Product Reviews

Tweed Sweater Jacket

With a twisty, subtle pointelle knit and a vintage cut, this is a classic way to tap the couture of the '50s. As chic with skinny jeans as with shapely dresses, and in tweeds that range from mellow to hello! Edged with black trim for a sharp contrast. Long sleeves. Hip length. Skimming yet relaxed fit. Acrylic/poly/wool/mohair blend. Imported. This jacket features a textural wool-blend yarn, and is intended for layering.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 1878%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Review 1 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hmborth
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great sweater !!!
Date:February 17, 2014
This is a great sweater. I think the pic ( purple one) does not do the sweater justice. It fits well and although the course texture of the wool is different, I like it. It is a great layering piece.
Review 2 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cloudwalk
Location:Travelers Rest, SC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Lovely and Warm
Date:February 4, 2014
This sweater jacket is a classic style that goes with nearly everything. I purchased the purple but it has shades of blue as well. It is quite warm, especially in this cold weather, which is an added plus.
Review 3 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weinerdog
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Sweater/jacket
Date:January 27, 2014
Love this sweater - Glad I bought 2 - different colors - many compliments
Review 4 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Juddee
Location:Everett, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
gorgeous
Date:January 25, 2014
Has a vintage feel but is current. Nice wool but wear something under it because it's wool and wool is a little prickly.
Review 5 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pbcookiemom
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely in Raspberry!
Date:January 24, 2014
What a nice splash of color to my winter wardrobe of grays and blacks. I've received many compliments on this adorable jacket. Super cute and versatile.
Review 6 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfortista
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great style, serious itch
Date:January 23, 2014
Loved the look & fit (me: 5'3", 34A chest, 27 waist, XS fit perfectly), but even over a long sleeve top the itch was just too much. If old school Shetland sweaters didn't bother you, you'd probably be fine.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for pointing out the fit and your measurements! We will ask our design team to consider a different fabric/content.
Review 7 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
majablo
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice sweater
Date:January 17, 2014
good color, sturdy knit. will be good with jeans or dressier pants.
Review 8 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jackandmaisy
Location:central pa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
not for me
Date:January 15, 2014
The shoulders were really narrow (and I don't have broad shoulders) and it was too long for my 5"2" height. The weave was more open than I would have liked. If the fit was better I might have kept it but the combination of strange fit and itchy open weave made me return this one.
Review 9 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
secrippen
Location:Bath, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love It.
Date:January 13, 2014
I ordered this jacket mostly because it was a terrific deal, and I thought it would be a great piece to stretch my wardrobe.
Well, I got it, tried it on, and couldn't have been happier with it. So cute! I ordered the black tweed because the plum was gone in my size (small) and I tried it on over the black silk blouse I was wearing with the shirt tail out, and it looked great. Also, you really can't tell from the pictures, but the snap front is just off center which makes it more current and gives it interest.
Yes, it's a little prickly, but women walk around all day in shoes that aren't perfectly comfortable...I think maybe a thicker tee might alleviate that.
At any rate, I'm thinking about the raspberry...
Review 10 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CCMDMom
Location:Chevy Chase, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute but itchy
Date:November 24, 2013
This is very cute. I probably should have gone smaller -- I'm a 2-4 in tops -- but the knit is very itchy, even with a medium weight t-shirt. At first, I wasn't sure I could make it through the day, but I adjusted. However, it is scratchy and would probably not be great if you are very sensitive to wool. Like the styling and the color -- GH, please find a slightly better wool blend and bring it back. Pretty good value on sale
Review 11 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
varri
Location:California
stunning colors - goes with everything
Date:November 10, 2013
Fits very well and lovely detail. Initially a little itchy, but it is meant to layered and the itchiness diminishes with wear! I bought it in two colors
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snowmeg
Location:Somerville, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Classic and versatile
Date:November 9, 2013
this goes well with anything (as the copy implies). I love it with bootcut jeans and a thick jersey top to cut the itch. I actually bought it to layer over the silk tie detail blouse as pictured (not original at outfit planning, I guess) and the silk blouse is pretty thin, the wool scratches through. It works well over a thick jersey though, and is very pretty and flattering. I have a large chest and it snaps without stretching. This is a garment that works on curvy women and not just the model. If your skin is hyper sensitive, though, I would skip it.
Review 13 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MtMom
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
a little itchy, but it's cute
Date:October 26, 2013
yes, it's itchy---probably the mohair, but eventually I became desensitized & it didn't bother me. I ordered the plum, which has flecks of blue and black in it. It's not a solid knit---it has a patterned open weave. So pretty! If you're sensitive to mohair, then it's probably not for you. Otherwise it is a very cute sweater. My bust is 36" and I ordered a Medium (new size chart), but need to exchange it for a Small.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KVB1
Location:SF Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Terrific little jacket!
Date:September 15, 2013
I love this jacket! It's an ideal combination of sweater and jacket - in nice wool nubby fabric. Really a versatile piece!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ElDL
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classic staple
Date:August 28, 2013
I am 5'7" and 122 lbs, size 36C and I bought the small and it fits perfectly. The jacket is a nice classic look and it is very nicely made.
Will look nice with black skirts and pants. Nice weight to it. Keeper!
Review 16 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
islandshopperA1Town
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Design and quality, just too itchy.
Date:August 27, 2013
I really wanted to keep this sweater jacket because I liked the design, color and weight, but it was just too itchy for me. I would always have to wear an under shirt with longer sleeves and higher neckline than the jacket.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CincyGirl
Location:Cincinnati
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
VERY Itchy!!!!
Date:August 26, 2013
I usually don't complain about itchy sweaters but this is beyond itchy. Even with a long sleeve tshirt underneath I could still feel this sweater poking me. Also the gray color has purple and green mixed in which isn't apparent in the online photo. The fit was TTS and was very flattering. Sad to return due to the material.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tweed Sweater Jacket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ValGal
Location:Bay Area, California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute but itchy
Date:August 24, 2013
I love the style of this item and was excited when it arrived, however it is so itchy I don't think it will work. Got the XS and fits and looks great but not a lot of room to wear something underneath that may help with the knit not being next to my skin. I'm usually not that sensitive to fabrics but this one, maybe the mohair, is too annoying. I wish it came in a soft knit because the style and colors ( ordered the purple, lovely) are exactly what I've been looking for.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.