Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Retro Ponte Knit Dress

Subtly '60s, our fit-and-flare dress is business apropos, but it also knows how to let loose — just add heels and jewels (martini optional). In season-spanning ponte knit with ladylike structure and just enough stretch, the silhouette has been updated with elbow-length sleeves and slight gathers below the bodice. High scoop neck. Above-knee length. Double-knit cotton/spandex ponte. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.075 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
0
33 of 4082%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Review 1 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MidwestMama
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Fantastic dress for me!
Date:April 15, 2014
I was concerned about ratings, but purchased the dress on a great discount. I LOVE it. It is a midweight material, and the boysenberry color is gorgeous. It is a year-round dress option for me. I wore it with a sweater, tights and boots when it was colder, and now I'm wearing it with a scarf and flats. I am usually a size 6 in Garnet Hill, but I had to order up a size to get the right fit. I'm small-busted, high-waisted, and the waistline hits right at the most narrow part of my waist. Very flattering. I will buy the blue if it goes on sale again.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 15, 2014
We love hearing how satisfied our customer are with their purchases! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Review 2 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alicem
Location:St. Louis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not for a pear
Date:March 10, 2014
Oh how I wish I could wear this dress. The style is simple yet stylish, like the sleeves and the hemline is right. I especially love the rich yummy blue color. Unfortunately, I'm a pear and this is a bit too streamlined for my figure. I even got a size up, but still a no go.
Review 3 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
onlineshopaholic1965
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Dress, Runs Small
Date:January 27, 2014
Cute dress, nice quality, nice heavier fabric, but I had to order one size larger than my normal size.
Review 4 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kris28
Location:Knoxville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Just okay...
Date:December 31, 2013
I love Garnet Hill dresses, but this one does not measure up to all the others I have bought. I have four of the V-neck A-line dress (it's the best dress ever made!), but this one is straighter than it looks online and is just not that flattering.
Review 5 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sheena123
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not flattering
Date:December 18, 2013
I sized up on this dress as recommended from other reviewers, however, it still did not fit right. The waist is a little high, causing the bottom part of the dress to start flaring above the natural waist, giving a frumpy outline to your figure and making it look like you have a larger tummy. The dress was also very plain. I tried a belt with it but it still did not look good.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We’re sorry to hear this dress didn't fit as expected and we are happy to help you with a return or exchange at anytime. Please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 6 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neenu
Location:Littleton, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Surprise
Date:December 17, 2013
Originally was going to send back; but forgot and it hung in the closet all summer. Wore it last night for office Christmas dinner. Nice fits, true to size (12). Would have been better is midriff seam was 1" lower to wear a belt. Nice simple dress to wear any time. Works well with boots or dressy flats.
Review 7 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
libbarella
Location:SC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not a good fit
Date:December 13, 2013
I love the color, material and quality. Unfortunately, it fits much more snugly than in look on the model. It fits more like a tunic shirt than a dress like it looks in the photo.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Thanks for your note! We do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you ever need assistance with sizing please call us at 1-800-870-3513.
Review 8 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cheyhorn
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too Snug
Date:November 28, 2013
I'm really bummed this dress doesn't fit me! It's really cute, the color is beautiful and the fabric is beautiful but it fits really snug. I'm a curvier gal: I'm more of a pear shape and I normally wear 14-16 and can usually wear a size large in Garnet Hill knit dresses but even the 18 was too snug.
Review 9 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
swannie
Location:Camarillo, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute dress
Date:November 25, 2013
This dress was cuter once I put it on. It is simple, but well made and a flattering cut. I am 5'5", 130 lb., and the 6 fit perfectly. I chose the blue and plan to wear with tights and boots, but it would look good with flats too. It might be short on taller women.
Review 10 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shopper82
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Simple & Classic
Date:November 23, 2013
I was drawn to the color (poseidon) and the classic shape. It's slightly retro but in an updated way. The sizing does run small compared to past seasons of GH dresses (I have a very similar ponte dress in a 4 that has almost the exact same length, waist, bust as this dress in a 6). Because the skirt is cut slimmer, the fit is less forgiving if you have a little tummy to conceal. One could go up an additional size to perhaps make this less apparent... I just added a contol top hose and a cardigan and I still like it. Overall, would purchase again, it will never go out of style!
Review 11 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KJAY
Location:Boulder, CO
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for my body
Date:November 21, 2013
The fabric is great, thick & falls nicely. The problem is that the dress is too short as is the waistline. I would have liked the length to fall just above my knees and it is just a little too high for me. The waist also falls too low for empire look and too high for a belt.
Review 12 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jessaleo
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
perfect dress
Date:November 7, 2013
This is a fantastic dress and it fits SO much better than previous Garnet Hill purchases. It's versatile, attractive, & high quality. Ideal for work. It looks great with a cropped sweater or a jacket. I am 5'4", 125 lbs, 36C - Size 4 fits perfectly.
Review 13 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
casualbutdressymom
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:35-44
Really cute, but runs small
Date:November 6, 2013
This dress is just adorable and the ponte knit is of really good quality. However, like other reviewers state, this dress runs really small! It is on the short side too, but I am OK with that. I normally wear an 8 (I'm 5'6" and 145lbs, size 34B bra) and am exchanging for a 10. Hope that does the trick because I really liked the style and feel of this dress, it was just a bit too clingy allover. Really cute with either boots or tights and flats.
Review 14 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WifeandMommy
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Snug fit!
Date:November 5, 2013
This dress runs small, and due to the fabric, is quite clingy. Based on other reviews, I ordered a 4, a size larger than my usual GH size 2 and still found the dress too snug. I likely will try a 6 because I think this dress is a great winter staple, and is a great value at the current sale price. I'm not a fan of the new GH sizing chart. I no longer have any idea what size I wear.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bosaknm
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love the color!
Date:November 5, 2013
The blue is a great color. I also like the wieght of the fabirc. I do think the dress is a bit short but I'm keeping it anyway since I will likely wear it with tights and boots.
Review 16 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pegndog
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful and lovely quality but way too small
Date:November 4, 2013
I loved this dress in the catalog, but when I received it it was way too small. The color and quality were lovely. Would recommend to a skinny friend.
Review 17 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crazyaboutbaseball
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:November 4, 2013
The dress is not sized well. I am a size 6 and I bought the medium. It is very tight. I am lazy so will not return it My daughter-in-law has a new dress.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2013
Please know that we provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you need assistance please call us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 18 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CharmCity
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Is not true to size
Date:October 31, 2013
I'm 5'2" and usually wear an 8 or 10P. Normally Garnet Hill clothes run large on me. I suspected that this dress might run small and I was right. I ordered a regular 10, not petite, and it was very tight below the empire waist. Skin tight. But it fit beautifully above the waistline. A very odd fit. Too bad, because the blue is a beautiful color, but there's no way I could make it work.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 20, 2013
Please know that we do provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right size. If you need any assistance please call us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 19 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mammie
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:October 27, 2013
Comfortable,versatile...can be dressed up or down for more causal wear .
Review 20 for Retro Ponte Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NCTorrey
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Not true to size
Date:October 27, 2013
This dress runs very small. Maybe the "new" GH sizing has thrown me off - first I ordered a 12 (I have several GH dresses in 10s), and it was way too tight. I exchanged for a 14 but it was hardly a change in size. So back it goes, this time for good. It probably is a little on the short side for those over 5'5". It's adorable on the model, and the material is a nice, thick ponte that is well-done. So I would still recommend it but only to those who are slim and order at least one size up.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 13, 2013
Please know that we provide the actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to help you get the right fit. Our exchanges are always freight free.

1 2 next>>