Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Turnstyle Dress

The epitome of ladylike grace, our fit-and-flare dress is equal part '50s glamour and modern style. The sleeveless design has scroll embroidered lace and a bit of crinoline at the hem for extra swing. It can do office duty with a cardigan or go out to dinner on its own. Hidden back zip. Black and Boysenberry are nylong/cotton. Cedar Rose, Deep Jade, and Gray are cotton/nylon/rayon. Imported. See Size Chart for size that best matches your chest measurements. For a more relaxed fit or if you are between sizes, we recommend you order up a size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
30 of 3391%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Turnstyle Dress
Review 1 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
streetfashionkidd
Location:Arlington, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I love this dress
Date:September 22, 2014
Even though it is snug in the bust, I can tell that this is going to be my favorite special occasion dress of the cool weather season. I plan to pair it with black tights, black platform sandals and a black cardigan. I have some vintage gold jewelry, including a necklace and a pin, and I will take a cue from Mad Men and wear both simultaneously. This dress is going to be so much fun!
Review 2 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AdoresaDress
Location:New York, New York
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Ridiculously Small
Date:August 19, 2014
After reviewing the measurements and the reviews, I sized up two sizes above what I would normally buy in this style dress. Even with sizing up two sizes, I could barely breathe once the dress was zipped. I am normally a size 14/38DD and couldn't fit into a size 18 dress. This has been a problem for many of GH's dress offerings and I struggle with their inconsistency in sizing. Combine steep shipping fees, no free returns with inconsistent sizing, and I will definitely hesitate before I order again.
GH - please fix your sizing to be more standardized across the board. Or start to offer free shipping/free returns to take the sting off purchasing clothing that is ridiculously sized.
Review 3 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DesertBird
Location:AZ
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Runs very small!
Date:March 2, 2014
This is a beautiful, well made, high quality dress. However, it runs extremely small. I am typically a 16/XL. I bought this in an 18 since reviews said in ran small. I can get it on, but I can't zip it up. I'm keeping it because it was a good price and it's gorgeous, so it'll be good motivation.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 5, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. We do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you decide you'd like to return or exchange the dress we'd be happy to help!
Review 4 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharlyGirl
Location:Hansville, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Ditto...
Date:March 2, 2014
Lovely dress but it really, really runs small. I am 5' 3" 130lb 34c. I usually wear a 6 or 8...I can squeeze into the 8 but decided to keep the 10 so I can breathe when I wear it. Also, it might be helpful to note that the lace differs from color to color. The rose is softer with a larger pattern. In my opinion, it has a higher quality look and feel than the other two colors; hence the 3 star quality rating. Nevertheless, I plan to keep the black one in addition to the rose because I got them at such a steal during a Sale of the Day promotion.
Review 5 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amgtexas
Location:texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great! But read carefully!
Date:February 19, 2014
I ordered this in Gray Size 10. I normally wear a 6, maybe an 8. I am a little over 5'3" and 120 pounds. 38B with broad shoulders. I could have maybe squeezed into the 8, but I didn't want to be uncomfortable. I will likely wear a skinny belt with it most of the time to nip the waist in a bit for a more fitted look. In the photo, the material looks like a heavy brocade. It is actually very light and gauzy. Looks like it would pack great. The Black and Boysenberry are a different material than the other three colors! I think that this dress would look nice for pretty much any age range!
Review 6 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
heather1969
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A Teenage Dream
Date:February 12, 2014
Size 2 fit my 13-year old daughter (on the thin and tall side) beautifully. It will be perfert for concerts and end-of-school-year events. Classic.
Review 7 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nordic
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Heads will turn
Date:February 10, 2014
Oh yes, heads will turn when you wear this dress. Glamour, style and classy are the notes on this dress. I gave it a four only for the fact that the sizing is a little off, fits really snug in the bust so please do order a size up . I am glad I ordered a size up and loved the fabric. The gray is perfect for all seasons.
Review 8 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great party dress
Date:February 9, 2014
This is a fun dress, with fluffy underskirt and all. The pinkish-purple color is vibrant, the fit is trim and flattering and the dress is of good quality. I feel like I got a great deal at the sale-of-the-day price.
Review 9 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SFTeacher
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pretty but conservative
Date:February 9, 2014
I bought this for my 17 year old daughter. It was just a little bit too conservative for her. She wears a junior medium or a women's size 6 dress size and the 8 fit fine. It hit just at the knee. The style was more fitting to hide figure flaws rather than highlight assets( for a young lady). Too dressy for school, too conservative for school dance. A perfect church dress.
Review 10 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HSBgirl
Location:Idaho
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:February 9, 2014
The dress was just what I was looking for for my 15 year old daughter. It fits her great only it falls at her knees since she is only 5' 1" tall. I will probably get it altered. Also bought this on sale so it was a good deal.
Review 11 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iowabluebird
Location:Iowa City, IA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely dress-runs small!
Date:February 8, 2014
This is a gorgeous little dress and I got it at a great price on sale. It is all lined and very flattering. As per other reviews it runs really small so I ordered up two sizes and it fits well. I plan to wear it with black tights and a belt as in the photo with a cropped cashmere cardigan, but i think it will work in spring too with sandals.
Review 12 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AngelenoMomma
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Tough sizing
Date:January 26, 2014
I loved the look of this dress and carefully read the reviews so bought it in two colors and two sizes. I am clearly in between. The charcoal and berry colors run true, and the fabric is gauzy and light; but the zipper on the one that actually fits well is already out the box in poor shape at the seam, the larger size is not nearly as flattering but having bought them on sale, I will probably keep both to avoid the returning hassle and cost.
Review 13 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KSKormos
Location:Golden, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Bargain!!
Date:January 26, 2014
Beautiful quality. Bought a skinny fushia belt to go around the black dress, looks so amazing for the price I paid. Dress fits like a dream, slightly snug in the bodice, but I'm a bit "chesty" a size up would be too big on me overall. True size 4, followed the measurement chart. LOVE IT!
Review 14 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monkeyface
Location:Sebastopol, Ca.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love this dress
Date:January 26, 2014
such a lovely dress..Fits my body type perfectly....I got a size 6..I'm 5ft 2...122lbs, 36B. hits just at the knee. This dress is well made. I love the inner lining...makes the dress comfy, and good for any occasion..work, play, or dressy.
Review 15 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kyaw
Location:Putnam Valley, New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Lovely dress
Date:January 25, 2014
I haven't had the opportunity to wear this dress but it's just as lovely as it appeared online. The fit is perfect! I was apprehensive that it would be too "young looking" on me...but it's timeless! I look forward to wearing it in warmer weather.
Review 16 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MadreDeCuatro
Location:NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:January 17, 2014
Ordered this in Cedar Rose and the color is just beautiful. I'm usually a size 4 in GH A-line dresses but based on the reviews I ordered a size 6. Fit was perfect; two sizes up would have definitely been too big (note I'm small chested though). At 5'1", the length was just right for me at the top of my knees. Unfortunately, for some reason, the dress made me look bigger than I am - I think maybe because of where the waist hit, which even on me seemed a little high. It's packed up to be returned since it's unflattering enough to my midriff area that I don't think I'd really wear it.
Review 17 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
detour
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for tall women
Date:January 17, 2014
I have finally given up on buying dresses from Garnet Hill. I am 5'11 and this dress barely covered my behind.
I wish you would offer your fashions in a
tall length. They are lovely but not for me.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 22, 2014
We've made your suggestion to our design team to carry a tall version of our dresses. Thanks so much for your comments.
Review 18 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClaraBoBara
Location:Savannah, GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute cute cute!
Date:January 14, 2014
Bought this for my 14 year old daughter to wear on New Year's Eve. She loves it!
Review 19 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
callie56
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
not what I expected
Date:January 13, 2014
I thought this dress was cheap. It came wrinkled in the plastic bag. The material was cheap.
Review 20 for Turnstyle Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brg1
Location:michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
cute dress - sizing hard to guess
Date:January 4, 2014
i ordered this dress 3 times for my daughter... she typically wears size 6, but needed a 10 for a good fit. price kept dropping as i ordered different sizes, so in the end, a good buy! just arrived too late for new year's eve...............
1 2 next>>