Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular

Our sharply tailored pencil skirt has both a modern above-knee length and a hip corduroy fabrication. Available in three solids, it's the key piece that goes from Monday meetings to Sunday flea-market sojourns. Shapely seams and a flat front guarantee a slim, flattering fit. Back zip. Back vent. Cotton corduroy with a hint of spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
32 of 3591%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Review 1 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a2ina2
Stylish comfort
Date:February 24, 2014
True to size, cute and unique look. Cool for business casual work and fun.
Review 2 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great go to skirt
Date:February 16, 2014
I ordered this back in the fall and paid full price for what seemed to be a rather ordinary corduroy skirt in a super color. Having worn it all fall and winter I can say it's a favorite for color, style, and fit. I would order it again a full price. It launders beautifully and has become a wardrobe standard. True to size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
llitbird
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:February 10, 2014
the skirt does not have any lining; I have narrow waist and wide hips, but it fits me perfect. I little overpriced
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KP77
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute corduroy skirt
Date:February 8, 2014
I ordered this skirt in size 02 petite. I would have preferred the length of the regular size 2 but it was sold out. The waist is a little big. I am 5'4, 105 lbs. I love the pumpkin color. This skirt looks great with a light or dark denim shirt. Garnet Hill has really pretty and hard to find merchandise. I have been very pleased.
Review 5 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
azalea
Location:NY, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great casual skirt
Date:January 24, 2014
comfortable everyday get about town skirt. the color is a bit different from the photo (much more "pink" but fine. it's a bit "thinner" corduroy fabric than others, but it's good that it's not bulky.
Review 6 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nicky553
Location:oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
really cute
Date:January 17, 2014
I got the size 4P based on measurements and it fits me perfectly (I am just over 5 feet, 110, hourglass shape). It fits below the waistline but not too low. It just looks really cute, especially with boots, and the rhododendron color is a nice dusky red and not too pink or bright so it goes with a lot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nean
Location:Ct.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just what I expected
Date:January 15, 2014
I've wanted this skirt for a while, but never got around to ordering it. Read all the reviews and ordered a size 6 (5'5, 135). It's a little loose but will be great after washing. Love the color and price was great on sale!
Review 8 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carolsf
Great for what I needed
Date:January 13, 2014
Fit, color and style as described/shown. I purchased two skirts in different colors, and might purchase other colors in the future. The stretchy corduroy material makes the skirt very comfortable and allows for ease of movement.
Review 9 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
abbysmom
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
not a pencil skirt on me
Date:January 13, 2014
This skirt was more A line, IMO, than pencil skirt so it was returned. But good quality and I am sure it will work for someone else- fit was TTS
Review 10 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
snmnw
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
order one size down
Date:December 26, 2013
cute skirt but fabric has a bit too much stretch and looks a bit wrinkled even after ironing. fit okay when I first put it on and by the end of the day it looked too big. suggest buying smaller than normal at least one size.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 26, 2013
Thanks for your note! We do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you ever need assistance with sizing please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 11 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fjord
Location:Poulsbo, WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Gorgeous Shade
Date:December 6, 2013
Love the deep pumpkin color and weight of the fabric - just enough body to look good without being bulky.
I'm 65, 5'-5", 133 pounds, and the 8 fit a little bit loose, which made it very comfortable to wear.
Review 12 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
acch
Location:MD
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
versatile and comfortable
Date:December 3, 2013
a skirt you can wear from office to dinner, just change the top and the function of the outfit.changes. The material is soft and easy to wear!
Review 13 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mathgirl
Location:Midcoast Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fab Fall skirt!
Date:November 30, 2013
This skirt looks simple enough...but when one puts it on, it becomes fabulous and just right! Fits true to size, falls above the knee, and is just overall very flattering. I got the pumpkin, and it is just the right pop of color,particularly with contrasting sweater (a GH navy cashmere) and tights.
With a little slip underneath, doesn't ride up either...just love it!
(GH -it would be great if you offered a variety of slips...they're hard to find these days...).
Review 14 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
annejumps
Location:Plymouth, ME
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love the skirt but...
Date:November 30, 2013
when you look at the picture, the material looks almost velour-like. When I received the skirt, I was surprised to see that it was actually thin corduroy. The color was not rich looking like the picture. So a bit disappointed but it fitted nicely and is a good everyday skirt. The colors are versatile and you can match different color tops with it. So I do recommend the skirt. Comfortable skirt.
Review 15 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HMBG
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful color, great go-to skirt
Date:November 26, 2013
I purchased the rhododendron color and it is beautiful. I will be able to wear this skirt with lots of different tops and jackets. I got this for super-sale price, so some of the cons don't bother me as much: it is quite thin especially for corduroy and it doesn't have a lining which sometimes is a problem with tights. Overall though, glad I purchased. I am 5'7", 140 lb, athletic/straight body and got size 6. It fit perfectly.
Review 16 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tammie40
Location:Clarks Summit, PAs
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the color
Date:November 23, 2013
I have this skirt in burnt orange, it isn't as short on me as on the model. I am 5'3" and it comes just above the knee. I ordered it in a 12, one size up because sometimes I need to do that in a pencil skirt. It fits comfortably and I love it. I don't have trouble with the zipper coming down as others have talked about, but I might have had that issue with the size 10. It is my new favorite piece and I wear it every time it is clean. It can be washed in the washing machine too.
Review 17 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeCee
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect skirt
Date:November 22, 2013
I had my eye on this before it went on sale, and was not disappointed -- bought the rhododendron color, deep and rich, and the fabric is wonderfully soft. I was surprised, however, that the skirt is a bit roomy, even in the new size 6 (I wore the old size 6 or small). I am 5'1", and it hits an inch or two above the knee, and looks great with tights and a sweater. I'm thinking about color number two...
Review 18 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cinn
Location:Albert Lea,MN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
The perfect skirt
Date:November 22, 2013
Love the fit and the color is so much fun...Many different ways to wear it. Do love it with brown tones..
Review 19 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gretty
Location:Pittsburgh
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A Fall/Winter wardrobe essential
Date:November 22, 2013
Great with tights and boots. Comfortable and stylish. Love the pumpkin color!
Review 20 for Vintage Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SuzieC
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very cute
Date:November 8, 2013
This is a great skirt (for me) I plan to wear with tights and boots. Nice pumpkin color. It's a relatively thin fabric esp for corduroy (narrow wale). Not sure how it will work on all body types...it hangs at the hips with no waist to speak of. I'm 5'6" and have a slim athletic build. The size 2 fits generously.
1 2 next>>