.
Review 16 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
azalea
Location:NY, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
pretty blouse
Date:January 24, 2014
the fabric, as noted is thin. that's not a problem but the construction isn't attentive to the type of fabric this is and I can see someone a bit more active in their everyday life straining the seams, esp., around arms, shoulder, etc.
but it's still good looking
Review 17 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kalea
Location:Central Pa
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Pretty material
Date:January 24, 2014
Loved the colors and plaid, yet the material was unusually flimsy and poor quality compared to other items I have gotten at Garnet Hill. The body was very slight cut and the arms were loosely cut..quite odd.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 27, 2014
Thanks for the fit comments, we will make sure our design team reviews your concerns. Let us help with exchange/return.
Review 18 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Skooma
Location:Portlandia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nothing Special
Date:January 24, 2014
I got that I thought was my size...too tight and as others reviewed too thin.Sending them back...
Review 19 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Towanda
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very cute!
Date:January 21, 2014
I bought the blue plain cotton shirt. Love the fit
Review 20 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NEtoNC
Location:NC via NJ
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great fit
Date:January 21, 2014
Thanks, Garnet Hill! Glad to find a button up shirt without all the extra fabric. I ordered an extra-small, which fit me perfectly. I am 5' 6" and 107 lbs, so suspect that this size is really best for a straight figure like mine.
1 2 3 4 next>>