Product Reviews

Classic Sailor Knit Top

Stripes three ways — narrow, bold, and color-block — make it tough to choose just one of our favorite tees. We took a classic boxy shape and added a contrasting patch pocket to create the ultimate on-trend top. A perfect partner to skinny jeans plain or patterned. Three-quarter sleeves. Slightly longer length. Midweight slubbed cotton jersey. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.956 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
2
34 of 4576%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Review 1 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bella4
Location:Chicago suburbs
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:March 3, 2014
Fun top. Runs full. I ordered a large (generally a sz 12 top/8 bottom) but would have preferred a medium.
Because of excellent sale price not worth returning.
Review 2 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shopper1970
Lightweight
Date:February 22, 2014
Nice style but the fabric is very thin. Not what I expected.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonFebruary 26, 2014
We've asked our design team to consider a heavy weight jersey in this style per your suggestion!
Review 3 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joyce10100
Location:Huntsville, Al
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
comfortable and cute
Date:February 14, 2014
This top is great with jeans and knit pants. Great for casual wear. Washes great.
Review 4 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leronis
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classic top
Date:February 11, 2014
I got this in natural/red color block. It is true to size and very comfortable, while offering a classic look.
Review 5 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Color block isn't great
Date:February 8, 2014
For the price, the color block probably is great (on sale), but I think only the black and white bold stripe is cute (in hind sight) and it's now sold out. Slim fitting, TTS, nice saturated colors.
Review 6 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kmads
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute colors and stripes, boxy fit
Date:February 6, 2014
I loved the design of this top so I ordered two. After reading the other reviews I decided to order a small in one color combo, however the other color I wanted was sold out so I ordered a Med. in that one. I usually wear a Medium (size 8) but the small fit much better than the Med. It is very boxy. If you like a boxy cut tee (which I do) then you will love this tee, otherwise, stay away. I kept both of them because they were such a great deal and cute under cardigan sweaters too.
Review 7 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommarobb
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Good weekend shirt
Date:February 5, 2014
Needed a few casual weekend tops and this was perfect - especially because I got it on sale! I chose the hunter/fog and really liked the contrasting colors.
Review 8 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MEliving
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Stripes are always a good idea
Date:February 4, 2014
Love this top! It's breezy and perfectly nautical.
Review 9 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hillsiderose
Location:Beacon, New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Size is way off...!
Date:February 4, 2014
I usually wear a "large", but I was swimming in this one! It could probably fit a small elephant. Order at least one size down from your regular size. Otherwise the color, design, quality are very nice.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hiker
Location:North Bend, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute idea, but not quite right
Date:January 29, 2014
It's ok, and I am keeping the t shirt, but its really too boxy.
Review 11 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MoRoDe
Location:Boulder, CO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very boxy and oversized
Date:January 27, 2014
I had to return both of these that I ordered. They are extremely boxy and oversized. I usually wear a 4, so ordered the S. The tee was huge and very unflattering.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 30, 2014
You're absolutely right, this style is boxy and oversized! Check out our other knit tops for a more flattering fit! We offer garment measurements to help with sizing.
Review 12 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wintercoat
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Downtown girl
Date:January 27, 2014
I like the style, shape and fit. I think it will be stylish and comfortable; a win win.
Review 13 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Citydweller
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:January 26, 2014
This is a comfortable shirt. I agree with other reviews that it runs big. I usually wear a small, but ordered an extra small in this shirt and it fits the way its supposed to; a bit roomy.
Review 14 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shnukims
Location:AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
should've listened
Date:January 21, 2014
Other reviewers said this top was bigger than they liked... I would agree. It is very boxy.. wished I'd gotten the X Small even though I am usually a small and even med in most tops I buy. Other wise the grey/white stripe color is great and would've loved for the large black and white stripe to have been available too.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 28, 2014
We love that you point out the boxy shape of this tee! We think it looks great with skinny jeans. Please know you may exchange or return any time. We're here to help!
Review 15 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AP79
Location:Columbia, South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
cute piece
Date:January 18, 2014
I like this top, even though it is a bit too thin (that's why I deducted one point from quality). The color block is great, and the blue pocket is such a cute addition. May not be a piece for wearing when I teach, but a "free times shirt" it definitely is!
Review 16 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alleram
Location:WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Runs large
Date:January 17, 2014
This XS just hung on me like a sheet, but the material, workmanship and colors were nice. Wish it had more shape. I'm 5'2", 100lb.
Review 17 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boonie
Location:Boone, NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not what I expected
Date:January 15, 2014
I really love the shirt on the model but when it arrived, it was too boxy and big; it was not flattery on me so I returned it. I usually wear size 2P.
Review 18 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willowgate10
Location:St. Simons Island, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love It!
Date:January 15, 2014
I'm NEVER disappointed in the clothing I order from Garnet Hill. This top is no exception!
Review 19 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DesignLover
Location:Marin, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
cute and different, but not flattering
Date:January 13, 2014
This top is fun/different, and having gotten it on super-sale I won't send it back. But the boxy cut is not flattering on me, and the pocket sits at an odd location: on me it falls on the *underside* of my breast, i.e. facing down toward the ground. To me eye the pocket should have been 4-6" higher, or put on the back side waist for something really cute and different but less problematic in relation to the bust.
Review 20 for Classic Sailor Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2boysmom
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
cute boxy tee
Date:October 14, 2013
After reading the reviews, I ordered an xs. Very glad I did as it is boxy and loose. I think it is super cute though and versatile. I will wear with jeans or even yoga pants.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>