Product Reviews

Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular

Our go-to lightweight cotton shirt is served up in a spicy mix of patterns this season: checks, dots, floral, and a cute chambray for good measure. Cut classically, with button front and cuffs, darts for shaping, and a shirttail hem, it's great solo or as a slim layer peeking out under a sweater or jacket. Long sleeves. Soft cotton lawn or cotton chambray. Imported. For a more relaxed fit or if you are between sizes, we recommend you order up a size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.437 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
37
3 stars
30
2 stars
19
1 star
8
66 of 11955%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Review 1 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaRanaRenee
Location:Newnan, GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely Shirt
Date:October 31, 2014
I ordered the pink plaid only because it was the only style left on sale. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like the shirt - the material is so soft. However, it is tight through the chest. I'm 5'4", 130 lbs. and DD chest. I returned the size 10 in exchange for the 12. Haven't received the 12 yet so will have to update my review at that time.
Review 2 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fourcats4
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:October 29, 2014
This cotton shirt is cute and I like the fact that the fabric is thin - perfect for warmer weather. But, this shirt runs MUCH smaller than other Garnet Hill tops. I normally wear a size 2 or 4, or S or XS, and I had to return multiple times for larger sizes! I finally settled on a 10P, which has a nice fit both open or buttoned.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 3, 2014
We agree with you that this shirt is cute and perfect for warmer weather. We're so glad you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to get the right fit.
Review 3 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nordic
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Super cute shirt
Date:October 26, 2014
Great fabric and colors, I ordered the pink check. Sadly I must return as it runs really small. I ordered up one size and it was still too tight in the bust.
Review 4 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noahbabymom
Location:Milford, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good layering shirt
Date:October 17, 2014
This is very light weight shirt, and will be good for layering. However, the body of the shirt runs a bit small, but the arms are wide. Still, it is a nice shirt for the price.
Review 5 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MDCA
Location:Napa, CA
Gender:Female
Love this shirt!
Date:October 4, 2014
This shirt is AMAZING! It's super soft, and the cut is very flattering, (I'm curvy).
Review 6 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mofitz
Location:Baltimore
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Layering
Date:September 28, 2014
Extremely lightweight, and therfore perfect for layering. But curvy girls beware - gaps at the bust! I ordered a 12, as I did in the previous season similar blouse, and it didn't work well in the check, just barely ok in the white.
Review 7 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dsrtwoman
Location:Moab, UT
sizing issue
Date:September 20, 2014
I love Garnett hill fabrics and styles but the size is never right. I suppose if I were 5'10" and` weighted 110 lbs it would work. But being pretty average, the sleeves are 5 inches to long and I can't begin to button this around my pretty average chest.
Review 8 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shorediva
Location:las vegas,nv
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
pretty but not as pictured
Date:September 18, 2014
The white placket down the front was not present on the pink check shirt. Sleeves too long and too small at waist. I ordered a larger size thinking it would work. Great buy on sale but had to return it
Review 9 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosieh
Location:Poconos
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Casual Fall top;
Date:September 16, 2014
Ordered this for my daughter - beautiful fall top - casual wear - great material - unfortunately it did not work out for her. Overall great fit except in chest area buttons pulled slightly - next size up would have been too large
Review 10 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ctgreyhound
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointment
Date:September 13, 2014
I ordered a larger size as suggested & it was still too tight. Liked the material, good weight for summer. Oh well.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison September 16, 2014
This is a great lightweight shirt for summer! Referring to the actual garment measurements rather than your shirt size will help in getting the best fit. We'd be happy to help with a return or exchange at any time. Give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 11 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Floridagringa
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
More trouble than it is worth
Date:August 31, 2014
5"4" 125# I usually get a size 4 or XS in GH shirts. read the reviews, sized up to size 6. It was still too small. So returned for a size 8 which fit fine in the shoulders but still was tight on the hips so that the buttons gapped over jeans. And it is defective with the button & its hem frayed off the sleeve. Would be a nice shirt if more room in the hip and better quality control.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonSeptember 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you received a less than perfect shirt. We will have a Customer Care Specialists contact you.
Review 12 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
koolmommyof2
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice cotton shirt
Date:August 30, 2014
I love how this shirt is indeed very lightweight. It makes it perfect for wearing in the hot summer months with the sleeves rolled up and also in the cooler months layered with a sweater. If there is one thing I can't stand with layering is feeling too bulky by the layers. I always look for lightweight shirts just for this reason. I agree that this shirt runs just a little small compared with other GH items. The patterns on these shirts are delightfully fun!
Review 13 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodNeighbor
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Instant Classic
Date:August 26, 2014
I bought my first of these shirts about a year ago & I now own 4. The cut is beautiful, making the fit very flattering. The prints are fun yet timeless & the cloth is the perfect weight & super soft. I knew the first time I put it on that I had found a staple for my wardrobe.
Review 14 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ksag
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not all shirts are the same
Date:August 21, 2014
I first bought the Chambray, and it is 3/4 sleeved. I then bought the slate (grey) check, and it is long-sleeve. Not sure why there is a difference, but I was surprised.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonSeptember 6, 2014
That is odd! We apologize and will have a Customer Care Specialists contact you.
Review 15 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhraub
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
checked b&w shirt
Date:August 11, 2014
This is such a nice weight for a summer cotton shirt -- layers, or worn alone -- very comfy and cool, yet long sleeved.
Review 16 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Catalogfan
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Weirdly proportioned shirt
Date:August 8, 2014
After I read the reviews, many of which said this shirt ran small, I ordered it in a size larger than I normally wear. However, it was still very tight across the shoulders while the sleeves were so long that the cuffs hung over my finger tips. The fabric was very pretty but really too thin and see-through for an everyday summer shirt.
I was very disappointed that I had to return the shirt because it was stylish, attractive and exactly what I what I had been looking for, but it was unwearable due to the sizing issue.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 11, 2014
Our Casual Cotton Shirt is a lightweight cotton with a slim fit. Referring to the actual garment measurements rather than your shirt size will help in getting the best fit. We appreciate your feedback and would love to help with a freight free exchange, give us a call 800.870.3513.
Review 17 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
erae
Location:Dover, OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
awesome
Date:August 8, 2014
soft, comfy with beautiful colors. I think it runs a bit small though. I am glad I got the larger size.
Review 18 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
txjp
Location:TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice (if right size...)
Date:August 5, 2014
The shirt is wonderful. I ordered the slate check - the color is so pretty. It's very light-weight and so soft. I usually wear an 8 or 10 (5"8, 140#, med. build) and I ordered a size 14! I based this on the garment measurements and reviews and I also measured a similar shirt that I l already owned to compare. I got it right. Phew!
Review 19 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
red58
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice shirt
Date:July 26, 2014
Love the feel and colors of this shirt. I did not give it an overall 5 because it is very fitted at the waist and feels tight around my middle. I do not have an excessive middle but I do have a little pouch.
Review 20 for Casual Cotton Shirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KathrynT
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cut VERY small
Date:July 24, 2014
I must have missed the reviews about this shirt running small. I usually wear a 4P in a tailored shirt, but couldn't even raise my arms in this 4P. The fabric is very soft and loosely woven, which may cause seams to pull at stress points. Despite my concerns, I'll try exchanging my 4P for an 8P, because I like the pink/green/orange plaid.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 29, 2014
We’re glad to see that you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges, to try another size. If you need any assistance please let us know. 1.800.870.3513
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>