Product Reviews

Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt

The voile skirt of the season is a bit shorter, with a full, gathered silhouette. Why not give it a whirl? The pretty smocking at the wide waistband makes for an easy fit. The prints are impressive too — dots, floral, and a line-up of books that looks like an urban skyline. Side-seam pockets. Knee length. Cotton voile. Lined. Imported. This skirt is knee length, with a full silhouette.
Average Customer Rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 of 2378%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Review 1 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ophelia
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very very cute!
Date:March 5, 2014
I got two of these skirts - would have gotten three if the book print hadn't been sold out - and absolutely love them. My only tiny complaint is that they tend to "ride up with wear," so you do have to pat the skirt hem down as you walk. But they are SO cute, and they even have pockets!!!!!
Review 2 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BALE
Location:Carmel, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Buy and Incrdible Value
Date:March 4, 2014
Gorgeous! I needed something to wear to the Desert and found the perfect skirt at Garnett Hill. It is beautiful and an incredible value
Review 3 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Zumbaqueen
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
too small
Date:March 3, 2014
The size XL will fit a size xs or s very well. I will send it to my granddaughter. No amount of dieting would allow me to fit into it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 4, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fit of our Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt didn't work for you. Keep in mind we provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. Returns and exchanges are always welcome!
Review 4 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snowyowl13
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great skirt
Date:February 14, 2014
I ordered the floral smocked-waist detail skirt. It is very cute, comfortable, and can be worn year round. I thought the fullness might make me look bigger than I wished (being a size 14), or that the waist would be too tight. But the skirt looks great and so is the waist size.
Review 5 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GranMary
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
GORGEOUS FABRIC, TOO SHORT for me
Date:February 14, 2014
I SO WANTED this skirt, but it was about 2 inches too short for this 67 year old. HIGHLY recommend it for younger women!!!!
Review 6 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
music
Location:lewes DE
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
easy fit skirt
Date:February 12, 2014
I have no waist....and this skirt gives me one without me looking like the goodyear blimp! Cute as can be. Would have liked the "books" but sold out and I resorted to the "spots". It's a light weight cotton...lined....and smocked elastic waist. Can't go wrong. Just need the right shade of navy for the top!
Review 7 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GAPeaches
Location:Atlanta
Sweet skirt
Date:February 4, 2014
Very flattering for an elastic waist skirt, super comfy, I would love to see it in more colors.
Review 8 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grammy49
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
All season skirt
Date:January 4, 2014
Cute style. Easy fit with smoked waist. Lined so it can be worn with or without tights. Color will work for all seasons. Can be made casual or can be girly too.
Review 9 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kaoh
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great skirt!
Date:December 31, 2013
I love this skirt. I was worried because of some of the reviews, so I sized down and the skirt is perfect. I purchased the book print and it gets lots of compliments. Looks great with tee shirts or sweaters and boots. Very comfortable.
Review 10 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chaps
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Took a chance on this one
Date:November 22, 2013
I wasn't sure about the length and smocking but the first time I wore the skirt - with a turtle neck, tights and boots - got lots of compliments! Washes very well.
Review 11 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JacquiMg
Location:Austin TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
New sizing may leave me out
Date:November 6, 2013
I was excited to see this skirt go on sale - I love smocked waists and the fall floral was beautiful. However, when I received it, the first thing I noticed was the tiny gathered waist. I've always been thrilled with Garnet Hill because they carried such lovely styles in my size (XL). I'm a 5'7" "apple" shape so finding proportionate, stylish fashions isn't easy. The size 16/18 combination for XL, sadly, didn't work for me with this skirt. I'm hoping this is just a style issue with this item and not a trend. I would hate to be sized out!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DetroitGirl79
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love it.
Date:October 14, 2013
Got this skirt in the floral print and LOVE it. The fabric is light enough to wear in the summer, but I'm planning to rock it all winter with tights and boots. It IS a fuller skirt, but I wear it up high, shirt tucked in, with a big belt, and it's perfect. I'm 5'7, 135 lbs - I carry a bit of leftover baby weight around my mid-section and love how this skirt hides it! Have gotten a ton of compliments on it already!
Review 13 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
brnissegrl
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Darling print but....
Date:October 7, 2013
I loved this skirt on site in the catalog. the book print was unique and fun. It was in the 'normal' prince range for a piece that would the 'signature' in a look so I ordered it. When it arrived the first thing I noticed was that the color isn't nearly as vibrant as in the photo. When I tried it on the gathering/smocking at the waist looked and felt poorly executed; the skirt was not nearly as full as I expected. I ordered the large. I am a standard size 12 on the bottom - and if the skirt is full can sometimes take a 10. This skirt fits me just slightly 'fuller' than an A line. I was disappointed with the quality and the fit, but it goes great w two sweaters, and with a belt it can work, so I am keeping it. My first order from Garnet Hill, and may be my last.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 29, 2013
Please know if you are not completely satisfied with your skirt, our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 14 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
drjosd
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fit is Just Wrong
Date:September 30, 2013
I really wanted to like this skirt--I had read the reviews before I bought the skirt so I thought that I might be able to make it work. I spoke with a customer service rep prior to purchasing the skirt. I bought my normal size small. Well, the skirts "poufs" out and makes my hips and stomach look huge.My 14 year old ballet dancer daughter with no hips tried on the skirt and it made her have big hips and poufy belly. Too Bad!! I love the fabric but skirt needs to be redesigned. I also think that for this price the fabric should be more substantial.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mgerha7334
A very nice skirt
Date:September 10, 2013
Unlike the other reviews, I am pleased with the fullness of this skirt. I got the black floral print and it is very pretty. I am tall and wider around the middle, with this skirt being on the fuller side, it feels like the fullness of it helps to conceal the extra weight I have around my middle. I feel that the fullness of the skirt makes it that much more feminine as well. The elastic waist is good too. The quality is very nice, and I was very pleased to see that there are pockets in the skirt.
Review 16 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Susie25
Location:San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
The print makes it worth keeping
Date:September 8, 2013
I probably wouldn't have bought this skirt to begin with if it weren't for the fun books print, since gathered elastic waist skirts do not flatter very many figures. I haven't decided if I am going to have it taken in at the hips yet, although that might require sacrificing the pockets, but I am keeping it. The quality is nice, I appreciate both the pockets and the fact that it is lined. There are a lot of ways to make it fashionable and flattering enough, especially with a white button down and fun cardigan/blazer over it. It is very versatile.
I went by the helpful measurements chart, so I knew it would be longer than it appears in the picture. This was what I was going for so I can wear it to work. If it is too long for you I would recommend washing in hot or drying it, as it will shrink up.
Review 17 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KATMD
Cute pattern, poor fit
Date:September 4, 2013
The polka dot pattern is stinking cute. But as some of the other reviewers have noted the fit is not very good. The skirt is very full and it puffs out awkwardly around the waist. I think I can make it work though, especially if I use a wide belt or a fitted top to pair it with.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By StephenCustomer LiaisonSeptember 13, 2013
We love these prints too! Also, we've added some fit information about this item's full silouette to the product details page.
Review 18 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nmh586
Location:Portland, Maine
Way Too Full
Date:September 2, 2013
This was the first item that I have ever ordered from Garnet Hill and I wanted to love it. The book print made me think it would be the perfect skirt. However, potential buyers should be wary that the skirt will not look the way that it does in the picture. I am 5'6" and 120 pounds and when I tried this skirt on, it ballooned out and was extremely full, rather than the sleek look shown in the picture. Also, unless I wore the skirt pulled up right to my bust, there is no way this skirt would fall above the knees, especially not as high as is shown in the picture. I was also expecting the fabric to feel more silky or to be a heavier weight cotton for fall, but it seemed pretty average cotton for me, despite the fairly steep price tag. This skirt is definitely not for me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keann24
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too full
Date:August 29, 2013
Nice fabric and super comfortable. Pockets are a great touch. BUT this is simply too poofy. Also seems to run quite big. I am 5'4 and 130 pounds and the small fell below my knees and had so much fabric. Thought about exchanging for an XS but I do not think it would fix the problem. The book print is fun.
Review 20 for Smocked-Waist-Detail Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oregonia
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Keeper
Date:August 29, 2013
When I first opened the package, I was taken aback by how full the skirt is. Once washed, it calmed down a bit. It will be a fun addition to my wardrobe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>