Product Reviews

Academy Jacket

A fitted, vintage-inspired jacket just might be your new everyday essential. Toss it on over dresses or denim to look completely pulled together. Jacket has classic tailoring: notched collar, two buttons, and front welt pockets. Slim fit. Shorter hip length. Black: poly/wool. Tapestry Floral: poly/cotton. Lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
14 of 2458%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Academy Jacket
Review 1 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2akitalover
Location:LA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classy Jacket
Date:March 4, 2014
The fabric of this jacket reminds me of
a "car coat" I had in middle school. I also have a pair of espadrilles of a similar fabric. I ordered it in a 6 and could not even put my arms through the sleeves. I exchanged it for the 8 and it was also too tight. Finally, I ordered a
10 and hope it works out. The sleeves on both the 6 and 8 are extremly long.
Overall, the jacket is a great buy once you get a size that fits. It is versatile and you can wear it with many tops and bottoms.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 4, 2014
We're glad you took advantage of our freight free exchanges. This jacket is a slim fit and we provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you. If you ever need help with sizing please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 2 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shamrock1
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
black wool jacket
Date:February 16, 2014
The sizing of this jacket is very odd. The sleeves are too long and the shoulders are too wide -- but it's difficult to button. Not big enough at the waist.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 19, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our team. Please feel free to give us a call at 800-870-3513 if you need help with a return or exchange.
Review 3 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purehawk
Location:Bronx, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Vintage Jacket
Date:February 16, 2014
I like this jacket. Don't love it but it is great for a change of pace and to dress up jeans. It has a high waist and slim sleeves. Not the most comfortable. Got a lot of compliments.
Review 4 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marbaby
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Good for work
Date:February 16, 2014
I got the jacket in black, nice light weight fabric, but the sleeves are so long I have to have it tailored.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 18, 2014
We're sorry to hear the sleeves were too long. . Please note that your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and we’re happy to accept exchanges and returns if the item has not been altered.

Review 5 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great price on sale!
Date:February 8, 2014
I kept looking at this floral jacket, but I would not have purchased this jacket in black at the original price (just nothing special about it, but I do like that it's a saturated and true black and fitted style#, but it is a super deal on sale. I had no problem with the puckering and it appears very well made with lining and all the finishing touches. Now that I've seen it, I wish I'd gotten the floral one too #definitely would have paid more for that)!
Review 6 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GranMary
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
TAPESTRY is TOPS!
Date:January 13, 2014
This goes with anything from jeans to a night out! Super for a throw it on at last minute.
Review 7 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
secrippen
Location:Bath, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not So Much...
Date:January 13, 2014
I ordered this jacket in both black and tapestry, and when they arrived couldn't wait to try them on.
The shoulder seams on both rode behind my shoulders, and oddly enough, there was a pucker on both right shoulders...I thought the black looked cheap and the tapestry looked matronly. I ordered the 6 in both, and the fit seemed OK, but I wasn't wowed by them, even at a rock bottom price. They're going back.
Review 8 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MominVermont
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
not quality I was expecting
Date:January 6, 2014
I wish I had paid closer attention to the other reviews. Bought the black and it's kind of cheap looking. Unfortunately I'll be sending it back.
Review 9 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kirkms
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
extra fold in shoulder
Date:January 3, 2014
I dislike writing a negative review, but this jacket needs it. I fell in love with the tapestry the second I saw it. If I had paid the original price, I would be crying. This jacket is SO PRETTY that is is a shame it wasn't made with the same level of care as it could be. The sleeves are long (like most reviewers stated). The area between the collar and shoulder seam has a lot of puckering fabric (like most reviewers stated). I don't know why I thought mine would be different. I'm hoping I can press it or steam it in the dryer. I want to like it, but don't want to force it to work. :( Better luck next time.
Review 10 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MadreDeCuatro
Location:NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
terrible cut
Date:January 3, 2014
It's rare for me to think anything from GH is of poor quality, but this jacket is of very poor quality (the black one I received anyway).
I ordered my standard dress/top size 4, and it was oddly too small and too big at the same time. I think it was because of the bizarre cut of the upper arm and shoulder areas. The shoulder seams hung several inches too far down my arm and there were several inches of odd swaths of fabric hanging in a tight binding fashion under my armpits. It felt a little like a pseudo straight jacket. The first time I tried it on, I was baffled and set it aside. Tried it again a couple days later with renewed optimism but was just as disappointed. Sad because everything else about the jacket was just what I was looking for.
GH, please review the cut of this one and bring it back next year. I'd try an updated version in a heartbeat.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison January 16, 2014
We'll have our design team review your comments for an updated version for next year. We'd love to help you with a return or exchange call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 11 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everybodyrelax
Location:Montreal
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointing
Date:December 3, 2013
This just didn't come up to Garnet Hill standards. Poor quality fabric and not well made. Even on a sale of the day whopper of a sale, it wasn't worth the price and I had to send it back.
Review 12 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twin2
Location:Wall, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
So pretty!
Date:November 3, 2013
This jacket is terrific. All the colors make it perfect for everything.
Review 13 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
huytr
Location:san diego,ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
vvery cute
Date:November 1, 2013
fit is great and it can be casual with jeans or dressed up.
Review 14 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DcWriterMom
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Could be Stellar
Date:October 9, 2013
I bought the floral version. Eventually it will be a nice little jacket but it's going to take some work. I had to return the first version because of a bad seam in the shoulder. The second version appears to have puckers in both shoulders. I'm hoping they're just wrinkles and the tailor will be able to steam them out when she shortens the ridiculously long sleeves. The reviewer who said "Think monkey arms," was right on. Other than the arms, the jacket fits TTS and I really like the look. I'll wear it this fall with skinnies, cords and other casual pants.
Review 15 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kjoe
Location:Southern NH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
On the fence
Date:October 8, 2013
I bought this in a size 4 - my usual size and unlike others, I thought the shoulders were ran a bit big ( I have narrow shoulders) so I ordered the 2. The 2 fit like a dream except for the right shoulder which bunched up. I have sent it back for an exchange hoping that it was just a problem with that particular jacket. If that one bunches too, I will need to decide whether to keep the 4 - I really love the look so I am really torn!
Review 16 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DianaK
Location:Jingston WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Bought based on reviews
Date:September 30, 2013
Loved the look of this jacket, but the fit is so bad. I had to go full two sizes and still there is a large crease between the shoulder and the collar. It is one of the most ill-fitting jackets I have ever purchased. Seriously considering returning it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 15, 2013
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 17 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NAWAS
Tapestry Academy Jacket
Date:September 29, 2013
Fabulous!!! Just what I have always wanted. Goes with everything. Great for fall and my European travels. Thanks GH!
Review 18 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elisha
Location:West Palm Beach Fla.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I was delighted with the qualilty of material
Date:September 23, 2013
Very soft and light wool mix jacket, made very well ..The price was very low compared with big store prices.
Thinking of the alternate jacket in light color cotten if it feels and looks as wonderful.as my next purchase from Garnet Hill ..
Review 19 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beaglefriend
Location:Central PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful tapestry
Date:September 16, 2013
I gave this 4 stars because even though a petite, I still had to have the sleeves hemmed. I thought the catalog picture made it look like 3/4 sleeves...anyway, it's a beautiful jacket,so worth the trouble & expense to make it a great addition to my closet.
Review 20 for Academy Jacket
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JofromPortland
Location:PACIFIC NORTH WEST
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Other reviewers were right
Date:September 16, 2013
Should have "listened" to other reviews. Size runs a little small and sleeves made for apes (disproportionally long long arms). Also , one sleeve was bunched at the seam line connecting to the body of the jacket. Not the quality I had expected.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 1, 2013
Please know that you can exchange or return at any time. If you need any help finding a replacement item please call us.
1 2 next>>