Product Reviews

Belted Shirtdress

Spotted: a polka-dotty shirtdress that's the ultimate in put-together dressing. Buttoned up, it's a ladylike work silhouette; unbuttoned a bit, it can take on the town. In unlined, lightweight silk habutai, it has a chic and easy drape whether wrapped with a wide statement belt or its own tie. Button front. Long sleeves. Self-belt. Knee length. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 1080%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Belted Shirtdress
Review 1 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A bit skimpy!
Date:March 9, 2014
This dress fit very skimpy compared to other GH dresses. I am a standard size 2, but the arms were way too small. The chest and hips were OK, but the overall effect was too skimpy. Also, the buttons, which are prominent to the design were ugly and cheap plastic. I gave this dress to my daughter, who is usually too small for GH dresses and she loves it. She wears it with leggings and tights and it is very cute on her.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 11, 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback and are sorry you weren't satisfied with the Belted Shirtdress. Keep in mind for future purchases that our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 2 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
maud
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice but caveat
Date:February 11, 2014
This is a nice enough dress for the sale price but it is not lined as someone in the q&a indicated, and garnet hill's response did not clarify that, saying slip was a choice (the material isn't overly thin, but you'd be crazy not to where a slip). Further, the description suggests wearing with a statement belt, but you'd have to remove the belt loops to do so-- they are not wide enough for a wider belt. It fit me nicely though, was not too tight on top; I'm 5'6" 138 and got a size 8.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 13, 2014
The Belted Shirtdress, a lightweight silk habutai is unlined. A statement belt will nicely cover the belt loops without removing them as they consist of almost undetecable thread.
Review 3 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CEM28
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
nice construction, small on top
Date:February 4, 2014
I really liked this dress. It was nice construction, classic style. It fit well on the bottom but was way too tight on the top. I ordered a size 10 (I'm between 10 and 12 depending on cut) and am a 36D. Both the chest and the shoulders were too small for me, but the bottom would have been too big if I sized up so I sent it back.
Review 4 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoahsTia
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice Gift
Date:February 4, 2014
I bought this dress for my sister as a gift. It is a great deal on sale! She wears the dress (in the spice/orange color) with brown boots that have a cowboy boot flair, or she can dress it up with heels. Great find!
Review 5 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suzm
Location:Spokane Wa
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute Dress
Date:January 13, 2014
I sent this back because I don't feel it was a good fit for my curves. (40-30-40) (5'4" tall). However, the spice color was warm and attractive and I thought the quality was good. It was very light and comfortable - not stiff - great fabric. Just too straight a style for my body type - didn't do a thing for me.
Review 6 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alwaysshopping
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Silk Shirtwaist
Date:January 13, 2014
High quality. I would rather have a wardrobe with items that are classic and classy than anything cheap. It is important professionally to dress in outfits like this dress. Beautifully made with a lovely fabric.
Review 7 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MadreDeCuatro
Location:NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
so sweet but not for pears :(
Date:January 10, 2014
I ordered my regular GH dress size of 4, without realizing what a straight-line fit this dress has. Especially since there's no give/stretch in the material, it was just way too tight for my pear-shape bottom half. I liked the dress so much that I exchanged it for a size 6, only to have the hips still too tight and the top too loose. Very sad that this one just doesn't work for my pear-shaped body.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nordic
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Dots add a classy touch to basic dress
Date:January 7, 2014
Lovely silk, nicely made. Only drawback are the sleeves they are snug in the upper arms. I ordered two sizes both a 10 and 12 and they fit similar.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MNmom3
Location:Mpls, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
short!
Date:January 6, 2014
I purchased this dress on clearance, so it was a good price, but it will be going back. I am 5'9" 170 lbs. and it was a least 2 inches above the knee. I ordered 12 and it was also tight across the chest and in the shoulders and I have narrow shoulders. Fabric is silk, so I am sure it would have a bit of static in the winter as well. Pretty color, but going back.
Review 10 for Belted Shirtdress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
winnie101
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A lovely classic dress
Date:October 24, 2013
Shirtwaists have never gone out of style, and this one in black silk, with a beige polka dot design, will be perfect for many occasions.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.